Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things you'd like like to see happen this year

• 04-03-2008 2:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭

In order for me

1. United winning the league
    2. Liverpool being closer to Villa than Chelsea (as there is money in it)
    3. Newcastle getting relegated
    4. Everton/Villa coming 4th
    5. Reading staying up

There's also the extremely unrealistic funny scenario of,
    United drawing Chelsea in the semis, one of them winning, and a randomer getting a UEFA Cup spot. Liverpool finish 6th, after Villa and Everton, then have to enter the Inter-Toto :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

1. Chelsea/Arsenal to win the league
    2. Anyone but United to win the FA Cup
    3. A non-English team to win the Champions League
    4. Newcastle to go down
    5. City to get any European spot
    6. Everton to finish 4th
    7. City to spend a hundred million in the summer on big signings
    8. Shels to get back in the Premier
    9. Spain to win the Euros
    10.Ronaldo to feck off to Madrid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

1. Newcastle annoying everyone by staying up and then spending loads of money in the summer to start the good times rolling again.
    2. Arsenal winning the Premiership.
    3. Bad fortunes for all teams based in Manchester and London (except Arsenal).
    4. Spain winning Euro 2008
    5. Real Madrid winning the CL again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Tut tut where's the patriotism lads? ;) Things I'd like to see:

1. Trappa to get Ireland off to a 100% record in our World Cup group.
    2. Man Utd to win the treble.
    3. Fergie to sign Berbatov.
    4. Gallas to cry on the pitch after Utd beat them at OT.
    5. Keano to keep Sunderland up.
    6. Everton to finish 4th.
    7. Benitez to stay at L'Pool so they can fail again in the League next season.
    8. Some memorable one-liners from Eamon Dunphy and co.
    9. Enjoyable football at Euro 2008.
    10. Jose Mourinho to return to management (preferably the PL). I miss the guy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

1. The Stadium in Tallaght to be finished.
    2. Rovers to do well in the league.
    3. Liverpool to win nothing and finish outside the top four.
    4. Manchester United to win the league. (They deserve it for being the best team to watch)
    5. Everton to finish fourth.
    6. West Brom to get automatic promotion.
    7. Germany to win the Euros.
    8. Dustin to win eurovision :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Xavi6 wrote: »
    kinaldo wrote: »
    1. Newcastle annoying everyone by staying up and then spending loads of money in the summer to start the good times rolling again.
    Newky won't be relegated this season, I'm certain of it.
    5. Keano to keep Sunderland up.
    I hope Sunderland go down screaming, preferably on the last day of the season, by one goal difference.
    1. The Stadium in Tallaght to be finished.
    Won't be finished this year, but will be close, I'd say Rovers will play some games there in the '09 season, maybe.
    8. Dustin to win eurovision :D
    My christ no.

I hope Reading stay in the PL, and spend some money this time.

I hope there are no asterisks on either division of the eL this season.

I hope attendances grow in the eL.

I hope at least one eL team has a decent euro run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭lpool2k05

1.Arsenal/Chelsea to win league
    2.Man Utd to finish 3rd :)
    3.Everton to finish 6th(intertoto cup)
    4.Liverpool to win champions league again beating Utd in final with a last minute Gary Neville OG
    5.Reading to get relegated.
    6.Spain to win the Euros.
    7.Non Premiership team win the FA Cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

For C.Ronaldo to play well against a top side instead of bolton,wigan etc....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

1. ManYoo to win the League
    2. Arsenal to win nothing.
    3. Gallas to throw a strop, quit the game and move into a caravan in Morecambe.
    4. Adebayor and Bendter to get in another scrap, killing each other in the process.
    5. Fabregas to suffer sympathy pains for Eduardo and miss the next nine months.
    6. The Death Star to burn down.
    7. Everton to finish 4th, Moyes to win manager of the year.
    8. Don't need Toon to go down, but whatever helps Keegan disintegrate on TV works for me.

