Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2008 Boards Fantasy League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

ok we could do it at 9pm or 10pm Irish, that might suit everyone best. It takes around an hour I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭fatgav

still open guys?? i'd be all for joining if the draft was no earlier then the 19th. bis demands for a newbie, i know, so if it dosen't suit no bother. but if u like i'll enter.

One place left...gogogogo..

i'll take it that's for me zuutroy... off i go!

ok i've joined. now, i'm travelling a bit over the next week so you won't hear anything from me up until draft time but i won't run away and i'll do my uptmost to be a committed player. lapland tomorrow, then back to ireland next wednesday morning, but i'll see ye in a week's time. Promise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭WATPOAE

This is actually my rookie year in a fantasy league, how many numbers at each position do we have to fill to complete a roster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,351 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Good chance I'll miss the draft-family occasion on Wednesday night.

Please don't let me end up with Julio Lugo at SS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Kinda32

WATPOAE wrote: »
    This is actually my rookie year in a fantasy league, how many numbers at each position do we have to fill to complete a roster?

C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, OF, OF, OF, Util, SP, SP, RP, RP, P, P, P, BN, BN, BN, BN, BN

Thats all the positions. Bn is 5 bench players, can be any position.. Util is like a DH.. any batter..

I originally selected the draft for tonight at 8pm, so we'll just let it run then I guess. Anyone that can't make it, make sure to pre-rank the guys you want so you stand a chance of getting them!

is it tonight or tomorrow?

Yes, its tomorrow. My bad!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,913 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

zuutroy wrote: »
    I originally selected the draft for tonight at 8pm, so we'll just let it run then I guess. Anyone that can't make it, make sure to pre-rank the guys you want so you stand a chance of getting them!

Ah shite. 8pm is no good for me so I won't be around. Sorry guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

Me too. Working evenings this week.

Lads, as Zuutroy said, if you can't make the draft tomorrow, make sure you pre rank players before the draft that you're really looking to take. Jesus, the way these things work, one of you lot will end up with Alex Rodriguez as
    1st pick!!

What if was changed to 10 pm Irish time xavi?? did you say that would suit more?? It would suit me fine anyway..

Kinda32 wrote: »
    What if was changed to 10 pm Irish time xavi?? did you say that would suit more?? It would suit me fine anyway..

Ah it's grand don't worry about me. Everyone seems to know it's at 8pm so no hassle. I've stuck my preferred picks in order so hopefully I'll get some of the 75 I have down! (All I really want is Jeter though!)

draft in an hour... i'm studying away while doing my ncaa bracket as well. spring is most definitely in the air...

is the live draft working for anyone?? i open the screen and it's white...

works for me...update Java maybe?

i'm doing an uninstall/reinstall now

• Registered Users Posts: 30 gilga

Happy enough with draft. Prospecting with it, some risks.

BAtters have good averages, sbs and overall good HR rate.

Josh Hamilton and Lastings Milledge better do as good as I think. Bourn is a gut one.

Wanted to focus on pitching. Got Hamels, Smolz, Kazmir (he'll be fine), bitch boy AJ better fly straight concerning his bitch like injuries. McGowan is solid prospect and Gorzelanny is solid, pity he's with pirates, poor bastard will get little support. RP in NAthan and Street.

AS for Wilson.... well, yeah....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Bad beat 1: Work :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Bad beat 2:
    You are not allowed to view this page because you are not in this league. (Error #152)
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Dont even know who Ive got....a bunch of no-hopers probably :confused:

Team name and ill list ?

gilga wrote: »
    Team name and ill list ?

BuckyFcukingDent ;)

Here ya go:
    C Ramón Hernández
    1B Mark Teixeira
    2B Howie Kendrick
    3B Miguel Cabrera
    SS Rafael Furcal
    OF Grady Sizemore
    OF Hunter Pence
    OF Chris Young
    Util Travis Hafner
    BN Josh Fields
    BN Jeremy Hermida
    BN Khalil Greene
    BN Adam LaRoche

SP Erik Bedard
    SP Brett Myers
    RP José Valverde
    RP Joakim Soria
    P Rich Hill
    P Brad Penny
    P Pedro Martínez
    BN Heath Bell

Let's just say I'm very happy!

