Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UEFA CUP Last 16

• 06-03-2008 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭

UEFA Cup
    18:00 Anderlecht vs Bayern Munich - Score Draw
    19:45 Fiorentina vs Everton -Score Draw
    19:45 Marseille vs Zenit St Petersburg - Marseille
    20:00 Bolton vs Sporting - Bolton [another smash and grab]
    20:00 Rangers vs Werder Bremen - Werder
    20:05 Bayer Leverkusen vs Hamburg - Leverkusen
    20:05 Tottenham vs PSV - Spurs
    20:30 Benfica vs Getafe - Benfica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

18:00 Anderlecht vs Bayern Munich - Munich (0-1)
    19:45 Fiorentina vs Everton -Fiorentina (1-0)
    19:45 Marseille vs Zenit St Petersburg - Marseille (2-0)
    20:00 Bolton vs Sporting - Draw (1-1)
    20:00 Rangers vs Werder Bremen - Rangers (2-1)
    20:05 Bayer Leverkusen vs Hamburg - Leverkusen (1-0)
    20:05 Tottenham vs PSV - Spurs (2-0)
    20:30 Benfica vs Getafe - Benfica (2-1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Munich will do a job on Anderlecht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

Anderlecht v Bayern Munich: 2-1 Bayern
    Fiorentina v Everton: 1-1
    Marseille v Zenit St Petersburg: 1-0 Marseille
    Bolton v Sporting Lisbon: 1-0 Sporting
    Rangers v Werder Bremen: 2-2
    Bayer Leverkusen v Hamburg: 2-1 Leverkusen
    Tottenham v PSV: 0-0
    Benfica v Getafe: 2-0 Benfica

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Trilla wrote: »
    Munich will do a job on Anderlecht

Yes, another awe-inspiring european performance from Anderlecht.
    4-0, and lucky to be nil. tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

dobsdave wrote: »
    Yes, another awe-inspiring european performance from Anderlecht.
    4-0, and lucky to be nil. tbh

Finished 5-0 . Why was it on so early?Though the Russian teams were pretty much the only ones who started early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DubDani

Because of TV rights. In germany they try to show as many UEFA cup games games as possible live. As Hamburg-Leverkusen and Glasgow-Breman are all on at 8 Bayern had to play at 6.

In the last round they managed to show 4 games one day live ... one after the other...from 4 pm to 1 am ...

Very good performance by Bayern. One of my favourites for the cup together with Hamburg and Tottenham.

DubDani wrote: »
    Because of TV rights. In germany they try to show as many UEFA cup games games as possible live. As Hamburg-Leverkusen and Glasgow-Breman are all on at 8 Bayern had to play at 6.

In the last round they managed to show 4 games one day live ... one after the other...from 4 pm to 1 am ....

(In Ronan Keating Voice) "Fair play"
    DubDani wrote: »
    Very good performance by Bayern. One of my favourites for the cup together with Hamburg and Tottenham.

TBH, based on performances so far this season in the EC I really cant see SPurs gettign past a decent team, never mind win it. Assuming they dont up their performance, Bayern would make **** of them.

Bolton 1 up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Spurs 1 down HT.

Keane nearly scored a pure genius goal just before the break...good save from the keeper.

1-0 Rangers HT

fairly even match with Cousin taking advantage of a feck up by the german goalie Weiss.

Were doing a fantastic job of neutralizing Diego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,346 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Who is this idiotic goalkeeper? Rangers are the jammiest team to hit the UEFA Cup :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Premiership teams are looking screwed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Stekelly wrote: »
    Finished 5-0 . Why was it on so early?Though the Russian teams were pretty much the only ones who started early.

Its done for German TV.They're showing Leverkusen and Hamburg now

Edit, Didn't see that it had been replied to already

Who is this idiotic goalkeeper? Rangers are the jammiest team to hit the UEFA Cup :D

Jammy or not, 2-0 against that lot is a cracking result.
    TBH im very impressed with the performance of the lads tonight, very organised and stopped their beter players from getting much of the ball

"Anti-Football" at its best!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Everton were really out-classed. That second Fiorentina goal was unbelievable, from build-up to finish. They really have it all to do in the second leg.

I only saw bits of the Spurs game, including the winning goal. Paul Robinson's blushes were well and truly saved at the end when he flapped a shot and Kronkamp headed in the rebound, but was offside. Bad night for the English teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,794 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I only saw bits of the Spurs game, including the winning goal

I saw most of it. Good game. Good football. Sportsmanship all 'round. Spurs were much better first half, especially the last 15 mins. Bad defence mistake led to Farfan brilliantly finishing off, so PSV leading at half time. Second half both had good performances and both teams had their chances. Keane could have made a legend goal. Spurs were never giving up but in the end they ran out of chances. PSV defence was cool and effective enough

Still - there's the return in a fortnight. Could go either way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Don't agree with Spurs being much better in the 1st half , they created very little and from start to finish PSV were by far the better team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

d22ontour wrote: »
    Don't agree with Spurs being much better in the 1st half , they created very little and from start to finish PSV were by far the better team.

+1 million.

Unkel, I'll have whatever you were drinking when you wrote that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

I think Rangers will win this competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Can't look past Munich for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

DSB wrote: »

as a great man/clown once said, i'll eat my hat in that happens ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

i think either Munich or Fiorentina will win it.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    as a great man/clown once said, i'll eat my hat in that happens ;)

as much as id love to be as confident, I'll eat Mr Alans hat if that happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

It's hard to look past Bayern Munich. Their squad is excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,794 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Mezcita wrote: »
    Unkel, I'll have whatever you were drinking when you wrote that.

I'm a PSV supporter. So maybe my post was a bit too objective in this country of premier league teams fans :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Just admit it. You LOVE Rangers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Ill be supporting Getafe, cannot believe they have gotten this far!!!

Its definitely Munich's to lose though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

eirebhoy wrote: »
    Just admit it. You LOVE Rangers. :D

Hahaha nah. If I had to pick a Scottish team it'd be Aberdeen. I've no interest in the league at all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Eirebear wrote: »
    as much as id love to be as confident, I'll eat Mr Alans hat if that happens!

and I'll chew on the seconds. Munich for me easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,082 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Munich are definately the favorites and deservedly so, but for a cheeky punt, Spurs are the way to go imo! Were second favorites before the PSV first leg at 11-2 on PP, now dropped to 12-1!!

A 1-0 sees them go to penalties in Holland and any other win sees them through straight away. Considering they had their chances at home, and are off the back of a very convincing win at the weekend, I recommend everyone to throw at least 2 euro's on them to win it outright!