Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool finish 5th or 4th and win the CL?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Jazzy wrote: »
    the fact that u make it out like its our god given right to beat these teams based on games from seasons past.

point out one place where i said it was our god given right to beat these teams and i'll apologise and bow out of the boards community.... if you cant, i'd expect an apology for putting words in my mouth.
    now do u see perhaps that u live in this imagination bubble where only the best things will happen? and maybe u might be able to see from then why u get so much stick on this board? and isnt that why ppl have already coined the term 'Alanisms'? its not happening for no reason....

No i dont.

I see that i live in a world where i judge our chances on progressing in the CL on our past performances in the CL and our managers proven abilities in cups. Then make a decision, that despite our poor league performances, i think we have a chance of getting through this inter tie. That is all i said in this thread. You seem to be having an argument with me over something else which i never actually said and are making no bones about making it personal.

and for the record, the guy who coined the phrase Alanisms was Pighead, if i'm not mistaken, thats the same guy who offered to "fight me" in a thread within the last couple of weeks, hardly an authority on how to act on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

yeah, that post was to Mr Alan.
    but I do agree with you, we certainly CAN beat them... but the point is Mr Alan made this COMPLETELY STUPID thread based on "which good thing do u want to happen to Liverpool which will be bad for Everton no matter what the case"
    if he replaced Everton with Man Utd there would be uproar but hes gotten away with it cos not that many ppl support everton on this forum.
    And from what I can see above he has decided to take dignity-less swipes at Everton by calling them a small club to an everton fan that they are smaller then Liverpool just to try and prove some monotonous point about some things that might possibly happen but probably wont (pool winning the CL this season).
    he'd be the first person to give out stink to a Utd fan for doing the same but has (as Pighead has already pointed out) showed complete double standards again.

Its a dumbass thread Mr Alan which u seem to have not put much thought into aside from living ur own dream.

Well said...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

How do you define a big club? Money, trophies, amount of supporters? Everton is a big club, with a proud and successful past and tradition. Fair enough, Liverpool may have won a few more trophies than us when it comes to the league and europe, but does that make us 'small'? I don't think so....

LOL:

LIVERPOOL

League
    · League
    Winners (18): 1900–01, 1905–06, 1921–22, 1922–23, 1946–47, 1963–64, 1965–66, 1972–73, 1975–76, 1976–77, 1978–79, 1979–80, 1981–82, 1982–83, 1983–84, 1985–86, 1987–88, 1989–90
    Runners-up (11): 1898–89, 1909–10, 1968–69, 1973–74, 1974–75, 1977–78, 1984–85, 1986–87, 1988–89, 1990–91, 2001–02
    · Division Two (Level 2)
    Winners (3): 1893–94, 1895–96, 1904–05, 1961–62
    · Lancashire League
    Winners (1): 1892–93
    Cups
    · FA Cup
    Winners (7): 1965, 1974, 1986, 1989, 1992, 2001, 2006
    Runners-up (6): 1914, 1950, 1971, 1977, 1988, 1996
    · League Cup
    Winners (7): 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003
    Runners-up (3): 1978, 1987, 2005
    · Community Shield[74]
    Winners (15): 1964 (shared), 1965 (shared), 1966, 1974, 1976, 1977 (shared), 1979, 1980, 1982, 1986 (shared), 1988, 1989, 1990 (shared), 2001, 2006
    Runners-up (6): 1922, 1971, 1983, 1984, 1992, 2002
    · Screen Sport Super Cup[75]
    Winners (1): 1986
    International
    · European Cup and UEFA Champions League[71]
    Winners (5): 1977, 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005
    Runners-up (2): 1985, 2007
    · UEFA Cup
    Winners (3): 1973, 1976, 2001
    · UEFA Super Cup
    Winners (3): 1977, 2001, 2005
    Runners-up (2): 1978, 1984
    · UEFA Cup Winners' Cup
    Runners-up (1): 1966
    · Intercontinental Cup and Club World Cup
    Runners-up (3): 1981, 1984, 2005

everton:

· (Old) First Division: 9
    o 1890–91, 1914–15, 1927–28, 1931–32, 1938–39, 1962–63, 1969–70, 1984–85, 1986–87
    · (Old) Second Division: 1
    o 1930–31
    · FA Cup: 5
    o 1906, 1933, 1966, 1984, 1995
    · Charity Shield: 9
    o 1928, 1932, 1963, 1970, 1984, 1985, 1986 (shared), 1987, 1995
    · European Cup Winners' Cup: 1
    o 1985

That's not to say that Everton are a smaller club.

We've shown for the past few years that we are on the way back up. They season that we finished 4th ahead of liverpool we had a decent side. Our team and squad this season is light years ahead of that squad from 2005 in terms of fitness and ability...

I just think that Liverpool fans need to sit up and recognise (and to be fair, I think most of them do), that 4th spot is no longer automatically their's anymore and from the replies in this thread its good to see that not all Liverpool fans wear red-tinted glasses...