No No hold on.For Rio "gangster" ferdinand to score a last minute OG against liverpool in the champs league final and for everton to finish forth in the league:) Now that would be sweeeeeeeeeeeeet. Although it would be nice to see it go to penaltys and see wayne "mars bar" rooney blast the last penalty high and wide at 5-4 to liverpool.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

1. Chelsea/Arsenal to win the league
    2. Anyone but United to win the FA Cup
    3. A non-English team to win the Champions League
    4. Newcastle to go down
    5. City to get any European spot
    6. Everton to finish 4th
    7. City to spend a hundred million in the summer on big signings
    9. Spain to win the Euros
    10.Ronaldo to feck off to Madrid
    10?! Typical over optimistic City fan... ;)

1. United to win the treble.
    2. Wenger to actually go blind.
    3. City and Liverpool dropping out of the European places altogether.
    4. Newcastle to be relegated.
    5. Dundalk to finally get promoted to the EL Premier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

leeds to get promoted

thats it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

1) Cork City to walk the el
    2) George O'Callaghan to come out of international retirement
    3) Sheffield Wednesday to not get relegated
    4) Sheffield Wednesday to get taken over (possibly by a russian billionaire)
    5) Liverpool to miss out on everything and have nothing to play for and then get relegated next season and then to bring back graeme souness and then to get relegated again....etc etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭oobydooby

1. Liverpool to win European Champions League
    2. Trappa to start attending EL matches
    3. Some of the Brazilian-Irish to come of age
    4. Small team to win FA cup
    5. Irish teams to do well in Europe, make UEFA cup groups
    6. Any of top 3 winning English PL (1/6 ain't bad)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

oobydooby wrote: »
    2. Trappa to start attending EL matches
    I doubt the FAI even told him it exists. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

World Peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

1) People to start posting thread titles without errors in them.
    2) ABU to win the League
    3) Liverpool to win the Champions League
    4) A picture of Fergie and Ronaldo after the treble dream is dead.......;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Everton to finish 4th
    Bohs to win the league
    Ireland to win a few games.
    Shels to stay where they belong.
    Stephen Ireland to give his hair back to the RSPCA.
    Arsenal to win prem.
    Liverpool to win CL
    Sunderland to get relegated
    Keane to get sacked and chased out of football with his tail between his legs.
    Duff to retire.
    Given to leave Newcastle.
    Stephen Carr to die (his hair).
    Frank Lampard to go on a feeding Frenzy.
    Drogs to get to CL round 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

Gillette and Hicks to accept DIC's offer!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

1. Arsenal to win the league
    2. Arsenal to win the CL
    3. Ireland to get it together
    4. Spain to win the Euros
    5. Eduardo to get fit again
    6. van Persie to get fit and stay fit
    7. Everton and Villa to finish in the CL spots
    8. Chelsea and Tottenham to be declared bankrupt and ejected from the football league
    9. Liverpool to knock Man United out of the CL
    10. Newcastle to avoid relegation, sending Bolton down instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Dubit10 wrote: »
    For C.Ronaldo to play well against a top side instead of bolton,wigan etc....:rolleyes:

The bitterness is delicious :cool:

Man Utd to win every game they play

Ireland to win every game they play

That is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

1:G&H to sell to DIC, and DIC to run the club the right way.
    2:Liverpool to win the CL again.
    3:Rafa to sign 2 more world class players in the summer.
    4:Nevilles career to be over.
    5:Ferguson to continue as a massive underacheiver in Europe tarnishing his "legendary" status, Utd fans to realise that his European record is an embarrasment.
    6:Everton to get whipped by Fiorentina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Mr Alan wrote: »
    5:Ferguson to continue as a massive underacheiver in Europe tarnishing his "legendary" status, Utd fans to realise that his European record is an embarrasment.

Are you serious?
    An embarassment??!!

