Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favorite Trance Tunes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Wow...I know everyone has taste man but to call Simon Patterson & Super8 "cheeseballs" is a sign of a distinct lack of taste. What's so cheesy about properly done trance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

hahaha so because i find most trance artists ****e i lack taste?

im sure you wouldnt like some if not most of the artists i like and presumably that would mean that you lack taste.

well done..

just to follow up, heres some of the artists i like

stephan bodzin, oliver huntemann, zabiela, james holden, ozgur can, 16 bit lolitas, sasha, simian mobile disco, booka shade, deadmau5,

you get the idea.

if you think theyre all ****e thats ur opinion and ur entitled to it..

see?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I'm not slagging your taste at all, but to come on and call all trance music crap, and some of the more innovative artists "cheeseballs" without providing any reasoning behind your comments seems to me you are just saying it for the sake of an arguement.

And yes you are right, I find a lot of techno to be insufferable prententious crap but I wouldn't judge the entire genre just by a few dodgy tunes.

of course i had a reason, i said it was my matter of opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭MuPpItJoCkEy

Personally I think like all genres of music, you have your good and bad. There also has been years of good trance and bad trance.

Here are some tunes that I'd posted on a different tread a while back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RqGtbMXbFm4
    Miko - Muzaik (Marcus Schossow Remix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YbCTLADdXV8
    Marcus Schossow - Swedish Beatballs (Original Mix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SW2wHpd6yho
    Marcus Schossow & Sebastian Brandt - Horny
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUHEJVM03x4
    Marcus Schossow & Thomas Sagstad - Crepuscolo

Marcus Schossow is a young Swede who's doing pretty well at the mo. Some of his stuff is fairly good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amf8Jtgmts4
    Sia - The Girl You Lost to Cocaine (Sander van Doorn Mix)
    You might say this is cheesey because it has vocals but I personally like it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOvQya4W75E
    Wardt - Show My Shuffle (Original Mix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mwniva3ytwI
    Wardt - Extensions
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_GfXZNlzJg
    Rank 1 vs. Jochen Miller - And Then (Original Mix) [HQ]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2sFIPcw6zWE
    Cliff Coenraad & Thomas Hagenbeek - Filthy Ripper

These 2 are banging.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ccrfuWnNdE
    Pascal Feliz - Reflect
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=db-MAJU0vog
    Ernesto vs Bastian - Thrill (Original Mix)

Personally I like a lot of different styles. Like with I said already, with all genres you have your good and bad. The thing is you have to find the good for yourself. One song you may love, may not be for other people and vice versa but I wouldn't go slating people over what they like. If that's what people like, then leave them be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

I forgot to add these in my post on page 1, but it is only since going through my collection again that I remember some proper Old Skool Trance (in my opinion anyway) such as:

Lost Tribe - Gamemaster (Original Mix)
    Tomski - 14 hours to save the Earth (Trouser Enthusiasts Sci Fi Mix)
    Alien Factory - Tomorrow (Original 11 minute version!)
    Tilt - Invisible
    Friends, Lovers, and Family - Tribute
    Pablo Gargano - Trance in Saigon

Seanie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,931 ✭✭✭✭L1011

copeyhagen wrote: »
    trance is garbage.

So why did you come in to a thread called "Favourite Trance Tunes" then? :confused::confused::confused:

Seanie M wrote: »
    Lost Tribe - Gamemaster (Original Mix)

Always preferred Michael Woods mix of this, sounds a lot fresher now than the original mix. Well, it is 6 years newer, that might be why...

MYOB wrote: »
    So why did you come in to a thread called "Favourite Trance Tunes" then? :confused::confused::confused:

to see what ****e yous were listening to these days

some of the older stuff is good.

majrity of people that like trance are scumbags or 17 year olds out of their head at gods kitchen in the point listening to tiesto.

o to be 17 again ;)

to see what ****e yous were listening to these days

some of the older stuff is good.

majrity of people that like trance are scumbags or 17 year olds out of their head at gods kitchen in the point listening to tiesto.

o to be 17 again ;)

Most of what has been mentioned on this thread is 'older stuff'!

Godskitchen was last held in the INEC, by the way ;)

And I'm not 17, nor anywhere close to being it in the past or future....

i wasnt pointing the finger at you in particular.

the likes of these raves that do be in the point and that (not necessarily godskitchen ;) ) do be full of young people off their faces in tracksuits listening to scott project and tiesto and that sort of crap.

dont get me wrong, i might have been like that one day myself, but i grew up and i feel my musical taste grew up with me.

i have only been clubbin about 9 years, but have gone through all the different genres, from hard house (i know, the shame) and trance when i was younger to prog and tech house and some minimal.

i do like some of the older stuff as i said but i find anything new to be sh1te, i cant stomach that garbage anymore!!

