Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Idiotic Boy Racers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    I was in Letterkenny 2 years ago at a red traffic light with a done up Clio beside me revving his engine as if he wanted to take me on. (Not a V6 or 172, probably a 1 litre) Thing is, it was wet and I drive a RWD car. Even under moderate acceleration he was left standing. Probably not helped by the set of crap Nankang NS-1s on the front. Wheel spin was everywhere. Loser.

I have to say that I rarely see done up cars acting the maggot.

Better watch it or some people on the thread will be calling you a boy racer too;). Apparently I'm one now as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭jayj224

My first car was a relatively done up ibiza and I can honestly say i drove very safely to safely for the middle aged men driving executive saloons on numerous occasions I had them overtake on country roads while driving at 80 the speed limit for the road. that has stoped now i have a normal car its not only boy racers that try to show off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

I dont have a problem with decent cars being modified (Mitsubishi Evo's etc).
    No one should modify an Evo, that's just silly.
    Anyway, don't judge the modified brigade on their cars, you never know what's under the bonnet!

jayj224 wrote: »
    My first car was a relatively done up ibiza and I can honestly say i drove very safely to safely for the middle aged men driving executive saloons on numerous occasions I had them overtake on country roads while driving at 80 the speed limit for the road. that has stoped now i have a normal car its not only boy racers that try to show off!

True.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

What is it with those idiotic boy racers? Driving around in clapped out crocks with ridiculous exhausts. Idiots driving around making noise. Do they think people are looking and saying "Wow, what a car!!"

Its funny sometimes when they come up behind you with the tops of their head barely above the dashboard monstering in a Punto, clapped out Civic or some such rubbish heap. Great to put down the boot and leave them behind!

Waterford is full of the idiots. Hear them for miles around. As bad as it is hearing them I guess its worse encountering them coming towards you on the road.

Why dont they spend the wasted money on decent cars that will outperform their scrapheaps by a factor of 1000.

youre a bit of a hypocrit,

your the one racing if you put the boot down and go??:mad:
    just out of curiosity what do you drive??? feckin diesel vectra or somthing crap. if they put the boot down too they would leave you:D

cheaper bhp/ton from V-tec, Mivec and VVti that your 4/6pot grandad wagon.
    and they are cheap to mod
    180bhp in a car like a civic is alot of power.

then insurance wont touch them on anything over 2l too.

but what i really like is blowing the crap out of some middle aged gob****e in a mid life crisis in him BMW 3 series, trying to undertake me before he gets to the bus lane.
    i dropped the throttle and left one today........in a mini, i laughed in his face...gob****e. incidentally i wouldnt have done it only i knew what he was doing and it pisses me off.

kona wrote: »

just out of curiosity what do you drive??? feckin diesel vectra or somthing crap. if they put the boot down too they would leave you:D

I drive a 165 BHP Honda Accord, not that it matters. I'm under 30 so I'm not an OAP. My problem is with overtaking into oncoming traffic, stupid noisy exhausts etc etc. As stated above my car is 165 BHP. I dont have a big stupid exhaust. What is the point? Why have a big noisy exhaust on a 1.0L car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Lobster

kona wrote: »

True, wouldn't fancy an accords chances against a civic, even a 1.4i on winding roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

I drive a 165 BHP Honda Accord

Which model?

I drive a 165 BHP Honda Accord, not that it matters. I'm under 30 so I'm not an OAP. My problem is with overtaking into oncoming traffic, stupid noisy exhausts etc etc. As stated above my car is 165 BHP. I dont have a big stupid exhaust. What is the point? Why have a big noisy exhaust on a 1.0L car?

in fairness unless its a EURO R accord(with 165bhp it aint)its a bit of a coffin dodgers car tbh.
    i find it hard to believe that you would leave a VTi. SiR, an fact any civic with a v-tec behind.
    , i can understand you to a point, i can tell if a car has power from the exhaust.
    if they want to fool themselves let them, no need to think your above them.
    what about all the crappers with blown exhaust gaskets and craked pipes???they are noisy??
    you drive a accord(165 bhp???is that a 1.6???)
    power to weight ratio of a accord will be quite low,so i dont see how you could have left anything with over a 1.3 hatch???
    and if they are overtaking into oncoming traffic....thats just stupid:eek::mad:

whats the point in having a exhaust on a 1l car???
    em whats the point in having sex with durt birds??
    whats the point in getting so locked you cant remember??
    whats the point in street fighting??
    whats the point in stupid haircuts??
    whats the point in pop music??
    the point to all these are, they are young and dont have much cop on, so a loud exhaust is the nearest thing to their dream sports car.
    when your young you can get away with bull****, its called growing up.
    when you first get behind the wheel you will tear around, its human nature.
    i bet if insurance was lower for a 17-26 y/old on a m3 or over 2l cars, you would see a decrease in 1l barryboy cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Katie_Kiss

im absolutely gobsmacked by some of the narrow minded people on this thread.

and just to the people who are on about leaving the done up cars sitting or giving young people the finger, you guys are seriously letting yourselves down.

most people out there with modified cars are car enthusiasts - most of my circle of friends have done up cars and i can tell you we work hard for them, we dont go out alot, we dont drink - the cars are our lives.

at least we are the generation who actually completed a driving test and didnt just send away for our licenses!!!

you lot give out about boy racers and i know the exact people you are talking about - the people with no licence, no insurance, reckless driving etc etc, but the rest of us pay for that minority, we have high insurance, we get stopped by the guards, we are theated like the scum of the road. and why? because i choice to invest my money into a car people dont approve of?

you always here people going on about boy racers blah blah blah, when did u last hear about the old man who went to the pub in his tractor and drove home steaming, or parents teaching their children how to drive without insurance or license on our roads, or people who let their kids sit between the seats with no seatbelt. there are some awful drivers out there and no-one makes a peep about them - sure why would ya, its easier to blame it all on the ''boy racers''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

If I happened to see someone walking down the street in a pink crushed velour lesure suit with mile wide flares and bat wing cuffs I'd have a quiet snigger to myself and be grateful that - while I am style deficient in lots of ways - I don't look like a total muppet. Indeed there are lots of people out there that look worse than me and show a total absence of good taste in what they wear - no matter how bad I look I don't look as bad as them. It's a little like the "look thin - have fat friends" idea...

Modded cars are like that. Take a boggo supermini and make it "individual" by copying the current trends (big spoiler, black bonnet, big exhaust, bucket seats, etc). How does having a car that mimics every other modded car make you individual? You're simply conforming to the modded car stereotype - what is individual about joining a group?! It's all a bit of a sad and taste free cliche really and the fact that lots of effort and bodyworking ability goes into these cars doesn't make them good.

In the same way that we all look back at photo's of ourselves and think "why did I get that haircut" I'm sure that most of the modders will look back at thier cars and wonder why. But that'll take a while...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Katie_Kiss wrote: »
    im absolutely gobsmacked by some of the narrow minded people on this thread. I am a 21 yr old girl, i have a 1990 bmw 325i sport and an 1987 toyota corolla gt coupe aka a twin cam,
    Think i'm in love:D:D:p

slideways wrote: »
    Think i'm in love:D:D:p

how the hell did she afford them, i saved since i was 16 for my car, insurance and tax, granted ive taken it as far is i want, but a Ae86 a clean one will fetch 10k and a 1990 326i will get about 7k.
    katie where do you work...i wana work there:D
    or are you smart and import yourself and sell???:D;)

I am a 21 yr old girl, im in my final yr of a law degree and i have a 1990 bmw 325i sport and an 1987 toyota corolla gt

I may be stereotyping again but I suspect that she didn't pay for them herself

lol - the topic is ''idiotic boy racers''

but no i dont work im a final yr law student and no im not in debt over my cars either. i got the twin cam b4 the demand hit for them (thank god-good investment now) and can i just say underneath her is like new!!! and i got the sport in the north for reasonable money and vrt'd her costing me 1650yoyo and she is a minter aswell. i dont drink, i dont smoke, i dont go out much and my insurance falls around xmas time so my xmas presents combined pay for that. and i have a mechanic boyfriend who sorts them out if they need any attention. :)

YES I DO PAY FOR THEM MYSELF!!! with no help from daddy if thats what you are implying!!!

:p - i new my communion money would come in handy some day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

What is it with those idiotic boy racers? Driving around in clapped out crocks with ridiculous exhausts. Idiots driving around making noise. Do they think people are looking and saying "Wow, what a car!!"

Its funny sometimes when they come up behind you with the tops of their head barely above the dashboard monstering in a Punto, clapped out Civic or some such rubbish heap. Great to put down the boot and leave them behind!

Waterford is full of the idiots. Hear them for miles around. As bad as it is hearing them I guess its worse encountering them coming towards you on the road.

Why dont they spend the wasted money on decent cars that will outperform their scrapheaps by a factor of 1000.

God almighty lad, thats terrible just terrible altogether let me sit u down and ill make u a nice cup of tea. Terrible isnt the word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

l got the twin cam b4 the demand hit for them (thank god-
    You must have got it when you was 13 so!!:D

no i dont work

YES I DO PAY FOR THEM MYSELF!!!

