Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newstalk Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭babaracus

this rearrangement in the indo today is arseways.

futureproof is a decent show, early morning on a saturday is going to kill any interest.
    as annoying as sile seoige used to be, the show had improved a lot. it was grand for an early saturday afternoon. why they're replacing her with down to business, while still presented by that clown is beyond me.

i would be thinking that business shows use a lot of info from the sunday papers anyway?

+1. That Bobby Kerr has a voice for silent movies. He has a way of speaking which is almost impossible to listen to and when you do listen to what he is actually saying it is mostly drivel. Anybody, and I mean anybody, would be better than him on that show.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

what's Coleman's beef lately he has a serious cob on with everyone on his show this week.maybe it is the earlie
    r start

I think you answered your own question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

babaracus wrote: »
    +1. That Bobby Kerr has a voice for silent movies. He has a way of speaking which is almost impossible to listen to and when you do listen to what he is actually saying it is mostly drivel. Anybody, and I mean anybody, would be better than him on that show.

His voice is like that of that smug ****er Peter Browne from the self styled "Institute for Financial Trading" - would you buy a used car from either of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bobby Kerr has no place on radio or tv. He's not a broadcaster or a natural entertainer. His voice is grating and his interviewing amateurish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

That guy who presents future proof is an excellent presenter

Did you know he's also on Spin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭GSF

Bobby Kerr, the Foghorn Leghorn of Irish broadcasting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Back listening to Moncrieff these days. It's a perfect anecdote to the misery porn over on Liveline. Good balance between light-hearted titbits and more heavy current affairs. Top class broadcaster.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Sergeant wrote: »
    Back listening to Moncrieff these days. It's a perfect anecdote to the misery porn over on Liveline. Good balance between light-hearted titbits and more heavy current affairs. Top class broadcaster.

His show is quality in fairness. It's great to listen to during the day, every day, solely because of the variety. Going back a few pages in this thread someone posted a link to the Top 30 programmes on National radio and I was incredibly surprised when the one NT show to make the list was The Right Hook. Moncrieff should have definitely been up there too, if not instead of, IMO.

TBH though, I'm also surprised that he hasn't been poached by another major radio station, particularly RTE after the death of Gerry Ryan. I know he offers a different type of show to the one Gerry Ryan used present, but Sean would bring a lot of listeners with him if he was to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,464 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Wilberto wrote: »
    His show is quality in fairness. It's great to listen to during the day, every day, solely because of the variety. Going back a few pages in this thread someone posted a link to the Top 30 programmes on National radio and I was incredibly surprised when the one NT show to make the list was The Right Hook. Moncrieff should have definitely been up there too, if not instead of, IMO.

TBH though, I'm also surprised that he hasn't been poached by another major radio station, particularly RTE after the death of Gerry Ryan. I know he offers a different type of show to the one Gerry Ryan used present, but Sean would bring a lot of listeners with him if he was to move on.

The day RTE hire talent I'll kiss my arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

kneemos wrote: »

Surely, out of all those thousands of Irish people they've hired over the years, they have discovered at least one buachaill or cailín who managed to make it to the lofty heights of mediocrity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭Heroditas

If he's so good, why isn't he stealing listeners in their droves from other stations?
    Also, anyone remember Good Grief Moncrief and Don't Feed the Gondelas?
    Two shows he had on RTE that absolutely stank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

If Moncrief could have a voice transplant he would be just about listenable to but as it is he is teeth grating. Am I right in saying that he does the awful Rabo Bank ads too? As if there wasn't reason enough to never trust a bank again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

RTE nurtures and develops it's own talent with stars such as Joe Duffy and Tubs...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

RTE nurtures and develops it's own talent with stars such as Joe Duffy and Tubs...

:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Greyham

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    The "prominent 11am-1pm" slot?

Say what?

I thought Saturday mornings were generally considered one of the worst possible times to have a show?

Not at all , EVERYONE is in their car on saturday mornings doing things and going places etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

If Moncrief could have a voice transplant he would be just about listenable to but as it is he is teeth grating. Am I right in saying that he does the awful Rabo Bank ads too? As if there wasn't reason enough to never trust a bank again...

Rabobank is just about the safest bank in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭IRE60

This would clarify things!

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Greyham

IRE60 wrote: »

yes, for the hours in question , siles show, more or less exactly the same figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Greyham wrote: »
    Not at all , EVERYONE is in their car on saturday mornings doing things and going places etc.

i'm usually sound asleep at that time, or listening to fighting talk. at least shenanigans was something to listen to before all the sport talk, but there's no way i'd be bothered listening to bobby kerr telling people to read headlines before 12.

What's with the jump in listeners on Sunday morning? The mass brigade?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Heroditas wrote: »

I would imagine a combination of Mass, people travelling to various sporting events, and people just going out for the day probably accounts for a lot of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Don't Feed the Gondelas?
    Two shows he had on RTE that absolutely stank.

I was only a child at the time but from what I remember DFTG was excellent while Dara Ó'Briain was on it. It went to ****e when they left.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I would imagine a combination of Mass, people travelling to various sporting events, and people just going out for the day probably accounts for a lot of it.

How do they measure listenership in cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

How do they measure listenership in cars?

Would it be measured the same way they measure listenership for drivetime shows during the week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

People desperately avoiding the Miriam, Marian combo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

IRE60 wrote: »

How old is that graph? According to the Moncrieff show, they have 104,000 listeners.

That suggests that there are only 40,000 until 4pm when the MS is nearly over, I presume to get ready to listen the Right Hook?

Or is 104,000 the total number of listeners who tune in AT SOME STAGE during the 3 hour show?

Was at the outside broadcast today in the G hotel. He's brilliant. The only thing that's scripted is the intro to the particular topic. Everything after that is pure wit. Great mind.

kraggy wrote: »
    How old is that graph? According to the Moncrieff show, they have 104,000 listeners.

That suggests that there are only 40,000 until 4pm when the MS is nearly over, I presume to get ready to listen the Right Hook?

Or is 104,000 the total number of listeners who tune in AT SOME STAGE during the 3 hour show?

Was at the outside broadcast today in the G hotel. He's brilliant. The only thing that's scripted is the intro to the particular topic. Everything after that is pure wit. Great mind.

I think if you tune in at any stage they'll claim you as a listener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

I was only a child at the time but from what I remember DFTG was excellent while Dara Ó'Briain was on it. It went to ****e when they left.

I have a similar memory that it was good until Brendan O Connor moved from being a panelist to being the host then it became terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭IRE60

kraggy wrote: »

The graph is from the latest figures 2013_Q1. They are the 1/4 hour segments.

The figures can be a little confusing. Moncrieff has an average audience of 104 - in total, for the entire show although in any 1/4 hour the show is never listned to by more than 50,000 people!

So, its a cumulative figure.

C

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Osh is doing my head in with his hurling commentary. 'Antrim in their traditional yellow and white kits'. FFs they don't wear yellow, the clue is in their nickname, The Saffrons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Sile Seoige got a bit emotional at the start of the show today about it being the last show.She said something about NT moving towards more current affairs type shows?.......Personally I never really listened to it anyway, so not too bothered about it.

Seeing as Bobby Kerr is moving to Saturday mornings from 11-1 and Sarah Carey after him, is the Saturday sit-in with Hooky..er...Hughes...er Duggan or whoever was around axed, or moved to Sunday? I do listen to it but its become a bit of a joke in the last while.

Are the weekday shows being shaken up too I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

She wasn't too bad in fairness to her. She seemed quite natural on air, never sounding contrived or awkward. The shows fluffy content was perfect for Saturday mornings.

Much better on the telly,comes across as natural and personable.Couldn't listen to her m NT,maybe it was the content.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

Newstalk’s station editor Garrett Harte confirmed they had made the decision to shake up their weekend schedule after audience studies.
    He said: “We conducted extensive research into our listener trends and demands and our schedule changes reflect those results.
    “There was a greater demand for key speech-driven shows to hold prime weekend positions and the new weekend schedule showcases the wide and varied content available on Newstalk.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/showbiz/irish-showbiz/shock-newstalk-axe-radio-star-1967525

I've reread that a couple of times now and I still haven't a clue what the man is trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

jimmyw wrote: »

Seeing as Bobby Kerr is moving to Saturday mornings from 11-1 and Sarah Carey after him, is the Saturday sit-in with Hooky..er...Hughes...er Duggan or whoever was around axed, or moved to Sunday? I do listen to it but its become a bit of a joke in the last while.

Are the weekday shows being shaken up too I wonder?

hook on Saturday is gone as well being replace with a best of hook

I've reread that a couple of times now and I still haven't a clue what the man is trying to say.

I'm the same.
    Key speech-driven shows? Errr, isn't that why the show is Newstalk??

hook on Saturday is gone as well being replace with a best of hook

So two presenters gone on Saturday.More costsaving?

The return of Ivan should improve mornings at least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

The return of Ivan should improve mornings at least.

I dont recall any mention of Ivan returning?

Its in the Sindo or the Mail he will be back at the end of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Oh please leave that be true. Young Chris needs a good dose of Ivan to try and sort him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Oh just f**k right off Mary O'Rourke..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

what's Coleman's beef lately he has a serious cob on with everyone on his show this week.maybe it is the earlie
    r start

He's going to be super cranky tonight,

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/06/25/no-mercille/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,061 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I see Henry's going to try and go through a simulation of childbirth in Holland this week, by applying electrodes to his body to give him similar pain as contractions/Childbirth. I do hope they strap him in and turn the dial on the machine up to 11 ;)! Also what's with him having his mother on his interviews everyday? It's nearly always druggy scangers and his mother on his slot these days, and I'm sorry to say her voice annoys me more then Henry's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭serfboard

I see Henry's going to try and go through a simulation of childbirth in Holland this week, by applying electrodes to his body to give him similar pain as contractions/Childbirth. I do hope they strap him in and turn the dial on the machine up to 11 ;)! Also what's with him having his mother on his interviews everyday? It's nearly always druggy scangers and his mother on his slot these days, and I'm sorry to say her voice annoys me more then Henry's!
    If memory serves wasn't Henry's mother on the show back in the day? Three women (and Sean) used to sit and bitch about the "entertainment" sections of the papers, and I think one of them was Henry's mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Hook & McGuirk.

Two doddery old men rambling nonsense.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

serfboard wrote: »
    If memory serves wasn't Henry's mother on the show back in the day? Three women (and Sean) used to sit and bitch about the "entertainment" sections of the papers, and I think one of them was Henry's mother.

Oh ya that was painful stuff, used to hate turning off the show for that half hour, none of them have appeared on the the show in a few years thank f*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Hook & McGuirk.

Two doddery old men rambling nonsense.
    Mcgurk was on giving out about windfarms the other day, i'm pretty sure he said fracking was the way to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Mcgurk was on giving out about windfarms the other day, i'm pretty sure he said fracking was the way to go!

he was also outraged that the winners of Wimbledon are getting 25k prize money.

eh... mabey it was that little in 1974 or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,858 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Coleman giving George W. a run for his money: "as Confucius says, to lose one backbencher is unfortunate, to lose two is...eh...uh..."