Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying to conceive/Planned parenthood/Assisted Reproduction Chat thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Welcome on board Whitelightrider. Ok, what time of day was your wife testing?
    The HCG (pregnancy hormone) levels are generally higher in the morning, chances are shes either 1. not pregnant or 2. the HCG levels aren't high enough yet to register on a pregnancy test.
    I would have thought myself 8 days overdue period though that they HCG would be high enough.
    Leave it til tomorrow morning & test again with first urine passed & see how she gets on then.

It can be fairly common for a cycle to go over a bit. sometimes it can be the stress of trying to conceive. Other times it can be that the womans cycle was always a bit erratic, but it is more noticeable when you're actively watching/tracking your cycle.

The very best of luck to you both, I hope ye get the positive result soon :)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Welcome Hope and whitenightrider:)

Am on day 10 today. I'm not as anxious as I have been, feel nicely chilled. Probably cos I'm not convinced I'll ovulate ''on schedule'' after the miscarriage.

Hope everyone is doing well.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭whitelightrider

Hi folks,

Well unfortunately we're not going to have a baby this time. Period came late this afternoon after 8 days being late. Guess we'll have to enjoy the practice!!!

I think I could be ovulating. Is that normal, or even possible 11 days after a miscarriage?:confused:

I've got all the signs. I know it's possible to ovulate before period returns. But......Oh I'm confused. Again:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Welcome Whitelightrider, wow that's a mouthful (I can really talk - DetectivFoxtrot :p)
    Sorry about the Big Fat Negative, hope you catch that eggie real soon!

Lucyfur, I am so jealous you're ovulating! Are you going to ttc this cycle - I so would! what signs do you have - we need to analyse this! yay, so happy for you.

I am cycle day 14. No ovulation signs but my ovulation stikcs are getting dark... anyway, the marathon sex session continues ( :D ), well I say marathon, we're at it every two days, which is marathon for us, lol :p

hi everyone ;)

Welcome Whitelightrider, wow that's a mouthful (I can really talk - DetectivFoxtrot :p)
    Sorry about the Big Fat Negative, hope you catch that eggie real soon!

Lucyfur, I am so jealous you're ovulating! Are you going to ttc this cycle - I so would! what signs do you have - we need to analyse this! yay, so happy for you.

I am cycle day 14. No ovulation signs but my ovulation stikcs are getting dark... anyway, the marathon sex session continues ( :D ), well I say marathon, we're at it every two days, which is marathon for us, lol :p

hi everyone ;)

How are you? Up beat and positive by the looks of it!!

Yeah, we're going to try this cycle. Doc said once we were ok physically, to go right ahead.

Right, I have cramps and twinges (nothing serious, what I'd always have when ovulating), a good lot of egg white mucous (I'd usually only have this for an hour or two, once a month but I have it all day today and slightly yesterday), and I'm suitably cranky (I get cranky when I'm ovulating as opposed to when I have my period). Darling Other Half won't eat dinner I cooked because he ''doesn't do carrots and parsnips that are burnt''.

THEY'RE NOT BURNT, THEY ARE OVEN ROASTED IN HONEY.

I really do think I'm ovulating:eek::eek:

Lucyfur wrote: »

Darling Other Half won't eat dinner I cooked because he ''doesn't do carrots and parsnips that are burnt''.

THEY'RE NOT BURNT, THEY ARE OVEN ROASTED IN HONEY.

I really do think I'm ovulating:eek::eek:

hehe :p

I'm ok. Just back in the cycle of waiting to ovulating then waiting to test... you know yourself. God I thought I was done with this crap for 9 months,... ah well... onward and upward..

you sound like your'e ovulating alight. Get to it girl! ;) Although... do you think sex is even a possibility tonight? - after all you DID burn the carrots!

hehe :p

I'm ok. Just back in the cycle of waiting to ovulating then waiting to test... you know yourself. God I thought I was done with this crap for 9 months,... ah well... onward and upward..

you sound like your'e ovulating alight. Get to it girl! ;) Although... do you think sex is even a possibility tonight? - after all you DID burn the carrots!

Ah ((hugs)) hun. I know, it's sucky. But it will happen again, I'm sure of it:D

Gonna go drag himself away from the TV:P

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

I've had a weird metallic type taste in my mouth for the last couple of days, and it gets worse after eating, and food tastes gack, even my beloved coffee this morning tasted like crap because of this horrible taste. Yet had my period from 29-31 of March, a negative test that morning and a negative test yesterday evening. Cheapie internet ones.

I'm gonna do a test in the morning just to rule it out as I'm pretty sure my body is 'april fooling' :( I would love it if this was a pregnancy symptom but I doubt it.)

** Edit** Did a test, not pregnant as I suspected so no idea why my food tasted ick. Coffee tastes fine this morning

As far as I'm concerned, I will be ovulating this week so thats what I will focus on. Shagathon on!

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭applesock

just reading through previous post never though of the moods at ovulation would explain alot though :D I said the last time wouldnt be thinking about this, but in the back of my head always there, i think i was ovulating going by calculations and muccus. But got a few cramps today so can only assume my monthly friend on the way not due till 10/11th. seems to go up a day every month like 9th 10th 11th, i assume this is normal. so maybe looking at the 12th this month.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

I'm on day 31 of a day 32 day cycle.. I have been using ovulation sticks this month to which were showing me negatives & apart from a little egg white a few days back my body wasnt showing me any signs either.. That was until yest when I pretty much lived in the toilet all day as so much clear discharge was cming out, when I got home from work I did my Ovulation test as I always do (the leaflet says to do evening testing rather than morning) and it showed a very obvious positive!! We went into over drive last night and going for 3 days unless my period comes tomorrow as I expect it too. Can anyone shed any light on this for me? Is it just hormones from my period being due or can I ovulate so late in the month? I've been looking online and some are saying yes and others no, so confused :(
    I was in the docs today as I twinged my back a few days ago and its still soar :( and he said that it is possible but that I cant take it for sure until I test for a few months and see what happens.. Which makes perfect sense! He suggested that I come back into him on day 25 this month for bloods to see what it shows.. Honestly I'm happy I got a positive and hoping it isn't a fake and that maybe this is the month we'll be lucky but sure only time will tell.. If I dont get my period I'll have to wait 2 weeks to test anyways.. Positive, positive :D

Baby dust to all x

Welcome Hope & Whiteknightrider :) I joined this chat in Jan this year & has helped me so so much! I hope you guys find it as helpful!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Best of luck Tigeress and don't forget to have fun :-)

I upgraded my ovulation tests to Clearblue unit and stocks, as the others never showed the surge, I must have always missed it. Anyway fingers crossed, only on day 7 at the moment.
    I've also booked my appointment with the Merrion to see the specialist and start again. We both have to take all our tests again so won't be able to start IUI for at least 2 months. I've also booked a 2nd opinion meeting with SIMS just to ensure we're on the right path.
    I feel good being pro-active again, hopefully we can do this on our own, but if not I know we've a plan in place :-)

Thanks Barbiegirl :) let the fun begin hehe

Best of luck with the Merrion! & the new Ovulation Kit, I was thinking of the clearblue myself for when infun out of the ones I have.. Did you buy them online? The ones I have seem to be good, well here's hoping anyways!

Tigeress, sometimes it's possible to get a positive ovulation test right before your period. also..... it's possible to get a positive ovulation test when you are in fact preggo, as the hormones that are tested on pregnancy tests and ovulation tests (HCG and LH) are very similar in their chemical make-up, so both tests can read both hormones (it's not an exact science but is definitely possible).
    I hope you are preggo or if not hope you're body is finally gearing up to ovulate! ;)

Tigeress, sometimes it's possible to get a positive ovulation test right before your period. also..... it's possible to get a positive ovulation test when you are in fact preggo, as the hormones that are tested on pregnancy tests and ovulation tests (HCG and LH) are very similar in their chemical make-up, so both tests can read both hormones (it's not an exact science but is definitely possible).
    I hope you are preggo or if not hope you're body is finally gearing up to ovulate! ;)

Oh DFT you have me wondering now!! I don't think I'm preggo as I feel great apart from super tired today but that's it.. I'm really happy I got the positive ovulation test! Gives me a new found hope that it'll happen hopefully soon... In a few months I prob won't be a positive lol.
    I am getting bad cramps in my sides today, I didn't think I could ovulate so close to my menstrual cycle?!?
    How are you doing though hun? I hope you're doing ok :) x

Tigeress wrote: »
    Oh DFT you have me wondering now!! I don't think I'm preggo as I feel great apart from super tired today but that's it.. I'm really happy I got the positive ovulation test! Gives me a new found hope that it'll happen hopefully soon... In a few months I prob won't be a positive lol.
    I am getting bad cramps in my sides today, I didn't think I could ovulate so close to my menstrual cycle?!?
    How are you doing though hun? I hope you're doing ok :) x

you probably had a delayed ovulation - it happens - your period could be two weeks away - here's hoping!

I am grand thanks. I am also just about to ovulate - yipee! Well I think so anyway. Getting the famous twinges I always get at O time, and my tests are almost positive. I can't believe this cycle has normalised, directly after the miscarriage AND without Clomid. Who'd've thunk it? I would never normally ovulate this early without meds, delira so I am. I am on day 16, will probably ovulate tom or Fri. Can a miscarriage help sort out fertility issues??? hmmm, must google that.

you probably had a delayed ovulation - it happens - your period could be two weeks away - here's hoping!

I am grand thanks. I am also just about to ovulate - yipee! Well I think so anyway. Getting the famous twinges I always get at O time, and my tests are almost positive. I can't believe this cycle has normalised, directly after the miscarriage AND without Clomid. Who'd've thunk it? I would never normally ovulate this early without meds, delira so I am. I am on day 16, will probably ovulate tom or Fri. Can a miscarriage help sort out fertility issues??? hmmm, must google that.

I ovulated only a few days after my last MC so take full advantage, my regret is I didn't take advantage cause I was just too upset.. But you're at your most fertile now! So let the fun begin :) I have all my fingers crossed for you hun!

Thanks for the replys too, they're a great help :) I'm really hoping that ovulating so late this month is a good sign & my body is telling me to get preggers! Sure only time will tell.. Usually I ovulate between 14-9 days before my cycle starts, going by the clear Strechy that is.. I'm still a little boggled by this but sure we're enjoying it all the same :)

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'm getting on the ovulation train today as well - got my double line on my dipsticks so after the footie he is being dragged in to score. :p

Detective - its mad that your cycle just went back on track like that, hopefully its a great sign!

My Endocrinologist called me today - she upped my dosage for the prolactin, but seems to think that it would not cause the infertilty, and stressed that I need to continue with the investigations with the fertility clinic, to find the cause. Had hoped that the prolactin was the issue, and that once it was fixed I would be fertile and get pregnant in no time. Now I might need to go further. She is writing to my fertility doc to pass on her findings so I will probably get a call for the next step. Or I might just get knocked up before that - here's hoping!

Neyite wrote: »
    I'm getting on the ovulation train today as well - got my double line on my dipsticks so after the footie he is being dragged in to score

My Endocrinologist called me today - she upped my dosage for the prolactin, but seems to think that it would not cause the infertilty, and stressed that I need to continue with the investigations with the fertility clinic, to find the cause. Had hoped that the prolactin was the issue, and that once it was fixed I would be fertile and get pregnant in no time. Now I might need to go further. She is writing to my fertility doc to pass on her findings so I will probably get a call for the next step. Or I might just get knocked up before that - here's hoping!

Neyite, I have my fingers crossed that you'll get preggers before having to do further investigating :) but on the up side at least the tests will tell you whats happening & hopefully make it easier to conceive! X

woop! just got a smiley face. We're watching one (yes ONE, dear) episode of The Wire then we're hitting the sack ;)

over and out :D

woop! just got a smiley face. We're watching one (yes ONE, dear) episode of The Wire then we're hitting the sack ;)

Lol good stuff :) we're watching one more hour of tv then he's being dragged to bed :0

Babydust to us all xx

This is brilliant:D:D

Baby dust to all xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 snowie2010

I got married almost a year ago and went off the pill soon after.
    we have been ttc since however my periods are very irregular once month 35 days the next month 50.very frustating as dont know when im ovaluating or if i even am.dedided to bite the bullet and got to doctor.they didnt want to even take bloods are reckoned i just needed to give it time( same old story).i insisted bloods were taken i was on day 28 of what i thought was going to be a 35 day cycle but turned out to be a 50 day cycle.when the results came back they said my progetrestrem was quite low so where does this leave me now?
    i had heard that dangerous ttc when low as higher risk of miscarriage but cant help thinking that doc didnt even want to take bloods in first place.
    i have booked an apt next week to see doc.

any advice would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I had been ttc for 2.5 yrs when I first went to doctor, who refered me to a consultant. When I went to the consultant he told me to go home & keep trying for another 6 months - consultation lasted 5 mins, no tests & he never examined me. I was so upset & put off by the whole experience that It took me another 4.5 yrs to go back to the doctor, I really believed that there was no help available for me. Been trying now for 8 yrs. Don't get fobbed off by your doctor or consultant, my biggest regret is all the time I wasted.

snowie2010 wrote: »
    we have been ttc since however my periods are very irregular once month 35 days the next month 50.very frustating as dont know when im ovaluating or if i even am.dedided to bite the bullet and got to doctor.they didnt want to even take bloods are reckoned i just needed to give it time( same old story).i insisted bloods were taken i was on day 28 of what i thought was going to be a 35 day cycle but turned out to be a 50 day cycle.when the results came back they said my progetrestrem was quite low so where does this leave me now?
    i had heard that dangerous ttc when low as higher risk of miscarriage but cant help thinking that doc didnt even want to take bloods in first place.

Welcome Snowie! That's awful that your doctor is being so unsupportive! I'm so sorry you're going through such a rough time :( but you're in great hands here! I've been trying for 19 months and it's so tough.. I got my first bloods when I was trying a year, I've a 32 day cycle and I done the day 3 and 21 the 21 showed I wasn't Ovulating and I got so upset but when I went back to the nurse she told me I needed to go day 25 I fell preg only a month after and unfortunately lost my baby :( it's been a rough time but I'm back with the doc now and this month going in day 23,25 & 27 to get tested, I'm lucky in that my doc is brill... Maybe you should think of going to a fertility clinic for tests as they will go through everything & understand what you're going through! I don't have any experience with them myself but I'm sure the other ladies will be able to put you on the right direction! I myself plan to make an appointment if nothing happens by July as that's our 2 year trying mark.. I really hope it happens for you soon :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4 hope50

Hi

I ordered preseed on line has anyone any info on it going by my current cycle day 10 to 16 next week so was going to give it a go

No Sign of my monthly visitor today :) still have a few cramps in my sides but nothing bad like they usually are.. Here's hoping this month :) was super tired today thought I'd never get out of work and get home to relax!
    I do have a question though... My ovulation sticks say when I get a positive result I should ovulate within 48 hours.. Did another test today (today being third day) and it's still showing a positive! I'm taking that as good and to keep trying & hoping it's not just fooling me..

hope50 wrote: »
    Hi

I ordered preseed on line has anyone any info on it going by my current cycle day 10 to 16 next week so was going to give it a go

I use it all the time its great and non sticky- if you got the tube, you can just use as much or as little as you like - with the applicator ones, you wont need to use it all - its very runny so it comes out of the tube quick, so be careful. You can actually use it at other times during your cycle if you feel you need it.

snowie2010 wrote: »

Hi Snowie, dont let the doctors fob you off. You have given it a year - thats plenty of time. If they wont do the bloodwork, change doctors. Im not too well up on the low progesterone, sorry. But I hope that they are able to do the tests and get you some answers.
    Best of luck