Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Move to perth? Advice please.

• 03-02-2008 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭

Im looking to move to Oz - most likely Perth, as 2 of my friends have just got great jobs there.

I did a 3month holiday visa to oz, loved it, the lifestyle, the people, the sun and the easier way of living. Every Ozzie you meet just loves telling you how lucky they are to live there!

So I came back from my 3months stay, have tried so hard to get a job in my field of work (What i did a degree in college for) and cannot get a thing due to the lack of jobs. they are crying out for people in my profession over there. Theres other personal reasons why i just want to get away from Ireland and start new, so this seems the perfect opportunity.

Whats the craic with getting sponsered, my mates have both got jobs (they didnt even have a proper interview, just a phone interview) and are starting on a 45K doller salary, which isnt bad and will allow them to live comfortably.

Obviously this is a massive decison that requires a lot of thought and I havent even been to perth (I only did the east coast), but can people who have done the move to oz give me some advice? What it like to work a proper job in Oz? I have heard they work a lot of hours etc.

Any help appreciated

• Registered Users Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

We moved to Melbourne in December last year. Myself, wife and 8 year old child. We came on the 136 skilled migration visa. You could get sponsered on the 457 visa. In my experience there is a severe skills shortage here. I could pick and choose jobs. I only started my new job today so cannot comment too much but they seem to be very laid back accross the board. That's in work and when you order a coffee or broadband. It takes a while to get anything cause of the laid back attitude here. In my experience they do not work a lot of hours, holidays are the same as home (4 weeks per year).

We are only here 6 weeks and we love the place. Sure there are negatives but not as many as living at home (imo). My advice is go for it. It's a great place to live.

Just a quick note on Perth. I here house prices and cost of living has gne through the roof due to it's popularity. Also it is very remote to other cities in Oz. It would not be for us to be honest. Melbourne is the best city to live in by far ;D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Swindon

what is your field of work gary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

daveg wrote: »
    We moved to Melbourne in December last year. Myself, wife and 8 year old child. We came on the 136 skilled migration visa. You could get sponsered on the 457 visa. In my experience there is a severe skills shortage here. I could pick and choose jobs. I only started my new job today so cannot comment too much but they seem to be very laid back accross the board. That's in work and when you order a coffee or broadband. It takes a while to get anything cause of the laid back attitude here. In my experience they do not work a lot of hours, holidays are the same as home (4 weeks per year).

We are only here 6 weeks and we love the place. Sure there are negatives but not as many as living at home (imo). My advice is go for it. It's a great place to live.

Just a quick note on Perth. I here house prices and cost of living has gne through the roof due to it's popularity. Also it is very remote to other cities in Oz. It would not be for us to be honest. Melbourne is the best city to live in by far ;D

Have done a lot of reading up on Perth, ye its very very remote (most remote metroploitan city in the world) which is a bit scary. The weather isnt as great as Queensland either, but the true Ozzie lifestyle of BBQs and surfing is really alive in Perth.

I loved Melbourne to, really cool place, but the lads got jobs in Perth so are going over there and starting a new life.

I do Env. Health buy the way, which could potentially be really intresting and different In Oz than to here, which would be cool.

I dont know though, there is nothing to stop me going, have a few quid piled up, love Oz, havent got the job I want here or anything to hold me back. but the grass isnt always greener and the thought of starting a completly new life like that is a bit daunting!

Any more help would be appreciated. I ahve emailed a recruitment agent for local goverment to see what he has to say. To be honest, i think Brisbane would be the best place to move to. Great night scene, nice place, plenty of jobs, great weather, but the mates are going to perth, so i'll be following them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

I'm sure you're well aware of both of these points, but just in case...

The options for visas are fairly well documented at www.immi.gov.au
    The most popular jobs website is www.seek.com.au.

Were you in perth as part of your 3 month visit? It is remote, when looking on the map. But you've a wealth of stuff to see and do in WA. You won't feel isolated if that's what you may think.