Everton are a smaller club than Liverpool. There is no doubting it. I cant think of anyway you can compare the two clubs and Everton come out on top?

I recognise Everton are a good side, and are definately a challenge for 4th this year. But Stubbs comments were ****e, saying that we should be a big club for all the money we spent!? Winning the CL and FA in the last 3 years makes us what exactly? combined with our history, it puts us miles out in front.

Stubbs:
    'If they feel they are that much bigger than us, they should have been getting better results

Alanism:
    How about the CL or FA cup? that do for ya Stubbs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Mr Alan wrote: »
    I see that i live in a world where i judge our chances on progressing in the CL on our past performances in the CL and our managers proven abilities in cups. Then make a decision, that despite our poor league performances, i think we have a chance of getting through this inter tie. That is all i said in this thread. You seem to be having an argument with me over something else which i never actually said and are making no bones about making it personal.

ya see, ur opinion is bollox because u have absolute double standards (as proven last page) and u have absolutely no weight behind ur arguements (as proven with ur complete lack of dignity). no1 takes wat u say seriously at all (Alanisms, which has been used by more then Pighead) and u are more a figure of comedy rather then someone who actually has something important to say (as proven by u actually making this hypothetical "everything great is going to happen to Liverpool" thread / poll).

and i dont think u get Pigheads humour if u are complaining how he acts on boards.

Also im "putting words into your mouth" because the more u act like u are in imagination land, the more i think that u do actually believe its liverpools god given right to win the CL, PL etc.

we certainly CAN beat them...

so in actual fact you agree with me.
    but the point is Mr Alan made this COMPLETELY STUPID thread.

then dont post in it. its simple. you are not the authority on wat threads are appropriate and wat ones arent.
    if he replaced Everton with Man Utd there would be uproar but hes gotten away with it cos not that many ppl support everton on this forum.

If there was uproar, that'd be sad as ****, and i genuinely dont think there would.
    And from what I can see above he has decided to take dignity-less swipes at Everton by calling them a small club to an everton fan that they are smaller then Liverpool just to try and prove some monotonous point about some things that might possibly happen but probably wont (pool winning the CL this season).

Again you are making ****e up. Quote one place where i said Everton are a small club. (are you sure you aint an Everton fan?). All i said was they are smaller than Liverpool. They are.

i would hardly call you the ultimate authority on dignity.
    he'd be the first person to give out stink to a Utd fan for doing the same but has (as Pighead has already pointed out) showed complete double standards again.

No i wouldnt. I'd discuss it with them, and not just arrive on the scene, say how stupid a thread was and continuosly attack the starter of the thread.

Everton are a smaller club than Liverpool. There is no doubting it. I cant think of anyway you can compare the two clubs and Everton come out on top?

I recognise Everton are a good side, and are definately a challenge for 4th this year. But Stubbs comments were ****e, saying that we should be a big club for all the money we spent!? Winning the CL and FA in the last 3 years makes us what exactly? combined with our history, it puts us miles out in front.

Stubbs:
    'If they feel they are that much bigger than us, they should have been getting better results

Alanism:
    How about the CL or FA cup? that do for ya Stubbs?

I don't know what you are trying to achieve by harping on about Liverpool being bigger than Everton? What exactly does it prove?

Hey, sure we are ahead of Liverpool in the league at the moment. Does that make us a better team? Some will argue yes, others no...

There is no two ways about it.... The league title is the top honour to win every season. Its the main competition and cornerstone of football. It is a fact that it hasn't been since the mid to late 80's (it comes as a shocker, but football did exist pre-1992), that Everton and Liverpool were winning titles. Neither club has done that since then. We're talking 20 years for Everton, 18 for Liverpool....

For a "big club" not to have won a league title in 18 years says it all really.... Champs League and FA cups are great. Fair play to Liverpool for winning the CL a few years ago. Great. They won a cup competition. Didn't have to be champions though to get into it...

And never forget.. If it wasn't for Everton, there'd be no Liverpool... 'if you know your history'...

i am well aware of Liverpools history. And as i said, i have a lot of respect for Everton.

Jazzy has pissed me off no end. Like talking to a brick wall. i'm outta here. **** it.

Everton 1 - 0 Liverpool ;)

I'd discuss it with them

nope. what you would do is bleat on about how liverpool are better then sliced bread and have just signed an Ice Cream Helicopter for a left winger. that would be the guts of your "discussion"

ya see, its wat ur implying that takes the dignity out of what you say. "everton are a smaller club, no doubt". its sorta like "well done captain obvious". you should be able to make ur points without sounding like gary neville wanting to rub someones nose in it. what response did u expect to get from everton fans in this thread? and everything is hypothetical anyway, which begs the question - why did u make it in the first place if not to rub it in everton fans faces? which is very very low and just makes u look like a small person no matter what club u support ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

I cant think of anyway you can compare the two clubs and Everton come out on top?

the current league table ;)

event wrote: »
    the current league table ;)

obviously u have never been to imagination land

edit - u should check out "Project Imagination Doorway". we are going to send Kurt Russell and a team of marines through to investigate what is really going on in Mr Alan's brain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Jazzy, I've sent you a PM. You'd be well advised to heed and respond to it.

