Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread & Off Topic Thread II - Collectors Edition Bumper Pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Check out the veggie options will you, there are hardly any on the menu you posted, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Des wrote: »
    Check out the veggie options will you, there are hardly any on the menu you posted, cheers

WTF?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!

anyway,i'm off, later people.

ps: i just checked my profile, and 5 of the last 10 people to view it were Villa fans!

they are going to try and kill me.

FACT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Stay away from mirrors, i already told you that.:pac:

But if I look at you directly, I'll turn to stone.
    wat would those laws be?:confused:

wiki eugenics :p

Guys, is Dublin really that expensive? The prices on that menu = :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

uh o Al's on to us

they are going to try and kill me.

FACT.

....now you know where he lives....[/Donnie Darko]

Al, the veggie option is for IB.
    GuanYin wrote: »
    Guys, is Dublin really that expensive? The prices on that menu = :(

Yep, that's actually mid-range prices tbh.

A long neck bottle of beer, say Coors, or Bud or one of them, would cost about €5.20 or up to €6 in the city.

The place Al is going to is a fair bit out of the city, in fact it's North Co. Dublin.

Yep, that's actually mid-range prices tbh.

A long neck bottle of beer, say Coors, or Bud or one of them, would cost about €5.20 or up to €6 in the city.

hahaha, I'd laugh if someone tried to sell coors for more than 2 dollars :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Actually, give us a report on that place will you, my family will be looking to go for a meal for a birthday soon too.

You cant go wrong out in Oscar Taylors,I was out there for the first time in a long while last Sat night.I had forgotten how good it was and very reasonable.

So do I, which is why I don't drink any of the American beers. Coors, Bud, MGD, all crap beers, imo. (I did take a liking to Miller High Life, which can't be got here)

AND, they are all brewed here "under licence", which means they aren't the real deal at all.

Even the "trendy" Euro beers like Heineken, same price.

The price of beer makes me sad.

Whats that about 27 euro cent....:)

Dub13 wrote: »
    You cant go wrong out in Oscar Taylors,I was out there for the first time in a long while last Sat night.I had forgotten how good it was and very reasonable.

Ah yeah, love Oscars I do. They have a sister restaurant in Blanch called The Vineyard or something like, which is also nice.

We go to Oscars so much though, it's nice to try other places.

I love sitting beside the fire on cold nights. Toasty.

I stayed in the Hotel one night, and they had a fella playing the piano in that little room just off the restaurant, after the restaurant had closed. Great night that was.

Thats a good idea,whats the hotel like..?how much was it...?

Dub13 wrote: »
    Thats a good idea,whats the hotel like..?how much was it...?

The hotel was grand, but it was about five or six years ago at this stage, so I can't remember the price.

Off to Tolka

GWAN SHELS!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

GWAN D'TOWN!!

Al, the veggie option is for IB.

GuanYin, can someone ban Irishbint again please.

cheers-
    alan

Too much talk of the beer around here....fact

I have to restrict myself to 2 beers as Im in town for block lectures for these repeats tomorrow (reaping what I sow:()......fact

Too much use of the word fact around here....fact

I work in a call centre and some absolute culchie motherf**ker just called me a wanker because I wouldn't unsuspend his account after he failed to pay his bill.

Ruined my f**king night. Hateful bastard. I'm trying to do my job and he won't pay his bill and calls me a wanker. Lord bless us and save us. :mad:

Anyways - rant over. Have a good weekend all.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

oh thanks, sweetheart, always thinking of me :)
    GuanYin, can someone ban Irishbint again please.

cheers-
    alan

ah, Mr. A, i thought we were getting along:(

i dont know if this makes the veggie thing any better but i cook a mean blue steak - just ask des:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

irishbird wrote: »
    i dont know if this makes the veggie thing any better but i cook a mean blue steak - just ask des:cool:

Come on, cooking blue steak... Thats the easiest steak to cook. Put it on the pan, slap it twice on the arse and flip it over.. Done!!:pac:

ibh wrote: »
    slap it twice on the arse and flip it over.. Done!!:pac:

you romantic swine you :eek:

i'm not sure what you took from that post... i'm going to just hope you're still talking about steak and cooking...:eek:

BTW, how good is That 70's Show.. Watching the box sets again. Pure class!

too much canned laughter in it.

someone pointed it out to me before, now every time i watch it, all i hear is the ****ing canned laughter

too much canned laughter in it.

someone pointed it out to me before, now every time i watch it, all i hear is the ****ing canned laughter

Over critical are we!! it's a great show..

Switched to watching the 24 boxsets a few months ago so its some light entertainment after all that serious 'saving the world' stuff.. 24 is a unreal thou.. Think i'm getting withdrawal symptoms after finishing all the DVDs.

Go see Wall-E. Just go.

Just booked flights to go to a Music festival ive never even heard of...Hydro Connect in glasgow, what do you think of the line-up?

Kasabian, Franz Ferdinand, Sigur Rós, Paulo Nutini, Manic Street Preachers, Bloc Party, Goldfrapp, Duffy, Nick Cave's Grinderman, Amy MacDonald, Elbow, The Gossip, Spiritualized, Mercury Rev, The Coral, The Roots, The Breeders, Levellers and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Passed my driving test today. Get in!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Just booked flights to go to a Music festival ive never even heard of...Hydro Connect in glasgow, what do you think of the line-up?

Kasabian, Franz Ferdinand, Sigur Rós, Paulo Nutini, Manic Street Preachers, Bloc Party, Goldfrapp, Duffy, Nick Cave's Grinderman, Amy MacDonald, Elbow, The Gossip, Spiritualized, Mercury Rev, The Coral, The Roots, The Breeders, Levellers and more.

Would love to see Grinderman live.
    Saw Mercury Rev & Goldfrapp a few years ago at Electric Picnic, Goldfrapp were alright, but was very disappointed by Mercury Rev. Rev play Galway in November might go along, the smaller venue might suit better.
    Not really a fan of Kasabian, but meant to put on a good show.

/Edit: Xavi6, congrats, tis one of the best feelings ever, passing your driving test!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Xavi6 wrote: »

well done bosco well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

ow my head.
    Ive got a stamp on my hand saying I was in coppers.
    No memory of being there tho. Not good. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

pvt.joker wrote: »
    ow my head.
    Ive got a stamp on my hand saying I was in coppers.
    No memory of being there tho. Not good. :(
    Expect a thread in AH in a few months.

back of the net!

Is it easier/harder than the Irish test? Any reversing around corners involved ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Are you still here I am sure you were saying that I was doing my best to get rid of you ;)

Anyway my first full on poker tourney tonight and I will honestly admit to being rubbish at the game and am mostly going for the beer and some craic with some mates. Any hints and tips would be greatly appreciated, not gonna dare to stick my head around the door of the poker forum, they take it awfully seriously over there.

Are you still here I am sure you were saying that I was doing my best to get rid of you ;)

Been visiting the United social group I see. A closet fan ? :eek:

DeadSkin wrote: »
    Would love to see Grinderman live.
    Saw Mercury Rev & Goldfrapp a few years ago at Electric Picnic, Goldfrapp were alright, but was very disappointed by Mercury Rev. Rev play Galway in November might go along, the smaller venue might suit better.
    Not really a fan of Kasabian, but meant to put on a good show.

cheers tbh I dont get to many gigs and although ive heard of most people on that list I dont know a lot of their stuff, with the exception of a few such as the Manics.

Anyway my first full on poker tourney tonight and I will honestly admit to being rubbish at the game and am mostly going for the beer and some craic with some mates. Any hints and tips would be greatly appreciated, not gonna dare to stick my head around the door of the poker forum, they take it awfully seriously over there.

Is it a home game or a casino game...?

For a start never limp into a pot only come in with a raise.

pvt.joker wrote: »
    back of the net!

Is it easier/harder than the Irish test? Any reversing around corners involved ? :D

Lol nope and not a hint of a parallel park either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Sweet.

I presume you didn't have your test here and thats why u did it in Aus.
    Means you have to go through the P-plate system now. Very good system but far too organised and sensible to ever be implemented in Ireland...! Zero tolerance on the ol drink driving, which is another good idea..

Yeah I only had my provisional back home.

The system over here is excellent. Booze buses are the best thing ever for catching the arse holes.

cheers tbh I dont get to many gigs and although ive heard of most people on that list I dont know a lot of their stuff, with the exception of a few such as the Manics.

Ah it'll be good craic anyways, Glasgow is a great spot. If ya get a chance go to the Nice 'n' Sleazy bar on Sauciehall St.[sp?].

Nice and Sleazy eh? interesting name, think im flying back to London around 2 on the monday though after the 3-day camping jobbo for the festival.

You'll have that good old carnie folk smell on ya, on the way back :P.

DeadSkin wrote: »
    You'll have that good old carnie folk smell on ya, on the way back :P.

make a good impression on my new flatmates so:D considering ive also just booked flights from here to London (where im starting a post-grad), I drop off my stuff when they are all at work then head to Glasgow get all carnied up before meeting them on the Monday.

Went paintballing today with work. OMG it was some craic. I got riddled trying to capture the flag but great craic.

Edit - Removed for general drunken nonsensicalness...

**** i'm locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

lol at 'fundalk' the only thing fun about that place is the road out of it.

Harsh.

...but true.

And that road isn't even fun when local skobes are firing rocks at the car or bus.

:mad::mad:

Have either of you ever spent any time in Dundalk? I find it funny that two Dubs are criticising Dundalk and one even talking about skobes firing rocks at cars... :rolleyes: