Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The law and opening your bonnet

• 06-03-2008 8:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭

Stop last night for driving like a nutter ? Which I was not, because I was stopping at a red light they turned green and a white car shot by me it was stopped at the lights, then another red car behind me driving mad, the van pulled in and I was told this, I didn't start an argument.

Was just pondering what is the law with regards too the power of the gardai to inspect an engine bay ? I opened it for him nothing to hide, just wondering do they have the power too do this , without a search warrant or is it under the same heading as stop and search ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

And why wouldnt they...
    I know round home they've been pulling boy racers and checking for mods..
    We need more action like this to get the nutters off the roads...

Like you say yourself... who cares if there's nothing to hide ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

A cop has the right to request a visual check to see if a car is roadworthy and also if it is genuine, ie engine & chassis number or engine cc size which could require the bonnet to be lifted in most cars. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

bbam wrote: »
    And why wouldnt they...
    I know round home they've been pulling boy racers and checking for mods..
    We need more action like this to get the nutters off the roads...

Like you say yourself... who cares if there's nothing to hide ??

I should add... They've lifted 2 Glanzas which were imported as 1.3 Starlets..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I have a friend who was pulled in and searched 4 times in ONE week!!!
    First weeks drving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Plug wrote: »
    I have a friend who was pulled in and searched 4 times in ONE week!!!
    First weeks drving.

Sorry to hear plug, but I don't want a thread to start on pulling.

I had no problem showing him under the bonnet, but he asked what car it was, I said a mirage, he asked was it a mivec I said yes, cj4a, and he did not even check after that.

As I said in the post at the top, I was mistaking for another car, he should have been the one pulled over, as I even seen him in front and the lad behind racing up to the first set of lights. Case of wrong place wrong time.

And if you ask, yeah sure, I would never open a car up were I was pulled, because it is patroled quite alot. Not that I open it up, have not got 100's to spend on petrol per week.

Anyways, I take it they are aloud without reason to request to see the engine.

Oh yeah, and about that boy racer comment. Get over yourself, I was on my way to work, and was held up for 20 mins for something I had nothing to do with.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Cionád

msg11 wrote: »
    Oh yeah, and about that boy racer comment. Get over yourself, I was on my way to work, and was held up for 20 mins for something I had nothing to do with.

Take it easy, he didn't call you a boy racer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

if you have got something to hide just disconnect your bonnet pull cable...
    that'll stop them in their tracks

• Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

slideways wrote: »
    if you have got something to hide just disconnect your bonnet pull cable...
    that'll stop them in their tracks

:D because under the bonnet near the hot engine is the best place to hide things as well lol. no wonder they would look there :rolleyes:

if they dont fall out the heat might ruin them or you could even start a fire in there too although i would use the heater myself TBH :rolleyes:

D_murph wrote: »
    :D because under the bonnet near the hot engine is the best place to hide things as well lol. no wonder they would look there :rolleyes:

if they dont fall out the heat might ruin them or you could even start a fire in there too although i would use the heater myself TBH :rolleyes:
    I meant engine wise... thought this thread was about that... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

bbam wrote: »
    I should add... They've lifted 2 Glanzas which were imported as 1.3 Starlets..

Must be dumb asses down the VRT or else they were on the take, cops should be chasing the idiots who made this mistake.

I meant engine wise... thought this thread was about that... :confused:

i wasnt getting at you man ;)

defo need to get a sarcasm smiley face, it just doesnt travel well via the keyboard.. no worries :-)
    And for the record under the air filter is where i'd hide my 'stash'

defo need to get a sarcasm smiley face, it just doesnt travel well via the keyboard.. no worries :-)
    And for the record under the air filter is where i'd hide my 'stash'

cool ;):D

actually if you hold the mouse on the rolleyes smiley it comes up as sarcastic as well

lol at some of the stuff in the thread! Well you would be glad to know that I do not do any drugs. A few smokes, that is were I draw the line.

Sure I do not even have one of them induction pieces of **** in the engine bay, all stock !

Absolute glanza's, is that a turbo ? No , its a cold water feed for some drinks when I am driving ! Really is that why it says turbo on it ?

Actually, I think the car that was stopped with me was a GT turbo, as if I would be racing that !!! (The whole situation was totally shameful !)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Under qualifications does a Garda have, to tell you about your engine? Didn't know they spent a few weeks up in the FÁS centre learning the in's and outs of engine modification :D

Garda != Mechanic/Tuning specialist

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Under qualifications does a Garda have, to tell you about your engine? Didn't know they spent a few weeks up in the FÁS centre learning the in's and outs of engine modification :D

A couple of guys I know in the traffic corps would amaze you with their mechanical knowledge, but they're lads who've always been into their cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

I don't get it - Gardai are as human as anyone else and just as likely to have other interests, including motors.

The only reason they ask to look into a car further at the side of the road is if they suspect a car to be something it's not declared/insured/taxed as - Starlet GT/Glanza V/Mivec Colt's, Mirage's, Lancer's/Skyline's/Sylvia's the list is endless..

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Fey! wrote: »
    A couple of guys I know in the traffic corps would amaze you with their mechanical knowledge, but they're lads who've always been into their cars.
    ciarsd wrote: »
    I don't get it - Gardai are as human as anyone else and just as likely to have other interests, including motors.

The only reason they ask to look into a car further at the side of the road is if they suspect a car to be something it's not declared/insured/taxed as - Starlet GT/Glanza V/Mivec Colt's, Mirage's, Lancer's/Skyline's/Sylvia's the list is endless..

I'm not for 1 second that a Garda standing in front of me is of less mechanical knowledge than me, my question is, where in his job description does it say he has the right to inspect a cars structure/engine?

I know plenty about mechanics - Doesn't give me the right to evaluate someones car. I know a bit about the law too - but that doesn't make me a solicitor. Infact I know a bit about boats - Does that make me a Captain, yarrr!? :D

Isin't there a special (PSV or something??) officer whose job it is to inspect cars? If a Guard deems a car suspicious, imho his only right/opinion is to have the car seized for inspection by a professional. I guess in a way it's better to just lift the bonnet, let the guard have a lookski and be on your merry way

I'll never forget the guy who owned my EVO before me. It's not a loud exhaust but has anti-lag so pops like a bitch. Guard one day (being sound) wanted to see how loud the exhaust was. So the (then) owner revved her up, Guard was satisfied that the exhaust itself wasnt loud. Before he got a chance to walk away... BANG... Owner had revved it in such a way that it'd make max BANG... cheeky fecker. Guard laughed it off and sent him on his way. True story, my brain isint creative enough to make it up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

in some parts of Alabama, a cop asking you to look under your bonnet, would have me worried...I think you got off lightly :D

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Churchy

A "friend" of mine used to run around with air horns under his bonnet.

Cops pulled him over and looked under the bonnet , made him disconnect them as they were a nuisance.

Good call I thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

I'm not for 1 second that a Garda standing in front of me is of less mechanical knowledge than me, my question is, where in his job description does it say he has the right to inspect a cars structure/engine?

I wasn't suggesting that - just making a point..

Gardai can examine a car if they deem it to be a liability on the road or if they have suspicion that the car is not what it says on the ownership docs (i.e. the previously listed cars).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Guys, at the end of the day, there are levels of knowledge regarding evidence in a court case. The Garda that has peered under your bonnet may be an enthusiast, but they would be torn to bits by an Expert Witness in a court room.

Hate to shatter illusions here but being up to speed with the latest mod is piss poor when you're confronted with an engineer who bases his testimony on proven research...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

And the guard just happens to have all the ownership, tax & insurance details in his ass pocket for each car he looks at?
    How's he going to tell if the car is "as declared" or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

because the car is in a public place no warrant is needed to look in the glove box , under the seat or under th bonnet, A garda is also entitled to inspect the car , and if on his inspection he deems that the car is unroadworthy etc, he can impound the car so that it can be inspected further by a PSV person.

end.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

pa990 wrote: »
    because the car is in a public place no warrant is needed to look in the glove box , under the seat or under th bonnet, A garda is also entitled to inspect the car , and if on his inspection he deems that the car is unroadworthy etc
    AFAIK Guard has to have "formed an opinion" that there is reason to inspect the vehicle. i.e. has reasonable cause to suspect there's something amiss. Driver wearing a chav cap and a loud exhaust would prob not pass as evidence in court.
    he can impound the car so that it can be inspected further by a PSV person.

What has a Taxi inspector got to do with this?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

You'd think the Gardai have better things to do than be looking under people's bonnets. It's all about revenue collection ya know :rolleyes:

True nothing to worrie about as I said !!

Another question !!

As he asked me too open the bonnet and he did not look under as I said, but the bonnet was open .

And say I was driving down the road and the bonnet blew off the car, causing an accident.

Who is liable for the damage ? Me or the Garda ?

I have an idea that it is me who is liable .

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭SomeDose

because the car is in a public place no warrant is needed to look in the glove box , under the seat or under th bonnet, A garda is also entitled to inspect the car , and if on his inspection he deems that the car is unroadworthy etc, he can impound the car so that it can be inspected further by a PSV person.

end.

Not true. A garda cannot search a car without a warrant unless they suspect it's specifically in relation to an offence under the Misuse of Drugs Act, Offences against the State Act or certain parts of the Criminal Law Act. They may stop and inspect a vehicle (for such things as insurance, tax and roadworthiness etc) under the Road Traffic Act but I very much doubt they could get away with using that excuse to search inside a car. I suspect having a look under the bonnet could easily be justified as a roadworthiness inspection, however.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    Must be dumb asses down the VRT or else they were on the take, cops should be chasing the idiots who made this mistake.
    Do you really believe this is the more likely scenario?
    SomeDose wrote: »
    Not true. A garda cannot search a car without a warrant unless they suspect it's specifically in relation to an offence under the Misuse of Drugs Act, Offences against the State Act or certain parts of the Criminal Law Act. They may stop and inspect a vehicle (for such things as insurance, tax and roadworthiness etc) under the Road Traffic Act but I very much doubt they could get away with using that excuse to search inside a car. I suspect having a look under the bonnet could easily be justified as a roadworthiness inspection, however.
    A warrant will allow the gardai demand to view the engine or whatever, i.e. it gives them the right. In the OPs case they asked if they could look under the bonnet and he allowed them to!

Well if I had of said no at the time he would have taking the car off me, anyway nothing to hide go ahead and look