Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PR or ER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

K so, stuff is properly broken.... back is in **** and i can't ignore it any longer...

Today

squat

bar x 10
    60kg x 10
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3

127.5 kg x the wobbliest rep ever... was supposed to be 6..
    127.5kg x was no longer able to un-load the bar......

Bench
    bar x 30
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5

115kg 3 x 6 (last set was 5-1)

... Parsley and i were working in with each other and he had to load the bar for me each time.... i'm going to the doctor.

Tricep Pushdowns
    38.7kg
    x25
    x25
    x25

Floor Press
    60kg
    2 x 20

Tate Press / Rolling DB ext Combo
    20kg 'bells
    12/10
    12/10
    10/8

Neutral Grip Pullups
    x8
    x8
    x7ish

i think we did an extra set but looking at Parsleys log maybe not.

im gonna see if the doc will let me run Smolov again... coz there's no way i can squat or deadlift.... Parsley had to help me put my tracksuit on tonight.... not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

think we might've done 4 sets on pullups but i'm not sure either. and i ain't training with you again till you've seen a doctor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Did I not tell you to go get yourself sorted with a doc or physio or someone about ten pages back?!

Get thee to a professional and don't train anymore until you do!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭bigstar

im gonna see if the doc will let me run Smolov again... coz there's no way i can squat or deadlift.... Parsley had to help me put my tracksuit on tonight.... not good.

dont be stupid man just sort yourself out, dont worried about your effin bench. i went to gym today and could do f all, just some scap pushups and retractions, i could of gone for a squat PR but my shoulder would be fecked. it sucks but youll be better off in the (not even that long) long run. suck it up an see a doc.

I neglected to eat today so may forget some of what i did despite the fact that i just left the gym....

Also im currently the fattest malnurished man ever.... 96kg? WTF!!

THis Evening

Hammer Strength Chest Press
    40kg x 30
    80kg x 20

Bench
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    110kg x 1
    120kg x 1
    130kg x 2 ( way to lose strength fat man)

100kg
    x12
    x12 (i think)
    x6 or 7 or something lame like that

Hammer Strength Chest Press
    80kg x 20
    100kg
    x12
    x10
    x10
    x10
    x8

Neutral Grip Pull Ups
    3 x 8

Tricep PushDowns
    38.7kg
    x25
    x20
    x15

Plate Shrugs
    2 25kg plates
    5 x 30

(giving out to some douches x 2)

Alt DB Curls
    22kg 'bells
    3 x 16

Back was ... am... okay slight niggle picking up the DBs and returning a couple of plates but not too bad...:o

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Back was ... am... okay slight niggle picking up the DBs and returning a couple of plates but not too bad...:o

Did you get your back checked out yet? What was the verdict?

He MEANT to go today but... didn't happen!

Parsley wrote: »
    He MEANT to go today but... didn't happen!

RAT:o

Keeping things ticking over.... just about.

Today

Some Activation Stuff

Seated MP
    bar x 30
    30kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg 3 x 5 :( (no idea whats going wrong here, its possibly because i did them standing all summer??)

60kg x 8 :(:mad:

Upright Rows
    60kg
    4 x 8

Standing BTN Press
    50kg x 5 back was having none of it so i left it.

Oly Bar Front Raises
    bar x 12
    25kg
    x12
    x12
    30kg x 12

Alt DB Curls
    22kg 'bells
    x16
    x16
    x18
    x14 + 16kg dropset 8 or 10 not sure.

Sauna

Notes:
    The DOMs around my pec/delt tie in area was SICK, stupid fuppin Hammer Strength Chest Press the other day, i knew i was doing the dog on it at the time, but it should ease off after a few weeks once i get used to the movement again.

I weigh 95.2kg:confused: , thats pretty much 5kg in 3 weeks if even 3.

this resting thing is a load of bollox i'm wasting away.

seen a doc yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

seen a doc yet?

ye was going to ask the same thing

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

that is all.

will take that as a no so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

I dunno if you did see someone or not but you were saying "if I ever train again..." in another thread. If you're just resting and not getting it diagnosed then you're wasting your time. You can't just rest away an injury. In fact more gym time might be required to sort it out. When anyone hurts their back they seem to automatically think they just need to rest, that's why you see so many people complaining about how they hurt their back 5 years ago and it isn't right since.

I couldn't deadlift a bar off the ground at the single lifts this year in Feb and set a 10kg PR less than 2 months later because I was doing the right exercises. If I'd rested for two months I just would have blown my back out again.

I know it's annoying having everyone at you but you're gonna end up weak, small and injured if you don't do what I say.

Pullups

BW x 10

amd a doctors apointment...

Well bitches......... I be back

I actually have a real doctors appointment next Tuesday at 4!!
    So i celebrated by going to the gym for the first time in about 2 months!!:o

I'm soooo fuking weak right now...... it sucks.

