Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prince Harry

• 29-02-2008 9:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭

So what think the forum.......Is he a danger to the rest of his unit, or should he stay and serve out the rest of his deployment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭twinytwo

gatecrash wrote: »
    So what think the forum.......Is he a danger to the rest of his unit, or should he stay and serve out the rest of his deployment?

He is defo a danger to his unit... i mean why not put a big sign on him with flashing lights..Im sure Englands enemies whould like nothing better than to kill a member of the royal family..He is putting the rest of the men in the unit under extra risk as ever sniper, bomber etc etc would be going for him... if he ever got deployed he would probally have a sas/royal marines protecting his ass...I mean he is just asking for trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Pirbright

Everyone's in danger out there so can't see how he'll make much of a difference! Trying to locate and confirm his prescence would be like looking for a needle in a haystack. Mind you just look for the ginger haired officer who towers above the ghurkas and has a khuri knife sticking out of his osprey body armour. He was looking a bit Ally! He may need elocution lessons when back mind you as he's slipped into squaddie talk - "monging it!"

Mind you, I'd say his tour is now over after the coverage started spreading......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

It's a shame for him it got leaked, but out of the 7000 British service people out ther, I expect he is pretty hard to find. I presume he covers the barnet before going into a combat zone!

Good luck to the guy, he obviously wants to do this and by all accounts he is a good officer.

With regards to covering his ass, Prince Andrew used to go pubbing and clubbing around Portsmouth with the lads, he didn't need the SAS or royal protection squad looking after him, he had a dozen hairy arsed matelots out on the lash that would remove the head of anyone who started on him. I presume the Army are the same as the navy, royal or not, he is one of their own and will get looked after by his mates.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

It's a shame for him it got leaked, but out of the 7000 British service people out ther, I expect he is pretty hard to find. I presume he covers the barnet before going into a combat zone!

Good luck to the guy, he obviously wants to do this and by all accounts he is a good officer.

With regards to covering his ass, Prince Andrew used to go pubbing and clubbing around Portsmouth with the lads, he didn't need the SAS or royal protection squad looking after him, he had a dozen hairy arsed matelots out on the lash that would remove the head of anyone who started on him. I presume the Army are the same as the navy, royal or not, he is one of their own and will get looked after by his mates.

Yep i think they will all look out for him but that could be the problem if they all try to protect him and not do the mission.

I think his tour is over. Stupid american media releasing the story. Fair play to him for getting over there. I'd say his stock in the eyes of the british public has gone up a lot. I also say he'd prefer to stay there than come home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Pirbright wrote: »
    Everyone's in danger out there so can't see how he'll make much of a difference! Trying to locate and confirm his prescence would be like looking for a needle in a haystack. Mind you just look for the ginger haired officer who towers above the ghurkas and has a khuri knife sticking out of his osprey body armour. He was looking a bit Ally! He may need elocution lessons when back mind you as he's slipped into squaddie talk - "monging it!"

Mind you, I'd say his tour is now over after the coverage started spreading......

Is he actually an officer? I mean i thought when harry said he wanted to join the army that maybe wanted to do it the proper way andearn his ranks. Prince or not he shouldn't be getting special privillages like that.

Anyway I gotta hand it to Harry, he really wants to make a name for himself. Bur you know Haryy is going to be the armies top priority and will proberly be babysitted a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

I think, that Army doesn't work like that. If you are smart lad with university/college degree and joining the Army you'll be send to officer school.
    Then they'll see whether you good in the field and command or just paperwork in the HQ.
    I think :confused:

Anyway, fair play to him and good luck over in 'stan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Is he actually an officer? I mean i thought when harry said he wanted to join the army that maybe wanted to do it the proper way andearn his ranks. Prince or not he shouldn't be getting special privillages like that.

Anyway I gotta hand it to Harry, he really wants to make a name for himself. Bur you know Haryy is going to be the armies top priority and will proberly be babysitted a lot

He went to Sandhurst, which is the Officer training school......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

He has earned his rank. He attended the Military Academy at Sandhurst, like most officers, and on finishing there he was commissioned in the Cavalry as a junior officer. He's hasn't gotten any promotion over & above what he's entitled to.

Piss off troll! He earned his rank as he went to Officer school at Sandhurst and has been fighting the Taleban for the last 2.5 months. Just because he didnt go in enlisted doesnt mean he didnt earn his blips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭ircoha

Me thinks the OZ press leaked this as they despise the Queen and all she/they stand for and saw it as a chance to have him taken out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mrmotivator007

fair play to him,he just wants to be treated as a regular,he aint so special than evryone else

pity they cut his tour down,as its something hes oviosly very happy to do!cant see how it would be anyomore dangerous than usual knowing hes thier,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Danger to his unit?..

I'd say his unit is safer BECAUSE he's there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

twinytwo wrote: »
    He is defo a danger to his unit... i mean why not put a big sign on him with flashing lights..Im sure Englands enemies whould like nothing better than to kill a member of the royal family..He is putting the rest of the men in the unit under extra risk as ever sniper, bomber etc etc would be going for him... if he ever got deployed he would probally have a sas/royal marines protecting his ass...I mean he is just asking for trouble.

He has been deployed to the Stan. he has been there 10 weeks.

I would now see him as a risk to his Unit. There could be a massive offensive launched in Helmand Province to get him dead. because he is third in line for Monarchy.

Mairt wrote:
    Danger to his unit?..

I'd say his unit is safer BECAUSE he's there

Huh... Please elaborate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Huh... Please elaborate?

I think his unit would be sheltered somewhat while he's with them!.

Remember the Falklands and how Prince Andrew's ship was shielded from the Argies, it was later said that the HMS Sheffield was sailed into position to protect Andrew's ship from the exocet fired by the Mirage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pathfinder

Hes not with his unit (the Blues and Royals), has has qualified as and been given a special posting as a JTAC, tactical air traffic controller. The link between ground forces and air support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Mairt wrote: »
    I think his unit would be sheltered somewhat while he's with them!.

Remember the Falklands and how Prince Andrew's ship was shielded from the Argies, it was later said that the HMS Sheffield was sailed into position to protect Andrew's ship from the exocet fired by the Mirage.

who moved the Sheffield, the same people that murdered Diana or the same people that were hiding behind the grassy knoll:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pathfinder

If I recall Prince Andrew was on the carrier HMS Invincible, Sheffield's role to as a destroyer was as an escort and to draw fire, not because Andrew was on board but because if Invincible had been lost it would have been a catastrophe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

ircoha wrote: »
    Me thinks the OZ press leaked this as they despise the Queen and all she/they stand for and saw it as a chance to have him taken out.

Actually it was an American News Agency that broke the silence and Sky news have said he is being protected by the Gurkhas and he is an Officer and an FAC in Afghanistan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Piss off troll! He earned his rank as he went to Officer school at Sandhurst and has been fighting the Taleban for the last 2.5 months. Just because he didnt go in enlisted doesnt mean he didnt earn his blips.

Calm down, i was only asking about how he was made an officer so early. I'm not aware of The British Armies Ranking system so p**s off

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Steyr wrote: »
    Actually it was an American News Agency that broke the silence and Sky news have said he is being protected by the Gurkhas and he is an Officer and an FAC in Afghanistan.

No, it was an Aussie site that revealed it first, about a month ago. A while later, Das Bild made mention of it. Just nobody really read either of those two until some Drudge reader noted it and let Drudge know. Being an organisation with slightly larger English-speaking readership, that was what really broke the gig.

I think they should fly him back to the UK, film him getting off the airplane, then sneak him right back out again.
    If I recall Prince Andrew was on the carrier HMS Invincible, Sheffield's role to as a destroyer was as an escort and to draw fire, not because Andrew was on board but because if Invincible had been lost it would have been a catastrophe.

Pretty much on the money. The Brits had to protect the carriers at all costs.

Sheffield did not 'take one for the carrier', it was on picket duty and got attacked in the manner pickets can expect to be attacked.

NTM

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

how he was made an officer so early.

"So early"?

How long do you expect it to take? Mustangs in Americanspeak (promoted from the ranks) are more the rare exception than the rule.

NTM