Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bad cars

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Biro wrote: »
    I remember VW's with the wiper blades on the opposite way around on a RHD model back in the 80's!

And to this day BMW still do that on the 5-series! And the Peugeot 206 had the wipers backwards too (not sure if the 207 does?)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,256 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I had a go in a Daihatsu Terios (old shape) once. Possibly the most pointless car I've seen. Awful to drive - 1.3 with an auto box.

It doesn't look too bad from that picture, but when you see it front on, it is very narrow. Not even a pretend middle seat in the back. Probably not as bad as a car as some of the ones listed here.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭blackbox

Toyota Cressida in 1982 - handling so bad I can still remember it. Felt like it had rear wheel steering.

Also a Mk1 Micra (rwd) on a bumpy road is something to remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

They are that way on all Jap/Korean cars. Jap swapped over for the European market in around 96 (with Mitsubishi about 3 years later).
    In actual fact, the indicator was always supposed to be the opposite side to the gear stick, so that you could change gear with one hand and indicate while manovering with the other. It's the European car manufacturers who wouldn't change theirs around for right hand drive models! I remember VW's with the wiper blades on the opposite way around on a RHD model back in the 80's!

I've driven in Asia, North America, the Middle East and all over Europe and the only car I ever saw this on was that Accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Daewoo Matiz.

Badly built, absolutely gutless, it had a dodge clutch pedal that kept jamming down, bad handling, and the gearbox was loose and hard to find gears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

blackbox wrote: »
    Also a Mk1 Micra (rwd) on a bumpy road is something to remember.

The Micra MK1 (K10) was FWD. Do you mean the Starlet MK1, which were RWD?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,506 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

cjt156 wrote: »
    I've driven in Asia, North America, the Middle East and all over Europe and the only car I ever saw this on was that Accent.

my old charade (97) and my mothers grand vitara (02) both like this

• Registered Users Posts: 12,685 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

my old charade (97) and my mothers grand vitara (02) both like this

Ditto my 2006 Pajero Sport and I'm pretty damn sure the Sorrento I drove last week (Brand Spanking New) was like that as I turned the windscreen wipers on entering a roundabout :D

Once you get used to it it's a better system than the european one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

cjt156 wrote: »

Just to be clear, are you talking about the indicator stalk on the right hand side of the steering wheel and the wiper stalk on the left?
    If so, then all Honda, Toyota and Nissan had them that way until around 96. After that they changed to the European method. Actually, might have been 97 when Toyota changed. Mitsubishi changed later than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Just to be clear, are you talking about the indicator stalk on the right hand side of the steering wheel and the wiper stalk on the left?
    If so, then all Honda, Toyota and Nissan had them that way until around 96. After that they changed to the European method. Actually, might have been 97 when Toyota changed. Mitsubishi changed later than that.

Just exactly that. Its beginning to dawn on me that in 20 years of driving I've studiously avoided driving Japanese and Korean cars...funny that...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Yeah, my mother in law had a 02 Mitsubishi Colt (the previous generation model with that pointless spoiler :p) and the stalks were the wrong way round.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭worded

Micras not all bad.

I was in one being driven at about 80 miles per hour. In the distance we could see a large shadowy object on the road and a car with a trailer parked in the hard shoulder.

As we got closer and it was too late to brake we realised there was a double matrice on our side of the road. We hit it and the car sprung into the air, all four wheels spinning. Thankfully we landed ok a few yards later.

The fellow driving the car was asking us if we were ok. His pall the owner of the matrice was gutted with two wheel marks where we hit it. So funny.

I know its unrelated to worst car but when I saw Micras being mentioned I had to spring to their defense :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,661 ✭✭✭maidhc

My 1974 Ford Capri has the indicator stalk on the right! It makes much more sense!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,506 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

worded wrote: »
    Micras not all bad.

I was in one being driven at about 80 miles per hour. In the distance we could see a large shadowy object on the road and a car with a trailer parked in the hard shoulder.

As we got closer and it was too late to brake we realised there was a double matrice on our side of the road. We hit it and the car sprung into the air, all four wheels spinning. Thankfully we landed ok a few yards later.

The fellow driving the car was asking us if we were ok. His pall the owner of the matrice was gutted with two wheel marks where we hit it. So funny.

I know its unrelated to worst car but when I saw Micras being mentioned I had to spring to their defense :)

Whats a Matrice:confused:, do you mean mattress?
    or this
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matrice:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭(CH3)2CHOH

Ford Escort Diesel...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

maidhc wrote: »
    My 1974 Ford Capri has the indicator stalk on the right! It makes much more sense!

Definately does!

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭monster1

my girlfriends 97 starlet has the indicators on the right, as does my 95 silvia.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

A 98 Fiat punto that i kept for all of about 2 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,083 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Ssangyong/Daewoo Musso. Total heap of ****e!
    My father owned both Ssangyong and Daewoo Mussos and both were equally unreliable from new...don't ask me why he bought another, I think he was trying to piss me off!

Anyway there were literally too many faults to list, but i'll give it a go.
    Here goes:
    seat belt socket fell off one day when I was attempting to buckle up,
    Paint peeling off a week after delivery,
    4wd transfer case kept breaking on both vehicles hence no 4wd for lifetime of the cars,
    heater broke,
    central locking failed,
    diesel injectors replaced,
    lacquer peeled off alloys in carwash,
    radio died,
    constantly leaks oil & diesel,
    driveshaft came loose wrecking the clutch,
    bull bar fell off (admittedly a dealer fit option),
    rev-counter broken,
    glove box handle broke,
    signs of premature rust,
    windscreen washer broke,
    failed to start many times although this was never diagnosed,
    seat belt socket fell off!!,
    gearbox linkage failed.
    In addition there was the usual litany of rattles and squeaks we never bothered complaining about.

The Musso is a badly built, unreliable, cheaply finished POS. The warranty ran out before the flaws did.

Overall such quality issues are totally unacceptable and the people building these cars should be ashamed of the product that they send around the world destroying the hard won reputation of the Korean car industry. I think Kias/Hyundais are great cars for example. The Cee'd for example is as good as any equivalent Focus or Corolla and you can't argue with a seven year warranty.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

monster1 wrote: »
    my girlfriends 97 starlet has the indicators on the right, as does my 95 silvia.

are they jap imports?!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭worded

Whats a Matrice:confused:, do you mean mattress?
    or this
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matrice:D

Dooooh ............ mattress

Now back on topic to cars embedded with problems :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

A Hyundai Lantra estate about 5 years ago in Spain. Horrendous gearchange, no power, handled like a ship...

No doubt the Koreans have improved but not so long ago they were AWFUL...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

1994 skoda felicia , handled like a tank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

This one, broke down on average twice a week, did about 10 MPG and 45 MPH, but it did "fit in" - when in Rome etc... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭monster1

land9 wrote: »
    are they jap imports?!

the starlet isn't, mine is, also my mates 98 accent has the same

• Registered Users Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭RichyX

02 Seat Leon 1.4, the most dull car I've ever driven in every regard. Felt slower than my old 1L Ibiza.

97 Starlet, crap handling, uncomfortable, noisy. It had such an industrial feel to everything it was a bit like driving a tractor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

02 (new model) Vectra.

*shudder*

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

coolbeans wrote: »
    Ssangyong/Daewoo Musso. Total heap of ****e!
    My father owned both Ssangyong and Daewoo Mussos and both were equally unreliable from new...don't ask me why he bought another, I think he was trying to piss me off!

Anyway there were literally too many faults to list, but i'll give it a go.
    Here goes:
    seat belt socket fell off one day when I was attempting to buckle up,
    Paint peeling off a week after delivery,
    4wd transfer case kept breaking on both vehicles hence no 4wd for lifetime of the cars,
    heater broke,
    central locking failed,
    diesel injectors replaced,
    lacquer peeled off alloys in carwash,
    radio died,
    constantly leaks oil & diesel,
    driveshaft came loose wrecking the clutch,
    bull bar fell off (admittedly a dealer fit option),
    rev-counter broken,
    glove box handle broke,
    signs of premature rust,
    windscreen washer broke,
    failed to start many times although this was never diagnosed,
    seat belt socket fell off!!,
    gearbox linkage failed.
    In addition there was the usual litany of rattles and squeaks we never bothered complaining about.

The Musso is a badly built, unreliable, cheaply finished POS. The warranty ran out before the flaws did.

So much for Mercedes-Benz build quality then!(the engine in the Musso is a Merc engine)

The worst car I ever had the misfortune of ever travelling in was the Skoda Estelle. The next worst was the Nissan Serena. The biggest POS's I've ever had the misfortune of travelling in. The were meant to be buckets of sh1te to drive too, I remember travelling in the Estelle once and it actually came to a stop as we went up a hill in one(we started going up a moderately steep hill at about 45 mph). It could also be heard coming about an hour before it actually turned up too. The Serena was just simply awful in every possible measure.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭salamander27

Every ford built from 1982 to 1996! Most took longer to slow down than to speed up! Except for the diesel escort which never really felt like it was moving at all!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Jaysus lads, ye're awfully picky!