Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords Test Routes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Rabbits

I think the testers in Sgs Swords,should take people up by Brackenstown,Swords Manor.Around airside,River valley,areas can be a total nightmare to do a driving test in rush hour traffic conditions.Anyone agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Doppelganger

I have my test there next week just wondering if people know of any other routes I could be taken on. Wasn't too nervous until I heard people failing.

This is my instructor www.asom.ie

(hope the lessons payoff)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭JD24

Apparently there are 9 routes you can be taken on. Not 100% sure about that but thats what I heard. I'd say it depends on what tester you get. Could even depend on the time of the day!

Rabbits - I have to say from my experience I found Christie Kane to be very good. Like i say thats just my experience.

ISM are also very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Doppelganger

Cheers, Im doin mine at 8.45am so if anyone else had it around that time feedback would be much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 mark08

I Fail In Swords As Well On My Test They Were So Quick I Was Only Out For About 23 Mins He Said I Was To Slow Of The Roundabout And He Fail Me All My Left Turns Aswell There Was So Many Pepole Doing There Test The Day In Was Like They Dont Care Cause There Was So Many Pepole They Can Pass Who They Want I Am Driveing 3 Years What More Do They Want For Us Any One Doing There Test Watch Out For The 5 Exit Roundabout Make You Go When You Get Chance To :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 mark08

Yes i know someone who failed their test last week in SGS Swords. They failed on lack of observation, right and left turns.
    There seems to be an unrealistic perception of SGS centres being easier to pass your test in but they are not. I have my test tomorrow morning in Swords and i have taken pre-test lessons as well as practising the routes in Boroimhe and River Valley but I am still anxious. Plus the person i know that failed in Swords found her tester to be very unfriendly so I wouldn't necessarily be going on the experience that other people are having in Swords. Good luck with your test.:)
    I FAIL ASWELL OUT IN SWORDS FOR LEFT AND RIGHT TURNS I DONT THINK ITS FAIR I NEVER BENN TO SWORDS IN MY LIFE BEFORE THE TEST WATCH OUT FOR THE 5 EXIT ROUNDABOUT MAKE SURE YOU GO WHILE YOU HAVE THE CHANCE MY TESTER WASNT NICE GOOD LUCK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

mark08 wrote: »
    I DONT THINK ITS FAIR I NEVER BENN TO SWORDS IN MY LIFE
    So you don't think it's fair that you were asked to drive somewhere that you've never been before!

If you passed the test would you only confine your driving to places that you've been before? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Snuggle Bunny

My friend has her test coming up in Swords early may and the route tips you've all given are fantastic, her instructor is Swords based as well and she said he's had her all over the place locally covering the routes you just dont know til the day what way they'll bring you fingers crossed and best of luck to everyone sittin the test!

I Fail In Swords As Well On My Test They Were So Quick I Was Only Out For About 23 Mins He Said I Was To Slow Of The Roundabout And He Fail Me All My Left Turns Aswell There Was So Many Pepole Doing There Test The Day In Was Like They Dont Care Cause There Was So Many Pepole They Can Pass Who They Want I Am Driveing 3 Years What More Do They Want For Us Any One Doing There Test Watch Out For The 5 Exit Roundabout Make You Go When You Get Chance To :mad:
    I FAIL ASWELL OUT IN SWORDS FOR LEFT AND RIGHT TURNS I DONT THINK ITS FAIR I NEVER BENN TO SWORDS IN MY LIFE BEFORE THE TEST WATCH OUT FOR THE 5 EXIT ROUNDABOUT MAKE SURE YOU GO WHILE YOU HAVE THE CHANCE MY TESTER WASNT NICE GOOD LUCK
    mark08 - please show a bit of respect to readers by using standard type when posting here. A bit of punctuation wouldn't go astray either! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭eddiem74

I didnt see Swords listed on the drivingtest.ie website ? Is it or if not where did you's apply too ?

eddiem74 wrote: »
    I didnt see Swords listed on the drivingtest.ie website ? Is it or if not where did you's apply too ?
    It's an SGS test centre and therefore you can't apply there directly. SGS are assigned a portion of the normal RSA applications. Those who have been assigned to SGS can then select the SGS centre of their choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 copakavana

