Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

The number 15 goes right by the school (2nd last stop I think), it leaves from Eden Quay right on the corner of O'Connell St, takes about 40 mins to get out there.

Timetable:
    http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/viewer.asp?placeName=Knocklyon&SelectedRoute=15

Nifty map:
    http://mkmap.com/dublin
    Go there and put in Bus Route 15 and it shows you where it goes. Colmcilles is the white-roofed school just after the roundabout it goes past just near the end of the route. You can see the pitch we play on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I am going in the car from pearse street at 6 15 if anyone wants a lift, two spaces available, pm for my number amnd I'll try to reply tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

DesF wrote: »

It's twelve euro lads, one less visit to the chipper tbh.

Have a plate of rice for dinner tomorrow or something. :rolleyes:

Good to know that my opinion was listened to there anyway. And spending 12 quid in a chipper??? Wtf??

Anyone heading out to this from the northside. I'm not finished college til late and bus wont get me out for KO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Good to know that my opinion was listened to there anyway.

Just because it wasn't agreed with, doesn't mean it wasn't taken on board.

And spending 12 quid in a chipper??? Wtf??
    I'm a fat bastard. Get over it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

LoBo wrote: »
    The number 15 goes right by the school (2nd last stop I think), it leaves from Eden Quay right on the corner of O'Connell St, takes about 40 mins to get out there.

Timetable:
    http://www.dublinbus.ie/your_journey/viewer.asp?placeName=Knocklyon&SelectedRoute=15

Nifty map:
    http://mkmap.com/dublin
    Go there and put in Bus Route 15 and it shows you where it goes. Colmcilles is the white-roofed school just after the roundabout it goes past just near the end of the route. You can see the pitch we play on too.
    Cool, thanks for that. So is this the pitch (google map co-ordinates)? 53.278642, -6.315551

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

What time's KO anybody? I know it's in this thread somewhere :o

Meeting at 7.30

Don't forget the kit.

DesF wrote: »

Meeting at 7.30

Don't forget the kit.
    Wha'? Who you talkin to? :D:D

Er you.

Mod Powah Sav.

Never underestimate it.

Dang! Knew you had some trick up d'aul sleeve.
    Touche.

So is anyone heading out from North side? I dont think ill make it otherwise.

What time are you finished at?

Can you meet Sav somewhere?

He's picking up the gear in my ma's gaf, then heading out.

Yeh I can meet Sav. Where and when?

I'll find out.

What time are you finsihed at, so I can make the arrangements?

Or do you want his number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Fatmag

Any idea how the numbers are for tonight?

Should be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Pitch & ref booked for the 2 hours, I'll try get the ref for €50 total.

The season starts here.....looking forward to getting the ball rolling towards some silverware!

Any chance i can get someones number, for when i no doubt get lost somewhere near the pitch?

Actually finished up early. So can probably just get the bus

Was just on the phone to Simon there and he says his mates wont be turning up as they can't afford to join for the season. Are we sure numbers will be healthy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Fatmag

Carl - Yes
    Martin - Yes
    Ed - away
    Dan - Yes
    Michael - Yes
    Geoff - injured
    Simon - Yea
    Cathal - No
    Shay - Yes
    Colm Larkin - Yes
    Gav - Yes
    Sav - Yes
    Larry - Yes
    Dave - other team :mad:
    Kenny - ?
    Lepo - no
    Jules – Yes
    Art - Yes
    Keith - Yes
    Eddie(Nunu) - Yes
    Robbie (Kiith) - Yes
    Iain (j_o_c) - Yes
    BKDZR - Yes

Theres the list think shay is missing tonight too

Was just on the phone to Simon there and he says his mates wont be turning up as they can't afford to join for the season. Are we sure numbers will be healthy?
    Fair enough.

So we've no centre halves for tonight? I'm not fully fit as well after getting a knock in the coffin dodgers game. Sav for centre half! I'll start the campaign now :D

We have new players coming.

Maybe some of them will be CHs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭murtagh

ill be there

murtagh wrote: »
    ill be there
    Still no centre halfs though :D

Sorry I'm going to have to have you killed.

Savman wrote: »
    Sorry I'm going to have to have you killed.

You racist!!!! :D

Forgot to say I can give lifts from Sandyford at 7pm. Will check here just before heading just in case. Will be collecting the gaffer anyways.

You racist!!!! :D
    :D:D

/fire at will, repeat, fire at will

Right, who was it i got a lift home with again? Bearing in mind that i'm really **** with names? Gaz possibly (or not)? Cause i think i might have left my wallet in the car...or at least i hope i left it there.

Good game though. Theres definatly a big difference between the 5/6 a side. I think i'll actually have to start getting fit now, rather then just planning on getting fit...and try to not pass it back to the keeper when there's attacking players near him :(

Just bad habits and rustiness, we can bate those out of ye :)
    You played well in fairness, they were a decent side.