C
    A.J. Pierzynski
    (CWS - C)

1B
    Derrek Lee
    (ChC - 1B)

2B
    Tadahito Iguchi
    (SD - 2B)

3B
    Álex Rodríguez
    (NYY - 3B)

SS
    J.J. Hardy
    (Mil - SS)

OF
    Manny Ramírez
    (Bos - OF)

OF
    Carlos Lee
    (Hou - OF)

OF
    Hideki Matsui
    (NYY - OF)

Util
    Jermaine Dye
    (CWS - OF)

BN
    Jason Giambi
    (NYY - 1B)

BN
    Coco Crisp
    (Bos - OF)

BN
    Julio Lugo
    (Bos - SS)

BN
    Kevin Kouzmanoff
    (SD - 3B)

Got the big hitters I wanted. No Jeter though :(

Jeter went in the 2nd round.. very very early

Yeah initially I had him as my first pick out of loyalty but I dropped him to third choice at the last minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

varitek lasted suprisingly long. thought he'd have been snapped up earlyish

Varitek, naaah. better options, Geovany Soto as a prospect rates higher.

Dear Jebus

C Varitek
    1B Berkman
    2B Kinsler
    3B Braun
    SS Young
    OF Rios
    OF Abreu
    OF Bay
    UTL Pierre

BN Taveras
    BN Hudson
    BN S. Drew
    BN Sexson

SP Santana
    SP Liriano
    RP Putz
    RP K-Rod

P Cordero
    P Billingsley
    P Lilly

BN Percival

Oh well-pitching and defence win championships. I guess.

ROFL you got a raw deal alright. Forgot to post up my pitchers and the yahoo site is blocked in work. Would anyone be able to grab them for me there? 'West Coast Coolers'. I know I have Zambrano as my SP anyway.

SP Zambrano
    SP Vazquez
    RP Wood
    RP Gregg
    P Halliday
    P Hochevar
    P Chase Wright

BN Humber

Nearly sucks as much as my hitting!

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    SP Zambrano
    SP Vazquez
    RP Wood
    RP Gregg
    P Halliday
    P Hochevar
    P Chase Wright

BN Humber

Nearly sucks as much as my hitting!

:eek: Kerry Wood?! Ah FFS. I'll have to slug my way to victory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭chicoben

**** i totally forgot about this! My team worked out pretty ok though!

To think that all of my prep work went for nothing! Completely forgot I had a client dinner with work last night hence me not being around for the draft. To be honest, I haven't done too badly although starting pitching is looking a bit ropey!

Oh, and I know you're all jealous that I somehow managed to land ****ing Curt "out for ages" Schilling! Anyone wanna trade?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭DmanDmythDledge

Lads, I'm setting up a private league for a different website but I'm just wondering what would be the best option to pick for setting up the league?

Now that the action has kicked off should this thread maybe be stickied?

good call with that...

Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 pk123

Hi all i know im running a bit late but can i join up too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭chicoben

Hey, how the hell does the scoring work? Havent a clue whats going on.

chicoben wrote: »

It works on a sliding scale.. ie for each category (runs, home runs etc) the team with the most runs for example have 12 points in that category and so on down to 1 point for the team with the least. The 10 catergories are then totalled and the team with most points thats the leader. On the league page, click into full standings and it breaks it down. the first table is the points for each category and the second table is the total stats in each category.. hope that helps

Ortiz is really costing me in this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

chicoben wrote: »

Me too. But somehow I'm in first place. Probably better I don't know lol.

Bill Hall looks to be a great free agent signing so far.

Can anyone explain to me how to manage a team-especially the pitching?

How do you mean manage the pitching?? They show you the probable pitchers a few days in advance so i normally just set my lineup a few days in advance. Forgot to include Dan Haren today of course and he pitches a good game!! Typical

Well I have 3 SPs-does that mean that I can only score points for starting pitching 3 out of 5 days?

And what if 2 of my SPs are scheduled to pitch the same day?

Should you/can you dump RPs to sign SPs?

Or do you try and juggle SPs and closers?

You have 2 SP's, 2 RP's and 3 P's spots (can be either starter or relief pitcher). All those positions are active every day so you can have a max of 5 starting pitchers going on any one day (this is highly unlikely) so you should have a mix of starters and relief guys and rotate the starters and make them active when they are pitching..

Ok, getting it now-looks like more work is involved than I first imagined....

there is a little work involved. I go in every 4 days or so and set my line-up for the next 4 days.. normally works out ok.