Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top 5 turn offs + ons. men/women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

Oooh, just stumbled on this thread, excellent talking point OP, I'm learning that some of the things I don't like about myself are in fact likeable by others (and some are disliked, obv, but hey, glass half full).

I'm female.

Turn-offs:
    1. Long hair, esp if its irritatingly in-between (not hardcore metal long!) and styled.
    2. Guys who are incredibly slow to text back even though they like you, or who text back and don't carry the conversation, one word texts etc.
    3. Too much body hair, especially on chest. And I'm talking comb-able here.
    4. Guys who are too loud and crude.
    5. Guys shorter than me (I'm about 5'9" and I want to wear heels!)

Turn-ons:
    1. Strong arms that could keep me safe.
    2. Brown eyes, or piercing blue.
    3. A nice tan, natural of course.
    4. Chivalrous and slightly traditional (ladies first, pays for dinner most of the time) but only to a reasonable expectation.
    5. Any guy that gets to kiss me and kisses my neck *knees buckle* - love that! :o

Question - is it wrong if a girl who smokes occasionally doesn't really like guys who smoke? Hypocritical? Or fair enough?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

dee8839 wrote: »

Question - is it wrong if a girl who smokes occasionally doesn't really like guys who smoke? Hypocritical? Or fair enough?

:(

Why are 90% of you off your fcuking rocker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

kowloon wrote: »
    I think that it's just as valid to judge someone by their accent as by the colour of their hair. Are you saying it's not okay to find an accent unattractive?

No, but I do think it's not ok to judge people based on one description (D4) and take an instant dislike to them as a result.
    Serenacat clearly does not think it's fair to judge a D4 accent (is there actually such a thing?). I don't either, but it holes the argument.

Meh..
    I do hate stereotypes, it's true, I will never defend a stereotype or anyone who goes out of their way to fit into one be it D4 or otherwise.

Really....? Cos this is what you said.
    You're not doing much for the D4 stereotype, shallow and double standards have been ticked; the list is nearing completion .
    What's your agenda?

Fed up of bullshít.

Now there's another reason why I want to be Kate Bush when I grow up.......

• Registered Users Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Fed up of bullshít.

Me too, I do, however, enjoy going against the grain on occasion.

No, but I do think it's not ok to judge people based on one description (D4) and take an instant dislike to them as a result.

Oh but it is.

I'm male:

In no particular order:

Turn offs:

1 - Drama queens, u know the type thatll run away and lock themselves in a room and refuse to come out......
    2 - Smokers
    3 - self absorbed
    4 - any girl who thinks people like Paris Hilton are rolemodels
    5 - Too clingy/Too distant - somewhere in the middle

Turn Ons:

1 - Doesnt take herself too seriously, up for the craic!
    2 - Eyes / Back dimples!! (goddammit!) and legs (all 3, yes Im a sawallow bastard, sue me!)
    3 - Understands that the world doesnt revolve around her and as such wont get pissed off at me for going about my routine!
    4 - Friendly / easy to get on with
    5 - Similar interets (not too similar tho!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

IvaBigWun wrote: »

Why are 90% of you off your fcuking rocker?

Charming. :(

I'll have you know it was a question based entirely on the drivel I hear in the lunch room at work.

I think its mental.

Looking through the older posts, you don't seem to be so entirely sane that you can be judging the rest of us, but then, who among us is??! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

turn offs:
    1. a guy being too clingy
    2. jealousy - i want to be able to hang out with my friends without getting the third degree from a guy
    3. spitting
    4. really tall guys - im only 5ft4!
    5. manky shoes

turn ons:
    1. dark hair
    2. lip piercings... mmm
    3. sense of humour
    4. being easygoing and up for anything
    5. similar interests

Number 1 biggest turn on in the world ever:

Is willing to kill any number of spiders for me under any circumstances at all whatsoever always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Number 1 biggest turn on in the world ever:

Is willing to kill any number of spiders for me under any circumstances at all whatsoever always.

Hi there :p

I'm male

Top 5 turn offs:
    1. Frequent heavy smoker
    2. Agressive drunk
    3. Try and play hard to get when you're WITH them..
    4. Too posh
    5. Try and make you jealous on purpose

Top 5 turn ons:
    1: Brunette hair with blonde highlights..aww...
    2. Girls that don't mind meeting up wearing just casual tracksuits and hoodies..or whatever like that.. love it.
    3. Smallish girls..dunno why?
    4. Girls that like to have FUN and don't care what people think..
    5. A girl that meets all of the above?

