Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Splanc would be part of there Irish language programming requirement, so I assume The Green Room and McDavenfilth are gone. I feel a bit sorry for Orla Barry, she has bee hanging on to a media career by her fingernails for quite a while now. Maybe she will be moved to the weekend schedule somewhere.

I like her, I often catch her Green Room show and it's usually an interesting mix of topics and guests. Maybe they might hold on to it as they'll need something for the one weeknight TD's show isn't on.

I wouldn't mind Davenport getting the chop instead.

Edit: Sorry I just realised that Splanc as you mentioned is Friday nights so I suppose both shows are gone unless moved to the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Robdundalk

The Herald piece also mentions that George Byrne will be a regular contributor to the new Dunne show... Lord help us all...the term 'crashing bore' was created with him in mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I feel a bit sorry for Orla Barry, she has been hanging on to a media career by her fingernails for quite a while now. Maybe she will be moved to the weekend schedule somewhere.

Agreed. She is a bright and pleasant voice on radio and I hope she is not shafted from the schedule completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I like Georgio Byrnio... :o

He's a pretentious ass at times, but I think him and Tom work well together.

Orla Barry is a decent presenter. I often listen to the Green Room if I'm working on something at that time of night. I hope she's moving to the weekend, maybe to replace Sile Seoige's show perhaps?

NT's weekend schedule could do with a bit of a shake up. It's a bit awful at the moment IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Robdundalk wrote: »
    The Herald piece also mentions that George Byrne will be a regular contributor to the new Dunne show... Lord help us all...the term 'crashing bore' was created with him in mind...

I think he's grand in small doses. He works well with Tom Dunne and he will do better in a nighttime slot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

George Byrne is someone who is way too definite about his own opinions(very similar to Dave Fanning in that respect), but the movie review was one of the better parts of the Tom Dunne Show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Bloke that presents the business show on weekends is brutal. Worst I've ever heard trying to make a show about business exciting. "Let's talk about making money money money."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

mbur wrote: »
    If you are one of the big-heads at O'BriansTalk radio no problem.

I was listening to Chris and Ivan this morning. Their bickering and obvious loathing of each other puts a total downer on proceedings.

Todays after nine segment was about telling fibs. They were both asked what their last fib was. Chris came up with a believable admission of dishonesty and Ivan told a fib in reply. "I don't remember" he said. Classy not. Anybody looking for a one size fits all mouthpiece need look no furthur. Ivans your man.

I have not heard Pat Kenny's show yet but the previews heard at 9:45 make it sound pretty dull.

When Pat left RTE I predicted O'BriansTalk's rating would soar. Now I'm not so sure.

Have almost immediately tired of Yates's pathetic slagging of Chris. Deja vu, again.

Breakfast's listenership will not grow with such juvenile presentation. Someone has to grab Yates and tell him to get a grip and up his game. TBH though, I think at this stage Yates just wants to coast with a nice little earner.

Give me Morning Ireland's professionalism any time.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Has Talking History reappeared elsewhere on the dial or podcast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,931 ✭✭✭✭L1011

seachto7 wrote: »
    Bloke that presents the business show on weekends is brutal. Worst I've ever heard trying to make a show about business exciting. "Let's talk about making money money money."

His coffee company has accumulated profits of about minus 4 million. I've no idea why people think he's particularly competent in this area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

MYOB wrote: »
    His coffee company has accumulated profits of about minus 4 million. I've no idea why people think he's particularly competent in this area.

And that's without passing on the last drop in VAT given to the hospitality industry!

withless wrote: »
    Has Talking History reappeared elsewhere on the dial or podcast?

It's back on, Sunday evenings 7 to 9.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Is Newstalk still broadcast in mono? Stereo would be nice if there's to be a music show on it from Tom Dunne.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Yes, Newstalk is still and always will be in mono

Switching to stereo would worsen reception across a lot of the country, not to mention the fact that all the transmitters would suddenly interfere with each other. The thing is, not only is NT broadcast in mono, it's also optimised for speech, at a guess their link is low bitrate and their processing is also meant for speech. If there's modern pop music on it listen to the song on NT and then on one of the (well processed) CHR stations, the difference is staggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

George Byrne is someone who is way too definite about his own opinions(very similar to Dave Fanning in that respect), but the movie review was one of the better parts of the Tom Dunne Show.

Byrne reminds me of a 10 year old schoolboy. I remember him having a preamble chat with Tom Dunne one day before the movie review, talking about football, and Byrne proceeded to tell Dunne about the Italian league team he follows, the French team he follows and the Spanish team he follows. And, presumably, just for the sake of being "controversial", he tells us that Rangers are his favourite Scottish football team :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Byrne reminds me of a 10 year old schoolboy. I remember him having a preamble chat with Tom Dunne one day before the movie review, talking about football, and Byrne proceeded to tell Dunne about the Italian league team he follows, the French team he follows and the Spanish team he follows. And, presumably, just for the sake of being "controversial", he tells us that Rangers are his favourite Scottish football team :rolleyes:

He supports Shamrock Rovers as well:rolleyes:

Remember they made the group stages of the Europa League a couple of years back, Georgio used to be telling us on Dunne's show how he was down supporting the boys in Tallaght the night before. Pulllease..... B wagoner for rent :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭touts

It's back on, Sunday evenings 7 to 9.