Care to share the location of this magical money tree? ;)

Fair play - when I was in college we couldn't afford the bus fare so I'm amazed that a student can afford not one but two cars, can keep them on the road, taxed, insured, maintained, fuelled up and yet not work all without any help from Daddy.
    (Jealous, me? Never!)

slideways wrote: »
    You must have got it when you was 13 so!!:D

lol - oh aye parked at the front of the house pretending to bapp bapp bapp her. nah i got a jap one when everyone wanted a uk one!

Care to share the location of this magical money tree? ;)

Fair play - when I was in college we couldn't afford the bus fare so I'm amazed that a student can afford not one but two cars, can keep them on the road, taxed, insured, maintained, fuelled up and yet not work all without any help from Daddy.
    (Jealous, me? Never!)

its funny like cause i get the funny feeling your calling me a liar - HA. i do know it is hard to believe like but what can i say its true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

what can i say its true.
    Thats great.

lol - oh aye parked at the front of the house pretending to bapp bapp bapp her. nah i got a jap one when everyone wanted a uk one!

another example of dumb irish....a uk 80s toyota, might* be rust free, might* have a good engine might* be cheap!!!
    nah jap cars all the way, even imported minis are waaaay cheaper and in much better quality.
    im bidding on a 99 altezza , i can smell the profit already!!!

its funny like cause i get the funny feeling your calling me a liar - HA. i do know it is hard to believe like but what can i say its true.

well ypur are studying to be a LAWYER:p:D

haha - just cause im doing a law degree doesnt mean im studying to be a lawyer,

to ASS-U-ME makes an ass outta U and ME!

and isnt the topic about boy racers?????

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

How the girl pays for her car is her business fair play to her doing something she enjoys and going to collage. As said I have a Honda crx and am buying a Toyota Supra in a few weeks and keeping both of them, maybe I won't run them at the same time but how I pay for them is my business...some people don't spend 200 euro a week on drink and going out see a saving there?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I dont have a problem with decent cars being modified (Mitsubishi Evo's etc). The owners of those cars generally do drive pretty responsibly and I dont have any problem at all with the them. Its the idiots with mickey mouse pieces of crap that I have a problem with.

My car may be a micky mouse piece of crap Astra, and yes I may have come fairly nifty down the outisde land of the M7 on Sunday night, but it was an idiot in an Evo (or replica) that overtook me on a suburban road (just after his own house) lastnight at 11:30 and ended up behind me as I pulled into the driveway 10 minutes later on the other side of the city. These muppets annoy me!!! He could have been driving a 97 Escort for all I care, but some people are both enthusiasts and boy racers, with more money than sense AND a vague interest in cars. I'm fairly sure the same guy hade a done up Punto before the Mitsu. but if he wanted to act the wan|<er, then he should have fu<ked off to an empty carpartk somewhere like I did when it was icy 2 weeks back and had his fun!

following on from that comment... is it reckless and dangerour driving, if you go to a car park in the middle of no-where, no houses or anything to go diffing or drifting or as the older age group might say pulling donuts?????

haha - just cause im doing a law degree doesnt mean im studying to be a lawyer,

to ASS-U-ME makes an ass outta U and ME!

and isnt the topic about boy racers?????

no its about a fella who hates boy racers but then claims he *schmokes* them in his grandad wagon.
    and unless it the lowest of the low corsas and fiestas i find this hard to believe as most of the lads around my area drive modded V-tecs and 2l turbo silvias and skylines:D which would eat a 1.6 accord and then stop and eat it again for the laugh
    dont leave the girls out:D;), they create enough feckin mayhem:D

im just putting it out there like, if it isnt affecting anyone else in the world - why should people go to a track where it costs about 20euro an hour??

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

following on from that comment... is it reckless and dangerour driving, if you go to a car park in the middle of no-where, no houses or anything to go diffing or drifting or as the older age group might say pulling donuts?????

To be reckless, I would have to disregard others and their property. I didn't; I found an empty piece of half frozen tarmac with nobody around.

To be dangerous, I would have to have been doing it at some sort of excessive speeds. Considering the limit in the area was 40 km/h and I didn't come near it, lets just say I didn't exactly endanger anyone.

Now doing it in a carparl with 30 other modders around and people watching...there is an excessively increased risk of damaging another car and there exists the risk of killing a bystander.

I think that covers the negligence argument from my point of view anyway. doing it with people around would have been entirely negligent...and yes; dangerous and reckless.

What I did is covered in the Swedish driving test I believe:p