Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Hugs Dublin! Sat the 23rd of Feb

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Pandora's there? Grand, I'll pop along, in multiple disguises :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

All your hugz r belong to us!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭MistressPandora

Feelgood wrote: »
    I am just trying to establish acceptable boundaries here missus and define what a hug is..

Do you have to hug from the front or can you hug from behind too?.

You hug me from the front, but you can hug Dragan from behind.
    Now that'd be a surprise for him!

*Refrains from making any more comments about hugging from behind due to explict dirty-mindedness and probable banning*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

kev_s88 wrote: »
    i might try to lend an hour or 2 to the giving/receiving of hugs

Nice one Kev!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

You hug me from the front, but you can hug Dragan from behind.
    Now that'd be a surprise for him!

*Refrains from making any more comments about hugging from behind due to explict dirty-mindedness and probable banning*

I'm out sorry....In fairness its a great idea though theres always the possibility that I'd end up hugging a bloke and man bits on man bits I just couldn't do...I mean I have a reputation to think about.

If you can give me your word that I will end up hugging a chick I will try and make it up, but it can't be one of those hugs where I know your just hugging me cause thats what your there to do, it has to be one of those hugs where I can walk away and know there was the possibility of it leading to intercourse...

Frankly, your asking a lot. I mean, you could be ugly as hell, and there is no way we can have ugly folks sullying Pandora's plentiful pretty.

I guess you just going to have to show up on the day so we can judge you! :D

Dragan wrote: »
    no way we can have ugly folks sullying Pandora's plentiful pretty.

I dunno, i reckon the judges would have preferred "Pandara's plentiful bounty", or "Pandora's plentiful beauty", that way buxom is implied :D

But, y'know, plentiful pretty, that's nice too :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Will you too stop flirting,
    really are you just waiting for Az to come by and say
    Dragan and AngryBadger making out uh huhs hugging is hwat !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I don't get this at all, I can't wrap my fragile mind around it. Why would anyone want to hug a perfect stranger?

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Will you too stop flirting,
    really are you just waiting for Az to come by and say
    Dragan and AngryBadger making out uh huhs hugging is hwat !

Ha! Az wishes he could get a slice of this pie ;)

But he can't! 'cause I don't kiss boys....unless I'm dared :p

...and even then I have to have a girl on-hand to kiss immediately afterward to get the taste of "Boy" out of my mouth!

It's because I'm SO heterosexual you see :D

Aright then, I dare you to kiss Dragon when you got to get your free hug.

Ha! Az wishes he could get a slice of this pie ;)

But he can't! 'cause I don't kiss boys....unless I'm dared :p

...and even then I have to have a girl on-hand to kiss immediately afterward to get the taste of "Boy" out of my mouth!

It's because I'm SO heterosexual you see :D

Pictures of girl-on-girl kissing please :D

Now i'm all about the Hugs, but kisses are special between me and ladies! :D

Hrududu wrote: »
    I don't get this at all, I can't wrap my fragile mind around it. Why would anyone want to hug a perfect stranger?

Wouldn't it be nice if you so badly needed a hug and there was someone offering you one?
    Or are you the type of person who's too suspicious of anything nice happening to them?
    Is the glass half empty or half full...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Wouldn't it be nice if you so badly needed a hug and there was someone offering you one?
    Or are you the type of person who's too suspicious of anything nice happening to them?
    Is the glass half empty or half full...
    No its not a suspicion about having something nice happen. Its just the idea of walking up to a complete stranger and hugging them. Am I being weird in thinking thats weird?

Not as such, we're not accosting people for hugs.
    We'll have signs annoucing it and stuff.

Tell ya what, you don't even need to hug, a handshake will do. Is that better?

No its not a suspicion about having something nice happen. Its just the idea of walking up to a complete stranger and hugging them. Am I being weird in thinking thats weird?

The idea is to simply give a stranger an opportuinity to hug a stranger.

Thats all. As i said in my first post, we will not be approaching anyone, just putting the word out and being available for a hug is all!

Not as such, we're not accosting people for hugs.
    We'll have signs annoucing it and stuff.

Tell ya what, you don't even need to hug, a handshake will do. Is that better?

Ahhhh the hands are involved now too, sound seeya there....

that doesn't apply to you, I want to be able to see yours!

Seriously though lads, best of luck with it is a good idea. Lash up some pics next week at some stage so we can see the days outing. Probably wont make it up myself though am sure ye will get a good reception...

Just hope people don't think your trying to get them to do a free personality test!!..

Thank you Feelgood!
    Hopefully if/when the oppurtunity arises again, you won't pass up on the offer!

Note to self: make a sign that says "Absolutely NOTHING to do with Sciencetology"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Also Dublin forum FFS.

biko beat ya. :p

It's about hugs, not Dublin.

