Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joining the regular British Army?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Well I know sod all about UK regiments, but I was in Iraq in 2003 when they invaded and in Basra during the invasion I met many Irish, serving the with BA

I was in the Hotel Jundian

Many stories...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mrmotivator007

I HEARD smart civies for tests and to save the suits for the interviews.

dpesthat mean i can turn up in runners and a tracsuit.or do you meen smart caual?and what the hell is that! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

dpesthat mean i can turn up in runners and a tracsuit.or do you meen smart caual?and what the hell is that! :p

not if you actually want to get in!

personally i'd say that 'smart casual' means trousers, shirt, shoes and a jacket, if you're applying as an officer it means a tie as well - but not a suit!

if you arrive in said gear it must be clean, ironed and worn as if you have worn it before. if you do not have such gear then just turn up in what you've got but it must be clean and 'well presented'. your DS would far rather jeans, t-shirt and a primark casual jacket that is clean and worn with care than brogues, moleskins, checkshirt and sports jacket that looks like its spent the last week on your bedroom floor.

all forms of 'selection' are looking not for the finished article, but for the potential and a desire to become the finished article - under the loving guidance of the DS of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭uptherebels

ya I meant smart casual something like a pants,shirt and a tie/jumper,something like this for tests and stuff
    men's_casual_country_knitwear.jpg
    at the end of the day you will have people that will turn up dressed like this

389944252_997660ed9f.jpg

and its the same for every army.now im not saying that theres anything wrong with dressimg like that or that it will affect your chances of getting in but you are trying to put a certain message across

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Pirbright

I'm soon to be EX R IRISH due to an injury sustained. One of the best regiments in the BA. Alot of Southerners in it along with Nordies, Scousers, Fijians, South Africans......As part of 16 Air Assault Brigade, the tempo of ops will be high so be prepared for that. The best bit of advice for anyone joining is make sure you have a sense of humour! Bloody loved the job and wish I was still able to do. I'd be heading to parts sandy in a few weeks instead of now having to become a civvy again!

Lol,love it im totally cluelees on fashion i aint even got a shirt(well one that is prwesentable for an interveiw,mostly tropical ones)id dress like the bottim guy without the hat and chain :p

will this do
    http://brandnoise.typepad.com/brand_noise/images/18166785tigerwoods.jpg
    oviously minus the hat and golf shoes replaced by normal ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭uptherebels

Lol,love it im totally cluelees on fashion i aint even got a shirt(well one that is prwesentable for an interveiw,mostly tropical ones)id dress like the bottim guy without the hat and chain :p

will this do
    http://brandnoise.typepad.com/brand_noise/images/18166785tigerwoods.jpg
    oviously minus the hat and golf shoes replaced by normal ones!

like i said you can wear whatever you want,its up to you but if it was me id wear the jumper and pants for the tests and suit for interview

is that not smart casual?slacks and a jumper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭DILLIGAF

Pirbright wrote: »
    I'm soon to be EX R IRISH due to an injury sustained. One of the best regiments in the BA. Alot of Southerners in it along with Nordies, Scousers, Fijians, South Africans......As part of 16 Air Assault Brigade, the tempo of ops will be high so be prepared for that. The best bit of advice for anyone joining is make sure you have a sense of humour! Bloody loved the job and wish I was still able to do. I'd be heading to parts sandy in a few weeks instead of now having to become a civvy again!

Can I ask, do you apply directly for the Royal Irish or is there a point during the interview or recruitment process that you request to be posted there? Bit of a newjack question but I had to ask!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Hey I am also considering joining the BA after my Leavin cert was wondering how long does training take for infantry and how long until I could be deployed

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

Infantry basic training lasts for 18 weeks and you would be deployed to Iraq or Afghanistan as soon as your unit does - within 12 months max.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pathfinder

Hey I am also considering joining the BA after my Leavin cert was wondering how long does training take for infantry and how long until I could be deployed

Infantry Basic Training is 24 weeks, Guards 26 weeks, After which you can specialise.

You can be deployed straight after BT.

Or if you fancy some of this 30 weeks.<snip> All refferal links snipped - Hagar <snip>

Nowadays the balloon is gone, the first jump is from 250 feet from an aircraft and with a low level parachute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Thanks, and nah mate dont think I could ever be in a parachute regiment... getting shot at is something I could deal with however jumping out of a plane isnt :D

So fitness wise how does it work I'm not overweight or anything but I am quite unfit from smoking,drinkin etc. do they gradually build up your fitness or are you expected to be fit from day one of training :confused:

Also whats pay like in the training stages

basic training in the brits is 14 weeks. then you move onto phase two training which is 24 weeks. its on the website! and yeah, get up tomorrow and be a non smoker. i smoked weed and cigs for 6 years and literally got up one morning and quit!

Thanks, and nah mate dont think I could ever be in a parachute regiment... getting shot at is something I could deal with however jumping out of a plane isnt :D

So fitness wise how does it work I'm not overweight or anything but I am quite unfit from smoking,drinkin etc. do they gradually build up your fitness or are you expected to be fit from day one of training :confused:

Also whats pay like in the training stages

Heres a previous thread, if can run 3 miles in around 22 mins, do around 50 press ups and around 7 chins ups,before reporting to the depot, you will handle the physical side of standard infantry regiment basic training no problem.

If you are of average fitness, you should achieve that within 6 weeks.

The pre-enlistment fitness running test is 1.5 miles in 10.30, Paras 9.30.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055229002

Another unit worth considering is the RAF regiment,obviously not part of the army some units operate with 1 para as part of the special forces support group, you are also eligible for SRR selection. The RAF regiments basic training is harder then that of the standard infantry.

<snip> All refferal links snipped - Hagar <snip>

Roles

Force Protection
    The RAF Regiment takes the lead on Force Protection (FP) for the RAF and is responsible for ensuring the protection of any deployed RAF assets. This could include anything from training other branches of the RAF to mounting aggressive patrols around an air base to deter any attackers. The RAF Force Protection Centre, located at the RAF Regiment's home at RAF Honington, provides specialist training and advice in all areas of Force Protection, and monitors the way in which the RAF Regt operates.

Force Protection Wings
    RAF Force Protection Wing Headquarters (FP Wg HQs), of which there are 7, are optimised to provide operational planning, command and control for Force Protection assets deployed on operations. Each Wing is headed up by an RAF Regt Wg Cdr, who is charge of an 11 strong multi-disciplinary specialist Force Protection team. A Field Sqn is attached to every FP Wg and will provide the main FP manpower during training and operations for an FP Wg.

Field Squadrons
    Field squadrons are highly mobile, heavily armed infantry units optimised for active protection of air assets. They are extremely versatile and are able to counter the whole spectrum of ground-based threats to the RAF. Field Squadrons are trained to move quickly around the battlefield on foot or mounted in helicopters and specially adapted Land Rovers.

The 8 Field Squadrons are organised into flights, each composed of 1 officer and about 30 Gunners. There are various specialist roles within the Sqns such as snipers, mortars and signallers that form an integral part the unit and allow each Sqn to be self-sufficient.

The way a Field Sqn operates depends upon the threat they are facing. They could be mounting defensive positions one day, whilst switching to aggressive patrolling a long way outside of the airfield the next. The Sqn operates by firstly finding the enemy, then fixing him in position using the Support Weapons flight and finally striking using the Rifle Flights to destroy him.

Parachute Capability
    II Squadron RAF Regiment is a parachute-capable Field squadron and can be used to jump in to capture and secure a landing strip or refuelling point. The Sqn operates as a normal Field Sqn, but its capability is used on specific operations as well, such as Op Silkman in Sierra Leone in 2001. Members of II Sqn are required to pass the arduous Pre-Para Selection course, in order to attend a military parachuting course at RAF Brize Norton.

Ceremonial and Public Duties
    The Queen’s Colour Squadron (QCS) is an RAF Regiment unit acting as the custodian of the Queen’s Colour for the Royal Air Force in the United Kingdom. The Squadron is responsible for all security and care of the colour and provides the Escort Squadron whenever it is paraded. The Squadron is unique within the Royal Air Force Regiment in that it has a dual role and holds the Squadron number of 63 Squadron RAF Regiment and fulfils both ceremonial and operational Field Squadron roles.

The Queen’s Colour Squadron regularly forms the Queen’s Guard at Buckingham Palace and other Royal residences. Other important Duties such as repatriation and military tattoos feature heavily in the QCS programme. Additionally the Squadron is world-renowned for its continuity drill displays and holds the world record for the most number of drill movements performed in 24 hrs following a single word of command.

Forward Air Control
    RAF Regiment personnel man the majority of Tactical Air Control Parties (TACPs) that coordinate Close Air Support for the British Army. These small teams move with Airborne, Armoured and Infantry units in order to identify enemy targets and call in air assets to attack them. They are also trained to call in artillery fire. TACPs are required to move quickly around the battlefield and can be inserted by vehicle, helicopter or parachute.

Special Forces Support Group
    The RAF Regiment provides both a Flight and a TACP to the Special Forces Support Group (SFSG). Specially selected Officers and Gunners operate at a high operational tempo in direct support of UK Special Forces operations worldwide.

Ground Defence Training
    Every RAF station has a Ground Defence Training Section; where RAF Regiment instructors train all station personnel in practical Survive To Operate measures, such as first aid, weapon handling and Nuclear, Biological and Chemical defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,621 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Wow,falling out of a c130,thats a challenge :rolleyes:

Most likely more of a challenge then anything you have ever done.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

RAF regiment...you have to be a pretty boy for them to conceder you.

Pathfinder wrote: »
    Most likely more of a challenge then anything you have ever done.

You're funny mate,seriously.You don't even know ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Dub13 wrote: »
    RAF regiment...you have to be a pretty boy for them to conceder you.

I met a guy from East London on holiday once who was in the regiment. He was a Jamaican called Wiz and a close quarters combat instructor.

When I asked him what close quarters combat meant, he said that basically he could kill me in about 20 seconds.

I bought him a pint.

When I asked him what close quarters combat meant, he said that basically he could kill me in about 20 seconds.

I bought him a pint.

Good call.. :D

You're funny mate,seriously.You don't even know ;)

I don't think there is much to know ;)

Fair enough i suppose, that's your prerogative. Although,considering how many women and support service personnel (in the US) are airborne qualified,it's really not that big of an accomplishment.

The threads not about Americans, females serve in the 82nd airborne as medics and are jump qualified.

UK Parachute regiment selection is a different ball game and certainly is a big accomplishment, when the bin rate can be as high as 90%.

Which is actually higher then most countries special forces selection failure rates.

The threads not about Americans, females serve in the 82nd airborne as medics and are jump qualified.

UK Parachute regiment selection is a different ball game.

It's not just medics,every person working in a support capacity is meant to be jump qualified.So,as i said before,being airborne qualified really is not a big deal.
    And i might be mistaken in this but wasn't the Para Regiment grounded due to lack of funds to cover the costs of training?
    As for a selection process, let me guess...lots of PT,ruck marching and team building events? Wow,pretty much described the basis of every selection process for "elite" units the world over.

It's not just medics,every person working in a support capacity is meant to be jump qualified.So,as i said before,being airborne qualified really is not a big deal.
    And i might be mistaken in this but wasn't the Para Regiment grounded due to lack of funds to cover the costs of training?
    As for a selection process, let me guess...lots of PT,ruck marching and team building events? Wow,pretty much described the basis of every selection process for "elite" units the world over.

But female medics actually serve on the battlefield.

P company still runs, drop training will resume in 2010or11.

No P company is alot harder then abit of ruck marching and PT.

Its running up mountains with rucks and team building is running 5 -7 miles with a 170lb stetcher or log races uphills, as well as beastings which can be just as hard as the team events.

I dont know of any other unit that does the trainasium.

Which is abit different then a bit of "ruck marching and team building".

We are not the ARW :D (only joking)

Hence the up to 90% bin rate.

Why do you think most 22 SAS troopers are Paras.

But female medics actually serve on the battlefield.

P company still runs, drop training will resume in 2010or11.

No P company is alot harder then abit of ruck marching and PT.

Its running up mountains with rucks and team building is running 5 -7 miles with a 170lb stetcher or log races uphills, as well as beastings which can be just as hard as the team events.

I dont know of any other unit that does the trainasium.

Which is abit different then a bit of "ruck marching and team building".

We are not the ARW :D (only joking)

Hence the up to 90% bin rate.

Why do you think most SAS troopers are Paras.

So what your saying is that they do ruck marching,PT and team events for their selection?

Glad you cleared that one up.So they also do an obstacle course eh? That's cool,looks like the sort of thing most 8yr olds would enjoy playing on.

Sarcasm aside,they do some tough training.Good for them.Most decent units do (that's what makes them decent). Your desire to hype up every aspect of their activities and those of other units is pretty laughable.No matter how much you try and portray these things as the be all and end all of eliteness,any body who has done it can tell you it's not that amazing.It's the suck,but that's what the army is about.It's not about trying to portray yourself (or other units) as badasses

I can see some of your points 'abusestoilets' but I have to say, I don't think pathfinder is trying to hype anything in the way your saying he is. Your doing the EXACT opposite to him by trying to dumb everything down, your making it sound like you yourself could pass selection for the SAS in the morning, so of course he's going to defend his point, and has done with fact not speculation. So if you don't have anything interesting or informative to add about why this thread was started, then please dont pick fights or continue arguments like this because it's pointless and helping no one join the BA. Cheers

So what your saying is that they do ruck marching,PT and team events for their selection?

Glad you cleared that one up.So they also do an obstacle course eh? That's cool,looks like the sort of thing most 8yr olds would enjoy playing on.

Sarcasm aside,they do some tough training.Good for them.Most decent units do (that's what makes them decent). Your desire to hype up every aspect of their activities and those of other units is pretty laughable.No matter how much you try and portray these things as the be all and end all of eliteness,any body who has done it can tell you it's not that amazing.It's the suck,but that's what the army is about.It's not about trying to portray yourself (or other units) as badasses

So the trainasium is for 8 year olds. ?

You have done it ?

No one claimed anything was "amazing", the response is to your claim P coy "is nothing special".

I havent hyped anything just stated the facts.

So the trainasium is for 8 year olds.

And your military experience is ?

No one claimed it was "amazing", the response is to your claim "its nothing special".

I havent hyped anything just stated the facts.

My experience is enough that i don't cream myself when i read your many,many posts talking about the toughness of the Paras for doing an obstacle course or how great the Royal Marines are for rucking with a heavy pack.
    A bit of exciting music,some action shots and a polished script can make dull,****ty activities sound like bees knees.

My experience is enough that i don't cream myself when i read your many,many posts talking about the toughness of the Paras for doing an obstacle course or how great the Royal Marines are for rucking with a heavy pack.
    A bit of exciting music,some action shots and a polished script can make dull,****ty activities sound like bees knees.

In other words you dont have any experience, hence why you dont appreciate others accomplishments, but attempt to belittle them.

Enough said.

This is a military forum, btw, what videos would you expect to get posted.

I am an ex PTI I have an intrest in this stuff.

Ok people lets get this back on topic which is...'Joining the regular British Army?'.

In other words you dont have any experience, hence why you dont appreciate others accomplishments, but attempt to belittle them.

Enough said.

This is a military forum, btw, what videos would you expect to get posted.

I am an ex PTI I have an intrest in this stuff.

My point is not to belittle the accomplishments of those who have gone through such training.I'm just a little tired of your attitude when posting such videos and other info,which IMO, is one of smug superiority.Something plainly in evidence in the thread talking about the ARW and other units. Real professionals don't need to showboat and brag about their actions.My personal experiences have given me the wisdom to focus on being a professional,quiet and focused on my job.Not worrying about looking like a badass.
    Apologies Dub13 for the derailment,just wanted to challenge the attitude i felt was being displayed.

Ok now everybody has got that out of there system,lets move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭richy

How are ya lads!!This is my first post(i think) since i joined!! I'm confused about what i want to do in terms of career. I finished my leaving cert and am not planning on going to college as the points i got dont fit for the courses i wanted :(. I have applied to the PDF and my interviews should be mid summer but im also thinking about joining the British Army due to the experiences i could have in Afghanistan/Iraq or other future hotspots which its unlikely the PDF will be involved in. I have a few questions for ye who are in the know. 1) Do you know how much soldiers(British Army) on tours are paid(i know the PDF pay something around the 60 euro mark extra every day while away). 2) For people who have served in the British Army how did ye find living so far away from home? 3) Would my leaving cert( roughly 250 points) be sufficient for a cadetship with the Brits? 4) I saw on the website that they like accomadate your rent or something like that but i think its referring to living in the barracks. Do ye know if this is like in seperate houses or i like a dorm with lights out etc.(this is after basic im on about when your a fully fledged killing machine:D 5) Lastly, if i was to return to Ireland after serving with the Brit Army would my service be a bonus or a negative if i sought a civil service job such as garda or fire brigade??

Cheers in advance, Richy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 iwishicould

1) Officer pay for a graduate is £27k while non-grad £22. Non-grad take that little bit longer to move up the ranks than a grad. Not sure about overseas bonus but from what current officers tell me they spend around £200 a month whilst the other £1000 goes into their pockets for savings...

2) Don't know long term but the 3 days I spent in the Land Warfare Centre were entertaining. Even tho it was know as the "Travel Lodge" of officers mess' it was still nice. And a pint of fosters was only 90pence...

4) Again for officers you get your own swanky room, pay around £200 a month for food/bills/beer etc. Nice food, good bar, it's generally a great atmosphere.

5) Can't see it being a negative thing with the experience you will require. You will have experienced more than what most Guards or firemen would have in a lifetime.

Anyway apply ASAP, get your fitness going and best of luck. You will not regret it.
    richy wrote: »
    How are ya lads!!This is my first post(i think) since i joined!! I'm confused about what i want to do in terms of career. I finished my leaving cert and am not planning on going to college as the points i got dont fit for the courses i wanted :(. I have applied to the PDF and my interviews should be mid summer but im also thinking about joining the British Army due to the experiences i could have in Afghanistan/Iraq or other future hotspots which its unlikely the PDF will be involved in. I have a few questions for ye who are in the know. 1) Do you know how much soldiers(British Army) on tours are paid(i know the PDF pay something around the 60 euro mark extra every day while away). 2) For people who have served in the British Army how did ye find living so far away from home? 3) Would my leaving cert( roughly 250 points) be sufficient for a cadetship with the Brits? 4) I saw on the website that they like accomadate your rent or something like that but i think its referring to living in the barracks. Do ye know if this is like in seperate houses or i like a dorm with lights out etc.(this is after basic im on about when your a fully fledged killing machine:D 5) Lastly, if i was to return to Ireland after serving with the Brit Army would my service be a bonus or a negative if i sought a civil service job such as garda or fire brigade??

Cheers in advance, Richy

did my barb during the week,and it went well in my books,i could have my interveiw in the next 2,to 3 weeks,

well done mr, what regiment you going for?

richy wrote: »

Cheers in advance, Richy

If you do well in your leaving cert, why not attempt to go for a commission.

The Short Service Commission (SSC) - the SSC is the normal first commission for those who become an officer in the Army. It is a commission for those who do not wish to commit to a long career but would like to benefit from the high quality training and exceptional experience available to young officers. The SSC is also a first step to a mid-length or full career in the Army. SSCs are awarded for a minimum of three years (six years for the Army Air Corps on account of the length of pilot training) but can be extended to eight.

Candidates for commissions should be over 17 years and nine months and under 29 years old when they begin officer training.

These are far easier to get in the trade and mechanical regiments, such as the logistic corps regiments, Royal Engineers, REME, pioneers or even the signals.

If you want to become a cop consider the Royal military police.

If you dont and join as a squaddie consider the Royal Engineers, you can train in a skill which you can use in civilian life, and then if inclined join the Para or commando engineers and serve with 16 AA or 3 commando.

Sappers can join the Royal Engineers in one of the following trades:
    • Bricklayer and Concretor
    • Building and Structural Finisher
    • Carpenter and Joiner
    • Command, Communications and Information Systems Specialist
    • Construction Materials Technician
    • Draughtsman (Design)
    • Draughtsman (Electrical and Mechanical)
    • Driver RE
    • Electrician
    • Fabricator (Welder)
    • Fitter (Air Conditioning and Refrigeration)
    • General Fitter
    • Geographical Data Technician
    • Geographical Production Technician
    • Geographical Terrain Analyst
    • Heating and Plumbing Engineer
    • Plant Operator Maintainer
    • Resources Specialist
    • Specialist Equipment Driver/Operator
    • Surveyor (Engineering)
    Later, sappers can specialise in further trades and specialities, including:
    • Amphibious Engineer
    • Armoured Engineer
    • Clerk of Works (Construction)
    • Clerk of Works (Electrical)
    • Clerk of Works (Mechanical)
    • Commando Engineer
    • Diver
    • Military Plant Foreman
    • Parachute Engineer
    • Regimental Signals Instructor
    Senior NCOs who have passed the appropriate Clerk of Works course can be commissioned as Garrison Engineers (Construction, Electrical or Mechanical).

If you like horses as well as jumping out of planes and field guns consider 7 Para Royal Horse Artillery.

There is something for everyone.lol.

7 Para RHA takes part in numerous exercises
    in the UK and across the world. We use the
    length of the country and take advantage of the different
    types of terrain in differing training areas. We also
    have the opportunity to train overseas on Overseas
    Training Exercises (OTXs). These include: the jungles
    of Belize and the deserts of Oman.
    Most exercises are based on progressive training.
    Training will start at a low level detachment training
    and work up to high-level, high intensity at Brigade/ Divisional level.
    Due to the Regiments adaptability we must also train in our secondary role (Infantry), as the Regiment has deployed on operation solely in this role. The experience gained from these operations, along with additional qualification attained by individuals, 7 Para RHA are almost self sufficient in terms of preparation for Operations.
    Over the years the Regiment has had the opportunity to
    exercise and train in Belize, Canada, USA, Oman, Kenya and Europe.
    We have close links with other nations Airborne Forces
    often grabbing the chance to obtain Foreign Parachute Wings.

Deployments :

Northern Ireland -1992, 1997 and 1999

· Bosnia (UN) - 1994

· Cyprus - 1994

· Bosnia (NATO) - 1996

· Kosovo - 1999

· Sierra Leone - 2000

· Macedonia - 2001

· Afghanistan - 2001 and 2002

· Kuwait/Iraq – 2003

· Kosovo - 2004/2005

· Afghanistan 2006

Royal Irish Regiment website.

From its origins in 1689 right up to the present day the Royal Irish Regiment has been engaged in the front line of British international military engagements. The Royal Irish has played a significant role in world affairs for over 300 years from Waterloo, the Indian Mutiny and the Boer War to the battles of the Somme, Dunkirk, Normandy and Korea. More recently the 1st Battalion, The Royal Irish Regiment has been on operations in Bosnia, Kosovo, Sierra Leone, the Gulf, Iraq and Afghanistan. The Regiment has a proud and distinguished record of service in several operational theatres and was recently awarded the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross by the Queen for its commitment to Northern Ireland.

The Royal Irish Regiment is the last remaining Irish Infantry of the line. As such, the Royal Irish has unique character, traditions and heritage. Our soldiers, called Rangers, embody the spirit and professionalism that have long been the hallmarks of the Irish soldier. The Rangers have a worldwide reputation as aggressive war fighters yet compassionate peacekeepers. The Battalion’s operational experience has been established on the foundations of numerous overseas training opportunities; these have taken place in Canada, the USA, Botswana, Jamaica, Norway, the jungles of Belize and Brunei and most recently Kenya.

The 1st Battalion is based in Tern Hill, Shropshire (between Liverpool and Birmingham) and forms part of 16 Air Assault Brigade. 16 Brigade is the UK’s high readiness early entry force and comprises the Royal Irish Regiment, as air assault force, alongside Apache attack helicopters and the Parachute Regiment. At present the Battalion is preparing for an operational deployment to Helmand Province in Afghanistan in 2008.

The Royal Irish Regiment has wide ranging career opportunities for those who seek excitement and responsibility. If you are a fit young man and relish a challenge, travel and adventure as a Ranger in the 1st Battalion give the Battalion Recruiting Team a call on 02890 420 306 or email hq@royalirishregiment.co.uk to start the ball rolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Royal Irish Regiment website.

From its origins in 1689 right up to the present day the Royal Irish Regiment has been engaged in the front line of British international military engagements. The Royal Irish has played a significant role in world affairs for over 300 years from Waterloo, the Indian Mutiny and the Boer War to the battles of the Somme, Dunkirk, Normandy and Korea. More recently the 1st Battalion, The Royal Irish Regiment has been on operations in Bosnia, Kosovo, Sierra Leone, the Gulf, Iraq and Afghanistan. The Regiment has a proud and distinguished record of service in several operational theatres and was recently awarded the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross by the Queen for its commitment to Northern Ireland.

The Royal Irish Regiment is the last remaining Irish Infantry of the line. As such, the Royal Irish has unique character, traditions and heritage. Our soldiers, called Rangers, embody the spirit and professionalism that have long been the hallmarks of the Irish soldier. The Rangers have a worldwide reputation as aggressive war fighters yet compassionate peacekeepers. The Battalion’s operational experience has been established on the foundations of numerous overseas training opportunities; these have taken place in Canada, the USA, Botswana, Jamaica, Norway, the jungles of Belize and Brunei and most recently Kenya.

The 1st Battalion is based in Tern Hill, Shropshire (between Liverpool and Birmingham) and forms part of 16 Air Assault Brigade. 16 Brigade is the UK’s high readiness early entry force and comprises the Royal Irish Regiment, as air assault force, alongside Apache attack helicopters and the Parachute Regiment. At present the Battalion is preparing for an operational deployment to Helmand Province in Afghanistan in 2008.

The Royal Irish Regiment has wide ranging career opportunities for those who seek excitement and responsibility. If you are a fit young man and relish a challenge, travel and adventure as a Ranger in the 1st Battalion give the Battalion Recruiting Team a call on 02890 420 306 or email hq@royalirishregiment.co.uk to start the ball rolling.

RIR mainly Protestants from NI. Most Irish Catholics join Irish Guards, who never serve/d in NI AFAIK. Bet you that info isn't wherever you are looking up

I really think the days of that divide have been weened off....

RIR mainly Protestants from NI. Most Irish Catholics join Irish Guards, who never serve/d in NI AFAIK. Bet you that info isn't wherever you are looking up

I think thats changing over the last number of years.I no a good few Irish Catholics who are serving or have served n the RIR.This was defiantly true of the home battalion's of the RIR.

The IG served in north the only from 93. This is common knowledge.

Although those who wanted to could volunteer for the Det or get seconded to other guards regiments for tours.

Those who serve 3 years in the guards have the option of doing P Coy and transferring to 3 Para, now that there is no guards Parachute company, (which historically supported the SAS on ops and whos role is now with 16 AB).

I remember in the first Gulf war, there were quite a few southeners in the Royal Irish Hussars(a tank reg),especially from Limerick.

out of interest Pathfinder, in to RIR, what is the relationship with the 16th Air Assault? That's their brigade right(sorry im still getting used to the ranking/unit system etc) Does this mean you'll have some airborne experience in the RIR? Like you'll earn wings or something(static line jumps and all that) It's something that really interests me, and I was actually going to head over to a group who jump in Holland(ironically known as Pathfinder) who jump with the dutch army and you can earn wings that way that can, I've heard, be worn in most armies as an achievement. But obviously if this can be done in the RIR it'd sweeten the deal that much more and perhaps stop me from applying elsewhere. I just don't know if I could manage the para 1 training. :/

DILLIGAF wrote: »
    out of interest Pathfinder, in to RIR, what is the relationship with the 16th Air Assault? That's their brigade right(sorry im still getting used to the ranking/unit system etc) Does this mean you'll have some airborne their experience in the RIR? Like you'll earn wings or something(static line jumps and all that) It's something that really interests me, and I was actually going to head over to a group who jump in Holland(ironically known as Pathfinder) who jump with the dutch army and you can earn wings that way that can, I've heard, be worn in most armies as an achievement. But obviously if this can be done in the RIR it'd sweeten the deal that much more and perhaps stop me from applying elsewhere. I just don't know if I could manage the para 1 training. :/

The bottom line is if you want to do Para training in any unit in the BA from the Royal Artillery to REME, you must pass pre-para selection, which is P company.

Remember getting to that level of fitness is progressive, there is no reason why any healthy male of average fitness can't within 6 months.

You can actually go on Parachute regiment pre recruit weekends, to see what you think as you can with the Royal Marines, RAF regiment etc.

The RIR role in 16 AA is in heliborne ops,(which includes rappelling) and a light infantry support role. The RIR are not trained a paratroops. But potentally RIR troops can volunteer for Pathfinder selection, (as can Royal Marines, RAF regiment gunners), any other army would call the Pathfinders a SFs unit, but due to the fact the SAS only historically wanted that recognition in the BA,they dont get that title.

16 Air Assault Brigade's Pathfinder Platoon are specially trained paratroopers tasked with advance force operations : moving in ahead of the main force, reconnoitering and marking the parachute drop zone or helicopter landing zone.
    The Pathfinder Platoon is tri-service although it is almost entirely manned by soldiers from 2 and 3 Battalions of The Parachute Regiment, who provide troops to 16 Air Assault Brigade.

Pathfinders may be inserted up to a week ahead of the main force, usually in 4-man teams. The men of the pathfinder platoon are skilled in covert insertion, concealment and intelligence gathering. Pathfinder patrols may be parachuted or helicoptered into position. They may also insert by vehicles, usually heavily armed WMIK Land Rovers.
    Although not technically a special forces unit the levels of discipline and skills required of Pathfinders are close to if not entirely comparable to SF. Indeed, a stint in the pathfinders is often a good grounding for those wishing to serve in the Special Air Service.
    Pathfinders are highly skilled in insertion by parachute, including HALO and HAHO techniques.

Pathfinder Weapons

For much of the 80s and 90s the Pathfinders were issued with non-standard personal weapons such as:
    • M16A1/A2 assault rifles
    • M203 grenade launchers
    • M72 LAW Rocket Launchers
    In more recent times, Pathfinders reverted back to standard UK issue weapons:
    • SA80A2
    • UGL 40mm grenade launcher (attached to sa80a2)
    • LMG (light machine gun)
    Browing High Power 9mm pistols were the standard sidearm for the Pathfinders for many years.
    Reports surfacing in 2007 suggest that the following weapons have been added to the Pathfinder Platoon arsenal:
    • C8 SFW Carbine
    • UGL 40mm grenade launcher (attached to C8 SFW)
    • Sig Sauer P226 9mm pistol
    Pathfinder Operations
    Sierra Leone 2000
    During Operation Palliser the Pathfinder Platoon engaged RUF troops at Lungi Loi, in which several enemy soldiers were killed. It was during the Pathfinder's engagements in Sierra Leone that shortcomings with the SA80a1 assault rifles - which were the standard rifle of the British Army - came to a head. In at least one contact, many of the Paras were unable to release the safety catch on their SA80s, due to the extreme heat. Fortunately the platoon was able to bring their GPMGs and HMGs to bear during the contact and no British lives were lost.
    read more on Parachute Regiment / Pathfinder Operations in Sierra Leone

Iraq 2003
    During Operation Telic the Pathfinders drove into Southern Iraq on WMIK Land Rovers and carried out reconnaissance and offensive operations ahead of the main invasion force.
    Afghanistan 2006
    The Pathfinder Platoon proceded and accompanied 3 Para on operations in Helmand Province.

