Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Singles

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

buskers?

Not on ur life honey.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

roisin dubh?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

skelliser wrote: »
    roisin dubh?

Happy days :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

skelliser wrote: »
    roisin dubh?

Urgh...cross the river for once boardsies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

no no no not this weeekend!

i have my little sister down with me for the weekend! shes only 17!

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

you say that like it's a bad thing

Isn't the rule of thumb age/2 ?

There is speed dating at The Warwick on Thursday, I would go but I make a crap 1st impression, I do however make a great 3rd impression

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Is there an upper age limit?

MattKid wrote: »
    There is speed dating at The Warwick on Thursday, I would go but I make a crap 1st impression, I do however make a great 3rd impression

lol me too!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

cool! anymore info on this?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Booooooards Beeeeeeeers Peeeeeeople!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I think the girlies want a singles place, not NerdFest 2008 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

JohnCleary wrote: »

:(

• Registered Users Posts: 25,950 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

you say that like it's a bad thing

Isn't the rule of thumb age/2 ?

Ahh, no. 'Cos that would say that a 14yo and an 8yo are fine match.

(If you were joking .. and surely you must have been ... then you shoulda put a smiley on the post ...)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

eh well I think she was assuming that there were not any kids invloved and her post was aimed at people in their 20's

• Registered Users Posts: 25,950 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Even so:

24/2 = 12.

(22/2) + 7 = 19

Which do you think gives the better result ....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

JustMary wrote: »
    Even so:

24/2 = 12.

(22/2) + 7 = 19

It depends what you're looking for... :eek:

i agree!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭gufcfan

Even so:
    (22/2) + 7 = 19

Get a calculator and type in 22 divided by 2, and then add 7.

Im not a mathematician but i doubt you will get 19...:D

Shoot me! but i had to say it!!!

so when is this singles night happening?

I choose Tomorrow!

It's Coyote Ugly Night @ Route 66 in Oranmore

I choose Tomorrow!

It's Coyote Ugly Night @ Route 66 in Oranmore

no!!! i cant! my little sister is coming down!

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭King John V

Hey Matt
    Whats route 66 like as a club? Sure thats only down the road from me. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

so did any of ye chap/chapettes go to the quick fire dating reounf in wither warwick or the imperical hotel, would have went for the craic but was working 2 jobs!

Hey Matt
    Whats route 66 like as a club? Sure thats only down the road from me. Thanks.

I always have a good laugh there, a fair mix of Polish, Brazilian and Irish. A mix of chart, dance and cheese. A decent size dance floor which is what most Galway clubs are missing, and no trouble (that I've encountered).

A night in The Brewery and the Route 66 isn't bad at all, especially when it means you don't have to pay out for a taxi.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Even so:

24/2 = 12.

(22/2) + 7 = 19

gufcfan wrote: »
    Get a calculator and type in 22 divided by 2, and then add 7.

Im not a mathematician but i doubt you will get 19...:D

Shoot me! but i had to say it!!!

It was a typo. And it is "halve your age and add seven".
    You may doc yourself 10 pedantapoints at your leisure.
    JohnCleary wrote: »
    JohnCleary RedHaired Guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

I need an honest answer.. Im a goodlooking girl, 21, small dark and petite, fun, intelligent and a genuinely nice girl. I cant seem to find anyone who doesnt end up breaking my heart, Im usually too nice to set boundaries etc- either that or the guy turns out to be a jerk, I tend to go for personality & so have ended up with a series of average looking guys who have ended up hurting me. Any guys who approach me in a pub are usually hammered drunk. I want the guys to be honest, are you afraid to approach a good looking girl & if so is it because of intimidation and/or fear of rejection?

I'll approach girls who look like they are fun and open whether they are good looking or not. If I'm out to have a fun night out, the last thing I want to do is lock horns with a girl who is hard work and full of herself.

I'm in no way saying you don't look approachable I don't know you, just giving my take on a night out.
    Remember guys are pretty clueless at reading signs, so if you think your are giving obvious signs of interest, the probably don't notice or doubt they are reading them correctly

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Pubs are a waste of time for meeting someone special.

Unfortunately, though, there aren't too many options apart from that.

If you don't want to meet someone drunk you shouldn't be looking in a pub really.

Personally I'm quite shy, so if I approach a girl in a pub or club to say hello, and they are rude about it, it tends to put me off for the rest of the night.

You sound like quite the catch so I'm sure you'll find the right one. Meanwhile if I ever spot someone matching your description I'll come over and say hello, and I can give you feedback on your technique!

Edit:
    I should add it's a long long time since I met anyone rude, it's quite rare in Galway. It's also a long long time since I met a single girl in Galway too :(

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

Don't say that Pope :) I've just been offered a job in Galway and I'm looking forward to moving over there. I'd be fierce disappointed if all the single ladies were gone already :)