Today

Bastardised Diesel Crew Warm Up

4kg 'bells

Had to take a break for ten mins because of the pump...:rolleyes: lol

One Arm Barbell Snatches
    40kg x 3 (ya ya ya i'm retarded)

Incline Bench
    bar x 20
    60kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    80kg x 5
    90kg x um.... 3... FFS 2 months off does not do ones strength any favours!

80kg 5 x 5

Neutral Grip Pull Ups

BW 3 x 8

Seated MP
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 5 (a full 20 kg off that rep PR level!!)
    50kg x 5 (i give up!)

Tricep Pushdowns
    40kg
    x20
    x12
    x12

Alt DB Curls
    20 kg 'bells
    3 x 20

LMFAO

L Out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Haha you're weak.

Wait I am too! balls. Good to see you back in action.

Weakness thy name is L....

Strugglin on trying to get some semblance of training normality going again...

I think i've figured out what i can and can't do with regards to not aggravating the back.

This Evening

Bike
    15mins

Activation Stuff

Seated DB Shoulder Press

20kg 'bells
    x15

30kg 'bells
    x12
    x10
    x9
    ( i'm soooo ****ing weak right now i can't get over it!!)

Upright Rows
    60kg
    x8
    x8
    x6-2

BB Front Raises
    Bar x12
    25kg x 12
    30kg x 12

HammerStrength Reverse Close Grip Pulldown
    40kg
    x20

70kg :o
    x12
    x12
    x10-2

Standing Single Arm Cable Rows
    20ishkg (it's irrelevant i fucking love this movement)
    3 x 12 each side

Plate Shrugs
    25kg plates
    x50

Had to leave coz i was going to vomit! Really short of cardio fitness after the lay-off.

Also my pressing ability has gone to the dogs... but twas to be expected.

I'd forgotten how great the HS machines can be.

:o

I'll get back there soon:cool:

L Out.

I'm clearly not going to be competing in anything anytime soon, so there isn't much point in weighing over 90kg.... gonna do something about that..

****ing DOMs are vicious at the moment feels like i'm starting all over again, thought my left delt was going to pop out today!!

So "de-trained" at the mo that it's nuts, benching felt odd, really unnatural movement, it's been that long!

This Evening

DC Warm Up

CGP two fingers inside the smooth part

bar x 20
    60kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    80kg x 10
    100kg x 5
    110kg x 1 (shoulder was about to fall off, stupid DOMs and weakness!!)

Tate Press / Rolling DB ext Combo
    22 kg 'bells
    x15 / x10
    x15 / x8
    x12/ x10

Tricep Pushdowns
    38.7kg

41.3kg
    x15

43.7kg
    x12

Alt DB Curls
    22kg 'bells
    3 x 16

Alt Hammer Curls
    20kg 'bells
    3 x 20

Meh... once again

So did you find out what's wrong with you? Your best bench was 130 wasn't it? 110 close grip after a lay off is nothing to sneeze at, you might be closer to old form than you think.

130 3x3!!

142.5 x 1 but i ran out of weights defo had more in me.

Would have eaten those CG Benchs a few months ago... i was gettin 5 x 10s with 90kg after normal benching like..

This Evening

DC Warm Up

30 mins waiting for bench, eyeing up the two hot twins from the athletics club doing arch-back GMs.

fyp

fyp

Sleaze Bag!!

130 3x3!!

142.5 x 1 but i ran out of weights defo had more in me.

Would have eaten those CG Benchs a few months ago... i was gettin 5 x 10s with 90kg after normal benching like..

Fair enough! But I'd take your bench over mine right now tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

This Evening

DC Warm Up

30 mins waiting for bench, eyeing up the two hot twins from the athletics club doing arch-back GMs.

fyp

Something about how you fixed his post just doesn't seem right :confused::P:o

sunnyjim wrote: »
    Something about how you fixed his post just doesn't seem right :confused::P:o

have to agree with this L wouldn't know what a back exercise was :p

other then that good luck with the Doctor today

Getting an MRI and a Free Haircut.. this day bees full of profit

This Morning

In Parsleys Personal Pit of Rust..

Defo need a tetnis jab after that bar..

Tryin to do a pile of volume to re-train the bench movement... was way off for the first few sets, then settled a bit

Bench
    30kg x 20
    70kg x 10

80kg
    x12
    x12
    x12
    x12
    x12
    x12
    x12
    x12
    x12
    x7...... er.... got a cramp, went to re-rack the bar, missed the hooks and very nearly broke my face..

Upright Rows
    bar x 20
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 8
    50kg x 15
    50kg x 12

BB Front Raises
    20kg x12
    25kg x 12
    30kg x 12

Pate Front Raise Giant Drop Set

20kg x 6