Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 month rule

• Registered Users Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Bullets,

Why the visit from CPO, what application/s have you submitted ?

Well from the length of time I have been waiting you'd nearly swear
    I was trying to licence a nuclear Bomb.

About 52 days ago....I put an application in for a bettinsoli sporter o/u
    and also handed in my .17 rimmy cert to amend ammo limit from 200 to 500.
    Only want the shotgun for clays and the rifle I dont even use it to hunt anything
    I just want be able to have a reasonable stock of ammo as my rifle like
    Hornady ammo, other brands I get neck splits.

The CPO did not even know himself why he was asked to come out he said
    he would normally only be out inspecting houses if it was a pistol application or
    applications for deer hunting calibers!!!

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Bullets,

I thought I remembered you saying here that you had applied for an ammo increase and a shotgun. And you had to have a CPO visit. This is an interesting and disturbing development :eek:

Hope some of the FCP crew are reading this !

1 x rimfire rifle, a request for an ammo increase and 1 x shotgun and a shooter gets a CPO visit ? :eek:

Any thoughts lads ?

I initially applied for an ammo increase a few months back from 100-500 as
    I was getting split necks in my brass and my rifle only liked Hornady brand.
    I found when I went to me local dealer sometimes he did not have hornady or
    was out of stock completely. I reckoned 500 was a reasonable amount to ask for
    and it would not cause any issues as it was not like I was asking for 10,0000 or anything.

My Super refused me the 500 but would allow me to have 200. (about a days worth of ammo for me) It was on the basis I did not have an alarm. 100 OK 200 OK 500 NO! :confused::confused:

Anyway off I went got an alarm. BOTH my firearms officer and my CPO visited my house
    on seperate occasions and were satisfied with my security.

Now I'm at the point where I ring and nobody returns my calls I cant get hold of my FO when I do all he can tell me is that it was sent into the Sargent's office. Ring the
    sargents office and they dont see anything up on their computers when they check.
    Rang today so hoping the will ring me back soon.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Dont wanna be stepping on anyone's toes here who are regulars since I dont post very often, but I found my local sergent very nice to deal with when it came my .22 licence, kept me informed of how things were coming along and I had the licence within 3-4weeks.Wouldn't like to brand em all.

Ian

3 weeks for dbl s/g when i was 18. 3 weeks for .22 when i was 20. 6 months for 6.5x55 when I was 22 and 3 weeks for .40s&w when I was 26.

now i have a .223 Rem with mod, 5 shot S/A shotgun; 6.5x55 and still the glock .40 S&W which are all on the restricted list.

Does'nt get much better than this
    And there is more to come ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

3 weeks for dbl s/g when i was 18. 3 weeks for .22 when i was 20. 6 months for 6.5x55 when I was 22 and 3 weeks for .40s&w when I was 26.

now i have a .223 Rem with mod, 5 shot S/A shotgun; 6.5x55 and still the glock .40 S&W which are all on the restricted list.

Does'nt get much better than this
    And there is more to come ;)

Think not ? guy i shoot with has 223 ,22-250, 243,308,2 shotguns ,2 pistols 9mm and 22magnum and his trusty old mauser 22lr.the guy has serious pull and his permits are all sorted at the drop of a hat.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I was told when I dropped in my FAC application that there might be someone wanting to check my security arrangements, but nothing on it so far and methinks the thing is well on its way (I know the Super's office has called Rathdrum to confirm my membership), so looks like that was pretty hollow, but the cert was for a single shot target rifle in .22lr, so even warning me that I might be getting a visit seemed a tad strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Lads,

You've missed my point ?

CPO visits and not for pistols and "full-bore" rifles :eek: For 22's, shotguns and ammo increases.