If you have number 5, I'd marry you in an instant :P

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Hi there :p

I'm male

Top 5 turn offs:
    1. Frequent heavy smoker
    2. Agressive drunk
    3. Try and play hard to get when you're WITH them..
    4. Too posh
    5. Try and make you jealous on purpose

Top 5 turn ons:
    1: Brunette hair with blonde highlights..aww...
    2. Girls that don't mind meeting up wearing just casual tracksuits and hoodies..or whatever like that.. love it.
    3. Smallish girls..dunno why?
    4. Girls that like to have FUN and don't care what people think..
    5. A girl that meets all of the above?

If you have number 5, I'd marry you in an instant :P

If only I was number 3 (5'7'' is a bit tall), then I'd have someone to save me from the spidies.....

Ah it's all about compromising :pac:

Charming. :(

I'll have you know it was a question based entirely on the drivel I hear in the lunch room at work.

Based entirely on drivel that you form into an opinion of your own. I take it you read Heat magazine etc too? :o

I think its mental.

I think you're mental.
    Looking through the older posts, you don't seem to be so entirely sane that you can be judging the rest of us, but then, who among us is??! :o

Im guessing we can safely say not you :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 NudeastheNews

im a laydeee

turn ons:
    longISH hair (like floppy... not longer than mine or anything)
    bit of a belly... no muscle man for me please!
    funny/witty
    drinker
    good at the sex (obviosuly...)

turn offs
    stupid
    bad hygeine
    boring
    cheesy
    arrogant
    sheep like

im a laydeee

turn ons:

bit of a belly... no muscle man for me please!

gold star for that lady!

no belly here but that was still a refreshing comment. you cant be Irish NudeastheNews :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 NudeastheNews

i am Irish! I just think bellies are cute....

but that's not saying i'd like a big 40 stone beast with bigger boobies than me!! :eek:.. jaysus! A nice middle ground is good :D

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Ah it's all about compromising :pac:

So if I stoop a little you'll save me from the spiders?

No stooping neccesary :o

5'7 is grand!
    As long as ya don't wear heels bigger than 5 inches we're good to go :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

They're Going To The Chapel And They're Gonna Get Married.....:pac:

This really is the best day of my life....*dramatic tear*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 charlike

I'm a girl....

Turn Offs:

- Scumbags with modified cars
    - Commitment phobes
    - Players
    - Lads that are too tall (Over 6")
    - Long hair
    - Dublin accents (Both North and South side...)

Turn Ons:
    - Hair long enough to run your fingers through it
    - Big brown/blue eyes
    - Mild country accents (Understandable!)
    - Sporty lads
    - Intellegence
    - Shortish lads (just not shorter than me)
    - Confidence without being cocky

I'm female.. so guys, pay attention.

Turn-ons:
    Nice hair.. long-ish.
    Piercings.. hmmmm
    Tall!!
    Can make me laugh.
    Good teeth.
    A northern/scottish accent is always a plus. :D

Turn offs
    Bad kissers.
    Arrogant bastards.
    Scummers.
    Body hair = vom.
    Full of ****.

oooh i shoulda put north dublin accents top of my turn ons list... yummmmm :D

Oh jeeeze.

Oh jeeeze.

haha :pac: yeah its a bit weird, i dont like total scummers or anything! just nice boys with a good dub accent :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I'm female.. so guys, pay attention.

Turn-ons:
    Nice hair.. long-ish.
    Piercings.. hmmmm
    Tall!!
    Can make me laugh.
    Good teeth.
    A northern/scottish accent is always a plus. :D

Turn offs
    Bad kissers.
    Arrogant bastards.
    Scummers.
    Body hair = vom.
    Full of ****.

Are victims of assault excluded from this?

I'm seriously screwed (or not as the case may be) until I get several grands worth of dental work done :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

I'm a guy.

Turn On's:
    Similar open personality

Good sense of humour and someone who gets mine!

A nice smile and loads of eye contact. Holy **** thats deadly.

Good hygiene (and I'm talkin about body odour of all types girls)

Good looks. Particularly the face, seems to be what I notice first.

Turn Off's:
    Typical loud bitchy girly girls

If ya dont wash yerself, dont come near me.

Self involved girls. Me-Me-Me syndrome.

Chicks who think Eva Longoria's dress at the Grammy's is a good choice of conversation when your out for a drink.

Slutty, easy girls. - I have lots of female mates who openly admit they love sex as much as the seterotypical man does, but at the same time they have self resepct and arent going to screw the first A. Anybody that walks into their pants. Have some respect for yerselves girls!

- And wash yer gee.

Stephen90 wrote: »

- And wash yer gee.

Sorry, but he has to be used >>>>> :rolleyes: