Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FA Cup Quarter Finals (8th/9th March)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Stiill a peno, almost defo a red card, not 100% sure about that though. He did have two defenders behind him.

This is an absolutely shocking result, its unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,082 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Yeah, with his head... :rolleyes:

could have been with his lad and would still have been a pen.

baros went down easy, but who doesn't these days

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Davei141 wrote: »
    Your point?
    My point is that baros left his leg there and it hit Kuszczak in the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Unearthly wrote: »
    Man Utd invented diving? :D

OK, maybe not invented it, but they certainly perfected it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,707 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Unearthly wrote: »
    Man Utd invented diving? :D

Beaten to it by Fratton Fred

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

PORNAPSTER wrote: »

agree with that, he could have stayed up but chose to go down, tbh he knew he would miss if he stayed up.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

PORNAPSTER wrote: »

So it should of been a free out according to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,707 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Thats it Baros, park her up in the corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

What the hell was Nani playing at there? Few options to pass to yet he decides to run into two defenders.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Davei141 wrote: »
    So it should of been a free out according to you?
    No, where did I say that. Don't twist my words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

well played portsmouth

kdjac

Utterly gobsmacked, Fergies gona go nuts at the ref for not giving Ronaldo a penalty, stil United only have themselves to blame.

Chelsea have won the FA Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Nothing God-like about Anderson in the last ten minutes. One shot from a stupid angle, another awful shot, a terrible pass that gave Pompey a chance to waste another 30 seconds and a poor tackle that wasted even more time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

smart money's on barnsley :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

KdjaCL wrote: »
    well played portsmouth
    kdjac

what exactly did they play? 10 men behind the ball and a poxy penatly that IMO was as dodgy as they come. as to how anybody can say that a man can foul somebody with his head is beyond belief. Kuz was wide open and baros ran into him.what a pathetic display from martin atkinson, he didnt give united a penalty, constantly got decisions wrong and then gets the biggest one wrong. It was not a penalty, barras ran in to his head and fell over. it was the most unbelieveable game of the season. it could have been 4 or 5 nil to united. it was one of the most one side games i have seen, as to how united didnt score, i will never never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Ronaldo's dive against Derby and other silly dives cost him today and cost united imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

smart money's on barnsley :D
    Surely the smart money is on Pompy after today! Unbelievable result. It was a defo peno too, no way a red card though as the TK wasnt the last man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

A penalty for Baros kneeing keeper in the face and taking a dive? ;)

Well done Pompey and the Ref.

what exactly did they play? 10 men behind the ball and a poxy penatly that IMO was as dodgy as they come. as to how anybody can say that a man can foul somebody with his head is beyond belief. Kuz was wide open and baros ran into him.what a pathetic display from martin atkinson, he didnt give united a penalty, constantly got decisions wrong and then gets the biggest one wrong. It was not a penalty, barras ran in to his head and fell over. it was the most unbelieveable game of the season. it could have been 4 or 5 nil to united. it was one of the most one side games i have seen, as to how united didnt score, i will never never know.

It was a peno, it wasn't a red card though.

Ah lads seriously, I agree the ref robbed United with not giving a penalty to Utd and Sending the keeper off but seriously how can anyone say that it wasn't a penalty for pompey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,082 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

thoroughly enjoyable game to watch.

imo def pen anyway, he dived in for the ball, he didn't get it, he made contact with baros. Baros went down easy but the contact was there. doesn't matter in the slightest what part of Tom K made contact.

Red card definately looked harsh though, with cover arriving behind him.

Not a great performance by the ref, and United have every right to feel aggrieved for the pen he didn't give earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    It was a peno, it wasn't a red card though.

so u almost kick a keeper in the head and its a penalty? watch the replay from behind the goal, it was a dive.

LOL kick a kepper in the head lol, he was running away from the keeper the keeper dived at his feet and took him down, you'd swear Baros had jumped 5 foot in the air and kicked the keeper in the head, seriously your post is laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

That was one of those games that we were never meant to win. After the 70 minute anslaught with no goal, i couldn't help but smile when the peno was given and rio went in goals.
    There was only gonna be one winner today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Delighted with that. Well done Pompey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Bitter much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Go on the Pompey! Fantastic result

so u almost kick a keeper in the head and its a penalty? watch the replay from behind the goal, it was a dive.

I think we'll have to agree to disagree on this one. Baros did go down too easy but it was a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Villain wrote: »
    Ah lads seriously, I agree the ref robbed United with not giving a penalty to Utd and Sending the keeper off but seriously how can anyone say that it wasn't a penalty for pompey
    +1. It was a defo peno, TK didnt get the ball and he made contact with Baros, doesnt matter if it he made contact with his head, knee, shoulder or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Jesus Christ will you just face up to losing the game?
    They defended well and yes got the luck that's needed to play United.
    However to say that is wasn't a penalty is madness. It's a stone wall penalty but it isn't a red card.

Man just take the loss and move on to the other cups which are more important to yous than the FA Cup.

no matter what angle you watch it from it wasnt a dive. "going down easy" is about the worst you can accuse baros of.

homerjay, take off your united jersey for a mement and watch the replay again. tough luck on united but these things happen, thats why its the best game on the planet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

OH give it up will you. Sour grapes. They did a job and they got the result.
    Thats football!!

Villain wrote: »
    Ronaldo's dive against Derby and other silly dives cost him today and cost united imo

I agree. I hope he learns from that. Dives like that don't help in the long run.

I think if he stops Baros in any way, it's a straight penalty. Still not sure about the red card though, I don't know what the rules are exactly. There were 2 men behind him, does that count, or is it diff cause hes a keeper?

Nonetheless, United brought it on themselves. I don't think anybody would claim that Pompey deserved to win that game, but United had plenty of chances to finish it off and shouldn't leave these things to luck. Nonetheless, the important thing was that this result was in the Cup and not the league. Still would rather to reverse the results we had with Spurs between the league and the Cup.

Chelsea have pretty much won this cup, but the most interesting thing about this game, is that 6th place in the league now probably won't get a UEFA Cup spot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

PHB wrote: »
    Still not sure about the red card though, I don't know what the rules are exactly. There were 2 men behind him, does that count, or is it diff cause hes a keeper?

There's two rules really. It's last man but it can also be interpreted as stopping a direct goalscoring opportunity AFAIK.

Yous were very unlucky to have him sent off for that and not have John O'Shea on the pitch either:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Well done Pompey.

Nice.

Congratulations Baros!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

what exactly did they play? 10 men behind the ball and a poxy penatly that IMO was as dodgy as they come. as to how anybody can say that a man can foul somebody with his head is beyond belief.

Hmm, I distinctly remember Zinedine Zidane being giving his marching orders in a World Cup Final for something about fouling with his head, I can't quite remember...:p

On the game; Pompey put in an excellent defensive display away from home today. Granted they rode their luck at times but in fairness they dug in and sneaked a goal. A legimate penalty too, Baros could definitely have stayed on his feet though. Harsh red card. United had a very good team out there today too. Possibly their best team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Disappointing result for United. Fair play to Pompey. They had a HUGE slice of luck but you need that to win at OT.

I have to say I thought Nani was absolutely atrocious. I lost count of the amount of times he went to cross the ball and failed to beat the first man. It's all well and good having fancy touches but surely the golden rule for a winger is to get the ball into the box and he couldn't do that all day.

Lots of style but very little substance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

And you give out about Mr. Alan?! Lol

Nani's crossing was pretty bad today indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Not nice being on the receiving end of a poor decision, is it? I'm surprised at your outrage, given how often your team are the beneficaries of poor decisions and conned refs.

ferguson whinging about ref deisions on SSN now....

whats new

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

ferguson whinging about ref deisions on SSN now....

whats new

Exactly, what's new. After all it's not like the less talented teams in the League are allowed to compete by making wild tackles in order to keep the status quo. Look at that idiot eduardo - he wasn't injured by a festering culture of brutish tackles that are allowed to go unchecked in the premiership.

Or perhaps Ferguson (and Wenger) is constantly giving out about refs because he has reason to. It's strange how it's the 2 best managers in the league, with the 2 best teams with the same complaint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

http://www.d1g.com/video/show/1848777 Ppmpeys goal.

Looks like Chelsea will win the competition then.

davyjose wrote: »
    Exactly, what's new. After all it's not like the less talented teams in the League are allowed to compete by making wild tackles in order to keep the status quo. Look at that idiot eduardo - he wasn't injured by a festering culture of brutish tackles that are allowed to go unchecked in the premiership.

Or perhaps Ferguson (and Wenger) is constantly giving out about refs because he has reason to. It's strange how it's the 2 best managers in the league, with the 2 best teams with the same complaint.

if he cared so much he'd meet with the FA to discuss it, not just moan in a TV interview after they lose a game. acrually dont think i've heard him giving out about tackles when they've won.

he was moaning about the lack of stoppage time added too, even though the board said 4 and 5 was played. i suppose he's got a point there aswell eh? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Barnsley are playing some good football against Chelsea, good to see a team from the lower divisions trying to take the game to the big boys.

Who is the Barnsley manager??

Simon Davey. barnsley is his first job afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Barnsley are a ****ing brilliant team :)

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Barnsley are a ****ing brilliant team :)

Yeah, lingering above the relegation zone in the Championship is where its at now. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Heh another dismal result today eh? ;)

Mike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Chelsea are having a day similar to United earlier, having so many chances but i dont think they'll score and Barnsley to nick it in the last minute.

I have of course just jinxed Barnsley and Chelsea will score in the next few minutes and win 4-0