Hey all, just thought id post a message here as I passed my test last friday. I found the test very straight forward and there was no surprises. I had been up in the swords area practicing a few times and I felt that really helped. Anyway I had route 3 (not sure how many routes they have in all?) I took a right turn out of airside, went straight up and passed the roundabout. Then a left sharp turn up a narrow road and into river valley. Here I did the reverse turn, hill start and turnabout. Then out into swords village and through about 4 roundabouts before I got back to airside. As far as I can remember that was the course anyway. It's a handy area really; you just need to practice in and around to get a feel for it. And then once you know all your basic driving skills you should be fine. Good luck to everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 higgins147

It's not essential you have to have been in an area before being able to pass a test.
    I had a pre test lesson the day before my test and the instructor told me he didn't want to bring me around Swords so I went everywhere but Swords for two hours. The point was that if your observations are ok you'll get by and it won't matter. Learning off one route only for the tester to bring you on a different one can throw you into a panic. There's really no need to know the specific housing estates you'll be driving around. Knowing some sections like moving into the left hand lane exiting Airside to go straight ahead will help but really I don't see why you need to know the area if your driving is spot on. You need to be aware there may be stop signs around at all junctions.

As for the 5 exit roundabout, did you not come onto this from the pavilions section ? It's a roundabout with traffic lights on it so not sure where you would have been caught out for not making progress.

Just take things easy and keep looking around for those signs!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Angelica13

Any tips on how to avoid getting marks under heading "make proper use of"
    1.the footbrake
    2.the clutch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 copakavana

No I wouldn’t say it is essential to have been in the area before the test but it does help. However it is more important to know how to drive properly before you do anything else. I drove around the swords area a few times just to get a feel for the place, I really thought it helped as I felt more prepared and it put me at ease. I knew before hand there were many different routes so I tried not to learn off any in particular. It helped with stop signs, changing lanes and roundabout exits.

Angelica, the best advice I can give you in regards to the foot break and hand break is:
    1. Only use the clutch when changing gears
    2. Do not use the clutch for taking corners; make sure you are in second gear on the approach
    3. When coming to a halt, break slowly and then press your clutch down together with the break just as you need to stop
    4. Never coast, you will gain faults otherwise

Hope that helps

Thanks Copakavana. I think that I am just starting to question everything now. I should have passed my test the last time. It was silly things like brake, clutch etc that let me down. I only got one mark for my actual driving. Hopefully this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Oshie

Thanks for all the messages posted in this thread. Had my test yesterday and passed. Delighted. Was taken on route one. Left at stop sign out of motor park. Down to lights, straight across road, first right at yellow junction box. First turn right in that estate. Straight down to end of cul de sac and reverse into the last left hand turn. Back out of estate and right hand turn at lights. Watch that junction. You have right of way at the full green light, no need to wait for filter. Was faulted for that. Straight down a little on this road with ramps, left at some point up a hill to do hill start and turnabout. Back out of this road and left up to traffic lights. Take a left at this point and brings you up to the Lord Mayor Pub. Left at these lights onto the main street in Swords. Right at lights after Garda station. Left at Pavillions roundabout. Right off the Malahide road roundabout. Left off the next roundabout. Right off the next roundabout. And back up to test centre. I drove the routes posted on this board every day for the past two weeks. Also practised parking around the test centre as parking is quite tight.
    Good luck to everyone doing the test, and stay confident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 trish1211

hi i did my test on friday 18th april and passed ,it was my second time round to do it and i would highly recommend sgs ,its a pity we cant book them direct but then again typical of ireland ,i just wanted to say thanks to the lads in sgs who have brilliant sense of humour but professional when doing the test ,i was put at ease straight away ,test route was handy enough rivervalley area ,just one thing before i go for the 2 testers who read this board :) keep up the good work lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 emma27

did my test yesterday in swords and passed . The tester was sound and made me feel really at ease from the minute it started. There all lovely in there. taken on route one. For anyone else doing tests there soon....They have taken a few people around holywell which is right out of airside and right at next roundabout. And another is up to ridgewood. Best advice is get pretests around the area and go out yourself as many times as you can before your test. no matter how good a driver you may think you are or how many years driving. I thought I was grand until I took pretests and he gave me 32 marks on my first run. bad habts or what! Obviously he was exaggerating but it all payed off. I would recommend him. Name is Michael Whelan. Approved Driving School Of Motoring. <SNIP>.

Well had my test on Friday............

and passed :D I'm delighted :D

Was brought on Route 1 - through Boroimhe. Was pretty straight forward and the tester was clear and precise. Would like especially to thank the arrogant a*shole who beeped me at the traffic lights at the roundabout for not moving fast enoughtafter the light went green (1 second to be precise! :mad:) and also to the truck driver in the wrong lane. If I wasnt such a good driver there could have been a crash ;)

Anyway thanks to everyone who posted on this thread. I found it to be of great help and hope it helps anyone else doing their test in Swords. :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Lady

Hey had my test in Swords today and Passed!! :D I'm so happy cause it was my 3rd attempt :/

I had route 1, took a right into first little cul de sac in Boroimhe to do reversing then back out and right and down to the lights right again down towards river valley, left into river valley then first right into housing area to do turnabout and signals, then came out went left and headed back to Swords village, out towards Pavilions then to roundabout and back up towards little chef, left there and back to centre.
    [hope that makes some sense :P]

Tester was really nice, made me feel at ease, gotta say it was a much nicer experiance then my two previous tries in Raheny tbh.

Good Luck to all doing there tests, Don't get down if you don't get it, just reapply asap and keep trying!! everyone gets there in the end :D

Passed my driving test in Swords today and absolutely delighted. Thanks to all that had previously posted details of their experience as it really helped. The guys in SGS Swords were lovely. I was extremely nervous but the tester really put me at ease. Plus my driving instructor Ian of Safety First Driving School in Baldoyle was super. Highly recommend him. Great personality which really helps.
    Good luck to all doing their test :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 trish1211

trish1211 wrote: »
    hi i did my test on friday 18th april and passed ,it was my second time round to do it and i would highly recommend sgs ,my test route was 4 left at little chef roundabout up to lights take a right down to next lights take a right down forrest road take a left at lights and in to rivervalley for the rest of the test back out at the top of borimnhe and straight through the lights to airside ,hope it helps someone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭goofygirl

just failed my test in swords this morning on grade 2 faults :( have to say that the testers were absolutely lovely though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

Passed in Swords today :D

Had a really nice tester he talked me through my bad points afterwards and gave really helpful advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Darcy Dougal

Oooh I have my test on Friday and I am dreading it! :eek: Not only is the pressure on from my family and friends but my instructor has been so supportive that I feel like I would be letting him down if I fail!
    I don't post regularly but I got the driving school (Driving Matters)details here so felt I should give some feedback. All went great with the lessons but sure I'll find out for sure how good they were on Friday when I either pass or fail :)
    Anyone elso doing their test in Swords on Friday? Good luck to all ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Nov2006

I passed mine there on Monday. The tester I got was lovely, really relaxed atmosphere and he really put my mind at ease. Nerves make you do stupid things (I make 2 silly mistakes) so try not to put yourself under too much pressure.
    Its great if you pass but if you dont you can drive home and do the test again a few weeks later.
    Good luck with it!

Thread merged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 auds08

Well done to all of you who have passes at Swords. I have my test in the morning (ahh!!) and was wonderinf if anyone has been asked to do the hand signals? Also, Nov2006 can you remember what route you were taken on last Monday? Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Ciaran1978

I passed in Swords on Tuesday - tester was good and seemed to be big on observation. Went into Boroimhe, took first turn right to do turnabout and reversing around corner. Back out to main road, took right up to the lights and down the back road into Swords. Then took a left and the next right out to the roundabout onto the dual carriageway. At the next roundabout we took a left back to come to the roundabout at the bottom of Airside business park and back up to the test centre.

Hope this helps someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭man1

Have my test in 3 weeks in Swords and was wondering if anyone knows any good instructor in the swords area?

I would highly recommend <SNIP> Driving School in Baldoyle. <SNIP>

<SNIP> He is based in Swords. Would highly recommend him, he knows all the Swords Routes. You'll find him in the Yellow Pages.
    Best of luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭man1

JD24 wrote: »

Rabbits - I have to say from my experience I found <SNIP> to be very good. Like i say thats just my experience.

ISM are also very good.

Can't find this guys number in the phone book or anywhere on the internet. Anyone know?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

right folks, test tomorrow and this is the only junction that has me worried, if you travel up main street towards penneys/lord mayors and you want to turn right at the lord mayors into rivervalley then there is 2 lanes set up.

its set up like follows:

there are 2 right turns,one after another, with a pub in the middle, its a single lane up to before the first turn where it splits into a right hand only and a straight only, yellow box over the junction of the first turn and then right hand only and straight only for the next turn to the right. I am worried that if i want to take the second right i cannot enter the lane before the first turn so if there is traffic waiting to take the second right then i will be obstucting the straight only lane. can i enter the previous right only lane, only problem here being that i would be obstructing people behind me wanting to turn into the first right.

if anyone can help it would be much appreciated

thanks

splinter wrote: »
    right folks, test tomorrow and this is the only junction that has me worried, if you travel up main street towards penneys/lord mayors and you want to turn right at the lord mayors into rivervalley then there is 2 lanes set up.

its set up like follows:

there are 2 right turns,one after another, with a pub in the middle, its a single lane up to before the first turn where it splits into a right hand only and a straight only, yellow box over the junction of the first turn and then right hand only and straight only for the next turn to the right. I am worried that if i want to take the second right i cannot enter the lane before the first turn so if there is traffic waiting to take the second right then i will be obstucting the straight only lane. can i enter the previous right only lane, only problem here being that i would be obstructing people behind me wanting to turn into the first right.

if anyone can help it would be much appreciated

thanks
    You are perfectly entitled to hold up the traffic behind you. It's no different from turning right on a narrow road. those behind you will have to wait.

PS - does the test route not go the other way? i.e. come up to the Lord Mayors from Rivervalley.

yes it does but a friend in work did an exact mirror of that route last week so just want to be sure myself :) i live in the area and drive that exact route to and from work each morning and afternoon :)

I'll be in Swords this afternoon and if i get a chance I'll take a spin up that way to check it out. It may have been relined since I was there last.

Thread merged.

thanks WBA :) much appreciated

splinter wrote:
    I am worried that if i want to take the second right i cannot enter the lane before the first turn so if there is traffic waiting to take the second right then i will be obstucting the straight only lane. can i enter the previous right only lane, only problem here being that i would be obstructing people behind me wanting to turn into the first right.
    Just to clarify - you must stay on the left lane until you approach the dedicated lane for the 2nd right hand turn. Don't enter the 1st turn lane as it is dedicated for the 1st turn only as, as far as I recall, there is a hatched area at the end of it.
    I'll be in Swords this afternoon and if i get a chance I'll take a spin up that way to check it out. It may have been relined since I was there last.
    I passed there this evening. It is perfectly acceptable to remain in the left lane until you can enter the dedicated turn lane. Those behind you must wait.

thanks for all the help WBA :) hope you didnt go out of your way to check.

off for the test soon so ill report back later at some stage :)

Mark

You are perfectly entitled to hold up the traffic behind you. It's no different from turning right on a narrow road. those behind you will have to wait.

PS - does the test route not go the other way? i.e. come up to the Lord Mayors from Rivervalley.
    just took my test :) passed it so well happy. and turned out i had to do this route wishbone :) but i got lucky and there was a spot in the correct lane for me to turn :)

/runs out of learning to drive forum screaming! :)

splinter wrote: »
    just took my test :) passed it so well happy. and turned out i had to do this route wishbone :) but i got lucky and there was a spot in the correct lane for me to turn :)

/runs out of learning to drive forum screaming! :)
    Congratulations! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭horseydevine

Howrya,

Did me test in the swords centre..flew thru it.. the route i was brought was left at the entrance to the car showrooms, thru the lights all the way upto boroimhe, first ryt in boroimhe and second left to do my reversing,(I had sum pensioner pull ou infront a me bu the instructor started laughin) up to the valley traffic lights at the hawthorns, left into the valley first ryt in rivervalley drive i tink, 3 point turn there then back into swords, onto dualer and into airside...

I got a pre test off <SNIP>, da lad was bang on n he's a local so knew the routes ttallyy....AND I PASSED!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Same route as i did back in march, bet you didnt have a garda car follow you, having been stopped by the driver before and him deciding wether to pull you or not lol

Luckily he didnt and we joke about it now lol

Congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭PCros

Passed the other day in Swords, route 3 I think. Instructor was very friendly and helpful.

Came out of the motor park and turned right down to the little chef roundabout then back up towards Boroimhe.
    Took a right into Boroimhe and then up to the shops and took another right down the forrest over the speed bumps. At the lights I took a left onto the rivervalley road.
    Then I took the second left up into the forrest fields road, did my turnabout on a slight hill. After that I drove back out on the the rivervally road took the next left onto the forrest park road and did reverse around the corner.
    After that I drove back onto the rivervally road kept going around the loop all the way back up to the Boroimhe/ Forrest road junction and continued straight through the lights all the way back over to Airside and back into the test centre.

Best of luck to all doing in it Swords.