We are going to be NAILED on the security issue for ALL firearms applications it seems :eek:

This is not on FCP's agenda ? :eek:

To be honest, I wouldn't expect fort Knox security to be demanded, but I'd love to see some level of security being law for firearms, even a reasonably tough one, but to be honest, as far as I'm concerned a firearm is a firearm, and I don't see a reason why deer calibres or pistols should demand so much higher than say rimfire rifles. It'll still kill someone, and it should still be just as difficult to steal; frankly I think it belittles the dangers of smallbore firearms, which is a very bad road to go down. I don't want to see security measures requirements increased, but I'd certainly like to see a compelling argument for requiring higher security standards for fullbores and pistols, and frankly, I'd also find it odd that they're harder to license. I mean, we shouldn't discriminate on the shooter based on the capacity of their arms to be used for evil; if someone is legally entitled, from the point of view of the guards, to hold a cert for a .22lr target rifle, and has proof of reason to own one, why should he find it any harder to get a different firearm with similar proof? They're not scarier, to be honest, so why the furore over them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

To be honest, I wouldn't expect fort Knox security to be demanded, but I'd love to see some level of security being law for firearms, even a reasonably tough one, but to be honest, as far as I'm concerned a firearm is a firearm, and I don't see a reason why deer calibres or pistols should demand so much higher than say rimfire rifles. It'll still kill someone, and it should still be just as difficult to steal; frankly I think it belittles the dangers of smallbore firearms, which is a very bad road to go down. I don't want to see security measures requirements increased, but I'd certainly like to see a compelling argument for requiring higher security standards for fullbores and pistols, and frankly, I'd also find it odd that they're harder to license. I mean, we shouldn't discriminate on the shooter based on the capacity of their arms to be used for evil; if someone is legally entitled, from the point of view of the guards, to hold a cert for a .22lr target rifle, and has proof of reason to own one, why should he find it any harder to get a different firearm with similar proof? They're not scarier, to be honest, so why the furore over them?

+1 steve

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

They're not scarier, to be honest, so why the furore over them?

Because to the uninformed they are scarier.

It's not remotely logical though. Shotguns are fine, .22's are okay, but a pistol or a fullbore rifle? "Now why would you want those? Hmm, to do a job neither a shotgun or a .22 rifle will do? I dunno now, you'll need to convince me there..." Really, a gun is a gun is a gun. If it's deemed that a person is mentally sound and has reasonable justification to own one gun, why is another one a different case, when he's already clearly satisfied the requirements? Perhaps they're scarier because of a stigma generated in no small part by garda treatment of them?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

It's not remotely logical though. Shotguns are fine, .22's are okay, but a pistol or a fullbore rifle? "Now why would you want those? Hmm, to do a job neither a shotgun or a .22 rifle will do? I dunno now, you'll need to convince me there..." Really, a gun is a gun is a gun. If it's deemed that a person is mentally sound and has reasonable justification to own one gun, why is another one a different case, when he's already clearly satisfied the requirements?

I agree with your logic, but you have to look at it from the point of the uninformed. They don't know that for all intents and purposes there's no difference in danger between a .22lr and a .308. There are differences in power alright, but if you want to kill/hurt someone or rob a bank there isn't much in the difference. They look at the power of the various firearms and neglect to notice that once you're over a certain threshold there's very little difference from a public safety point of view.

The level of knowledge about firearms among the general public is astonishingly low. If only I had a euro for every person who joined DURC and asked "are the jackets stiff to make them bullet proof?" and who after being told no said "but sure it's only a .22, they're not that powerful are they?".
    Perhaps they're scarier because of a stigma generated in no small part by garda treatment of them?

Perhaps, but I don't think that the general public's attitude towards guns is shaped by Garda policy. If anything, Garda policy is probably shaped by the fact that the Gardai themselves essentially are members of the general public with uniforms. They simply aren't given enough training to give them the information they need to make logical decisions from a point of knowledge.

Yeah, it's the case that education is definitely necessary for the Gardai at the very least on firearms, and possibly a higher public profile of firearms ownership would be a good idea as well. I don't know though, that has a world of trouble tagged on as well. It's very difficult to know what's best here. Realistically, people need to just cop on, but short of mandatory military service, there isn't a whole lot we can do to ensure people have experience and knowledge of firearms, so it's difficult to educate them.