I think you got a lift with me, Robbie is it? I'll check for you now

Ya, thats me. I'm think i might have dropped it in the front, but its possible that i dropped in on the street, which means its gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

the anticipation is killing me....do you have it keith??!

you are in luck, pm me your mobile and we can organize getting it back to ya

wow...and they say northsiders are scum....keith i was fully expecting you to pocket the cash and toss the wallet.
    No offence mate :cool:

I only said he could have the wallet, the money is long gone!

the anticipation is killing me....do you have it keith??!
    Back in your box you. Where were you anyways?

Savman wrote: »
    Back in your box you. Where were you anyways?

Doin a bit of study for an interview I have Friday :(

What was the score??

Lost 6-2. Coulda been 6-2, cant remember exactly. They were a very good side but if truth be told we weren't the may west ourselves. Well beaten in the end.

A 6-2 loss but let's not get hung up on the trivialities of small things like the result :cool:

What we were looking for tonight was to get back some match fitness, have another look at a new system, and have a look at some new players.

With a good 90 minute game and 45 minutes looking at 3-5-2 (think Des said he'd now put it back on the shelf and revert to 442) and some good performances from new players, we got a lot out of it.

Have to say I thought Iain had an excellent game and with him and Keith added to the squad that's a real tangible improvement to our defence options, and Iain also showed he can do a job in midfield. Hopefully the new lads got a nice shock at the pace and lack of time on the ball. If that puts you off and you think it's not for you, at least you found out in time before the season starts. If it makes you want to get fitter and play more games to really give it your best, that's exactly what we're looking for and you'll be up to speed in no time.

With the running Larry gets through in each game we should stick a pedomoter on him and run a book on what it comes out at....I'll go for around the 9km mark!

We were well, well off the pace in fairness, the ball just wasn't sticking whenever we finally did get it up front (which wasn't often enough), and we gave away some basic goals, but with all the disruption caused by lack of familiarity with new players and new system and continuous subs, a certain amount of it was inevitable, and that's what you expect and we should be happy with the trade off based on what we get out of it. We'll be a lot sharper for the first game of the season down to this and the friendly on Saturday.

Have to say they were an excellent them with very technically good and fit players throughout and they were good for the win, and fair play to Dave for again showing his nack for showing up in the right place is no fluke, not once but twice.....so he owes us 2 goals next week to break even for us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭WeAreShels

7-2....

Sorry lads :o:D

Six...seven?

I only counted 5 tbh :confused:

Anyway, doesn't matter.

NEW LADS????

Come on, give us yer thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Idu

I thought the team we were playing we're quite a handy little outfit but at the same time we did gift them 2/3 goals. The biggest problem I thought we had was that the gap between our defence/midfield and our strikers was too big so whenever we did get the ball forward the support was too slow getting up. The no offside rule wasn't helping as even though we tried to push out from the back their striker just sat on the edge of our box forcing us to drop deeper than we would have liked.

We looked rusty on the ball at times and we seemed to be afraid to put our foot on the ball and try and pass(except in our own box!!). Not a bad performance though seeing as it was a first game for a lot of us and a first real game of the season.

On the surface we'll be playing on in Cloumbas you can push out and not worry about the ball over the top. It never works due to the ball not sticking. Plus pushing out means that the striker feels he has to come deep to recieve the ball. Ok, last night they had one pacey goal poacher but did they try the ball over the top to catch us out? Not that I can recall. So pushing out is key

WeAreShels wrote: »
    7-2....

Sorry lads :o:D
    Thanks.......JUDAS :D

I couldn't help but notice their number 7 was given free reign in midfield to pull the strings, there was a severe lack of marking going on that we were guilty of all game. They also got it far too easy skipping past our players with nutmegs and flicks etc leaving our man standing there looking stoopid. There's also this tendancy to rush into a challenge leaving yourself exposed if/when your man beats you then it puts you out of the game completely. The hardest part to accept is not the scoreline, but the fact we were complicit to it in a big way.

But taking the game for what it is, there's plenty of positives to be taken, now everyone knows what standard can be expected in the league and what kinda level will be required from them on a weekly basis. We can't afford to be carrying anybody who shies away from the physical hard work element of it, so oil those joints and dust off your magic boots, ,the season is upon us ;)

Speaking of Judases...what time is the game against your team at on Saturday Sav :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

janets_on_clubs which player are you? :)

Have to say I had a woeful game; have to improve fitness and regain the ability to pass the ball big time, I guess that's what a few months out does to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

I really enjoyed it but i have an awful lot to learn.

My biggest problem was positional and marking. I was never really sure how far i was supposed to push up/drop back/ mark. Guess that will come with more practice.
    Fitness wise and the speed of the game are both higher than im used to but again this just takes some getting used to, practice and some hard work. Guess it's time to start running that pier again.

As has been said, the 6/7 aside game that im used to is completly different to the 11 aside but i can only see it making me a better player.

Des: I've managed to re-arrange what i had on saturday so i'll be there. Is there another of those fantastic map/bus combo's floating around please?