Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sligo Rovers

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Hopefully the pitch will be in a better state than it was this time last year. With that and the winds, it was a pretty terrible game.

am just hoping it recovered after the bray match, it was in an alwful mess after it, heavy rain during before and after

fair play to the grounds men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Oh wait I see there is:P

• Registered Users Posts: 7,995 ✭✭✭DenMan

greetings wrote: »
    Is there a home match tonight?

Yep, you're at home tonight against Bohs.

KO at 8PM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Up the Bohs!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

Up the Bohs!!

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭CSC

What was the match tonight like?

I assume there was a good crowd since we won the last couple of games. I was also talking to some Bohs supporters who said there were going to bring a lot down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The first half was really good - it slacked off a bit in the 2nd & Bohs nearly scraped a winner at the end, but all things considered, it was a fair result. Good to the Rovers on the up, even if it meant scalping my team of 2 points!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

It was all Rovers in the first half, they were playing really good football just a pity they didn't take some of their chances. Bohs came out a better team in the second half though. I would have taken a draw before the match and I think overall it was a fair result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Resistance

Mentalita' ultras:cool:
    frvsbohs09.png

frvsbohs092.png

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭garth-marenghi

I think a liberal interpretation of the word legend is been applied to some of the players for this game;) but a Liverpool Legends vs Celtic Legends game takes place in the Showgrounds on Saturday July 18th at 6pm.
    Please come along and help the likes of Jason Mcateer and Ronnie Whelan in these poor economic times:p but more importantly come along and support the Bit O Red in this fundraiser:)
    http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=118729

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Does anyone else get a warning from www.sligorovers.com? firefox and avg says there's a virus on the site?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Mrs.T

strongr wrote: »
    Does anyone else get a warning from www.sligorovers.com? firefox and avg says there's a virus on the site?

Yeah, we get a warning from Avast about the site.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Resistance

sligorovers.com has been having problems for a while now but they hope to have it sorted out soon I think you can get updates on twitter

Also Forza Rovers launched their website last week www.forzarovers.net

strongr wrote: »

yes, my AVG alearted me last night, was trying to find some info on the europa cup tickets, although i was speaking to some one at the club last week who said tickets would be on sale for the home leg of the 1st round at the match against derry on friday, 20 yoyo each

see the site is still experiencing problems, my AVG is still blocking access anyway. On the Europa Games, did yous get your tickets, there were plenty available at the Derry game, tickets are limited to seating only due to UEFA restrictions.

List of teams in the draw for the first round qualifying, ie we'll be playing one of these teams over two legs on the 2nd and 9th of july, the draw is on the 22nd of june (Draw for 2nd Round is also on this date).

Bnei Yehuda, Zimbru Chişinău, Simurq Zaqatala, B36 Tórshavn, Helsingborg, Sligo Rovers, Vllaznia, NSÍ Runavík, Spartak Trnava, Renova, Dinamo Tirana, UN Käerjeng 97, Polonia Warsaw, Keflavík MIKA, CS Grevenmacher, Szombathelyi Haladás, Fram, Banants Yerevan, Birkirkara, Slaven Belupo, Olimpi Rustavi, Irtysh, Valletta, Anorthosis, Zestaponi, Okzhetpes, Budućnost, Rudar Velenje, Dinamo Minsk, Linfield, Sutjeska Nikšić, FC Lahti, MTZ-RIPO, Lisburn Distillery, Rosenborg, Skonto Rīga, Trans, Llanelli, Randers, Široki Brijeg, Kalju, The New Saints, Motherwell, Vėtra, Inter Baku

Lots of discussion about the website, but how did the game go against Derry? I know they were beaten by the one goal, but did they play well and get a good turn out at the Showgrounds?