Weather in Qld.. It's been p**sing down here for the last month!!! Don't worry about the weather in Perth, it won't be a concern given where you're moving from :D

House prices and cost of living are rocketing up in Perth, due to the mining industry mainly. I think a 45k salary is not bad, but if you've got 4 or 5+ years experience, that should be an easy salary to get (guessing there tho... don't quote me)

Night scene in Perth is not bad at all. The pubs are pretty good, given they dont have pokies (slots) in WA. As such pubs are pubs, not casino's/gambling houses dominating the place like in Qld and NSW.

Personally if you've a decent skill and experience, which you seem to have, you've a good chance of getting a job. However make sure you're up to date on the visa options, so you can discuss as part of an interview.

Melbourne.. .yeah it'd be nice if it wasn't so full of Victorians!! :p

Best luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Have done a lot of reading up on Perth, ye its very very remote (most remote metroploitan city in the world) which is a bit scary. The weather isnt as great as Queensland either, but the true Ozzie lifestyle of BBQs and surfing is really alive in Perth.

Well that's bull to be honest. I spent three weeks in Brisbane and the surrounding area for Christmas and it rained every day bar one. Queensland is a tropical climate. Here in Perth it has been in the mid 30s since December and we had our first shower in over 7 weeks yesterday.

Perth is a fantastic city to live and work in. It's chilled out and relaxed. There's plenty to do and see and the nightlife is good at the weekends. The beaches are stunning too, far nicer than those on the Gold Coast.

Why does it being remote sound 'scary'? It takes a fair few hours drive before you leave the built up areas i.e. it's over an hours drive south to the Mandurah area and all the way along is suburbs.

I've lived here for a year now and have no intention of leaving any time soon. Anyone who has been to visit has loved it so for me I'd recommend you come here.

Also, they are crying out for staff in most industries. My local paper has at least 10 or 12 pages of job ads every week.

Hey thanks for the input. Started reading through the visa requirements, theres a lot of stuff to get through.

I only have one year post qualification experience in my field, which may not get me the visa. To be honest im not totally stuck up on going into Environmental Health and would be happy enough to start in a new field (probably finance/insurance) but i relaise I have no experience in these so little chance of getting sponsership.

If i went over on the 1 working visa, started a temp job and did well, would I get sponsered then to stay longer?

I see to get a qualified workers visa I need 3 years experience in my field, which I haven’t got. I have 1 years experience in the area. Is there a way around it? The 1 year working visa seems to only allow you to work in the same job for 3months? But if I went over on the 1 year visa, started a temp job and did well, would I get sponsered then to stay longer? To be honest im not totally wanting to do environemtnal health (plus all the laws etc would be very different requiring a lot of training by my employer which they may not bewilling to do) so im open to start a totally new career.

Guys ive done a lot of reading up on Perth and im sold on it. Sounds great. Unfortunatly I only did the east coast on my travels, but everyone I met mentioned Perth and Darwin as the places to be!

Im going over on a one year working visa anyway, just hopefully I can extend that. The only thing I'll miss about home is the premiership, staying up till 3am to watch it may prove difficult!

The only thing I'll miss about home is the premiership, staying up till 3am to watch it may prove difficult!

Thats what I thought but games are repeated the next day and it's not like the results are splashed all over the news/papers like @ home. All the games are shown here on fox sports as well which is great. I've seen all United's games since we arrived.

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

The only thing I'll miss about home is the premiership, staying up till 3am to watch it may prove difficult!

3am?? Try after 5am for the late games. It's a killer yet I still do it every week.
    And as for the last World Cup, I think I went a month on about 2 hours sleep a night.

Have friends from Perth but haven't made it over there myself. It does sound fantastic though.

Thats what I thought but games are repeated the next day and it's not like the results are splashed all over the news/papers like @ home. All the games are shown here on fox sports as well which is great. I've seen all United's games since we arrived.

Dave,

Don't want to hijack this thread but where did you end up living in Melbourne? I remember when you were trawling round suburbs looking for somewhere to live.

3am?? Try after 5am for the late games. It's a killer yet I still do it every week.
    And as for the last World Cup, I think I went a month on about 2 hours sleep a night.

Have friends from Perth but haven't made it over there myself. It does sound fantastic though.

Premiership times over here aren't that bad.

In summer - 12.45pm kick off at home = 9.45pm here, 3pm=12am.

From March to Oct = 12.45pm = 7.45pm, 3pm=10pm.

Nothing wrong with those times really. It's pretty much the same as if you were watching the Champions League (now that is a b1tch to try see) back home.

If you're on the east coast then you may be up til 5am but they are two hours further ahead of us and the UK

Dave,

Don't want to hijack this thread but where did you end up living in Melbourne? I remember when you were trawling round suburbs looking for somewhere to live.

Were renting in Langwarrin which is great as I'm working in Frankston which is only 10mins away. We love it. Where are you located? Been here 2 months. Have not met 1 Irish person so far :(

And that's a bad thing? Is the whole point of going away not to experience something new and different?

Living in Brunswick, workin in the city. Pretty handy.

You'll find other Irish if you really want to. Take a stroll through St. Kilda if you're missing the accent. It's backpacker central. I tend to avoid it like the plague.

St Kilda festival today apparently? A mate is living in St kilda for now and just rang me drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

Sorry for starting a thread, on what looks like the same topic.
    I was in perth last year for a month. loved it. Did the South West down to Esperance and back up. Freo was lovely. good lifestyle. I'm not a BIG city guy, hence I wasnt too gone on melbourne/sydney.

Ideally I'd love to live near Margaret River, but the odds of getting a "proper" job there seem remote. I'm 30, hence I've done my gadding about, I need to get a career!!haha!!

i too am considering going back next year. It's a big decision, and I was initially thinking of getting the 1 year visa, and try and get a job technical writing in perth and see how it goes...
    I'm not sure whether that visa would entitle me to apply for a "proper" job though...

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭k974

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Well that's bull to be honest. I spent three weeks in Brisbane and the surrounding area for Christmas and it rained every day bar one. Queensland is a tropical climate. Here in Perth it has been in the mid 30s since December and we had our first shower in over 7 weeks yesterday.

Wat your saying is bull to be honest! you came when the drought has broke, and expierenced the wettest december in decades i've been in brisbane for years where you could could on 1 hand the amount of rain days.

k974 wrote: »
    Wat your saying is bull to be honest! you came when the drought has broke, and expierenced the wettest december in decades i've been in brisbane for years where you could could on 1 hand the amount of rain days.

Fair enough, I may just have a massive chip on my shoulder over the fact that the one time I choose to go it's feckin floods! Still had a great time though.

It's rained once in Perth in the last 8 weeks and it's gonna be 35 at the very least all this week. It's hot!

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Hoochiemama

Lived in most of the major cities in Oz and have to say Perth was by far the best. It is so laid back and relaxed.....more than anywhere else ive been in Oz. I was there for 4 months and had a full time job and never felt so relaxed and at home as I did. Stress free living...

plus, Brisbane sucks for beaches

Lads, if I go over on a 1 year workers visa, I understand that im only allowed work for 3months in the same job. Is there a chance if i went over, if i applied for a good job for which my qualification is associated with, would they hire me knowing I can only work there 3months? I could say im planning on staying for the next few years and need sponsership etc - does it work like that? It will probably be a local council ill be working for.

I was also there last year on a 3month holiday visa, that doesnt stop me getting a 1 year visa does it?

Lads, if I go over on a 1 year workers visa, I understand that im only allowed work for 3months in the same job. Is there a chance if i went over, if i applied for a good job for which my qualification is associated with, would they hire me knowing I can only work there 3months? I could say im planning on staying for the next few years and need sponsership etc - does it work like that? It will probably be a local council ill be working for.

I was also there last year on a 3month holiday visa, that doesnt stop me getting a 1 year visa does it?

It's 6 months in any one job now. They extended it a year or so ago.

Holiday visa won't affect you at all. Unless you overstayed it and got deported that is.