1. UTD to win at least the double
    2. Pool to finish out of top 4
    3. The team of the year to reflect more than UTD players
    4. Spain to at least compete at Euro 2008
    5. Saha to stay fit for a full season
    6. Spurs/Everton to win the Uefa Cup
    7. Trapp to pick Hunt, S. Reid, Duff and Ireland as his midfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

1. Arsenal to win CL
    2. Arsenal to win Premiership
    3. Newcastle to be relegated for sheer stupidity. Keegan to break down live on TV for added bonus.
    4. Everton to finish 4th
    5. Man Utd to win FA Cup against Chelsea in a thrilling 4-3 final.
    6. Sunderland to stay up.
    7. Footballers to stop diving, exagerating fouls,feigning injuries, arguing with referees and generally behaving like spoilt little children.
    8. Ireland to win a few games. Trappatoni to go nuts at a press conference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

1:G&H to sell to DIC, and DIC to run the club the right way.
    2:Liverpool to win the CL again.
    3:Rafa to sign 2 more world class players in the summer.
    6:Everton to get whipped by Fiorentina.

Threads like this really do bring out the best in people don't they :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

1. Liverpool to win the CL
    2. Arsenal to win the Premiership
    3. Liverpool finish 4th
    4. Newcastle and Sunderland to be relegated with Derby
    5. A non-premiership team to win the FA Cup
    6. The FA to finally clamp down on dangerous tackles
    7. Liverpool to sign 1 world class winger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Sizzler wrote: »
    Threads like this really do bring out the best in people don't they :rolleyes:

Yep
    I'd love to see Liverpool fans realising their glory days are gone and their premier league record is an embarrassment :rolleyes:

I'd like to see United win the Champion's League this year and buy Benzema in the summer
    I'd also love to see Ronaldo back playing before the year is out

lads, i advise you read the first few posts of this thread, which were from Utd fans.

nothing wrong with wishing bad things on your rivals.

edit: our league record is the best in England ya nut. CL final last year, won in 2005. glory days in the past hey?! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,917 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Well, 1 single glory 45 minutes in 18 years :)

Anyway, I'd be interested in seeing what it takes to push Gallas over the edge this season, I think he'll put Keegan to shame when it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

astrofool wrote: »

Ah wait a second...The Uefa Cup victory in 2001 and subsequent "treble" [:rolleyes: not as good a treble] was an achievement!

Also FA Cup champions 2 years ago in a classic with WHU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

lads, i advise you read the first few posts of this thread, which were from Utd fans.

nothing wrong with wishing bad things on your rivals.

edit: our league record is the best in England ya nut. CL final last year, won in 2005. glory days in the past hey?! ;)

something tells me that UTD's record in the league Premier Leagus is a lot better than Liverpools's hence the whole Liverpool not having won the league since 89/90 and united winning it 9 of the last 15 times

fair enough liverpool have 2 more titles overall but this is were the "league glory days" statement comes in

League and Premier and League = same thing.

Liverpools record is better *yawn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Oh yes please!

Yep
    I'd love to see Liverpool fans realising their glory days are gone and their premier league record is an embarrassment :rolleyes:

I'd like to see United win the Champion's League this year and buy Benzema in the summer
    I'd also love to see Ronaldo back playing before the year is out

Glory days gone.5 european cups to your 2.Our premiership record is an embarrassment but im big enough to admit it.If you really believe fergie's european record is not embarrassing then well thats just pretty sad really.The thing is mate as much as you refuse to admit it your european record IS rubbish.:)

astrofool wrote: »

Anyway, I'd be interested in seeing what it takes to push Gallas over the edge this season, I think he'll put Keegan to shame when it happens.

Please stop.You are making a fool of yourself:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Lads, this was just meant to be afun thread, no need to get mean :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Glory days gone.5 european cups to your 2.Our premiership record is an embarrassment but im big enough to admit it.If you really believe fergie's european record is not embarrassing then well thats just pretty sad really.The thing is mate as much as you refuse to admit it your european record IS rubbish.:)

I didn't refuse to admit anything. I merely replied with an equally petty and juvenile comment
    p.s. I am not your mate

Jaysus lads put the handbags away.

Look let's all just hope United and 'pool win nothing and finish third and sixth repectively :)

A thread on boards to not turn into a bitter "United vs Liverpool" bitch fight where evryone reminds everyone of "their" records and history as if they had some direct involvement in this....yawn.