As regards the Garda comment, I did leave out that part, but when it's those uneducated people making announcements about "high power rifles" "worth €10,000" (about some rusty Remington 700 they found in Limerick) and such, it does a lot of damage. Garda policy is based on the fact that they're essentially civilians, but it's Garda policy that dictates firearms procedures and informs the general public of a lot of fallacies.

Day 53 in the big bothered house.....bullets has got a phone call to say
    his license application is still sitting in the Sargent's office........

I got an update from my FO this morning. The Paperwork is still sitting at the Local station
    and has not even gone to Phoenix Park yet!!! Day 53! He sent my paper work into the Sargent's office on Feb 7th (a month after I handed it in) He said he did not even know that the CPO had been called out (or why) but reckons I will be waiting for another 3-4 weeks.
    My FO does the prisoner escorts so has been up and down the country so only gets to process the paperwork when he's back at the station.

Both my FO and the CPO are actually sound enough blokes to talk too so not having a bash at them.
    they both have expressed frustration with the system too. Its just the system is archaic
    ~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭SMERSH

bullets wrote: »
    Day 53 in the big bothered house.....bullets has got a phone call to say
    his license application is still sitting in the Sargent's office........

I have played this game before. My .22lr application sat in my local sub station for 2 months before it ever made it to the district HQ. Once it got to the district HQ I had it in 2 weeks.

I asked about an ammo increase recently and the response was "Don't even go there!".

Apparently making you sweat is still a big part of the application process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

"uninformed"..., very similar word to "uniformed"..:rolleyes:

Slurring the Gardai around here does no good. Don't forget you would be better served fostering a good relationship with them and communicating rather than looking down your nose at them. They're the ones who legitimize your firearms certs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Now this may not please some people at ALL:p, but I just thought I'd throw it in to show the other side of the coin.

Got my first shotgun cert today after waiting three weeks, time flew by. My .22 rifle cert was even less, at two and a half weeks. Local gardaí nice as anything and very helpful. No bureaucratic entanglements, hardly any red tape. Fast, efficient service by all accounts.

Guess ye'll all be coming to Clare now...:)

On a serious note it really shows how regional and inconsistent the system is, doesn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

Now this may not please some people at ALL:p, but I just thought I'd throw it in to show the other side of the coin.

Got my first shotgun cert today after waiting three weeks, time flew by. My .22 rifle cert was even less, at two and a half weeks. Local gardaí nice as anything and very helpful. No bureaucratic entanglements, hardly any red tape. Fast, efficient service by all accounts.

Guess ye'll all be coming to Clare now...:)

On a serious note it really shows how regional and inconsistent the system is, doesn't it?
    oooooooooooo yes
    i am in mayo steve. garda in the west are sound as a euro. the new pound ah ah :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Slurring the Gardai around here does no good. Don't forget you would be better served fostering a good relationship with them and communicating rather than looking down your nose at them. They're the ones who legitimize your firearms certs.

sorry bout that, i genuinely saw the similarity in the two words..... ahem..

no anyway the guys in cavan here seem sound and friendly enough, they seem to have the same problems as elsewhere..understaffed overstretched etc, i wouldnt like the job of handling some of the eejits they have to put up with at weekends. anyway, the guy came round last week and okayed my cabinet and said hed send of my forms so fingers crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭ranger4

ha ha, when i applied for the 6.5x55 the local guard told me under new laws that i could only get a .243 as they were the most popular caliber,and i was wasting my time to get any different, another time the branch pulled me over coming back from a stalk with two fallow in the back, checked my licences,made me open up the carcasses to show i wasnt hiding anything inside the deer, rang the hq done a check up on me and my licences and just delayed me more, i was around half an hour on the side of the road with these fools, and then they asked me did i know how to use my guns properly and dont be messing with them, then they tore off. i reported this crap the next day in the station. totally unprovoked like, muppets, they'd be the last people id go to if i was in trouble.
    +1, are you still shooting the AR 308 nic, I still shoot my 243 and 308 blaser at midlands.