Two questions:
    1. What time does it kick-off?
    2. Do boardsies get buckshee?
    3. Is there a secret hug to recognise boardsies (like freemasons)? :D

Ok, that was 3 questions.

Slow coach wrote: »
    biko beat ya. :p

It's about hugs, not Dublin.

Two questions:
    1. What time does it kick-off?
    2. Do boardsies get buckshee?
    3. Is there a secret hug to recognise boardsies (like freemasons)? :D

Ok, that was 3 questions.

Not too sure what time it is kicking off yet....need to get the whole core crew lined up and then decide! It's be after noon sometime though, not starting this early as it's gonna be a long days huggin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

That's right!:mad: Whose with me to combat the evils of these huggers?:mad:

I propose forming a protective "sheath" between the members of the public and these huggers, so that the virus of goodwill will not spread across The Pale.:mad:

~ ~
    o o

/ \

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Hugs you say..... o.O

BAH Hugbug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,280 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Are ye not afraid that some drunken bowsy might try to 'drop the hand'?
    You haven't met Dragan, have ye? It'd take someone more than a little dutch courage to try a fast one around a man his size...

....dammit....shoulda known that would backfire.....what're the odds of Dragan taking it the wrong way?

I mean from what i ehar he's a fairly big guy, now I'm a fairly big guy myself but I shudder at the cost to the tax-payer if I tongue-wrestle with Dragan and he hulks out on me, leading to a mano-A-mano throwdown.

Also can there be a pretty girl next to him for me to kiss afterward (y'know, so's I can get the taste of "dragan" out of ym mouth, as previously mentioned :p)

....dammit....shoulda known that would backfire.....what're the odds of Dragan taking it the wrong way?

I mean from what i ehar he's a fairly big guy, now I'm a fairly big guy myself but I shudder at the cost to the tax-payer if I tongue-wrestle with Dragan and he hulks out on me, leading to a mano-A-mano throwdown.

Freehugs goes all Torchwood.

HWAT!
    Also can there be a pretty girl next to him for me to kiss afterward (y'know, so's I can get the taste of "dragan" out of ym mouth, as previously mentioned :p)

:D there are some women out there who like that type of thing.

Sorry Dragan et al for derailing the thread.

I think freehug is a wonderful idea and do agree that a person needs at least 1 /2 hugs a day. When people grow up they are afraid to seek plain phyical comfort like a hug or to be held when upset and crying from others and that is sad.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,605 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

But sticking your Jammy Dodger into some young ones Figless Fig Roll on a drunken saturday night is ok?? (Not aimed at you Hrududu!!!)

I just joined the bebo there, I shall be along for some Bone, Hugs and (in perfect) Harmony.

^^
    That was the funniest thing Ive said all day. I must be losing it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Also Dublin forum FFS.

I spproved this thread for AH.
    Also, your link is wrong. :)

Dragan, I hope you get pickpocketed and then get herpes when some chick kisses you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Myself and a female friend will be there to join in with the hugging!

Added on bebo too

Terry wrote: »
    Dragan, I hope you get pickpocketed and then get herpes when some chick kisses you.

Love you too Terry! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Are you recording the event in any way?

Might be an idea to see if any of the lads on the photography forum would be there to capture some of the hugging.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Are you recording the event in any way?

Might be an idea to see if any of the lads on the photography forum would be there to capture some of the hugging.

We have a couple of photographers there on the day alright, but once again anyone who wants to show up for a hug and to take a snap is more than welcome! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

i love hugs...expect mee to appear...and probably stick around to give out more :D

Was in Madrid and seen this in action....

I give it the thumbs up! No harm done, and creates smiles which is never a bad thing.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

No good can come of this, no good at all!

Down with this sort of thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

careful now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

AWH!!! I shall most defo be there!!! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭roy123456789

I'm a Leper....... sorry I mean Taxi driver can I come too?

Yes, but your not allowed charge for time spent hugging! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,711 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

This is Ireland, people. Watch out for a tenfold increase on the sex offender register come Monday morning....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

if you come near me I'd tell you where to shove your hug

phasers wrote: »

Ah, internet anger....the most humorous kind!

Would you like a hug? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Dragan wrote: »
    Ah, internet anger....the most humorous kind!

Would you like a hug? :D

I only make fun because I wasn't hugged enough as a child

:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

I only make fun because I wasn't hugged enough as a child

:(:(:(

Take it to PI ! :D

I'll give ya a hug !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

*wishes she was in Dublin to get in on the hugging random strangers action*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

lol if any random stranger tries to hug me that day, they'll get a nice free kick in the head.

so...like...around you?...I guess...like a big, warm, comforitng balnket.....of comrfort? Is that where you'd want me to shove my hug? ;):p:D:cool: