Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Colm and Jim Jim Mega Merge (previously Colm and Jim Jim one year one...)

• 02-03-2008 10:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭

Well its this week last year that Colm and Jim Jim were finally given the chance to bring their wacky format to national radio. Any thoughts on how the show is developing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

I have never heard it, but anyone I know who has hates it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jb91

It's been on one year too many.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Tomchats

bbability wrote: »
    Well its this week last year that Colm and Jim Jim were finally given the chance to bring their wacky format to national radio. Any thoughts on how the show is developing?

still not great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

It is, and always has been, awful, brain dead, lowest common denominator radio. And waaaaayyyyy too chirpy for that hour of the morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Terrible, Can't believe the poor quality morning radio in general here. I've been spoiled with Radio1 for a while now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

so far so good... lads are doing a fine job considering they had to water down the show, have no control on playlist. Once its negative here ots positive in the real world :D Ray Foley haters proved that!

keep them coming.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

They made me switch off 2FM in the morning. All of my family have converted to Morning Ireland. Even my 15 year old brother hates it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

zAbbo wrote: »
    Can't believe the poor quality morning radio in general here. I've been spoiled with Radio1 for a while now.

Never liked them on FM104, so therefore, I don't like them on 2FM. I think they have regressed, though.

In saying that, zAbbo is quite correct. For a lot of the nation, Ian Dempsey is the least/worst option, inane to the point of being banal. Being the most popular doesn't always equate to being the best to everyone.

My mix of Today on Radio 4 and Morning Ireland on Radio 1 will still suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭dublinmadyoke

Used to listen to them on FM104 and enjoyed it... I switched over to 2fm cos of them but they are shocking bad... like stupid radio!!! So now I listen to Ian on Today FM and he's great... Colim and Jim Jim :( not good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

They're piss poor. I opted not to listen to morning radio anymore a year or two ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Not listened to 2FM in a long long time. I cannot think of anyone who will openly admit to listening to it in the mornings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

used to thouroghly enjoy listening to them on FM104 every morning. when they moved I followed them to 2fm and they are absolutely terrible now and I have gone back to listening to the FM104 breakfast show which has a much more looser feel to the show (the way colm and jim , jim used to be)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

You really chose the wrong site to look for positive opinions on rte presenters.;)

I like, 'em, btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Culture2007

I did find it strange to listen to at first, as I felt it was lacking a lot of the surroundings we were used to, but I think they are settling in well. As much as people expected the exact same show to instantly appear on 2FM, it was never going to happen. Little things like news bulletins, jingles, features and the music all are important parts of the show which regular listeners get used to. 2FM has a very different sound to FM104 and I suspect for many listeners they didn't like the feel of the station and that was it.

I think over the next year or two we should see the show find it's feet. A new show always takes time to develop and hopefully this will be similar. I could be wrong, but I think the listener figures have increased over the last two JNLR books which I suppose is the important thing.

It's interesting to see bbability say they had to water down their show. Do you know what parts they had to water down and was this pressure from 2FM bosses or their decision? I would have thought much of RTEs decision to poach them was down to their risky style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭robo

It was odd initially hearing them talk to people from all over the country and from listening to them on FM104 - you would expect a joke about the person or them taking the pi$$ out of culchies, but they couldn't really, so that was odd.

I turned to TodayFM when they left FM104, then when they went on 2FM, I listened for a while there and I dunno what it was, I just didn't like them, I much prefer TodayFM (they are not perfect either), but they keep me amused more than Colin & Jim Jim!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

They are not at all funny. I've always hated that show. They're way out of touch with people and what is actually funny nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

Can't stand them and can't believe there are people out there who find them funny, but there are.

British radio is so far ahead of ours, it's true.

I could be wrong, but I think the listener figures have increased over the last two JNLR books which I suppose is the important thing.

you are wrong :) their figures we down WAAAAY down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I was a religious listener back in FM104 days, then a move to the country and 4 years in college forced me to part company with the lads (and the lass).

Now working again I flip between 2fm and Iano on 2dayfm in the morning. The show has become lacklusture for sure. I think part of it stems from the fact that they have to censor their material alot more. (Noticed after some calls from the Skanger fella, who is not funny in the slightest they play the "we're sorry for any offence casued" titbit)

Im gonna stick to 2dayfm from now on I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,949 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I used to listen regularly when they were on FM104, and gave them a chance after the move but as others have said, the watered down format and crap playlist meant that I gave up months ago and now listen to the cd changer.

Pity, because when they were on FM104 it was the best morning show out there.

miju wrote: »
    you are wrong :) their figures we down WAAAAY down

Ah you must be reading that rag of an evening paper again;)

Only one book so far since they took over offically since Marty Farty left. Now there was a man who lost listeners...

Kaiser 2000 I aggree with what your saying. I just don't understand why they didn't bring the backroom staff with them from Fm104. It would have made more sense to bring producers and researchers with them rather than use the bosses daughter (who for me is no addition to the on air team) and other old skool 2fm hacks to produce the show. Colm and Jim should have insisted on the like of Andy Matthews and co be apart of the new show. Joan Lee would be a perfect addition to the new show..

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭Tricked

Hi I'm Tricked and I'm a Colm and Jim Jim fan :-S

Ah I reckon the lads are harmless. Like previous posters I prefer the glory days of FM104 but I don't think they've regressed THAT much. As regards their competition I don't think Iano is up to much, Spin's Joe and Keith are bearable for about ten minutes until they throw on any music. Fm104 would probably be their best contender imo but I'm not a devoting listener to Colm and Jim Jim so maybe the key is to take them in small doses!

Ah you must be reading that rag of an evening paper again;)

wasn't the herald it was the indo ........ oh wait :p:p:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Featherl

I listen to them every morning and enjoy them. I love the prank calls with the old granny, think its PJ Gallager!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

I think there is a gap in the market at the moment for a decent Morning time brekfast show.

2fm is just awful, Today FM is just alright but can become tedious & Newstalk is DIRE (used to be my favourite with Dunphy and then Gilroy on his own).

The Dublin radio stations in general have a pretty weak selection. although at least Phantom offer something in terms of decent music and don't make you suffer fools force laughing at thier own wit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

so far so good... lads are doing a fine job considering they had to water down the show, have no control on playlist. Once its negative here ots positive in the real world :D Ray Foley haters proved that!

keep them coming.....

I'll have to disagree with that point...coming from someone who liked the 2 guys on 104, the 2FM show is utter sh*te, and has gone downhill rather than improved the last few months.
    I think the 2FM brekkie show is a kiss of death or something...the only ones who seemed to ahve done well out of it are Demo and Tubridy.
    Perhaps if RTÉ station managers stayed the hell out of the way of the jocks instead of putting their daughter in the same studio to micro-manage them, they'd be all the better for it.
    ...and WTF? What decent DJ would have a producer or anyone else telling them what to play? I can understand having a list of records that should be played throughout the course of the show, but scripting the output? It's as well that 2FM turns a profit and can't be targetted for watse of license payer's money because that's what it amounts to.

As for your point on Foley, people on here have brains an d a bit of cop on, most of them anyways and can see him for what he is....the dickheads out there on planet Oireland, lap up his kind of crap and it culminated in a meteor because of the popoularity, the text voting and because Darcy is no longer the goldenboy....and honestly, what competetion does Foley have domestically?

Featherl wrote: »
    I listen to them every morning and enjoy them. I love the prank calls with the old granny, think its PJ Gallager!
    Oh I can't stand PJ Gallagher and his "funny" prank calls - it's actually one of the reasons I switched off. Here's a tip PJ: Putting on a stuttering whiny accent and mumbling to some random person in the UK is NOT funny. Not the first time, not the 20th time you do it! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

doubledown wrote: »
    It is, and always has been, awful, brain dead, lowest common denominator radio. And waaaaayyyyy too chirpy for that hour of the morning!
    I agree....I especially hate the bit where people text in telling about their childs first time doing something...All you can hear for 2mins is "Ahhhh" and "YAAAY" - So annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭EmoMatt15

When They were on 104 I loved them.Listened to the best of show at the week-end aswell.The reason theyre doing so badly is because they lost loads of theyre great material during the cross over.This was probably as there were some jokes tht ppl outside of Dublin wouldnt have gotten and also some of the things were registered to 104

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭dirtybarry

absolute pair of ****...toilet humour at its very worst..typical of the **** on 2fm these days..living the life loving the music...wonder what highly paid no brains marketing executive came up with that tripe.some of the idiots in 2fm honestly..they know the price of everything and the value of nothing.colm and jim jim are muck compared to ray and jp..at least the today fm lads realise its all just a bit of a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

They are a pair of retarded muppets without the hand up their arses. Maybe if somebody rammed their arm shoulder deep up their ass they might be able to manipulate an original comment, gag or idea from this pair of stale, washed up has beens. FFS they make Ian Dempsey look good and he is the listening equivalent of a lobotomised half wit watching paint dry. If you replaced them with two chimps and a drum kit it would be an improvement and easier to listen to. Mind you they are not that dissimilar to a pair of chimps either.....

And the prank call sheeeeiite! FFS that "gag" was not funny 15-20 odd years ago when "Dusty Rhodes", "Rick O'Shea" or "Pull my knob" were doing it on Atlantic 252 and it certainly is not funny now. Its about as new and original as Gerry Fathead Ryan is an anorexic.

Listen to 2fm these days is as appealing as licking Ruth Scotts meaty, hairy, sweaty arm pits..... I envy the deaf. At least they don't know what their missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Oh I can't stand PJ Gallagher and his "funny" prank calls - it's actually one of the reasons I switched off. Here's a tip PJ: Putting on a stuttering whiny accent and mumbling to some random person in the UK is NOT funny. Not the first time, not the 20th time you do it! :mad:

Indeed. I'll have to admit to finding Duggy Highlife funny, mind...

Agree there, but like most of what they took with them, it was funnier when he was with them on FM104 as "Gavin" - I mean Douggy Highlife??? What "genius" came up with that one? :rolleyes:

If I were the 2 boys I'd be looking to move back myself - although presumably the money is better in Donnybrook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

dirtybarry wrote: »
    absolute pair of ****...toilet humour at its very worst..typical of the **** on 2fm these days..living the life loving the music...wonder what highly paid no brains marketing executive came up with that tripe.some of the idiots in 2fm honestly..they know the price of everything and the value of nothing.colm and jim jim are muck compared to ray and jp..at least the today fm lads realise its all just a bit of a laugh

+ 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Radio Mad.

They are a pair of retarded muppets without the hand up their arses. Maybe if somebody rammed their arm shoulder deep up their ass they might be able to manipulate an original comment, gag or idea from this pair of stale, washed up has beens. FFS they make Ian Dempsey look good and he is the listening equivalent of a lobotomised half wit watching paint dry. If you replaced them with two chimps and a drum kit it would be an improvement and easier to listen to. Mind you they are not that dissimilar to a pair of chimps either.....

And the prank call sheeeeiite! FFS that "gag" was not funny 15-20 odd years ago when "Dusty Rhodes", "Rick O'Shea" or "Pull my knob" were doing it on Atlantic 252 and it certainly is not funny now. Its about as new and original as Gerry Fathead Ryan is an anorexic.

Listen to 2fm these days is as appealing as licking Ruth Scotts meaty, hairy, sweaty arm pits..... I envy the deaf. At least they don't know what their missing.

LOL:):D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

:D:D:D Get off the fence buddy...

TBH Gift Grub is the only funny sketches on Irish radio consistantly, Demphsy can be very boring though. Sometimes the pranks on 104, 98fm and 2fm can be mildly amusing. I did think the pair were alright when they were on 104-music was decent and the show had a far more relaxed feel to it. It just seems that since they moved to 2fm they're in a real hurry to get through the same content as they had on 104 with 1 less hour. Sketches are poor just like every other station chasing cheap laughs. The show has 2fm grubby miths all over it this days, I hope the 2 can get a bit more control of their show to make it the sucess it was on 104.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

themont85 wrote: »
    I hope the 2 can get a bit more control of their show to make it the sucess it was on 104.
    I doubt they will though unfortunately :(. The stuff they were let away with on FM104, 2FM won't let them away with half of it and its been pretty apparent since day one of them being on 2FM that the show's heavily censored. Which is a pity, up until the time they left 104 the show was excellent. Can't stand their show on 2FM now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 RADIODUDE

after their contract with 2fm runs out i can see them coming back to dublin radio,i doudt 104 would take them back tho,anyone agree???

given the way FM104 execs literally apparently had them escorted from the building when they informed them of their plans I very much doubt they'll be back in those studios anytime soon

yea i heard that that happend,what was the point of escorting them out of the building tho?its not like they were a danger....?????

think it was more to make a point more than anything

ye i suppose thats true but i think the old starwberry alarm clock format suited them alot better then th 2fm one that they have been doing for the last year

Apparently 2FM did the same with Ian Dempsey when he announced his move to Today FM, they also refused to return some of his albums.

Anyway, back on topic, I do listen to the show and only rarely heard it on 104 so couldn't comment on how it used to be. I find the prank calls irritating but I can tolerate most of the remainder. At that time of the morning I'm too tired and lazy to be trying the others but I've already tried 98FM and Today FM - both drove me spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

How can RTE get away with having that bint 'Lindy' on air?
    There's always been rumours of nepotism in Montrose but this
    is surely an unacceptable level especially in modern Ireland.

Surely if she wants a to work with Daddy then can get her stacking
    the dishwashers in the RTE canteen because she sure as hell shouldn't
    be on air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

miju wrote: »
    think it was more to make a point more than anything

I dunno what kind of point they were trying to make and if there was one it was very childish. Obviousely they weren't going to go around shouting to the rooftops on air thanking them for their work ect. I mean like them or not, they got the station good ratings and deserved more than that. It was a career move for them and if your the employer the best thing to do is thank them and leave it. Besides it gained the pair and new show a lot more publicity than it wouldn't have otherwise gotten, complete opposite to what 104 were trying to do.

How can RTE get away with having that bint 'Lindy' on air?
    There's always been rumours of nepotism in Montrose but this
    is surely an unacceptable level especially in modern Ireland.

Surely if she wants a to work with Daddy then can get her stacking
    the dishwashers in the RTE canteen because she sure as hell shouldn't
    be on air.

Well she wouldn't be the first blood relative to squeeze a cushy number out in montrose or in fact the radio industry itself. We could start a whole new thread on that one.
    Let's be fair to her, she hardly put herself in that position but I find when I hear her voice I have to switch over to Moyles. What about Joan Lee??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Don't care for these guys at all - they are worse then Dempsey and that says something (Today FM thinks walltowall competitions and the odd funny sketch a month makes good radio). I am stuck with the current affairs now on 1 - defo scope for new entrants to the morning market.

Anyone get to here Bono on Colm and Jim Jim this morning... It was fab!!

Boards may hate them but Bono Luvs them;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Phantom all the way in the morning and evening.... The only decent radio station about these days along with Newstalk....