Guys attack the post, not the poster. Anyone who wants to do differently, will be doing it elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,917 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

To be fair, it is a fairly silly and self promoting topic, with an obvious answer (winning the CL), and Mr. Alan has left himself open to a lot of abuse due to how dire Liverpool have been this (and last) season, his "bragging rights" have been reduced to other teams beating Manu/Arse/Everton rather than his own.

However, people need to calm down a bit, it's a game, no matter what Shankly said, and some perspective is needed here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Anyone here who thinks Everton are a 'small' club needs a lobotomy!

I was over at that ****ty reading game and saw zero liverpool jerseys on the streets, or maybe I was in the wrong places? Even in stanstead saw 3 more toffees and in a hotel in the sticks miles from stanstead met another one.

We are generally hard core supporters and dont just hop onto the bandwagon when things are all rosy.

Liverpools boasting of constantly saying 'this is our year' just pisses us off really, when in reality they are no where near winning a league title despite having apparently lots of cash. their last 4 wins were against derby, luton,havant and welly and sunderland. doesnt say much does it?

Also they are losing their roots, what with relying on yanks to fund their future success and the vast influx of foreigners in their squad.

Moyes was pretty spot on when he said the people on the streets support Everton, my mate who I met in the outback on Australia supports mighty tranmere (quite possibly a small club). was talking to his dad who lives in the wirral and he backed up moyes comments.

so, no - not bitter at Liverpool if they do less bragging and less dirty tactics on the pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

astrofool wrote: »
    To be fair,

To be fair, I've read the thread thanks, There is no excuse for some of the posts and I won't be accepting any. I don't expect to have to say any more on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    LOL:

LIVERPOOL

League
    · League
    Winners (18): 1900–01, 1905–06, 1921–22, 1922–23, 1946–47, 1963–64, 1965–66, 1972–73, 1975–76, 1976–77, 1978–79, 1979–80, 1981–82, 1982–83, 1983–84, 1985–86, 1987–88, 1989–90
    Runners-up (11): 1898–89, 1909–10, 1968–69, 1973–74, 1974–75, 1977–78, 1984–85, 1986–87, 1988–89, 1990–91, 2001–02
    · Division Two (Level 2)
    Winners (3): 1893–94, 1895–96, 1904–05, 1961–62
    · Lancashire League
    Winners (1): 1892–93
    Cups
    · FA Cup
    Winners (7): 1965, 1974, 1986, 1989, 1992, 2001, 2006
    Runners-up (6): 1914, 1950, 1971, 1977, 1988, 1996
    · League Cup
    Winners (7): 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003
    Runners-up (3): 1978, 1987, 2005
    · Community Shield[74]
    Winners (15): 1964 (shared), 1965 (shared), 1966, 1974, 1976, 1977 (shared), 1979, 1980, 1982, 1986 (shared), 1988, 1989, 1990 (shared), 2001, 2006
    Runners-up (6): 1922, 1971, 1983, 1984, 1992, 2002
    · Screen Sport Super Cup[75]
    Winners (1): 1986
    International
    · European Cup and UEFA Champions League[71]
    Winners (5): 1977, 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005
    Runners-up (2): 1985, 2007
    · UEFA Cup
    Winners (3): 1973, 1976, 2001
    · UEFA Super Cup
    Winners (3): 1977, 2001, 2005
    Runners-up (2): 1978, 1984
    · UEFA Cup Winners' Cup
    Runners-up (1): 1966
    · Intercontinental Cup and Club World Cup
    Runners-up (3): 1981, 1984, 2005

everton:

· (Old) First Division: 9
    o 1890–91, 1914–15, 1927–28, 1931–32, 1938–39, 1962–63, 1969–70, 1984–85, 1986–87
    · (Old) Second Division: 1
    o 1930–31
    · FA Cup: 5
    o 1906, 1933, 1966, 1984, 1995
    · Charity Shield: 9
    o 1928, 1932, 1963, 1970, 1984, 1985, 1986 (shared), 1987, 1995
    · European Cup Winners' Cup: 1
    o 1985

Why do you have Liverpools runners up stats in all competitions but not Evertons?....ah I see to make the Liverpool list look like it dwarves Evertons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Well enough is enough girls. Feel like banging a few of ye're heads together TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Some people might be better off using a different forum:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=484

Sorry for insulting you Mr Alan. I shouldnt have said what i said and am sorry for doing so. I realise that this is all really just a bit of fun and that I took things too far