Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Radios

• 09-02-2008 11:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Hey!!!
    I Dunno if this is in the right place!!
    But I was Wondering if anyone knows anything about the Gardai getting a new radio system????:rolleyes::)
    Btw im not a Garda even do my Username says so..... but i want to be 1!!!

Any replies much appreciated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/mheyidcwmhql/
    Gardaí hampered by lack of secure radio system: Flanagan
    10/02/2008 - 10:05:41

Fine Gael has claimed that the fight against organised crime is being severely hampered because gardaí don't have a secure radio system.

Two pilot projects have taken place into the roll-out of a new national digital system but no contracts have been agreed to put it in place.

Fine Gael has claimed it is more than ten years since the Gardaí first requested a new radio system.

The party's Justice Spokesman Charlie Flanagan maintained that the current analogue system is completely unreliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

There was a recent recruitment campaign for communications technicians; They may have been getting extra bodies in to roll out a new system which is greatly required;

But the 1st thing they must make sure of in the new set-up is that they provide enough radios for every patrol; There is situations every day that patrols are heading out without communicating devices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

The TETRA (Google it) system is supposed to be on the way, not sure what stage its at at the moment TBH.

Suspect its the usual case of Paddy joining the 20th century in the 21st century...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Dublin City and some surrounding suburbs use the Tetra system. Its a digitally encyrpted network which is harder to listen into as you have to decode it first - its completely digital not radiowaves.

They are coming in across the board, but like everything else its an issue of funding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I don't know why this is even an issue..... it's not like you're asking for hummers for the traffic corp or somethin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

the locust wrote: »
    its completely digital not radiowaves.
    Well yes, it is digital but still uses radiowaves!!!

The current analogue system is an unsecure joke. Many I know on the ground in the guards use their own personal or state mobiles to communicate with each other.

The Tetra system is currently on pilot in the DMR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Was told last week Blanchardstown was to get it in March this year but it has been put back till June/July now.

Karlitosway is using it and has expressed some problems with it. He didn't elaborate yet so I don't know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Pataman

I have seen planning permissions in the indo for various locations for the tetra aerials for the emergency services( all 3), so it must be on the way, too late as usual. Is there any talk of getting computers in the cars similar to the States?

Pataman wrote: »
    Is there any talk of getting computers in the cars similar to the States?

I haven't heard anything recently but there was talk that TETRA can be used to transmit pics to an onboard computer in a car if needed. Now that would be a handy tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

read a n article in the indo few months back abt new darda cctv where comtrol could transmit images to a computer in a patrol car, heard also lately abt the traffic corps being kitted out with number recognition devices on cars, pretty useful. as for all the new equipment there isnt to my knowledge a lot of mention in the new policing plan :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

TheNog wrote: »
    Was told last week Blanchardstown was to get it in March this year but it has been put back till June/July now.

Karlitosway is using it and has expressed some problems with it. He didn't elaborate yet so I don't know

Sorry should have. Basically I dont know if its the radios were using or Tetra itself but I find it wont penetrate walls, etc and frequently loses coverage where the old system did not. I also find that the interference when theres another nearby to be terrible. I also dont like the fact that were not kitted with ear pieces or mics as during a struggle, etc its hard to grab and use the radio (emergency button is small)

But its not really a choice is it? The current system has to go and Tetra does have a lot of options that havent been activated during the trial stage so in full use it has great possibilities.

... wont penetrate walls, .... frequently loses coverage ...the interference when theres another nearby to be terrible... not kitted with ear pieces or mics as during a struggle, etc its hard to grab and use the radio (emergency button is small)

Tetra does have a lot of options that havent been activated during the trial stage so in full use it has great possibilities.

These are disturbing shortfalls which should be ironed out during trials not after the system is rolled countrywide. An ear piece should be standard as the information given out over the radio is mostly confidential and not for everyone to hear when you are standing on a busy street.

It would appear to me that the Tetra system has not been fully tested despite these tests going on for a while now. Karlito how long have ye had the radios?

Interference standing next to a wall? I work in Dub city centre and am frequented by concrete walls and tall buildings, alleyways etc... no probs with tetra, had it here for ages now. Personal issue is reportedly on the way... I'm regularly in the car with three lads all on different freqs and no probs... If you're travelling far outside your district you lose signal and would have to switch freq... but by and large its grand. Earpieces would be welcome for privacy/discreetness etc...

These are disturbing shortfalls which should be ironed out during trials not after the system is rolled countrywide. An ear piece should be standard as the information given out over the radio is mostly confidential and not for everyone to hear when you are standing on a busy street.

