Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Joining the regular British Army?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pathfinder

4/73 SOPB RA are effectively another SF unit in the Royal Artillery.

4/73 Special Observation Post Battery (Royal Artillery)

4/73 Special OP battery are an elite unit within the Royal Artillery tasked with directing artillery fire deep into enemy-held territory. 4/73 Bty also provide crucial battlefield intelligence on enemy post ions, movements, strength and morale.
    4/73 Bty were established in 1982 to fill a mostly cold war role. In the event of a Soviet invasion of Western Europe, small teams from 4/73 Bty would establish covert hides along expected invasion routes. Once overrun by Soviet forces, they would call in intelligence reports and artillery strikes on deep/rear elements of the enemy - e.g. lines of supply, headquarters etc.

In many ways 4/73 Bty perform a similar role to 148 Bty. One of the main difference is that 4/73 Bty lack the parachute and commando training required of 148 Bty members. 4/73 is the regular Army's equivalent of the Honourable Artillery Company (HAC), a territorial unit. In times of war, 4/73 Bty form a fourth Patrol Squadron for the HAC.
    Operations

4/73 Bty, or 'Sphinx Battery' as it is otherwise known, has seen recent action in Afghanistan and Iraq. During recent operations in Afghanistan the unit switched from its traditional artillery spotting role to a reconnaissance role, patrolling in WMIK / Pinzgauer columns.
    In April 2007, 4/73 Bty formed part of 12 Brigade's BRF (Brigade Recce Force) for Operation Herric VI (April 2007-October 2007). When Herric VI, became Herrick VII in October, 4/74 Bty provided troops to 52 Brigade's BRF, along with a recce platoon from the 2nd Battalion, The Yorkshire Regiment.
    • During their deployment, the BRF mounted a seven week desert patrol, Britain's longest since the second World War.
    • In November 2007, 4/73 foiled a car bomb attack on their convoy
    • The BRF saw action during the UK/ANA operation to retake the town of Musa Qaleh in December, 2007.
    Selection & Training

The role of Special Observer within 4/73 Bty is a specialisation which candidates choose when joining the Army. An 18 weeks 'Special Observer Patrol Course' trains candidates in the requisite skills over a series of 8 modules:
    1. Physical Endurance, Stamina and Navigation
    2. Tactics and Patrolling
    3. Communications Skills
    4. Advanced Combat Field Firing
    5. Specialist Skills Package
      a) Specialist OP and Observation Skills
      b) Medical Trauma
      c) Survival
    6. Advanced Patrolling Skills
    7. Final Surveillance and Reconnaissance Patrolling evaluation
    8. Basic Op Assistant.

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

The RIR (Royal Irish Regiment) has been totally restructured over the recent years, and there are plenty Southern Soldiers enlisted. their is also a new TA regiment in the process of being set up (Newry Area0 for Soldiers from the South.

As a matter of Interest, The British Army only allows UK Citizens and Irish Citizens to enlist. Encouragement for Irish to join is clear.

Lauder wrote: »
    The RIR (Royal Irish Regiment) has been totally restructured over the recent years, and there are plenty Southern Soldiers enlisted. their is also a new TA regiment in the process of being set up (Newry Area0 for Soldiers from the South.

As a matter of Interest, The British Army only allows UK Citizens and Irish Citizens to enlist. Encouragement for Irish to join is clear.

Also those from the commonwealth, hence lots of SAs, Ozzies, etc in the BA.

Recruitment & Recruit Selection......For the poster who asked :

The Parachute Regiment recruits nationally i.e. from all over the U.K, and accepts nationals from commonwealth countries and Rep of Ireland and elsewhere in the world (subject to eligibility).
    First step - Armed Forces Careers Office

At the careers office an applicant will undergo a number of interviews and the BARB test. The BARB test is a very simple aptitude, touch screen test, which you must pass. Potential PARA recruits must achieve a higher score on the BARB tests in order to proceed as a potential PARA. The target score is not so high that it is rendered unobtainable, but you must show that you have the aptitude for the stresses of Parachuting, later in your training. Be confident, determined and ensure you inform you interviewer that you want to join the Parachute Regiment.
    Parachute Regiment ‘Insight’ Weekend

This free weekend is for young men who want to join the Regiment but want to see what its like first. It is also ideal for an individual who is still too young to join but still wants to join the regiment. There are two courses held every month at Regimental Headquarters in Colchester. The course is free, we will send you a travel warrant for return tickets to Colchester, food and accommodation are free and it is totally non committal. An introduction to fitness training and the required standards for the course are included in the course programme (which requires a basic level of fitness by the indivdual.) The course also includes presentations on all aspects of the Regiment, simulated parachute training(when available), equipment and weapons demonstrations, and thorough briefings of what to expect in training. Call this number to receive information on course dates and to apply: 01206 782343. The course is open to males aged between 16 and 27 years old. <snip> All refferal links snipped - Hagar <snip>

RSC - Recruit Selection Centre
    After having gone through the Army Careers Office and the initial selection that happens there, potential recruits get sent to an RSC at an ATR (Army Training Regiment). RSC is a 24hr event, which all Army applicants must pass to enter the Army.

Full medical by an Army doctor.
    Basic physical tests
    Interviews with Army officers. Again be positive and confident during your interviews.

PRAC - Parachute Regiment Aptitude Course.
    It is predominantly a physical assessment to see whether applicants have the physical potential (aptitude) to start training with the PARAs. There are only three events on PRAC, gym tests, a run and a steeplechase. The standards of the course are as follows:

Gym tests
    15 sit-ups on a bench angled at 45 degrees.
    10 dips on the parallel bar.
    10 underarm heaves to the bar.

Run - Complete a 5 mile run;
    3 miles squadded
    1 & half miles in best time
    Steeplechase Course - Complete the course (2 circuits) in no more than 12 minutes
    Summary

The PRAC staff will inform you if you have passed. If you fail, but pass the Army entry test you will be given another chance to pass PRAC. If you should fail a second time you will be offered alternative employment in the Army.

The Pre PRAC Training Programme
    Wk no Day Run (in training shoes) Daily Exercise
    1 Mon-Fri 20 Minutes Daily 15 Press Ups
    Sat Rest Day 15 Sit Ups
    Sun 2 Miles in 16 minutes 5 Underarm Heaves

2 Mon-Thus 3-Miles Daily 20 Press Ups
    Fri 2 Miles in 15 minutes 20 Sit Ups
    Sat Rest Day 7 Underarm Heaves
    Sun 3 Miles in 25 minutes

3 Mon-Fri 4-Miles Daily 25 Press Ups
    Sat Rest Day 25 Sit Ups
    Sun 4 Miles in 35 Minutes 9 Heaves

4 Mon-Fri 5-Miles Daily 30 Press Ups
    Sat Rest Day 30 Sit Ups
    Sun 5 Miles in 45 minutes 10 Heaves

If this programme is followed you should be capable of passing the PRAC physical assessment. So get training now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭DILLIGAF

Christ your handy to have around. I'll see if they'll take me for that insight course, in the meantime I'll be training hard. Thanks a lot mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mrmotivator007

THANKS FOR THAT PATH!,looks very similar to the one they have on the ba website get fit for the army,ive beeen training pretty hard for the last 4 months.and im ready for the test now if they asked me.a couple months training and you should be grand dillagaf. get your run under 10.30 or 9.30 if your going for para.also when i was up their,i was told the taking the piss of the paddy days are over,youll be serving with so many different nationaities that they wont pass notice of you.plus thier are a fair few of us southerners in the RIR I was told

good luck and keep up the training

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

O.K so I just received an email from the Administrative Officer for Commander Recruiting asking me for my details in order to process my enquiry further.

I wasn't planning on joining the BA till September [after LC and summer] so was wondering if I reply will they set a date for me to start :confused: I don't want to reply and have them set a date and then say well actually I wasn't going to join till September

So if I reply will I just receive further info or does this mean they want to set a date :confused:

thanks

O.K so I just received an email from the Administrative Officer for Commander Recruiting asking me for my details in order to process my enquiry further.

I wasn't planning on joining the BA till September [after LC and summer] so was wondering if I reply will they set a date for me to start :confused: I don't want to reply and have them set a date and then say well actually I wasn't going to join till September

So if I reply will I just receive further info or does this mean they want to set a date :confused:

thanks

Inform them of your intentions asking when it would be best to apply if wanting to join as a recruit after Sept. It depends on the unit.

Army Air Corps.

One of the most competitive units to gain a commission in. NCOs also have the chance to become pilots.

Andy McNabb tried and failed so joined the Royal Green Jackets as a squaddie instead.

<snip> All refferal links snipped - Hagar <snip>

"The Pathfinders who were sent there for a few hours ended up fighting a 52-day war of attrition. The Royal Irish Regiment who eventually replaced them were told they couldn’t leave and let it fall into the hands of the Taliban. Corporal Danny Groves told Bishop he “couldn’t understand. . . As far as I was concerned the town was in the hands of the Taliban. All we had was a 100-metre by 100-metre square dartboard at which they threw darts in the form of RPGs whenever they fancied”.

Footage from the last Royal Irish tour in stan.

Pathfinder group

Ok, I have my BARB test next week in Enniskillen. Any suggestions for what I should wear? The only shoes I have are pure suit shoes to go with my suit. Other than that, it would be black trainers, blue jeans and maybe a black shirt and green jacket!:/ any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

DILLIGAF wrote: »
    Ok, I have my BARB test next week in Enniskillen. Any suggestions for what I should wear? The only shoes I have are pure suit shoes to go with my suit. Other than that, it would be black trainers, blue jeans and maybe a black shirt and green jacket!:/ any suggestions?

This is basically a **** or bust situation, you don't want to blow it for the sake of a few quid.

Take a trip to Marks and Spencers (Or even Dunnes)and buy a decent pair of Chinos and a good pair of shoes. If you turn up and feel under dressed you will put yourself under unnecessary stress and cock things up.

It's not a fashion parade, but don't let yourself down.

Good luck.

I was thinking that alright, just a plain jumper and jeans and jacket type thing. But no suit required just yet right? smart casual basically!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I was thinking that alright, just a plain jumper and jeans and jacket type thing. But no suit required just yet right? smart casual basically!

One of the other lads can advise you on that, but as with any sort of job interview etc. clothes maketh the man :D

yup yup, got some respectable threads so at least it'll lend a bit of confidence in that regard
    . Have the test and initial appointment next wednesday so I'll let ye know how it goes!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Good luck with it.

Well, the test went really well and I had really easy time with the lads there. They are so accommodating and answered anything you want with examples and conversation. I was dealing with Davey, I can't remember the other chaps name to be honest. I'm not sure exactly what I got in the BARB test because I didn't ask. But I got offered every job I wanted so I have a lot to pick from.

They picked me up from the bus stop and even paid for a hotel that night so I didn't have to travel back down straight away!

I'm thinking about RA. Mainly in the UAV,MLRS,Tank Crewman or even the Mounted Household Cavalry Regiment. Anyone have any thoughts or advice? Pathfinder?

Well, the test went really well and I had really easy time with the lads there. They are so accommodating and answered anything you want with examples and conversation. I was dealing with Davey, I can't remember the other chaps name to be honest. I'm not sure exactly what I got in the BARB test because I didn't ask. But I got offered every job I wanted so I have a lot to pick from.

Oh and if you coming up from the west of Ireland head to the Enniskillen office, east siders go to the Portadown office. :P
    They picked me up from the bus stop and even paid for a hotel that night so I didn't have to travel back down straight away!

I'm thinking about RA. Mainly in the UAV,MLRS,Tank Crewman or even the Mounted Household Cavalry Regiment. Anyone have any thoughts or advice? Pathfinder?

The Royal Horse Artillery have a mounted cavalry ceremonial role as well as obviously being an artillery reg. Kings troop RHA takes ceremonial precedence over all other regiments.

But only the Royal Artillery have a UAV, MLRS role.

The Queens Royal Irish Hussars are a Challenger II tank regiment, but there are other tank regiments as well.

The Blues and Royals have an armoured role as well as being mounted cavalry/ceremonial role.

The choice can be confusing.

Before the defence cuts about 10 years ago there were over 100 bands now its cut to 49.

Many regiments have ceremonial mounted cavalry, you need to decide whether you want to join an artillery reg or amoured reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭somebaldyfela

Is it true the maximum age for joining the british army is 33?could be an option for me,also whats the minimum period of service?

Yes, I believe its now 33.

Royal Tank Regiment on exercise.

