Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Footballers You've Met?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Forget about it. :p

Those Panathanaikos fans look mighty like Celtic fans Des, bar the fact its a basketball game. :)

River Plate ftw.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VvSvHDscKI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Those Panathanaikos fans look mighty like Celtic fans Des, bar the fact its a basketball game. :)
    :mad:

Panathinaikos are the real Irish club. See the size of the Shamrock, at least double the size of Celtic's one.

Anyway, it doesn't matter that it's basketball, they are still the Panatha Ultras. They support the club, not just the football team.

Legendary chanting.
    MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Meh, Cork City sing that song.

I can't stand it.

Ole-OleOleOle-Ola biy.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭patmac

Played a game of darts with George Best in a pub in the middle of London one Saturday lunchtime circa 1988, dead sound he had to leave us to spend the afternoon in the casino across the road, ah George where did all go wrong.

Played a game of pool and drank pints with Aldo 3 years ago in Pria de Luz very sound man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

DesF wrote: »
    Meh, Cork City sing that song.

Cork Village
    patmac wrote: »
    Played a game of darts with George Best in a pub in the middle of London one Saturday lunchtime circa 1988, dead sound he had to leave us to spend the afternoon in the casino across the road, ah George where did all go wrong.

Played a game of pool and drank pints with Aldo 3 years ago in Pria de Luz very sound man.

Very cool. Best that is, not Aldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

I met Mick McCartthy back in the day.About a year before Saipan i might add.He was'nt very enthusiastic about chatting which made it quite obvious he was being paid to attend that particular event:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

When I was a kid me and some friends seen Mark Lawerenson at a LOI game. At half time me and one of my friends seen him walking towards our direction so we stuck out our hands to try and shake his hand but he just walked straight by us. But another friend at the same match said he seen him giving somebody an autograph so he can't be all that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

I saw Phil Babb walking on the other side of the road once! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

The wife's brother used to play for Bolton so I've met quite a lot of footballers over the years. By far the two nicest were David James and Kevin Kilbane. Two absolute top blokes.

The two worst were Stephen Gerrard and Stig Bjornaby, the latter being in a league of his own all together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

Matt Holland at Stansted airport the day after the 2004 Heineken cup final
    met Niall Quinn and Stan in Spain (different occasions)
    Dwight Yorke in Sydney (crazy man)
    o ya was in Beunos Aires in 2006 was leaving a club late one nite and some fella called Maradonna was coming in with his enterage:cool:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I met Beckham before he became a "super star". Very friendly chap, had time for everybody that was there. Met Henning Berg also, seemed a bit pissed off that he wasn't in the United team at the time. Can't really think of too many others... Am friends with James Hand (formerly of Huddersfield now with Monaghan United), played GAA against Martin Reilly (formerly of Burnley) and went to school with Cillian Sheridan of Celtic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Energizer

Met Pele at his book signing in dublin.

Seemed like a nice bloke and all. was the usual late pele though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Met the Man Utd team in New Jersey after one of their training sessions back in 2003. O'Shea, Forlan and Bellion were very chatty lads and everyone was good about signing autographs except Van Nistelrooy who refused to sign anything.

After having a picture taken with Roy Keane, I asked him why his let his country down the year before. He gave me one of his stares and duly left to go on to the team bus. I thought he was going to clock me one but I'm bigger than him!

Also met some of the US team at one of their training camps up near Hartford before the WC in 2006. Also some from the NY red bulls team last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Energizer wrote: »
    Met Pele at his book signing in dublin.

Seemed like a nice bloke and all. was the usual late pele though. :D

Was he giving out free Viagra? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

My cousin goes out with Kenny Cunninghams(theres the name again :D) brother so he sorted us out for a pass for the players lounge at the old Lansdowne after we beat Canada 3-0 in a friendly.

Met Brian Kerr, Packie Bonner..which happened to be the highlight for me for sure, Shay Given, Robbie Keane, Clinton Morrison(funny baxtard), John O'Shea.

Also met Hartey..I asked him how the game went. He said in his big Drogheda accent 'Ah fcukin sh1te.' With that he took a huge swig of his pint bottle of Bulmers :D Went to school with Stephen McPhail too, who happened to be standing beside Hartey at the time and was wondering how the hell I got in to the lounge :p

Managed to spill a dribble of beer on Rory Delaps runner :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

FatherTed wrote: »

After having a picture taken with Roy Keane, I asked him why his let his country down the year before. He gave me one of his stares and duly left to go on to the team bus. I thought he was going to clock me one but I'm bigger than him!

:eek: that was brave :D

Remember seeing Utd team arriving at OT back in 96, only two players not to sign autographs that day were Keane and Dennis Irwin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Dennis Irwin, Roy Keane and I saw Ronaldiniho in Barca before and said hi but he burned me badly:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

OPENROAD wrote: »
    :eek: that was brave :D

Remember seeing Utd team arriving at OT back in 96, only two players not to sign autographs that day were Keane and Dennis Irwin.

Funny that. That day in new jersey, keane stayed the longest of any player signing autographs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Sorry to be pedantic:o...but it's Denis Irwin

...I used to hate it when he was a player and reading countless articles where his name was spelt wrong...how sad am I?:D

FatherTed wrote: »
    Funny that. That day in new jersey, keane stayed the longest of any player signing autographs.

He must have been in a bad mood the day I saw him :)

Nunu wrote: »
    Sorry to be pedantic:o...but it's Denis Irwin

...I used to hate it when he was a player and reading countless articles where his name was spelt wrong...how sad am I?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Rio Ferdinand,Carrick,Ashley Cole,Van Nistelrooy,Pennant,Wes Brown,Sean Davis all in Marbella.

Wes Brown(again) and Craig Belamy in town

Forgot about Andy Keogh know his brother well,Paul Mcshane Played against him in a friendly for St Josephs Boys and Darren O Dea just lives down the road from me my mates always go over and stay in his house when the celts are on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

i met all the qpr team around 1994 in portugal, played table tennis with les ferdinand and clive wilson

on the same holiday me and two mates watched some dodgy german erotic thriller in the hotel lobby with hevin gallen and dougie freeman. we each took turns to make sure no parents were coming to bust us (i was 11). true story!

met teddy sheringham smashed out of his mind singing "dont let the sun go down on me" in a bar in portugal a few years later. friendly guy, shooh is hand and wished him good luck at portsmouth.

also met gary mcallister in portugal around the same time. he was drinking with his wife and 2 friends. my friend and i were deliberately talking very loudly in the hope he would hear our insightful and witty musings on football. eventually he came over and we had a beer with him before his wife made him go home "but i wanna go drinkin with the irish boys",

thats about it,

does mick mccarthy count? said schillachi was a "tough little bugger" no mention of a bacon slicer though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Shane190

I met Ryan Giggs when i was quite young. I also met Cristiano Ronaldo in a barbers one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

michael Owen, Milan Baros, Kevin Moran, Denis Irwin, John Toshack and Jon Otsemobor (he used to play for Liverpool),

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

rossie1977 wrote: »
    michael Owen, Milan Baros, Kevin Moran, Denis Irwin, John Toshack and Jon Otsemobor (he used to play for Liverpool),

He's the lad that got shot in the arse isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Xavi6 wrote: »

He must ****e himself in games when people shout SHOOT :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Xavi6 wrote: »

thats the dude :)