Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newstalk Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

SB-08 wrote: »
    So Shane Coleman is going to be replacing Ivan with Chris on Breakfast? Awful choice. Both are lightweights to put it mildly, and Coleman, who is always described as a political expert, is constantly giving incorrect information about all sorts of things on Newstalk. His coverage of Mahon was appalling and totally wrong in many cases.

Another person who is really annoying me is Mick Clifford. He seems to be on every single Current Affairs radio show in the country these days. He's the male Mary O'Rourke at this stage.:rolleyes:

How can he be impartial with his family background?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Michael Healy Rae on lunchtime now about the road signs. He's asking for "common sense to prevail."

Yeah, when i look for common sense, I look to a thick gombeen like Michael Healy Rae...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Who is this nut?, ah edit - its the Donegal Postspoofer.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

The postman from donegal, he needs subtitles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

telekon wrote: »
    Michael Healy Rae on lunchtime now about the road signs. He's asking for "common sense to prevail."

Yeah, when i look for common sense, I look to a thick gombeen like Michael Healy Rae...

Common sense was getting decent road signs put into the country in the last few years and this muppet wants to stop new ones? The healy raes havent been in the national eye for a while so is this some wind up just to remind everyone that the gombeens are alive and well and still infecting the dail with their nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Ivan's piece on the Joan Burton situation this morning just highlighted how badly he will be missed.

I cant think of anyone else working in radio who (a) is as aparently well informed on whats happening behind the scenes and (b) is given such an unrestricted licence to blab what he hears to the audience.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

he certainly threw howlin with that one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

he certainly threw howlin with that one !

Yeah, and after the interview with Howlin, when he tells Chris that when you ask a minister a question and they give a little laugh (as Howlin did in relation to Joan B) then you can cue the smokescreen - that was classic, although totally over Chris' head I would think unfortunately. Pearls to the swine.

Now Sean O'Rourke, Cathal Mac Choille and others of their ilk - they are excellent broadcast journalists, but Yates has been bringing something really different to the table. He will be badly missed by me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

SB-08 wrote: »
    So Shane Coleman is going to be replacing Ivan with Chris on Breakfast? Awful choice. Both are lightweights to put it mildly, and Coleman, who is always described as a political expert, is constantly giving incorrect information about all sorts of things on Newstalk. His coverage of Mahon was appalling and totally wrong in many cases.

Another person who is really annoying me is Mick Clifford. He seems to be on every single Current Affairs radio show in the country these days. He's the male Mary O'Rourke at this stage.:rolleyes:

newstalk have their stable of reliable experts/columnists/commentators/wafflers to come on to any show at short notice and waffle on whatever topic, Clifford and John Waters are top of the list followed closely by the ultra sycophantic Eoghan Harris.

jesus christ theyre at it again on moncreif.

i actually want to go see wrath of the titans as i love a pit of popcorn munching nonsense, but im learning fup all about it from this screeching haridan.

thank christ she's gone after today.

im starting to think they tank up on the wine a good hour before this peice starts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Was listening to Splanc yesterday and the host was gone for the week or whatever. His stand-in read out a text asking if the usual host went with Ivan to flea the country. I nearly crashed my car laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Christ... Shane Coleman is f**king terrible. Now, we all know the point the Sin Fein lad is trying to raise is pointless, but at least let him make it. Instead, shane tells the Fine Gael guy not to interrupt, and then proceeds to interrupt and outright laugh over him for the next two minutes.

The end is nigh for NT Breakfast if he's on.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

pc7 wrote: »
    The postman from donegal, he needs subtitles!

I can never understand why any credible broadcaster gives this spoofing bullshítter the time to peddle his nonsense on the air.

I find it even more incredible that there are people out there who believe his forecasts.

The man is a spoofer, chancer and a charlatan and shouldn't be given the oxygen of publicity by national radio stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Christ... Shane Coleman is f**king terrible. Now, we all know the point the Sin Fein lad is trying to raise is pointless, but at least let him make it. Instead, shane tells the Fine Gael guy not to interrupt, and then proceeds to interrupt and outright laugh over him for the next two minutes.

The end is nigh for NT Breakfast if he's on.....
    Yeah, I was listening to that show too. Coleman is truly awful. A real smart alec.

Nice to see Fergus O'Dowd putting Paul Sommerville in his box though. If the coalition can pull it off on the promissory notes and the household charge, it'll put a bit of manners on sneering media types like Coleman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Newstalk broadcast down for anyone else?

Was listening to the football & its now replaced with a high pitched whinning ringing noise thats not Ivan Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

Newstalk broadcast down for anyone else?

Was listening to the football & its now replaced with a high pitched whinning ringing noise thats not Ivan Yeats

Yeah, me too. :confused:

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

el diablo wrote: »
    Yeah, me too. :confused:
    back now, all the Newstalk techs must be at the Fianna Gael Ard Fheis

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Who was the commentator for Spurs-Swansea?

Listened to the second half - really flat, non animated voice which didn't even change when the Sigurdsson goal was scored. I know Ken Early was really bad in that role, but I would call this guy only marginally better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

John Longeran's solution over crowding.. Give them more than the 25% time off that they normally get .. Shure why not send them to jail at all, that would completely sort out the overcrowding issue ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

John Longeran's solution over crowding.. Give them more than the 25% time off that they normally get .. Shure why not send them to jail at all, that would completely sort out the overcrowding issue ?

I missed that interview ... probably just as well, his opinions on Prisoners generally do nothing for my Blood Pressure :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I wonder how many Americans Sean will have on today ?

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

Phil Molloy made it abundently clear today that the only opininon allowable on the right hook is his own. He had a nice run-in with Ming and now seems to be spending the rest of the show justifying his own position and reading out ad-hominem texts aimed at Ming.

You get this of thing when you auction off the public airwave to the (highest bidder/biggest backhander) and then run the show with a toothless regulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭omerin

all those socialists are a pack of mumpties and don't deserve air air time. Jesus, Vinny Brown is packed with them, but only for entertainment value, they haven't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭GSF

mbur wrote: »
    Phil Molloy made it abundently clear today that the only opininon allowable on the right hook is his own. He had a nice run-in with Ming and now seems to be spending the rest of the show justifying his own position and reading out ad-hominem texts aimed at Ming.

You get this of thing when you auction off the public airwave to the (highest bidder/biggest backhander) and then run the show with a toothless regulator.
    :eek: Jesus. Phillip Molloy. The meekest man on radio. :D Surely not!

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

GSF wrote: »
    :eek: Jesus. Phillip Molloy. The meekest man on radio. :D Surely not!
    I think he thought Ming would be an easy target. It didn't work out so a bit of back-stabbing was necessary to restore order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

lonnergan has a decidedly liberal bent to his politics for someone who was governor of a prison , i dont always agree with him but hes a nauanced thinker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

McDave wrote: »
    Yeah, I was listening to that show too. Coleman is truly awful. A real smart alec.

Nice to see Fergus O'Dowd putting Paul Sommerville in his box though. If the coalition can pull it off on the promissory notes and the household charge, it'll put a bit of manners on sneering media types like Coleman.

Funny I thought the woman who was on (didnt catch her name) well and truly put Fergus O'Dowd in his box........

As for Phil Molloy - nothing short of disgraceful - it is a fundamental rule not to express or bring into the discussion personal opinions or views - If a complaint is made you can only see a BAI judgement going one way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,660 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

moe_sizlak wrote: »
    lonnergan has a decidedly liberal bent to his politics for someone who was governor of a prison , i dont always agree with him but hes a nauanced thinker

Heard the interview, the man ran Mountjoy like a three-ring circus when he was in charge of it and seems to be peddling himself as an expert for hire in his retirement.

jaysus theres some laugh going on right now in relation to Mrs Browns boys and its appeal. specifically WTF it is.

its like snob central !

im starting to understand why we've never produced a decent comedy in this country if this is the attitude of the guys that come from the demographic that can get stuff made.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

jaysus theres some laugh going on right now in relation to Mrs Browns boys and its appeal. specifically WTF it is.

its like snob central !

im starting to understand why we've never produced a decent comedy in this country if this is the attitude of the guys that come from the demographic that can get stuff made.

There is no such thing as satire in this country, satire being the caustic ridicule of individuals in power.

What passes for it, Bull Island, Callan and Rosenstock, actually flatter and promote the image of the scuts they pretend to mock. There's hardly anyone of them who would wither when they listen to their portrayal in these productions.

And let's be honest, so beguiling were the images of our leaders portrayed in these efforts, that surely a significant number of the population voted for Rosenstock's version of Ahern when they exercised their peannluaithes in 2002 and 2007, rather than the shabby reality.

What comes nearest to genuine satire around at the moment is McSavage, though he tends only to attack safe targets - the Church, the lawyers, or individual types he has a gripe against.

Anyone who's ever been on a night out, and that must includes 99.9% of the population, understands the lethal power of an Irish put-down.

When will we see that native wit publicly directed at the tools that stagger, stumble or crawl into "power" in this country?

Swift, where are you when you're wanted?

Ivan is going to town on RTE:D

he will be missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

delaad wrote: »
    There is no such thing as satire in this country, satire being the caustic ridicule of individuals in power.

What comes nearest to genuine satire around at the moment is McSavage, though he tends only to attack safe targets - the Church, the lawyers, or individual types he has a gripe against.

Isn't McSavage a scion of the Andrews dynasty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭Genghis

Is George on a planned holiday, or is he taking a sudden break before a ‘re-shuffle’. That leads me to wonder are they priming Philip Molloy for the evening slot (surely not). I like the guy, love his movie slot, but he is no presenter.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I have some inside information coming from someone very connected to Dennis O'Brien - big reshuffle coming up.

