Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardeaux vs. Coffin Dodgers Tues 4th March, 20:30, St.Colmcilles

• 03-03-2008 5:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

Last game of the season lads, try to make this one please.

Carl - Expected to be available for selection

Martin - Expected to be available for selection
    Darran - Expected to be available for selection
    Ed - Injured/away
    Dan - Expected to be available for selection
    Michael - Expected to be available for selection
    Geoff - Away
    Simon - Expected to be available for selection
    Cathal - Expected to be available for selection

Shay - Expected to be available for selection
    Colm Larkin -Injured
    Gav - Expected to be available for selection
    Sav - Expected to be available for selection
    Larry - Expected to be available for selection
    Dave - Expected to be available for selection
    Darragh - Expected to be available for selection
    Kenny - Expected to be available for selection
    Lepo - Expected to be available for selection

Joe - Expected to be available for selection
    Jules – Expected to be available for selection
    Art - Expected to be available for selection
    Fran - Expected to be available for selection

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

Ed - Injured/away
    Geoff - Away
    Simon - Injured , will be there
    Cathal - Injured

Colm Larkin -Injured
    Larry - Work
    Darragh - Unavail

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

yep, im working in India for 5 weeks, im back in dublin the day before the new season starts. injury is finally clearing up 8 weeks later. im dying to get back playin, aint played a full outfield game since the 3-2 win over IFG in early december.

best of luck lads, we need 3 points here to finish 4th for definate.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭murtagh

Ed - Injured/away
    Geoff - Away
    Cathal - Injured

Colm Larkin -Injured
    Larry - Work
    Darragh - Unavail

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

Darran - Sick
    Ed - Injured/away

Geoff - Away
    Cathal - Injured

Colm Larkin -Injured
    Larry - Work
    Darragh - Unavail

Sorry lads, woke up dying this morning (hope its not terminal :D ) wont be able to make it. Good luck tho and finish the season in style!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Darran - Sick
    Ed - Injured/away

Geoff - Away
    Cathal - Injured

Colm Larkin -Injured, but coming to cheer ye on
    Larry - Work
    Darragh - Unavail

Had my first game of football in over 3 months last monday, tendon still a bit tender so going to take it easy and get back into things slowly. Will be along tonight anyway since it's the last game of the season :)

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭WeAreShels

Where is this place??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Ballinteer IIRC

Firhouse exit off M50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Did you not get my bleedin' texts?

ffs Dave.

Ask at quarter to five just as I'm leaving work why don't you.

Hang on and I'll find them.

St. Colmcilles - From Town Head for Terenure, towards Rathfarnham Village.
    Go past Rathfarnham Village and turn right at the Yellow House pub, on to Wilbrook Road.
    Proceed for 2 miles (approx), (Wilbrook Road leads onto Ballyboden Road) staying right at the Tuning Fork pub junction.
    You will come to a round about after the Statoil station, take the 3rd exit at the roundabout on to Templeroan Road and proceed to another round about, straight through this on to Scholarstown Road, straight through the next roundabout and St. Colmcilles is on your left just after the traffic lights.
    Stay right on entering the grounds, the pitch is to the back of the school, parking available pitch side.

St. Colmcilles - From M50 Take the Firhouse exit (Exit 12) off the M50, head for Ballyboden (City side of the M50).
    Go through a roundabout, St. Colmcilles is 200 yards past the roundabout on the right hand side.
    Stay right on entering the grounds, the pitch is to the back of the school, parking available pitch side.

Go to www.astro.ie and click on pitch directions at the bottom for a map.

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭WeAreShels

DesF wrote: »
    Did you not get my bleedin' texts?

:mad:

Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Get a room you two :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Ah, a return to the old hunting ground of St. Colmcille's...brings back memories of the first Boardeaux season...is it me or does that seem like a really long time ago?

It's a lovely surface, only problem is it's a bit of a wind tunnel but should be grand tonight....and finally we'll have decent changing rooms to get kitted out in beforehand.

Looking forward to this one for sure, as Dan said, we need this one to have a winning season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Looking light at the back!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

You'll need to wrap up warm out there tonight in that cold boys! Good luck for the game

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

match tracker.....live from desf in colmcilles.

half time update for our 70,000 fans....art(2) and gav have us 3-0 up at the break and heading to secure top spot....

full time report coming soon.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

went to the wrong f*cking pitch , sorry lads. columbas/colmcilles too similiar.
    what the hell was one of the games on in colmcilles for! we havent played there in 2 years!

Best excuse in a while Shay :D Anyway, final score was 4-0. Great performance and a fine end to the season. Bit disappointed we didn't challenge for the title but much improved from last season.

Anyway, next season? I know we had a good discussion 3 weeks ago before the SS Rovers game but any chance of a team meeting before the new season to have some ideas and see what direction people see things going? We could have it after a friendly or something. Anyway, just an idea

went to the wrong f*cking pitch , sorry lads. columbas/colmcilles too similiar.
    what the hell was one of the games on in colmcilles for! we havent played there in 2 years!

Jaysis :D

You missed a good game Shay.

Well, I went three at the back, because I knew they wouldn't get in behind us at all, and eve if they did, we'd have the pace of them. It worked :D

Three at the back, one midfielder sitting, two further up, wingers, not wing backs, we didn't need that, and then two up front.

We played nice football, and took full advantage of the nice surface.

Art started the scoring with a well taken shot from juts outside and to the right of the box.

At 1-0 they had their only real chance, but Karl made a great save to keep them out. He got down well to a shot into the bottom right corner. Crucial in that it would have been 1-1 and the heads could have dropped.

Gav added the second after a nice move from the back, through the middle and up to him, then a decent cross to the back post was met by the head of Art for three before half time.

Bit of a change for the second half, but we only had one sub anyway, so it was more for tiredness more than anything. We lost shape a little, but a bit more tinkering and we go back on track. Some pressure and we got a few corners, from one Sav met a nice cross and headed home for 4.

All in all lads, I'm happy with the season. Nine wins is decent, plus a draw. Some of the games we lost were down to ourselves too. So if we can get the consistency we had for the six game unbeaten run, take out the mistakes that caused some of the losses, and most importantly, get our best, most consistent team on the pitch every week we CAN win this level.

I'm convinced of it. I think overall, we were probably the second best team in that division, although SS Rovers beat us twice, as did Dunbar.

This evening was the best we played since beating Fred West Ham 4-2.

Roll on the new season.

Well done, and thanks to everyone. I enjoyed that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

great result lads good work.
    yeah it sounds a dodgy excuse i know martin! i was in the f%cking place from half 8 til 9.15 cursing des to heaven for giving the wrong time/pitch/whatever
    added to that my phone was dead so couldnt check with des
    all in all dodgiest excuse ever, but true!
    oops

Ah no, easy mistake to make considering we haven't played there while I've been on the team anyway and we've played in the other place loads this season. Missed a good game too

• Registered Users Posts: 8,051 ✭✭✭BKtje

Congrats lads on the match and the season.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Good performance lads, have to say kudos to Des got he got the tactics spot on and it meant we had plenty of players forward and we really did blitz them at times, it was pretty relentless stuff – every time they had a kickout or clearance we were just fighting to get it back in there to put them under pressure. We played lovely football but were also smart about our use of the ball. Only bad thing was how much it highlighted what a poor result the 1-0 loss was, but there’s nights like that.

Art & Sav were a great partnership up front and had some lovely moves and were prepared to get stuck in to hold off the very physical defenders, that meant they won and kept a lot of possession and the midfield were finally prepared to play a few balls to player with a man at his back – that’s progress though we the midfielders still need to improve awareness of the need to get the ball forward a little earlier at times.

Nice way to end the season on a winning note and Kenny’s done a good job of rebuilding our PR with that dodgy old ref too.

have to say kudos to Des got he got the tactics spot on
    Thanks Jules.

It's true, I'm a bit of a legend :D

Seriously.

I feel I've improved in this part of the thing since we started, I'm just glad my plan worked so well last night.

I'd have liked a few more goals though. We should have won about 6- or 7-0 tbh.

/greed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

I blame Martin's feather-soft headers at the end for the missing goals ;)

A great result and an entertaining game to watch, well done lads. Lots of possession, a lot more battling to win first balls than we used to have, and some nice team goals. Apart from the one early mistake that let Karl pull off a great save they had no out and out chances and as des said we made so much going forward we could easily have scored several more.

Well done folks & looking forward to getting back