Scot Project isn't really considered trance anymore. Thank feck....

That said, anyone who's about my or your age probably listened to some of his Letter releases in the old days, I actually found my 12" of F (Future is Now) a few days ago. The shame, the shame...

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭cono121

Blue Fear - Armin....:O

i used to like some trance, bought a load of vinyl when i first started out, just got sick of it very quick.

Gotta admit to that too.

Hated trance when it came out, then a few years later decided I liked it, and have linked some of my favs above. Now kinda sick of it. Maybe there is some good stuff out there now, but the image that comes to mind is 20,000 teenagers bouncing around to Tiesto...the horror, the horror...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

cono121 wrote: »
    Blue Fear - Armin....:O

Don't you mean Armin (artist) - Blue Fear (track title)? :p Not a bad track, I find it lacking in something, like it's a bit 'soft'... Have it on Reactivate 11, full of Old Skool Trance.

Scot Project isn't really considered trance anymore. Thank feck....

That said, anyone who's about my or your age probably listened to some of his Letter releases in the old days, I actually found my 12" of F (Future is Now) a few days ago. The shame, the shame...

haha totally aggree with you, seen him a fair few times years ago in the temple theatre (i know, i know!!)

when he used to play the likes of second trip and other songs that were pure brain medicine.

and yes i do have a copy of second trip on vinyl!! haha

One thing that keeps reminding me of how brilliant trance can be is when I listen to something like Nathan Fake's 'Outhouse'. It reminds me that it need not be all so formulaic and cheesy, and trance can be new and exciting.

outhouse is one of my fav tunes, remember the first tiem i heard it, james holden playing street parade in 2004 but i wouldnt class it as a trance tune at all.

in fact, all border community releases are the same, they cant really be placed in one genre, prog, tech house, prog trance, minimal, ambient etc.

but i wouldnt regard outhouse as a trance tune

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭cono121

Well ok, mister right, Armin Van Buuren - Blue Fear...:p
    Seanie M wrote: »
    Don't you mean Armin (artist) - Blue Fear (track title)? :p Not a bad track, I find it lacking in something, like it's a bit 'soft'... Have it on Reactivate 11, full of Old Skool Trance.

My other fav is, Seven senses - Atilla (Joost Van Der Dleuten's Dubilee Remix)
    http://www.htfr.com/more-info/MR206298

Or another one of my fav records!...:pac:
    http://www.htfr.com/more-info/MR150637

Or.....So many more!

but i wouldnt regard outhouse as a trance tune

Someone in the comments on youtube reckons this mix, which could be another Holden effort, is 'Minimal Post Progressive Trance'!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-t1tifeImw

Either way, its a classic. Just finding out more and more about this Nathan Fake lately. Where was he hiding all my life! Some of his stuff is superb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 dinny boy

read this lads,should settle some arguments haa -> http://foo.ca/wp/chick-tract-satire/trance-cracker/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭corkproducers

outhouse is one of my fav tunes, remember the first tiem i heard it, james holden playing street parade in 2004 but i wouldnt class it as a trance tune at all.

Agreed, and it isnt trance at all.

In fact, the only "genre" any border community tracks can be classified as, is "eletronic music".

With the latest releases theyve even escaped "electronic dance music", a lot of the newer tracks wouldnt suit a club environment at all.

Given that Holden himself said he doesnt regard it as trance, it says a lot.

He said it in an interview, its on youtube if someone is actually bothered.

dinny boy wrote: »
    read this lads,should settle some arguments haa -> http://foo.ca/wp/chick-tract-satire/trance-cracker/

Read it ages ago. Probably written by the kind of person who goes to a club to mope to some bleeps and pinking noises then claims they've had a great night.

Or pays €20 to see a resident house DJ, as a certain club night here is doing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 dinny boy

either way its funny :D with certain elements of truth ie the superstar dj bull****....

which club ?

Popcorn Sundays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭thesoulfulldude

trance can be a broad word but to me alot of the stuff being posted is minimal or really really soft trance but to me trance is the likes of paul van dyk!

also that thing about tiesto is funny, its true scumbags follow him like he's a god yet he robbed the remix from william orbit, there far too alike! and also these scumbags who follow him like he's a god are also the same scumbags who slag gay's and yet tiesto is gay hahahaha anyway he's a few good tracks i consider trance

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Q95i-Ntr6PQ

http://youtube.com/watch?v=r5V7li9xt8g

a tiesto track, i think its his best effort
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=ASANlXldk04

probably my fav track at the moment,
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=Bx-HiVitz7E

and please no lectures about how **** these tracks are, ive a feeling somebody will try put them down! there great :pac:

Tiesto is engaged to a 19 year old girl, its Armin van Buuren the gay rumours were about for years...

