Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

where to start with classical?

Options
  • 10-03-2008 9:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭

Im new to the whole classical music area. I know i love movie soundtracks ( jurassic park, lord of the rings etc) and I have a tiny amount of mozart and Beethoven but i have no idea where to start to find out what i like.

I know i like that tune O Fortuna but not sure of much else.

is there ( apologies for asking this!) a greatest hits type cd with some of the better known classical scores?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭ogy

no matter what other areas of classical music people are into, from the romantic era to post-minimalism, i've never heard anyone who didn't sing the praises of JS Bach.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Can't go wrong with a bit of Bach is right ;) You're off to a good start with Bach, Beethoven and Mozart.

There are plenty of "greatest hits" type CDs around although I can't recommend any particular one. Try browsing the classical music section at any good music store and see if you see anything that looks promising. Classical CDs are cheap, try picking up some €7.99 HMV/Naxos releases - Beethoven's 9th Symphony, Mozart's Requiem, Bach's Brandenburg concertos or some Tchaikovski ballet favourites would be good places to begin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

With Truid Aagesen, then Pietro Aaron etc.
    You'll eventually get to Wojcich Zywny.