It would appear to me that the Tetra system has not been fully tested despite these tests going on for a while now. Karlito how long have ye had the radios?

About 6 or 7 years but the first set were Motorola bricks and the new ones are Nokia more akin to the Mets radios, possible the same in fact.

Locust,
    Im talking about same frequency such as 2 beat men together and I didnt mean beside a wall. Underground or inside buildings such as Brown Thomas or Penneys, etc.

Interestingly why the hell are there 3 or 4 in the same car and why so many frequencies? Local and control is the norm.

CTF, cpu, sdu etc - regularly listen to different channels, different districts for stuff happening

the locust wrote: »
    CTF, cpu, sdu etc - regularly listen to different channels, different districts for stuff happening

Thats what scan is for my friend but sure you Taskies dont answer the radio in your own district anyway!!!!

hahahahahahahahaha!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

TETRA is on the way and should have been nation wide about 4 years ago. However there are problems, they can't be used in and around hospitals for fear of interfering with sensitive equipment, much like the reason you can't (or shouldn't) use mobile phones in hospitals either. Also comms between ground forces and GASU and the interferance aircraft equipment. It will be here at some stage but it will be a while yet, I think, before we will see it in full use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

vulcan57 wrote: »
    TETRA is on the way and should have been nation wide about 4 years ago. However there are problems, they can't be used in and around hospitals for fear of interfering with sensitive equipment, much like the reason you can't (or shouldn't) use mobile phones in hospitals either. Also comms between ground forces and GASU and the interferance aircraft equipment. It will be here at some stage but it will be a while yet, I think, before we will see it in full use.

What!? Dear god almighty. If this is indeed true who the hell sanctioned its use for police? :rolleyes:

Our Airwave digital radio is simply put on 'transmit inhibit' in sensitive areas of hospitals, so you can still receive traffic without affecting any equipment. No issue, no big deal.

As for interfering with ASU, India 99 and 98 use Airwave as well.....without any problems surprisingly. Again this should not be an issue.

Our digital radio system isn't fantastic, but its better than the old system. What you're saying about Tetra, if accurate, means someone needs to be put in front of a firing squad.

metman wrote: »
    What!? Dear god almighty. If this is indeed true who the hell sanctioned its use for police? :rolleyes:

Our Airwave digital radio is simply put on 'transmit inhibit' in sensitive areas of hospitals, so you can still receive traffic without affecting any equipment. No issue, no big deal.

As for interfering with ASU, India 99 and 98 use Airwave as well.....without any problems surprisingly. Again this should not be an issue.

Our digital radio system isn't fantastic, but its better than the old system. What you're saying about Tetra, if accurate, means someone needs to be put in front of a firing squad.

Airwave put a bid in too supply our system as well but then withdrew because of some of the requirements. The radios themselves are the same.

All TETRA systems have the same problems, the system itself has problems in cars, buildings, underground and while moving fast. Thats a simple fact for Tetra due to its workings and frequency levels. I personally have never seen any issues with air support or inside a car.

No Tetra is supposed to be within 1 metre of (old) medical equipment but other than that its precuationary. Anything that transmits radio frequencies can interfere with eachother. Even microwaves can make a TV flicker for example.

There is also genuine concerns that the low frequency used can interfere with the human brain and has health questions that have, as yet not been answered.

There are other newer options (Tetra is 15 years old) but when put out to tender the more reliable and tested Tetra was picked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Airwave put a bid in too supply our system as well but then withdrew because of some of the requirements. The radios themselves are the same.

I'm not surprised. Airwave is iffy more often than not but it is being improved upon. I imagine the issues with Tetra will be ironed out as its lifespan progresses.

At the end of the day Tetra is a more stable and secure system, which is a step in the right direction.

I heard the reason why Airwave pulled out was because one of the conditions was that if there was reliability issues then the contractor stumps up with the cash as opposed to the customer/Gardai. Also any over runs on the agreed price is paid by the contractor not by taxpayer money. The countrywide installations cost will be fixed before roll out begins and the maintenance for 4-5 (?) is to be fixed too.

Proper order too

I heard the reason why Airwave pulled out was because one of the conditions was that if there was reliability issues then the contractor stumps up with the cash as opposed to the customer/Gardai. Also any over runs on the agreed price is paid by the contractor not by taxpayer money. The countrywide installations cost will be fixed before roll out begins and the maintenance for 4-5 (?) is to be fixed too.

Proper order too

Pretty much, the supplier had to install the trial edition free to prove the system worked. Airwave said no deal.