Last week they had a show about the history of a historian. I do not have high hopes for this season. Having spent last season alternating between saints, religious orders, composers and artists it seems they have run out of ideas. Still better than RTE which seems to believe history needs to involve the "labour movement" or a Kennedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Is Jonathan Healy the natural heir to Joe Duffy? He's regularly picking at the scab of bereavement or misfortune to ask "how did it feel?".

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Comedy gold on the breakfast show now with Ivan interviewing pat rabbitte .

Deluded fool sounds exactly like gormely from the greens with arrogance thrown in .

Makes labs destruction at the next election all the more pleasurable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,713 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Comedy gold on the breakfast show

Read this and assumed it was about Chris slagging Ivan for saying "pad" instead of "ipad" when they were recording the ad for today's show.

Comedy gold, indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Ah not another week of Mick Clifford... Could we not get somebody nooo ... I mean NEW..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Anyone else think the lunchtime show with jonathon is turning into a soapbox for fianna fail lately? It seems there on everyday now!

How quickly the media forget!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Read this and assumed it was about Chris slagging Ivan for saying "pad" instead of "ipad" when they were recording the ad for today's show.

Comedy gold, indeed.

Yeah, but Ivan got his own back a few minutes later. He had a good chortle when Chris mispronounced 'skeletal' while reading a headline about the woman found in the Dublin mountains. The producer must have facepalmed himself.

Ah not another week of Mick Clifford... Could we not get somebody nooo ... I mean NEW..

I like him. The accent doesn't bother me - Kerry people tend to have kerry accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I like him. The accent doesn't bother me - Kerry people tend to have kerry accents.

they do.. But its not very considerate of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Yeah, but Ivan got his own back a few minutes later. He had a good chortle when Chris mispronounced 'skeletal' while reading a headline about the woman found in the Dublin mountains. The producer must have facepalmed himself.

I think he has reading difficulties, not a cheap jab at him, i genuinely think he has problems reading aloud anyway. not great for someone who relies so heavily on a script. that woman the found in the mountains was referred more than once to as o'mara this morning without him even correcting himself.

what was that ?

it wasnt just chris, even the news anchor kept pronouncing it "skel-lee-tal"

i was practicaly shouting in me head "its skel - laa-tel" "he-man doesnt fight "skel-lee-tor" its skellator"

mad the way some things are being pronounced on the national airwaves these days , not quite in "gourdeee" territory but annoying enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,931 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Is Jonathan Healy the natural heir to Joe Duffy? He's regularly picking at the scab of bereavement or misfortune to ask "how did it feel?".

he's at it again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

MYOB wrote: »
    he's at it again...

*deliberate pause for dramatic effect*

Yea i switched off immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

martin collins:mad:

the3monkeys.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

Who is this utter gobsh**e on George Hook's programme. Apparently some kind of youtube 'star'!!

Sounds like Jedward's lovechild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

I think he has reading difficulties, not a cheap jab at him, i genuinely think he has problems reading aloud anyway. not great for someone who relies so heavily on a script. that woman the found in the mountains was referred more than once to as o'mara this morning without him even correcting himself.

Agree.

Another of his problems is mixing up plural and singular terms in the same sentence eg - was it A or was it akshully B or was it C that were the reasons for that?

PROFESSOR Bill Tormey... Really says a lot about the state of the college/university sector in this country..

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭eass82

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Agree.

Another of his problems is mixing up plural and singular terms in the same sentence eg - was it A or was it akshully B or was it C that were the reasons for that?

He must be maintaining the breakfast show homepage then
    Ivan Yates and Chris Donoghue anchors Newstalk Breakfast every morning, giving you the first bite at News, Business and Sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

More iPad humour coming up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

PROFESSOR Bill Tormey... Really says a lot about the state of the college/university sector in this country..

He's a hospital consultant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,471 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

12.30-1.00 is the new misery porn slot it seems.

Brendan Keenan's know it all, cynical smugness gets unbearable after a very short while.. This is the same man who told us the banking losses would be 5%, but apparently he knows everything about finance now..

jesus but there something terribly "studenty" about davenport after dark.

been listening to get to the vinnyb show on telly but couldnt hack it when he got to "the batttle of the sexes" (otherwise known as a tennis match from before most of the country was born)

thank god for the late debate on RTE (least i think thats what it is)

bit of a germanic love in but better than nothing.

A morning debating competition.. They are certainly original anyway..

This quizz thing is actually a bit of a laugh .

I'd much rather wed have some decent current affairs piece but I can put up with it for a day .

"Mayo is deep in my fibre"

Bit hard to believe when he's spent the last year on the UK so that he pass his debts on to the good people of Mayo (and Ireland)..

lol.. Pat just toying with this lad..

Fists at the ready for shaking..

"Elaine O'Hara had an alternative lifestyle"..

She used Internet dating, she wasnt running a brothel ffs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Maybe she was using a swingers dating site? Ya dont know, but that comment on NS will open up a whole load of speculation now. Something the family doesnt need to know if its what i think they mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

What is all this alternative lifestyle that I first heard yesterday. Is it only the internet dating stuff if it is alot of people will need to get a reality check.

Maybe she was using a swingers dating site?

Well I was wondering if that newspaper guy introduced the adjective "alternative", or if that was something from one of the Garda press releases.. I cant imagine it was in a Garda statement. Either way, a word with less nefarious / sleazy connotations should have been used, to have a bit of respect for the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Didnt you know that the only acceptable way to meet someone in Ireland is to drunkenly paw at them in a night-club.

Anything else & you are a deviant.