Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accommodation in Westport for a stag

• 19-02-2008 10:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭

Hi, doing best man for a mate of mine and looking to organise his stag in Westport for this summer. Can anyone recommend:

1. Accommodation that is 'stag' friendly (most of the people wil be in 30's and some in 40's so should be a reasonably good crowd) that will be ok for 18 or so people.

2. Anyone know of any pitches there, in case we wanted to break out and play a game of football (don't suppose local teams would play) - we will have a number of footballers (inc one or 2 ex-county players) and a game has been mentioned as a possible activity, maybe a game of 7-a-side if we had a pitch.

3. Any karoke bars in Westport? Just in case someone needs to bust a lung...or our eardrums?:eek:

4. Any other fun activities that can be recommended - I am aware of the options of paintballing etc., thinking something different here? Is there a casino about or anywhere we could play cards?

Thanks in anticipation, and if no replies, thanks for reading and if no read....well...sure what harm!

P

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Gun_Slinger

Hey, Not from Westport but close enough but could give a couple of suggestions.
    Everywhere is busy in Westport in the Summer so you would have to book early. I wouldnt say booking as part of a group of 20 is a good idea as they will cop on ye are a stag straight away. Try booking 4 at a time and no harm if ye are in different hotels/b&bs. Hotels In town you have the Castlecourt, Westport Plaza, Wyatt, Clew Bay. Out the quay you have the Atlantic Coast. Loads of B&Bs everywhere, not too sure of the hostel situation?

As for Football, Mayo has Summer leagues for soccer and gaelic so dont think you will find a team wiling to play ye in a friendly and risk injuries. If you want to chance anyway I can give you the names of teams close to westport. PM me if needed. Dont think there are astro pitches in Westport but there are some in Castlebar next to Castlebar Celtic.

Karoke bars??? I havent seen this in a pub in a long long time! I might be wrong but dont know of many bars anywhere that have Karoke anymore (thank god ;))!

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭pazza

Gun Slinger - thanks for the tips. We will be wary when booking, I was hoping that somewhere might be stag friendly, i.e. we wouldn't have to tell a wee fib. Also, would like to try and get everyone in the one place as I know that residents drinks can be good fun with a crowd (was great craic at my own stag)...or if in self-catering apts, would be easy to carry on the party...

As for the football - yea, I figured as much.

Karoke - well, just trying to think of something 'different' for the bar - something to make it a little more memorable that just drinking...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

There is a place called McConville park, not a clue who runs it, but we used to play 7 aside pub leagues there, perfect size. Maybe (if it still exists) you could rent it and play an 8 aside :)

Does Cosy Joes do Karaoke?

Book into the Plaza or Castlecourt, loads of stags stay there.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭interlocked

The local GAA club has just got planning for a state of the art 60x30 astroturf, should be well up and running by summer.