And van Dyk has said he doesn't consider his music to be trance! Although, basically, it is.

The first track you've got there, Evermore - Its Too Late (Dirty South remix) is more electro-house than trance...

serious? i dont keep up to date with celeb gossip but my mate was saying he's as bent as a roundabout and he usually isnt wrong about these things!

and as wikipidia would say 'Trance music is generally characterized by a tempo of between 130 and 155 BPM, short melodic synthesizer phrases, and a musical form that builds up and down throughout a track. Trance can be understood as a combination of many forms of electronic music such as ambient, techno, and house.'

so you could deffo call that track trance

Its 134bpm, and doesn't have a standard trance structure at all. The artist in question is a house artist from Austria...

actually i have it at 129.4bpm, and like you said pvd says he's not trance but he is, dirty south could be too.......

I did a manual count (I can bpm count in my sleep almost at this stage, too long at this game), you're using software - neither is any more likely to be accurate than the other ;)

But believe me, that track just is not trance. It doesn't sound anything like trance....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭petrochemical

Anyone who likes Tiesto or any of that God's Kitchen type hard house/trance crap or whatever it is, is a mindless animal without a musical bone in their body. You might as well be listening to a car alarm. The fact that he's popular just proves that the world is full of mindless scumbags.

I did a manual count (I can bpm count in my sleep almost at this stage, too long at this game), you're using software - neither is any more likely to be accurate than the other ;)

But believe me, that track just is not trance. It doesn't sound anything like trance....

dont really beleive you could be more accurate than a computer :confused: but anyway thats the trance i know, the trance you know is just less energetic than what im used to, probably the age gap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

dont really beleive you could be more accurate than a computer :confused: but anyway thats the trance i know, the trance you know is just less energetic than what im used to, probably the age gap

Beat counters on computers work by counting the number of high peaks in the bassline and dividing this by the length of the track. Its woefully inaccurate at times. Humans count the actual beats.

And I've been listening to trance for the best part of a decade, and that song is still absolutely and definitely house! Not one bit of it sounds like a trance track. I don't see how you can claim its energetic, let alone more energetic than trance for a starter...

Evermore - Its Too Late (Dirty South remix) is an electro house tune

Agreed, and it isnt trance at all.

In fact, the only "genre" any border community tracks can be classified as, is "eletronic music".

With the latest releases theyve even escaped "electronic dance music", a lot of the newer tracks wouldnt suit a club environment at all.

Given that Holden himself said he doesnt regard it as trance, it says a lot.

He said it in an interview, its on youtube if someone is actually bothered.

nail on the head. i have a good remix of outhouse at home, it might be the one holden was going mad about on his website last year at people for playing an "illegal remix" haha ill check it out when i get home, savage mix though.
    Someone in the comments on youtube reckons this mix, which could be another Holden effort, is 'Minimal Post Progressive Trance'!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-t1tifeImw

Either way, its a classic. Just finding out more and more about this Nathan Fake lately. Where was he hiding all my life! Some of his stuff is superb.

yeh nathan fake is class, get a copy of his album and the remix version (which is possibly better) drowning in a sea of remixes.

also download his essential mix from 2006 or 2007 cant remember which with james holden. the first hour is nathan fake and it rocks.

if ur likin his sound, download anything you can get from the mfa, they rock. seen them in pod 2 years ago.

mfa - motherload...still sends shivers down the spine!!

jesus talk about getting your nickers in a knot, its good anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 onemoretime

Marcus Schossow is a young Swede who's doing pretty well at the mo. Some of his stuff is fairly good.

I love Marcus Schossow's Mr. White.

William Orbit - Barber's Adagio for Strings
    DJ Ton T.B. - Electronic Malfunction
    Tiesto - Traffic
    Age of Love - The Age of Love
    Smegball wrote:
    York - On The Beach

One of my all time favorites.

Dan Mangela - Constancy
    Breakfast - Dancing In The Moonlight (Very relaxing)
    Modulation - Sky (Gen C Sunrise Remix)
    Ronski Speed With Stoneface And Terminal - Soulseeker (Dns Project Mix)
    Giuseppe Ottaviani - Through Your Eyes
    OceanLab - Miracle
    Daft Punk - Around The World (Kid Dub Remix)