If you dont fancy the Parachute regiment or the RIR another elite unit are the Royal artillery commandos.

148 COMMANDO FORWARD OBSERVATION BATTERY ROYAL ARTILLERY
    148 Battery ('Meiktila') is a unique unit of specially trained men from the British Army and Royal Navy, tasked with calling in artillery and air strikes in support of UKSF and 3 Commando Brigade, Royal Marines.

The men of 148 are Commando trained and are proficient in stealth insertion via submarine, parachute, boat and helicopter. 148 Battery Fire Support Teams often accompany UKSF teams into action, using their specialist skills in controlling artillery and air strikes. Their particular expertise is in calling in Naval Gunfire. Fire control computers and gyroscope guns on modern British destroyers allow for highly accurate shelling of targets.

Operations
    During the 1982 Falklands conflict, 148 Battery teams linked up with SAS and SBS units for several successful missions which included the shelling of Argentine positions on West Falklands and in and around Port Stanley.

148 Battery deployed with 3 Commando Brigade as part of Operation Telic, the British component of the US-led invasion of Iraq.

Skills of 148 Fire Support Teams include:

Covert insertion methods
    Patrolling behind enemy Lines
    Concealment - building camouflaged hides
    Encrypted Communications

Forward Air Control (calling in air strikes)
    Naval Gunfire Control - 148 teams often use pre-planned fire missions, observing and adjusting the gunfire as needed
    Battle damage assessment
    148 Bty oeprate in small teams of 2-4. In the past, the men of 148 Battery used the M16A1/A2 as their main personal weapon but nowadays they are reported to have recently switched to the SA80a2. A 148 Bty team member may also carry a Minimi light machine gun.

148 Battery share a base with the Special Boat Service, at Poole, Dorset.

If you ever find yourself living in London, this is one of the best TA units to join.

Honourable Artillery Company

The Honourable Artillery Company (HAC) is the oldest regiment within the British Army. It has a long and distinguished history. The HAC is now a renowned regiment within Britain's Territorial Army (TA).
    The Honourable Artillery Company's current role is one of Surveillance and Target Acquisition. The HAC train to operate in small teams of 4-6 men, inserting into enemy-held territory in order to gather intelligence and find targets for deep strike systems such as MLRS artillery and strike aircraft. There are 3 of these Patrol Squadrons within the HAC. The HAC's role is identical to 4/73 Battery of the regular army's Royal Artillery. In time of war, 4/73 Bty would in fact form a fourth Patrol Squadron for the HAC.

HAC patrol squadrons are trained in long range communications, navigation and target recognition. At least one member of a given patrol will be a fully trained medic.
    Communications support is provided by Signal Squadron.
    HAC Selection and Training

Selection for the Honourable Artillery Company is open to civilians aged 18-32 (or older for those with previous military experience).
    Those without a military background undergo a HAC Recruits' Course that gets them up to speed with basic soldiering skills. The Recruit's course lasts six months (Tuesday evenings, about one weekend a month and a ten-day final exercise).

The HAC Recruit's course tests candidates levels of fitness and comprises lessons in:
    • survival techniques
    • weapons drills
    • basic communications
    Those who pass the Recruit's course join the regiment and go on to a Patrol Selection Course which comprises:
    • first aid
    • advanced navigation
    • close quarter battle skills
    • foreign equipment recognition
    • observation post construction, operation and routine
    • long range communications
    The above training is complemented by a series of tests:
    • swimming tests
    • navigation tests
    • long distance marches over arduous terrain carrying heavy loads
    These tests conclude with a 10 day final exercise which tests the recruit's proficiency in the skills acquired.
    HAC Signalers go through a similar selection path as the Patrol Squadrons, but only doing a portion of the Patrol Selection Course. They then go on to a Basic Communications Course which comprises:
    • familiarization with the HAC regiment's communications systems
    • long-distance High Frequency radio communications - both theory and practice
    A final 10 day exam, run in parallel with the Patrol Selection Course finals, tests the recruits acquired skills.