Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top 5 turn offs + ons. men/women

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Moonbaby wrote: »
    You mean 7 year olds don't turn you on?

You joke, but there are a lot of short 21 year olds. Just not a fan of short people, shallow ofc but what ya going to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭BubbleWrap85

NEXT! :pac::pac:

Shurrup :P
    Forgot to add suits to my list of turn ons. Man that's hot. A man in a suit. Or a garda uniform. Jeezus am I gonnan be identified now!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Bijoux

I'm 19 and female:

Turn offs:
    1. Stupidity.
    2. Bad teeth
    3. When a dude is shorter than me (just aint practical if u wear high shoes)
    4. Bad breath...omg like!
    5. Spitting on the ground....what's the DEAL like?

Turn ons: :D
    1. Intelligence.
    2. Nerdiness.
    3. Pinstripe suits :D
    4. Glasses
    5. Wittiness :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm 22 & Female
    +
    Doesn't admit when I'm right [which is a high percentage of the time!]
    How do you square those two opposing points....:D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

im 24 male(and single lol)

turn ons
    1.short skirt
    2.big tits
    3.nice smell
    4.humourous
    5.horny

turn offs
    1.a girl who has to be around you every minute
    2.ginger
    3.tall
    4.a stupid laugh
    5.girl who snores

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Im a male, 24,

Turn Offs:
    Too much fake tan
    Mind Games
    Too skinny
    Pretentious
    Taller than me

Turn Ons:
    A nice ass ;)
    Dresses well
    Good sense of Humour
    Intelligence
    Open minded

Wibbs wrote: »
    +
    How do you square those two opposing points....:D

Hahahaha!! One word - awesome!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

25 year old male

Turn ons:
    1. Hair colour that can't occur naturally; e.g. pink, green, blue, violet, crimson.
    2. Warm, friendly personality.
    3. Quick to laugh with a similar sense of humour to my own.
    4. Intelligent (knowledgible doesn't equal intelligent).
    5. Confident.

Turn offs:
    1. Over reliance on cosmetics, whether it be hiding behind make-up or fake tan.
    2. Bad BO or excessive use of perfume.
    3. Ditsy Blonde type personallity.
    4. Significantly obese, a little overweight is ok, if you have to sit down to catch your breath after running up the stairs it's not and you're not healthy.
    5. Prone to nagging, a little bit is ok, doing it on a daily basis on whatever pops into your head is not.

Note that some turn-offs can be ignored if there are sufficient turn-ons in play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

18 years young. Male.

*I'll edit this down. I wrote a novel the first time.

Nein Danke:

Constant bad language.
    Girls in mini-skirts in the middle of winter
    BAD TASTE IN MUSIC
    Racism/General Dodgey Ways
    Shamrock Rovers supporters
    Give-it-away-nows: I went to school with some very nice girls who would 'introduce' themselves to four or five blokes at least on a night out. Not good really.

Yes please:

Cute girls
    A Sense of humour
    Good taste in music
    Nice/ Individual style
    Intelligent
    Romantics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Disco Stu

31 male

Turn ons:
    Confidence
    Nice smile
    Intelligent
    Bit wild and outgoing
    Don't realise or don't act as if they know how good looking they are!

Turn offs:
    Over reliance on make-up
    Needy
    Up their own arse
    Hair... on head is good... that is all ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Bijoux wrote: »

Turn ons: :D
    1. Intelligence.
    2. Nerdiness.
    3. Pinstripe suits :D
    4. Glasses
    5. Wittiness :D

"Everyone on earth thinking one thought, one word, one name. Doctor."

• Registered Users Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

"Everyone on earth thinking one thought, one word, one name. Doctor."

More like The Doctor:

http://thegrumpyowl.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/doctor_who___david_tennant_by_jennicat5.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

I was trying to quote a Doctor Who episode. I guess I messed it up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 eoinmaclove

30yo guy

turn offs:
    bad taste in fasion/music/food etc
    too skinny (anything under size 10 is a no-no)
    clingy/lack of independence
    bad skin/general lack of hygiene
    unadventurous in the leaba

turn ons:
    vivacious & witty
    not too full of herself
    nice body, curves in right places
    openminded in all things carnal
    emotionally strong

(an occasional smoker would be a bonus, not a chain-smoker, but someone who enjoys 1 or 2 with a drink. I don't smoke btw)

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭stevelknievel

I'm a 23 year old male

Turn offs:

1) Short hair (I've had arguments about this)
    2) Smokers
    3) Tall women (taller than me)
    4) Women who have to pull their head outta their arses before you can have a chat with them
    5) Too much make-up/fake tan/ sluttly clothes etc(attention seekers basically)

Turn ons:

1) Long hair
    2) Curvy
    3) Dark hair/eyes
    4) Modesty (Hard to find. Sickening amount of women with bullsh!t better-than-you-cos-I-got-big-tits atitudes out there)
    5) Nice smile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Im 18, male. Im not even going to say 5. These are make or break issues:

Turn Off - smokers - wouldnt go near them.

Turn On - nice chatty personality

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

R0ot wrote: »
    Male:

Ons -
    1. Knee High Socks (/me melts)

+ infinity.

Instant big wan :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

I'm 22 & Female

TURN OFFS:

5. Doesn't admit when I'm right [which is a high percentage of the time!]

Single much?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭GrumPy

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Single much?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭tritium

Male in 30's

Offs

1.) Fake Tan orangeness
    2.) Up their own rear end spoilt princesses
    3.) Dislike closeness
    4.) Self obsessed and narcissistic
    5.) No ambition
    6.) Lazy
    7.) Not too bright

On's
    1.) Good smile
    2.) Tactile
    3.) Confident without being dismissive or haughty
    4.) Intelligent
    5.) Experiments
    6.) Knows how to laugh
    7.) Loves cuddles :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

tritium wrote: »

5.) Experiments

elaborate

• Registered Users Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

21 year old lad.

Turn offs:

1) Orange people.
    2) Arrogant spoiled little girls.
    3) Shallow, self-obsessed types, who care more about image than anything else.

Turn ons:

1) Sense of humour
    2) People who are true to themselves.
    3) Girls who like the same music and stuff.
    4) Nice smile.
    5) Short hair. Don;t mind long hair on girls, but I love short spiky hair. Damn my ex. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

Short hair. Don;t mind long hair on girls, but I love short spiky hair.
    Respect.

What turns me on in men and women:

1. Boyishness, but never manliness.
    2. Intelligence. I'm a sucker for the bookworm/arty farty types.
    3. Passion for something, be it a hobby, music, whatever.
    4. Someone who has something to teach me, or interesting people to introduce me to. (I would love a photographer OH to teach me a thing or two)
    5. Easy going, down to earth people.
    6. A sense of adventure, willingness to go off the beaten trail when travelling.
    7: Quirky sense of humour.
    8: Someone who's happy to go to gigs or splodge on the couch and watch some films.

What turns me off in men and women:

1: Someone who spends a load of money and time on their makeup/hair.
    2: Clinginess, reliance on me.
    3: Bitchiness! Is there anything worse?
    4: Unwillingness to listen to the other side of a debate.
    5: Religiousness.
    6:Racism, sexism, homophobia.
    7: No sense of humour.

...Think that's it.

Oh, I'm female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

I'm 25 yo female.

Turn Offs:
    - Takes life too seriously, i.e. the kind that goes away to "find themselves"
    - Uncaring
    - Doesn't read
    - Egotistical
    - Long hair - blurghhhh
    - Cowardice

Turn Ons:
    - Good and sick sense of humour
    - Not afraid to stand up for themselves and others when required
    - Intelligent
    - Likes closeness
    - Knows how to handle himself when/where it matters

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

22 Male

Turn offs:
    1. Loud mouths
    2. Stuck upness. Just thinking you are all it.
    3. Too much makeup
    4. really short hair
    5. Massive jewellery

Turn ons.
    1. Nice voice
    2. Hair
    3. Smile and laugh
    4. Dress sense. I like girls who dress casual and look good in a proper dress too.
    5. Personality. Good sense of humour and wit can win me over at the best of times.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

- Long hair - blurghhhh

Another woman to strike off the list...

*Swings long lucious locks around L'Oriel style, and cuts BroomBurner a very evil eye*

Damn right it's worth it. My hair's not too long, but longer than most. ;)

I forgot to list intelligence... I could never be with someone whose not smart. :)

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Single much?
    Lol I was kidding :) I'm just stubborn :P I won't argue unless I know I'm right! Other than that I'd probably settle! :)

I love stubborn... Right up until the moment they get some mad idea into their heads about you... :rolleyes::P

Lol apparently I'm fair ugly anyway, or must be, as I joined a dating website, according to some people, so I'd say there's no hope of me turning anyone on unless I'm wearing a paper bag on my head! [And a black bag over the body!] lol but if you like the stubborn look.......... ;)