George Hook will be taking the Breakfast Show and Orla Barry will join from 9 a.m. for a lighter look at the news.

Tom Dunne is moving to Today FM to take a full time music show with a lot of coverage of his gas bill. His show will now be covered by his producer Joe and the guyu that does his movie reviews

Chris Donoghue will be taking the afternoon news show from Healy.

Sean Moncrieff is leaving and the Afternoon Show will be taken full time by Sile Seoige - O'Brien is said to be a huge fan of her style.

Philip Molloy and Fionn Davenport and Shane Coleman will all take the Right Hook (the be renamed The Right Wing).

George Hook will be taking Off the Ball from seven to eight with an hour of rugby and Arsenal coverage.

Des Cahill has been headhunted from RTE and will be taking the last half hour of Off the Ball (yes, Off the Ball has been halved in time and will now be only an hour and a half).

Marc Coleman will then take over from 8:30 - 23:00 with his unique mix of hemming, hawing and spluttering.

I for one can't wait!

I have some inside information coming from someone very connected to Dennis O'Brien - big reshuffle coming up.

George Hook will be taking the Breakfast Show and Orla Barry will join from 9 a.m. for a lighter look at the news.

Tom Dunne is moving to Today FM to take a full time music show with a lot of coverage of his gas bill. His show will now be covered by his producer Joe and the guyu that does his movie reviews

Chris Donoghue will be taking the afternoon news show from Healy.

Sean Moncrieff is leaving and the Afternoon Show will be taken full time by Sile Seoige - O'Brien is said to be a huge fan of her style.

I have to admit.... I believed everything up until this point in your post. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭ConorBFC3

I believed it until I got to the bit about Hook and the Arsenal coverage. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 43 mrkr

Speaking of Molloy (I have heard his Ming-out yet, will have to listen back), has anyone been listening to the Picture Show he does on Sunday's at 6? It could be a really good show, but is put together somewhat haphazardly AFAICS.
    delaad wrote: »

What passes for it, Bull Island, Callan and Rosenstock, actually flatter and promote the image of the scuts they pretend to mock. There's hardly anyone of them who would wither when they listen to their portrayal in these productions.

And let's be honest, so beguiling were the images of our leaders portrayed in these efforts, that surely a significant number of the population voted for Rosenstock's version of Ahern when they exercised their peannluaithes in 2002 and 2007, rather than the shabby reality.
    Am inclined to agree with you there. There's very little edge or bite to this so-called satire. Bertie was only too happy to be in the company of the bull island impersonators back when they were on the telly; New Labour and Tony Blair avoided Rory Bremner like the plague.

I'm too young to remember Scrap Saturday, but I know of its reputation, and was taken aback when I heard that Callan had considered using the name for this Green Tea show he has on now. It seems a very presumptuous thing to even consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Ivan Yeats bidding farewell live now. Interesting to see how the show evolves from here on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

touts wrote: »
    Ivan Yeats bidding farewell live now. Interesting to see how the show evolves from here on.

Quite unspectacular. I thought they might surprise him with Paddy Crerand or some such send off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I'm sorry if this has been asked a thousand times already, but where is Ivan Yates going to ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

I'm sorry if this has been asked a thousand times already, but where is Ivan Yates going to ?

bankruptcy.. word was he was going to do what every self respecting celtic tiger loan dodger is doing now a days and going to the uk to get bankruptcy over there

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Has anybody else noticed that the interviews on Moncrieff seem to have got a bit longer,I used to find some of them were very rushed but the show seems to have a much better pace these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

Dub13 wrote: »
    Has anybody else noticed that the interviews on Moncrieff seem to have got a bit longer,I used to find some of them were very rushed but the show seems to have a much better pace these days.

agreed, much better now.

he says mmmmm less now too, which is good.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Anyone hear those NT ads that encourage people to have a sneaky listen while in work. Whats with that? are they purposely trying to stifle productivity in the workplace for their own gain?:pac:

Argh I fúcking hate this kids talk section every week! :(

Chris has actually impressed me the past two mornings. Hope he can keep it up. Shane Coleman is already irritating me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I enjoy Moncreif show a lot.

Though he can get very snide if a texter voices an opinion different to his own S Dublin/upper middle class beliefs.
    EG: the Muslim clothing section on yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Doesn't Moncrieff have UK origins and grow up in Ballinasloe ? A long way from your perceived South Dublin upper middle class background, plus I think he lives on the north side somewhere.

The breakfast show is really going to lose a lot of listeners if this mornings show is anything to go by:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Hook defending teacher pay when he's usually (rightly) bashing the public sector. Maybe he should declare his conflict of interest? - Ingrid the teacher/lecturer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭ConorBFC3

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Doesn't Moncrieff have UK origins and grow up in Ballinasloe ? A long way from your perceived South Dublin upper middle class background, plus I think he lives on the north side somewhere.

Yup. Born in London. Grew up in Ballinasloe.