Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PR or ER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Was in the gym by myself and decided to just have some fun....

i realise i'm not going to get stronger till i sort out my back so i might as well enjoy myself!!

This is probably the best decision you have made this year and hopefully it will pay off for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

This is probably the best decision you have made this year and hopefully it will pay off for you

Cheers man, best decision in the last few months anyway!!

Back Feels Good after the few weeks sitting around eating.... should have the consultant appointment soon.

This Evening

Fannying about as is the norm these days!!

Some Activfation Stuff

Incline DB Bench

22kg 'bells
    x20

32kg 'bells
    3 x 15

Tate Press
    22kg 'bells
    5 x 12

Those Standing One Arm DB Flyes i do

12 kg 'bell
    3 x 10 each side

Cable Crossover
    35kg
    x12

45kg
    x12

55kg
    2 x 12

Pushdowns
    40kg
    4 x 12-15

*Setted with*

Face Pulls
    35kg
    4 x 12

Few Curls

No one in the gym, twas great!!

Today

Activation Stuff

Lat Pulldown
    45kg x 20
    55kg x 15
    65kg x 15
    75kg x 12
    85kg x 8
    95kg x 8 (5-3)
    85kg x 8

I know my Vertical Pull strength (feck off with the puns) has always been only okay but these were proper tuff... it's quite sickening really

Pendlays
    60kg x 10
    70kg x 10

80kg 4 x 8

My back is feeling good, did three 80kg power cleans to see how good!!

Single Arm Row
    40kg 'bell
    2 x 10 each side

Bicep Superset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Today

Vertical Pull strength

sorry, you cant get away with that, ever.... Although this might help you with it

Guess who's back, back again
    PowerClean's back, tell a friend
    Guess who's back, guess who's back,
    guess who's back, guess who's back,
    guess who's back...

Today

Activation Stuff

Hang Cleans
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    70kg x 5

Power Cleans and Push Press
    75kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    85kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    95kg x 0
    95kg x 0

Standing MP
    60kg
    x8
    x8
    x6-2

Upright Rows
    60kg
    3x7

Standing BTN Press
    50kg
    x10
    x10
    x8-2

Plate Front Raises
    20kg plate
    5 x 15

Some Face Pulls on the way out...

Can of apostle brau PWO :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

You're a bit mad doing power cleans with a herniated disc dude....

my back feels great at the mo!!

I'm still waiting for the consultant before i do anything else.... but it nearly feels normal!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Fair enough....maybe its not even herniated or very slightly and the consultant will give you a better assessment than the last one, but I can't help thinking power cleans are a lot of extra stress.

i know what you mean, but as i've been told for the past 3 months while praying for surgery, the best way for a herniation to recover is naturally..... i don't want to jinx it, but it feels close to almost normal... i'll see what the consultant says.

This Evening

vanity session

DB Alternating Curls
    10kg 'bells

16kg 'bells
    x20

20kg 'bells
    5 x 20

Close Grip EZ Bar Curls setted with REverse Grip Curls
    30kg
    3 x 12 / 8

DB Shrugs
    38kg 'bells
    5 x 20

Plate Shrugs
    25kg plates
    3 x 25 with 2 second holds

Bike
    15mins

This Evening

vanity session
    stolen from Liams log much? :P

:confused:?

I think you'll find that's the other way around!! :P

Today

Forgot the feckin activation stuff...

Bench
    Bar x 30
    60kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    80kg x 10
    90kg x 10
    100kg x 10... spotter touch, but to be fair it would have been an entirely futile attempt on her part if something had gone wrong!!:p
    90kg x 10
    80kg x 10
    80kg x 8-2

Tate Press
    24kg 'bells
    4 x 10 (the extra couple of kg made these poper tuff)

Skulls
    30kg
    5 x 15

Alt DB Curls
    24kg 'bells
    3 x 16

Face Pulls
    35kg 2 x 15
    40kg x 12
    37.5kg x 15

comin back strong it seems! any news on when you can squat and deadlift again

My GP at home is sorting out the consultant stuff at the mo, i'm thinking bout testing out an auld squat tomorrow though

good news then, btw, was it the attack from the cow that fcked the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

good news then, btw, was it the attack from the cow that fcked the back?

would ya take all that talk about cows off to here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055784413 :P:pac:

comin from a cork lad :D pot callin the kettle black, i wouldnt be surprised if you where a mod of that forum :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

comin from a cork lad :D pot callin the kettle black, i wouldnt be surprised if you where a mod of that forum :P

nahh im not (really) a culchie. well maybe, but i dont do cow conversations. i was going to say i dont do cows but that just sounds so wrong :P

pfft, you bring your name shame, shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

my back feels great at the mo!!

I'm still waiting for the consultant before i do anything else.... but it nearly feels normal!!

If it feels good and ready then go for it..you should be experienced enough when to stop and know your limits. 90% of consultants will tell you to take it easy because they want to cover their own ass. If you can do power cleans then you will have no problem with doing some squats..will be one of the main exercises that will make sure a disc injury won't happen to you anytime soon.
    Do a lot of plank work as well (really important) and try more and more advanced versions as time goes by...single arms and legs etc.

Good luck with it all

d-gal wrote: »
    If it feels good and ready then go for it..you should be experienced enough when to stop and know your limits. 90% of consultants will tell you to take it easy because they want to cover their own ass. If you can do power cleans then you will have no problem with doing some squats..will be one of the main exercises that will make sure a disc injury won't happen to you anytime soon.
    Do a lot of plank work as well (really important) and try more and more advanced versions as time goes by...single arms and legs etc.

Good luck with it all

Thanks man,

I'd be fairly certain my lack of ab work had a serious part in me getting injured... i wouldn't give too much credence to my ability to powerclean though, they were fairly handly like....

anyway ya, much more ab work is in order

Today

Should really have eaten more....

One Arm DB Snatches
    26kg x5 each side
    28kg x5 each side
    30kg x5 each side
    34kg x5 each side
    38kg x 3
    40kg x 3

Pendlay Rows
    60kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    80kg 3 x 10

Upright Rows
    60kg
    3 x 8

Lat Pulldowns
    4 x 12

Single Arm DB Rows
    40kg 'bell
    2 x 10 each side

Seated DB PCs
    12kg 'bells
    3 x 10

Lat Pulldowns
    3 x 20

Found a mental Lat Pulldown machine, there's a load of pneumatic air resistance type machines that no one really uses, weirdest yoke ever, savage pump off it.

Today

Some Activation Stuff

Hang PowerCleans

50kg x 10
    60kg x 10
    65kg x 5
    70kg x 5

Powercleans and Push Press
    75kg x 3 ( feckin wrist went abit weird)
    80kg x 2 (pulled up here my wrist wasn't right at all)

Standing Military Press
    60kg x 11
    60kg x 8
    60kg x 7
    60kg x 6

Upright Rows
    60kg
    3 x 7

Standing BTN Press
    50kg
    x12
    x10
    x8

Plate Front Raises
    25kg plate
    3 x 15

Meh... feckin wrist was really annoying me!

Bit of a Post Script...

I'm feeling much more comfortable with the MPs again which is nice... i'd be fairly sure i had another couple of reps but kept them in the tank... this is good because it wouldn't be too far off a reps PR level for 60kg... i think i'm gonna stay with 60 till i get 15 and then go back to actually training my shoulder strength properly...

think we might have GVT on the cards for the crack after Parsley bombs at the single lifts:pac::P:P

GVT? you mental bast*rd

done it before a couple of times... think it may even be logged somewhere

theres some lad in my gym doing it atm, looks freakin cool. you doing it for everything? doing it for squats would make me cry

I have done it for squats before, it can be rough enough... the first few weeks are the worst.

It's more of a mental challenge then anything else.

I checked there and the last time i did it, i logged just before and just after doing it!!