Or just in general for football fans to say "their" instead of "our" when talkin about their favourite team.

- United to win the treble.
    - Arsenal to finish second.
    - Eduardo to play again before 2009 - wishing ANY player, rival or otherwise, to have their career ended is pathetic and says a lot about anyone who says it.
    - Everton to finish 4th.
    - Ireland to bring back the days when international football was actually interesting to watch.
    - Derby, Bolton and Boro to get relegated.
    - Euro 2008 to deliver an exciting tournament.

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭Obni

Bolton to remain the most unfashionable team in the premiership.

Please stop.You are making a fool of yourself:rolleyes:

He's not the only one:rolleyes::rolleyes:;)

- Eduardo to play again before 2009 - wishing ANY player, rival or otherwise, to have their career ended is pathetic and says a lot about anyone who says it.

I suppose you're right and I retract my earlier comment about Gary Neville. I suppose it would be quite nice to see him lose another couple of derbys next season :D

Thats it, its cool to hate players, sure I usent to be the biggest fan of Mr Neville myself!! :eek::eek:

I just think its pretty sad really if you're sittin at home hopin anyones career ends/so and so breaks their leg etc etc.

Jesus if Neville plays in the derby again he has a lot of makin up to do (assists for Goater, sent off for actin like a spoilt child etc etc:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

The Czechs to get kicked out of Euro 2008 (for financial irregularities or something). And then Il Trap to lead us to Euro glory :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

-Rafa to stay at liverpool and meander along in mediocracy for years.

-Everton to become the biggest club on merseyside

-Wenger to buy new glasses in specsavers.

-Fabregas to step out of the "so much maturity for a player so young" category and become the next platini.

-United to play liverpool in China for the 39th game of the season and Gary neville to score the winner and have no one but a load of dong's cousins staring at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

If Baca dont win the CL then,

-Seville to win the CL
    -La Liga to be decided on May 7th at the Bernabeu
    -Ronnie get back to his best
    -Messi to show he's the best in the world
    -Spain to at least bloody partake in Euro 08 =P
    -Arsenal to win the PL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

SofaKing wrote: »
    The Czechs to get kicked out of Euro 2008 (for financial irregularities or something). And then Il Trap to lead us to Euro glory :cool:

FIFA would probably make a merit and guts based decision, rewarding passion and overuling points, and give Cyprus our place :p :eek:

Anyway

1- Trappa to kick off with wins in a (by the end of 2009) successful WC qualification
    2- The pool to win the CL
    3- The pool to beat Man U at sometime in the next few weeks or, preferably, in the final itself.

On penalties. To piss PHB off :p

4- Liverpool to come from a goal down (courtesy of a Ronaldo dive/peno) to equalise in the dying seconds of the 93rd and take them out.
    5- Capello to lose all his Autumn/Winter games and be knee deep by late November (the confidence before he even played a match was already over the top)
    6- Mourhino back
    7- Sven and Martin O`Neill to end up 5th/6th, least they deserve (in truth one probably deserves no.4 but it would involve dislodging the pool)
    8- Arsenal to edge Man U out for the prem
    9- Birmingham to go down. I like McFadden but Alex McLeish is a traitor to his own country and I hope he gets sacked.
    10- Shay Given to bring his skill to a decent club (which is unlikely, hes apparently out until September, which will make the Trappa friendlies interesting/worrying in terms of how we cope)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

eZe^ wrote: »

-Seville to win the CL
    -La Liga to be decided on May 7th at the Bernabeu
    -Messi to show he's the best in the world

Well there goes any hope of those.. I had to open my ****ing mouth didnt I... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

sunderland to get relegated
    keane to get sacked and replaced my mick mccarthy:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

1. Shels to get back were they belong.
    2. Bohs to get relegated:p (why not dream:D)
    3. Liverpool to come 6th and get the Intertoto.
    4. Watford to win automatic promotion from the Championship at one of the games I'm at.