Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pancake Tuesday!!!

• 05-02-2008 1:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭

How will you have yours?????

I'll have bacon & maple syrup with pancakes for lunch.................and pancakes and nutella for dessert:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

We just spent an hour at work making pancakes, the office stinks of them now, Lots of toppings, lemon, sugar, maple syrup, strawberries, jam and nutella. Not all at the same time obviously!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A couple of light, thin pancakes with a sprinkle of sugar on them and some strawberries on the side. Noice and simple.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

I forgot all about it. Cue a quick trip down to Lemon to get a banana and white chocolate crepe and a doubel cappucino. Mmm, tasty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I haven't decided yet but I'm having tomato soup for lunch. Huzzah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's pizza Tuesday at my house :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

how many pancakes can you eat?
    my record is 12....and a pint of milk....
    i couldn't move for about two hours, but it was sooooo worth it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭radiospan

Completely forgot about this.

Useless info: The earliest Pancake Tuesday since 1913. Yes I'm bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Pancakes with vanilla ice cream and honey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭DD

feylya wrote: »
    I forgot all about it. Cue a quick trip down to Lemon to get a banana and white chocolate crepe and a doubel cappucino. Mmm, tasty good.

what happened to you guys? :( my bf saw the posts and now he wants pancakes , i dont wanna cook, tell me a good place where can i get some pancakes...i wont do them for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I just eat them plain. No toppings for me please.

I might have a kinder egg or two on the side of the plate though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭BKtje

Social committee here in work made some for everyone. Had mine with nutella and cream and boy did it taste good :D

Love surprise pancakes!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

my bf saw the posts and now he wants pancakes , i dont wanna cook, tell me a good place where can i get some pancakes...i wont do them for sure

Tell him to cook them himself.

B-K-DzR wrote: »
    Social committee here in work made some for everyone. Had mine with nutella and cream and boy did it taste good :D

Love surprise pancakes!

yes, with bananas and nutella and maybe some icecream too and then after im full some nice cold coke, hmm , i think cos of u now i need to find a nice warm place with some tasty pancakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

what happened to you guys? :( my bf saw the posts and now he wants pancakes , i dont wanna cook, tell me a good place where can i get some pancakes...i wont do them for sure

Superquinn normally sell freshly made ones that aren't too bad

I'm travelling all day today and am not gonna be able to have any :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I will have none. I do not know how to make the mixture. Less cleaning up for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Keep it simple, lemon and sugar. Delicious. I'm finished work at 10pm and am going straight home to make pancakes. Yum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

beanyb wrote: »

FFS, eggs, milk and flour. Hardly cooking.

I need some ideas what to have on mine because I usually just have boring lemon and sugar, some nice ones mentioned so far, keep them coming :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

just a bit of Lemon, bit of Sugar.

Maybe ill go all out and have a bit of Jam or Maple Syrup...
    I'm contemplating not having Dinner....JUST PAncakes!!!

beanyb wrote: »

hihi, he barely makes his tea :D
    i hope he wont see my post

D.T. Jesus wrote: »
    I need some ideas what to have on mine because I usually just have boring lemon and sugar
    I never liked mine with sugar and lemon, they ruin pancakes' taste
    id prefer jam, chocolate, bananas or maybe meat or cheese, but not that ugly lemon and sugar :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I just eat them plain. No toppings for me please.

I might have a kinder egg or two on the side of the plate though.

Legend has it, thats the way Jesus used to eat his...

I ate nearly 6 eggs worth of pancakes by myself last year... I think I'll try and beat me previous record this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

There were pancakes for lunch at work today. They tasted like plastic.

/sadface

There were pancakes for lunch at work today. They tasted like plastic.

/sadface

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

There are only two ways to eat pancakes...
    One with Butter and Strawberry jam and the other is with Nutella/white chocolate and ICRECREAM/cream (and maybe a few nuts or bananas tis up to you)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Butter, Sugar and/or Maple Syrup, and Lemon.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭Allison91

Lemon and sugar!! yum!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Sugar, lemon juice and big blob of banana ice-cream, and maybe some maple syrup drizzled over them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gillyfromlyre

Don't mean to spoil the party but I just want ye to be careful when ye are throwing the pancakes in the air, I witnessed a terrifying incident 6 years ago involving my hubby being rushed to hospital with severe facial burning following a pancake tuesday prank, enjoy yer pancakes safely!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

Loads of suger and butter and a pint of milk to go with. No lemon. The simple ways are sometimes the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gillyfromlyre

The brother and I used have a nanny who'd make pancakes from duckfat and eggs, she'd smother em in cream, brown sugar and apple slices with a huge steaming mug of hot chocolate. She herself said pancakes were for "the hopeless" and used have a fine currant scone and a milky tea with 4 spoons of sugar instead, the last mouthful of tea was always thrown out the front door of her little cottage for the crows,mind you I never saw one crow ever drinking from the small little tea puddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭Username!

Oh god Nutella with a few chocolate chips splashed on for some chew.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Not in the mood for pancakes, but i would have honey on mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Didn't even realise ffs! Just texted my ma, she'll get cracking on the mix. I'll buy some chocolate later and melt it to put on. Decided to branch out this year! Normally I have jam and sugar and lemon, but getting sick of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Good ol' sugar and lemon juice on the first one or two.
    Crush a flake bar and sprinkle on the next one.
    Then chop a banana and have banana slices and crushed flake with the next. Repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Me... Lemon and sugar
    Wife... Strawberries and creme fraiche
    Sons ...Chocolate spread and one or two of the others probably.

Batter done and resting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Lawless_Samurai

Chocolate... There is no substitute :D:):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Here_Young_Wan

I forgot :( anyone have any left over and want to send them to Lucan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Not in the mood for pancakes, but i would have honey on mine

It doesn't matter what sort of a mood you're in. It's pancake Tuesday for gods sake ... cop on to yourself!!!!!

Lemon & Sugar for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Salt & vinegar & ketchup. Yep! it is batter after all, and I love that on my chipper batter. Have to be unsweetened pancakes, otherwise real maple syrup, or lemon & dusted icing sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Momma Armour just made me my first helping, just a bit of vanilla in it this time, no honey yet.

Tastes buttery.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

How posh is that having a nanny cooking pancakes! My bat-man was a lazy so ans so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭RodVelvet

To start off a few thin pancakes with lemon and castor sugar followed by a few with a thicker consistency containing Cookies & Cream Haagen Daz...Yum Yum

I think Odlums have a readymade mix where all you do is fill the container up to a mark with milk and shake it until it mixed.Not sure what they taste like though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I don't get any pancakes today :(

if I did I would have butter lemon & honey, or butter lemon & sugar.

boourns to having no pancakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

today is pancake tuesday?

nobody tells me anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I know its traditional and generic, but lemon juice and castor sugar is the way to go. I fonly there was more than one frying pan in the house though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I had butter, lemon and sugar on mine.

Might have another one later with some Nutella and ice-cream. Drooool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

I'm on a no-food diet but I am enjoying the smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

ok - have all the bits - now...how do i cook them???:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I made pancakes from scratch with my senior infant class today. it was so cute! They did the measuring, sieving, whisking and everything. I fried them and then they put lemon and sugar on them. They were delighted. Bless.

I'll make some later from pancake mix and put on mashed banana and some rolo or milky way yoghurt. Yum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,174 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

star-pants wrote: »
    I don't get any pancakes today :(

if I did I would have butter lemon & honey, or butter lemon & sugar.

boourns to having no pancakes

Go make some ya baby :p Flour milk eggs and a bit of butter. Go wild.

Edit:
    how do i cook them?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055230904