Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lamborghini Murciélago replica

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Why do people do that to their cars??

I can never understand why someone would spend an extra 7k sterling trying to make their car into something it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Each to their own I say. Most real car nuts will probably realise that it's a kit car but you'll fool a lot of people.

The one thing I find really funny is their slogan "There is no substitute"! Eh... it's a website selling kit cars. :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

What a total waste of time and effort.

There was a Ferrari replica knocking around Limerick for a while. Looked fine from a distance and a lot of effort had gone into teh detailing but you could spot that it was a fake if you gave it more than a passing glance. And how a Toyota 4 pot will sound like a Ferrari or a Lambo is beyond me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

people accuse the owners of real performance cars of having small dicks, but at least if your a car nut they (generally) perform and handle well - you'll just have to take the flak.

These yokes are truely for people who need a penis extension not a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

yea you'd really get away with driving a 1996 Murcielago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

The only thing that made those 355 conversion bad looking (besides the interior:rolleyes:) were the wheels. They always don't seem in line with the arches.
    Ex.
    http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Toyota/MR2/Ferrari-F355/855635/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

23k, hehee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

personally find it a waste of time and money myself, why waste your money just for show and something that will be easily spotted as a fake at that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

What a load of pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Sad sad wannabes. Who are they tring to impress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

jimbo78 wrote: »
    Who are they tring to impress?

99% of females? [sexism]Seriously I don't think any women would know it's a fake[/sexism]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

99% of females also don't give a toss about cars. The must be tring to impress lady-boys...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

was with a girl at the bus stop bout a month a go and an old kit car passed by trying to be a ferrari dyno? I think............anyway she was loving it which I thought was weird(didnt seem to be that kind) anyway on closer inspection I realised what it was, had a little chuckle to myself:rolleyes:

end of story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 neboboy

woop wrote: »
    was with a girl at the bus stop bout a month a go and an old kit car passed by trying to be a ferrari dyno? I think............anyway she was loving it which I thought was weird(didnt seem to be that kind) anyway on closer inspection I realised what it was, had a little chuckle to myself:rolleyes:

end of story

Why are some of you putting this down , I had always dreamed of owning a ferrari 355 berlinetta and I knew I never would 60 grand is the cheapest one , and then I found out about the replica kits, I bought and mr2 with a blown 3SGTE engine for 2 grand and then got the engine fixed which was only 800 euro as it was just a blown gearbox and a head gasket , then I spent the 4 grand on the kit including fitting and 2 grand to spray it and the wheels where 350 euro from ebay I got the seats from ebay for 150 euro white leather and the door cards for 60 euro out of the buy and sell, so just under 8 grand and I had built my dream car, I then sold it to a film company and it was on a show called rock rivals, I sold the car for 15k , and I would gladly do it all over again , the feeling you get of success when you drive a ferrari a red ferrari with the tbar roof is amazing , and as far as it sounding like a ferrari there is a company in Derry who specialise in ferrari sound exhausts they have a mini one that sounds like a ferrari 360 , its all about the time and effort you put in to get an amazing machine that only millionaires can own , and yet with these kits an ordinary joe soap can spend a few hours each night over 2 maybe 3 years and build himself his dream car , I myself have to say a big thank you to these companys who have made so many peoples dreams come true ,

And none of you can honestly say that a lambo would not make you look twice , a blind man would turn around if one drove past , they are so beautiful , and are such a rareity in Ireland it makes some peoples days just to see them ,

So all you haters please have a proper think about this before you go running your mouths off , its not building a car its bulding your dreams,

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

neboboy wrote: »
    . . . the feeling you get of success when you drive a ferrari a red ferrari with the tbar roof is amazing

How about the feeling of realizing you're not driving a ferrari? does that compare?
    . . . So all you haters please have a proper think about this before you go running your mouths off

Again, nobody is "hating" on the car, hating implies jealousy. . I think the general concensus is "why bother"? Yes it looks like a lambo at first glance. . but when you put your foot down, its really going to be embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

Ac Cobra kit cars i understand
    Robbin hood/ lotus 7 kit cars i understand
    Gt40 kit cars i also understand.

Most of the above end up with reasonable capacity engines and are pretty much light aluminium tubs ideal for some track time.

Putting a bodykit on an MR2 i just dont get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,788 ✭✭✭Neilw

Your dream car was an MR2 with a body kit, nice ;)

You could have bought something with street cred for the money you spent on the MR2.

I think it's a bit sad really as most enthusiasts would know it's a fake in about 2 seconds and then chuckle to themselves :rolleyes:

mcauley wrote: »
    How about the feeling of realizing you're not driving a ferrari? does that compare?

No u dope the feeling of driving something you have created from scratch is much better , you have built something people only see in magazines , and when you tell them its not a Ferrari they get even more interested in it , nothing can compare to a ferrari but to get to within a grasp of one is something most car enthusiasts would jump at ,why sit around all the time only dreaing of what you will never have and go build it , sure it may not be a real one but if you have built it yourself you can be prund of the fact that its yours and its something you have created not something your rich daddy bought you or something you bought just to show you have money , I have met a lot of replica owners thourgh meet and greets and they all say the same thing when people ask them about their cars , " its an MR2 " the story behind the creation is far more intresting than the story " oh im rich Ii just bought it cos its a ferrari " creation is greater than acceptance ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

......I had always dreamed of owning a ferrari 355 berlinetta ..... the feeling you get of success when you drive a ferrari a red ferrari with the tbar roof is amazing , and as far as it sounding like a ferrari there is a company in Derry who specialise in ferrari sound exhausts......

But......eh.....it's a Toyota, not a Ferrari!:rolleyes:

The feeling of success has nought to do with driving a Ferrari, but I could understand that there might be a sense of accomplishment from building a car.
    ...... and as far as it sounding like a ferrari there is a company in Derry who specialise in ferrari sound exhausts......
    Again it is a Toyota sounding like a Ferrari.

No u dope the feeling of driving something you have created from scratch is much better , you have built something people only see in magazines , and when you tell them its not a Ferrari they get even more interested in it , nothing can compare to a ferrari but to get to within a grasp of one is something most car enthusiasts would jump at ,why sit around all the time only dreaing of what you will never have and go build it , sure it may not be a real one but if you have built it yourself you can be prund of the fact that its yours and its something you have created not something your rich daddy bought you or something you bought just to show you have money , I have met a lot of replica owners thourgh meet and greets and they all say the same thing when people ask them about their cars , " its an MR2 " the story behind the creation is far more intresting than the story " oh im rich Ii just bought it cos its a ferrari " creation is greater than acceptance ,

But you didn't build it :rolleyes: you bought a broken MR2, paid to have it fixed, paid for the kit and then paid someone else to fit and spray it. IMO that's not building a car yourself.

I would class building a car as buying something like a westfield kit plus a doner car and actually putting it together yourself. Far more rewarding IMO.

As I said my dream car was a ferrari 355 berlinetta but they are 60 grand or more so I built my own one as close to it as I could , also the ferrari f3555 only had a 3.5 litre engine with a top end output of 380 bhp , I know of MR2s now that have over 400 horse power aslo thsome of the mr2s come in a 3.0 engine version , also the mr2 engine I had was unichpped and superchipped and had 312 hp so it wasnt far off , there are major and minor differences between them , the MR2 is a better replica for the everyday man as its cheap to run labour costs are cheap and parts are available everywhere, and its very very powerful , the power to weigth ratio is very close , I think there are a few videos on youtube with an mr2 against a ferrari f355 , I honestly cant understand your attitude towards them , and any car enthusiasts that I have met have been impressed with the work that has gone into them ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,464 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

This I can understand.
    Looks good as well from the video..not sure in real life.
    It's the gimps in the Opel Corsas ..fcukin purple ones at that, that I laugh at ..
    A lot of it is down to snobbiness...why can't he buy a real car with street cred..like a BMW :pac: lol..

Lots of dickheads in BMWs and I certainly don't want one or look at one and go "i want that".

Only the truly extreme sports cars ..DB9/Enzo/430/Lambo would I say "I FCUKIN WANT THAT"..

Neilw wrote: »
    But you didn't build it :rolleyes: you bought a broken MR2, paid to have it fixed, paid for the kit and then paid someone else to fit and spray it. IMO that's not building a car yourself.

I would class building a car as buying something like a westfield kit plus a doner car and actually putting it together yourself. Far more rewarding IMO.

Your contradicting yourself there , we had to make sure all the panels lined up correctly make sure there where no bumps or scrapes on the panels , fit the lights front and back , line up all th door panels as well as strip the car and put it back together , get the correct wheel spacers , make sure ground clearence was spot on , make sure the archs where all alligned, what your talking about there is a mecano set , take it out of the box and bolt it all together , by the way I am an apprentice mechanic I fitted the head gasket myself and my dad helped me with the Gear box , obviously I cant spray a car myself not many people can , I also put on the new brake calipers and disks front and back , nothing on the mr2 ferrari is out of the box and bolt on , they are all different , and the MR2 is a doner car , your basically talking about the same thing your not making any sense you actually sound stupid now , buy a full kit and bolt everything onto a doner car , thats way easier than the mr2 355 kit or the lambo kit , ????

As I said, you bought a complete car, bolted a kit to it along with new wheels and spacers...I don't class that as building.

Well if you enjoy it fair enough, wouldn't be my cup of tea at all as I think they look very cheap and badly finished.

No u dope

I don't think insulting anyone is going to help you get your point across, so take that as a warning.

As far as this thread goes, even though it is over a year old, I'm going to leave it open as I'm sure people want to get there points across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

nothing can compare to a ferrari but to get to within a grasp of one is something most car enthusiasts would jump at

I'd much rather drive an honest MR2 than a fake Ferrari.

On second thoughts, for any of those who feel they can discuss this in a grown up way, and give relevant points, start a new thread.