They also do an insight weekend.

Mechanised infantry.....which the Irish Guards curent role is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11M4zV_j3z8

Infantry air assault......current Royal Irish Regiment role.

Royal Irish soldiers also have the chance to pass P company.

Light role infantry, units such as the London Irish Rifles.

Infantry combat careers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 skipthispart

Hi i know this may be a little off topic but does anyone know if the soldiers (infantry) 1.5 mile run has to be completed in 10mins too or do they give you more time? Cheers

i was told it's 10:30 but i've heard of guys passing it in 11:15. im not 100% tbh

Alright...we'll see what other people say. Another off-topic question, do you decide what regiment you go into after training or when? i was thinking of the Princess of Waless Royal Regiment. Anyone have any info on them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 iwishicould

with regards to your 1.5mile run question if you're not doing it in under 9mins30 then you're not trying hard enough. it took me three months of solid running from being unfit to getting it from 11mins down to 8mins46.

the PWRR are a popular reg. across the water i was chatting to another irish lad and he was looking to join them, quite a few of the other english lads there were joining the PWRR. dunno why.

not sure when you decide your reg, for officers it's during training you decide.
    Alright...we'll see what other people say. Another off-topic question, do you decide what regiment you go into after training or when? i was thinking of the Princess of Waless Royal Regiment. Anyone have any info on them?

Alright thanks man. By the way I did only start running a month ago so hopefully in a few more months I should be doing 9s. Thanks again

I think they won the most medals in Iraq, mainly recruit from SE England and the channel islands a well as NI

1st Battalion: Armoured Infantry

2nd Battalion: Light Role Infantry

3rd Battalion: Territorial Army.

Regiments and battalions

Was that road running or on a treadmill? 6 minute mile is kind of a standard but if your not going for para's or commando's then don't kill yourself trying to get to 9:30, they'll get you to that with all the training that you'll do in phase 1.

Regarding the regiment choice, it literally hasn't been mentioned to me yet if I know what regiment I want. It doesn't bother me at all so long as I get to put my skills from phase 2 into practice and give the regiment a helping hand in my chosen trade.

Anyway, I wouldn't bother asking too many questions here, unless you want an irish opinion. I find <snip> All refferal links snipped - Hagar <snip> to the best website around for information about recruiting to trades to regiments and their activities. A great community and generally comprising of soldiers and recruiters alike. I put up a thread asking for some basic info a few months ago and I got 3 PM's with numbers and names of people to get onto. Best of luck with it

Pathfinder wrote: »
    I think they won the most medals in Iraq, mainly recruit from SE England and the channel islands a well as NI

1st Battalion: Armoured Infantry

2nd Battalion: Light Role Infantry

3rd Battalion: Territorial Army.

Regiments and battalions

But its still possible to join the regiment from Ireland right? Thanks

yes.

Pathfinder, I'm thinking about putting radar operator at the top of my job preferences. I was going to put Artillery Command Systems on top, but apparently you get trained in ACS during radar training as it is so I may as well go down this route in order to maximize my qualifications.

Any advice?

Pathfinder, I'm thinking about putting radar operator at the top of my job preferences. I was going to put Artillery Command Systems on top, but apparently you get trained in ACS during radar training as it is so I may as well go down this route in order to maximize my qualifications.

Any advice?

As far as I am aware that comes under Gunner trades and you dont have to make a choice until after about 8 weeks of training, in terms of wanting to be a Radar op or RA CS gunner,MRLS, UAV pilot etc.

I dont know much about gunner trades ask the careers office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

if you Irish and you join the army and the worst should happen,do they still cover the coffin in a union jack?

I'd say so. If your a patriot or think you are then this would bother you and thus you wouldn't find yourself even filling in an application to join the BA, never mind get buried by them. I'm no patriot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

I'd say so. If your a patriot or think you are then this would bother you and thus you wouldn't find yourself even filling in an application to join the BA, never mind get buried by them. I'm no patriot.

Cant understand that,I respect people who join the british army but I put my country before my career and it would be a hugely moral disrespect to be brought home in a coffin bearing a symbol that served to oppress the Irish people for hundreds of years.If they are going to except Irish applicants then you should be considered irish and buried in a tri colour,it would be the least they could do for you after you gave your life to serve a country that you werent a citizen of.

Maybe others dont feel as patriotic.

let's not start a debate on patriotism. I can't say that the tri color has been used in only pure circumstances in the troubles up north. Every nation has blood on it's hands no matter what way you look at it. Human nature is a funny thing. And your right, not everyone is as patriotic. This country hasn't done an awful lot lately that we can be proud of, I won't hide behind my birth cert, carve your own path don't let your country do that for you, otherwise you'll start to sound like a yank. ;)

I could be wrong but I taught I read somewhere (maybe the Irish lad who was killed in Iraq a couple of years ago) that you can get your regiment flag over your coffin.

Lance Corporal Ian Malone http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ian_Keith_Malone
    An honour guard of the Irish Guards in their full dress uniform was provided, though the coffin was not draped in the Union flag.

It would be most likely up to the family whether or not the coffin is draped in a flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

dc69 wrote: »
    Cant understand that,I respect people who join the british army but I put my country before my career and it would be a hugely moral disrespect to be brought home in a coffin bearing a symbol that served to oppress the Irish people for hundreds of years.If they are going to except Irish applicants then you should be considered irish and buried in a tri colour,it would be the least they could do for you after you gave your life to serve a country that you werent a citizen of.

Maybe others dont feel as patriotic.

if one did have a particularly strong vew over the 'oppression' issue, and further that you veiwed that 'oppression' as a live issue rather than a dead one, i image that you wouldn't join the BA in the first place - so semantics over which flag you were buried under would be an irrelevence.

perhaps there is another way of looking at it: a young man from the Republic of Ireland joins the BA, he moves to the UK, is trained and paid by the UK and entrusted by it to protect its most vital interests, fights for the UK, pays taxes to the UK (and not the RoI) and is then killed in some dust-hole ending in 'stan' while doing what he volunteered, trained and was paid to do.

exactly what right has the RoI to then claim him as their own?

he made a deliberate decision not to serve the RoI (in either a narrow, military, manner, or a wider, citizen, manner), but to serve (and be part of by living there, voting, paying taxes etc...) the UK. the insult would be to bury him in the Tricolour, it would not be a value judgement (Union Flag = good, Tricolour = bad), rather that it would piss on the decisions that the young man had made.

i have no idea what would happen if the family requested that a Tricolour be used instead - assuming they wanted a full military funeral, (i'm fairly sure that regional flags are ok - Munster, Leinster etc...) but if they didn't want a UF then it wouldn't be used. a point to note is that if the soldier was being buried in the RoI then its unlikely that a full British military funeral could occur in the first place - the RoI has 'interesting' sensibilties to such things as foreign soldiers in full uniform carrying rifles and then firing them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

OS119 wrote: »
    the RoI has 'interesting' sensibilties to such things as foreign soldiers in full uniform carrying rifles and then firing AT them...
    I can't imagine why?*

* A non mod post.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Kenmare

Lance Corporal Ian Malone http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ian_Keith_Malone

It would be most likely up to the family whether or not the coffin is draped in a flag.

Shot in the head................

ouch, how embarrasing. But hey at least it was quick ^_^:(

Kenmare wrote: »
    Shot in the head................

ouch, how embarrasing. But hey at least it was quick ^_^:(

I am not sure why been shot in the head is more embarrassing than been shot anywhere else.

Dub13 wrote: »
    I am not sure why been shot in the head is more embarrassing than been shot anywhere else.

least of all by a sniper, who's primary role it is to execute in one shot anyway. he was doing his job and obviously did it right, nothing embarrassing about that imo....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 blade796

1st battalion Royal Anglians riot training demo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 backonceagain

For anyone interested I should be going on the 20th of august.Ended up going with tank crewman for my role. Queens Royal Hussars,Winston Churchills old regiment,which I pretty interested in anyway considering his role in WW2. Anyway I used to be DILLIGAF,but got banned for mouthing off,after investigation mods decided to let me keep this account anyway,so yeah,no need to report me! :) anyway good luck to anyone else considering joining 'Fear Naught' ;)

well done! I'll be doing my Army Officer Selection Board that week. If all goes well I'll be off to Sandhurst in Jan '09.

So you're going as a soldier? Do you have to do Phase 1 and Phase 2 training in like catterick or someplace like that?