Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hill of Howth

Options
  • 03-03-2008 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭

Part two in an occasional series.

I'm a bit of a noob, but would the hill up to Howth Summit be considered short, but steep? Because that's what it feels like to me.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

From what direction? Going up through Howth village sure as sh*t feels steep to me, relatively short though it is.

In fact, I sometimes wonder how it would compare to any of the hills on the Wicklow 200...
    Part two in an occasional series.

I'm a bit of a noob, but would the hill up to Howth Summit be considered short, but steep? Because that's what it feels like to me.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Às Ghost said, the village side is a bit steep, particularly near the start. Very short though.

I don't think either side compares with the W200 climbs. Neither is near long enough and the gradients on the Sutton side are just too gentle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭zorkmundsson

el tonto wrote: »
    Às Ghost said, the village side is a bit steep, particularly near the start. Very short though.

I don't think either side compares with the W200 climbs. Neither is near long enough and the gradients on the Sutton side are just too gentle.
    yeah i'm going up the village side, up abbey street, past the church, ba mizu etc.

that's what i thought. short, but steep.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

yeah i'm going up the village side, up abbey street, past the church, ba mizu etc.