DenMan wrote: »
    Lots of discussion about the website, but how did the game go against Derry? I know they were beaten by the one goal, but did they play well and get a good turn out at the Showgrounds?

for the size of the squad, not doing to bad, not sure how accurate but we only had a few subs on the bench instead of the 5 your allowed, 2nd half was better from the team, although one of our defenders had to make a save right on the line after brush was beaten, plus derry having a goal disalowed for handball, ulgy scenes in front of the dug out following a dangerous tackle 10 minutes from time seen 1 player from each sent off

huge crowd up from derry, filling the away section, had seen more in the main stand at previous games, hopefully people are not being put off by the lack of wins and staying away, bums in seats bring money to the club, dont want to see a repeat of the financial issues experienced last year

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Wexler12

irish-stew wrote: »
    not sure how accurate but we only had a few subs on the bench instead of the 5 your allowed,
    2 subs Ciaran Kelly (gk) and Chris (Kizzy) Kelly.

Disgracefull preformance from the ref and Lino's

Forza Rovers

411086670a10973344014l.jpg

Wexler12 wrote: »
    2 subs Ciaran Kelly (gk) and Chris (Kizzy) Kelly.

was wondering who chris kelly was during the game, dont remember hearing his name before
    Disgracefull preformance from the ref and Lino's

absolutly, the ref did not have a clue, didn't enforce his authority on the game at all, i could see the stewards gathering a few minutes before fulltime getting ready to escort him off

Forza Rovers

411086670a10973344014l.jpg

great pic, the lads really got behind the team

Just read the report of the 2-2 draw with Cork City. Anybody travel down to the game? Came from behind twice, fair play to them. Replay scheduled for Tuesday night.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Wexler12

Not a great preformance,taught we had no chance when Peers went off injured but Raf saved us again.Good numbers down,50-60 Rovers fans

No Confederations Cup on tonite. I take it the big match is on RTE this evening. If not then maybe TG4. Hopefully there will be a great turnout.

DenMan wrote: »
    No Confederations Cup on tonite. I take it the big match is on RTE this evening. If not then maybe TG4. Hopefully there will be a great turnout.

Not on any tv stations as far as i know tonight, would have probably been too short notice/expensive to organise it and dont really think domestic football is top of RTE agenda:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Great game , Great night for Rovers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

What was the score?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 thecraichead

Match Report From www.breakingnews.ie

Sligo Rovers 2 Cork City 1
    (After extra-time)

Having scored the equaliser that forced the replay, Rafael Cretaro came up trumps for Sligo once again, hitting a brace as his side came from behind to put Cork out after extra-time at the Showgrounds.

Cork started well, taking the lead after five minutes. Left-back Danny Murphy clipped a ball to the far post and Latvian Guntars Silagailis appeared to get a touch to beat Richard Brush.

Tim Kiely hit the post for Cork while Danny Ventre prevented a second goal when clearing off the line from Shane Duggan before Rovers levelled on 41 minutes.

Owen Morrison put Cretaro in down the inside right channel and Rovers’ top scorer drilled his shot past Dan Connor.

Cretaro then sealed it for Rovers in the 17th minute of extra-time when the smallest man on the pitch leaped to head home Sean Doherty’s cross.

Cork blew a chance to level five minutes later when Brush saved Murphy’s penalty after the keeper had brought down Alan O’Connor.

Cork still had a chance to force penalties in the final minute, but midfielder Colin Healy's header came back off the bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

What a game, went through every emotion last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

Very good result indeed. I should really start going to some matches and support the local team.

A great result and a fantastic night by all accounts.:) For anyone who didnt make it like myself here are some highlights
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0617/1news_av.html?2563964,null,230

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Tickets are still available for Sligo Rovers Europa League First Round Qualifying game against Albanian side Vllaznia this Thursday 2nd July, 7 o’clock kick-off, as supporters eagerly anticipate Rovers return to European competition after a 13 year absence. Tickets are priced at €20 for an adult, €15 for a student or oap and €5 for a child aged 12 or under.
    Tickets can be got from JAKO on Markievicz Road, Barton Smith’s, Colleary’s Menswear and the Club Office in the Showgrounds every morning,10am to 2pm.

Don't miss out on this great occasion, and those attending are urged to keep their ticket stubs as if Sligo Rovers qualify for the tie against Rapid Vienna then they will have preference for tickets.

attachment.php?attachmentid=1377&d=1246015203