Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread & Off Topic Thread II - Collectors Edition Bumper Pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Have either of you ever spent any time in Dundalk? I find it funny that two Dubs are criticising Dundalk and one even talking about skobes firing rocks at cars... :rolleyes:

Well, they do.

Everytime I've been in Dundalk for a match, it's happened.

I'm not denying it happens in Dublin ffs. In fact, on Friday night I got a bus from Drumcondra to my lady's house, and some little knack-bag put the window of the bus in, poor man sitting in that seat nearly had a heart attack.

Are you saying there are no skobes in Dundalk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Have either of you ever spent any time in Dundalk? I find it funny that two Dubs are criticising Dundalk and one even talking about skobes firing rocks at cars... :rolleyes:

I've actually spent a lot of time in Dundalk cause one of my best mates is from there. Been out in the Fairways a good bit and had a New Year's in Vicars. Ended up having to leave though when a group of local skangers started on us just after midnight.

Love that JJB arena for a bit of indoor!

Some decent local pubs and nice neighbourhoods but to be fair it is quite a hole for the most part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

Boards down all morning :(
    I actualy worked.
    Time to slack off all afternoon \0/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I had to do 6 hours of work. 6 HOURS!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I had to do 6 hours of work. 6 HOURS!!!!

sucks to be you.

still, it's good it happened one of the slow news days.

Agreed. It's just the done thing to slag the place off tbh.

It's come on in leaps and bounds in the last 5 years. It has it's ****holes like every town, but they're easily avoided. I havent seen a hint of trouble anytime I've ever been out on the town (at least once a month for last 10 years). It gets a very bad rap in the press also.
    I have to say it's a lot nicer than most of the areas I've been in Dublin. And a lot less likely to run into hassle than in most areas of Dublin.
    Up the lilywhites :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

It's the same as any other place in Ireland. You are going to have scumbags knocking around certain areas. Unfortunately Oriel Park attracts these young hoods who throw rocks at cars etc.

Xavi, you're mate in Dundalk wasn't fulfilling any 'mate' duties if he let you into Vicars in the first place. Its a hole and i'm pretty sure its been closed for about a year now. And not a moment too soon.
    I'd imagine New Years would be one of the worst nights to go there as well.

I tend to avoid Nightclubs so i wont say if they are of a high quality in general. They usually stink since the smoking ban came in, and feet usually stick to the carpet..
    I'm more of a quiet / country pub man and there are a few good places that fit that description.

JJB is class and the Icedome is good craic as well, played Ice Hockey there a few times.

I also worked in De Fairways for about 5 years, so you can assume that it's an establishment of the highest order..:cool:

Boards is back just as I come back off lunch.

Nice timing.

Howdy all.

Des wrote: »
    Boards is back just as I come back off lunch.

Nice timing.

Howdy all.

Not bad..

How was the match on friday night? Was it as bad as the papers made out??

I was in the process of losing a semi final so couldn't go to it.

ibh wrote: »
    Not bad..

How was the match on friday night? Was it as bad as the papers made out??

I was in the process of losing a semi final so couldn't go to it.

It wasn't a bad match actually.

But my jaysis, Dundalk offered NOTHING.

Dunno how they are top of the league.

We got Georgescu though, he looked lively, nother few weeks and he'll have a nice little partnership with Bisto. :cool:

And we'll walk the division.

Just saved that post for future slagging...

Yea we are very limited in attack. Dying for a decent striker to pus home the title push.
    Considering our problems up front we are doing well to be top of the league this far on..

Dying for a decent striker?

Sure yiz let Bisto AND Philly come to us in the past year :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Screw u boards, im in withdrawl all morning.
    Almost did some work, almost.
    How was the weekend ladies, anyone get up to anything of note?
    There is heineken currently pouring out of every pore of my body.
    Im never drinking again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

STFU with the football talk.

I the EL hardly counts, but shuddup all the same.

afternoon folks :D

Stop drinking that shíte and you won't feel like that. :rolleyes:

Why people drink this mass produced, chemical filled, hangover inducing bilge is beyond me.

Much better, more value for money beers available.

If people would just stop being salves to marketeers, stop ordering the heavily-advertised crap that is on offer, then hangovers would reduce by about 75%, and the quality of the product on offer would improve drastically too.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    I the EL hardly counts, but shuddup all the same.
    Trollerific.

just noticed the addition to your sig Des, very funny :rolleyes:

Yes indeed, hilarious isn't it?

Why people drink this mass produced, chemical filled, hangover inducing bilge is beyond me.

If people would just stop being salves to marketeers, stop ordering the heavily-advertised crap that is on offer, then hangovers would reduce by about 75%, and the quality of the product on offer would improve drastically too.

What kinda ****e are you talking now Des?
    I was at a wedding in the arsehole of Clare.
    It was either drink Heineken or Guinness for 2 days and i didnt fancy pissing
    out of both holes for half the week so i avoided Guinness.
    Its not pandering to marketeers, its making the best of limited choices!
    Lot worse drinks out there than Heineken, im looking at you Carling and Smithwicks!

Nice rant :p

Smithwicks is a great drink.

Try it some time, you can drink gallons of the stuff and still be fairly coherent.

I have it with a guinness head.

Absolutely delish.

I was in a bar on Saturday, for lunch, and stayed out until about 12.30ish, so about 11 hours drinking, all told.

Drank pint bottles of Macardles in the bar, from the shelf, then on to the Smithwicks once I hit town.

Not a bother on me on Sunday. :cool:

Yes indeed, hilarious isn't it?

:D only noticed it now. Excellent :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

IrishMike wrote: »
    How was the weekend ladies, anyone get up to anything of note?
    There is heineken currently pouring out of every pore of my body.
    Jammy b*stard!

Ya know when ya wake up in the mornin' after a heavy nights drinkin' on a Monday mornin' and ya find about 20 euro in change in your pocket?
    Well, I woke this mornin' to find a shedload of mothercare receipts in my pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

DeadSkin wrote: »
    Ya know when ya wake up in the mornin' after a heavy nights drinkin' on a Monday mornin' and ya find about 20 euro in change in your pocket?
    Well, I woke this mornin' to find a shedload of mothercare receipts in my pockets.

I have always said that when shops are advertising condoms they should have a Mothercare shopping list displayed beside them to show their true value and savings

Smithwicks is a great drink.

Try it some time, you can drink gallons of the stuff and still be fairly coherent.

I have it with a guinness head.

Absolutely delish.

I was in a bar on Saturday, for lunch, and stayed out until about 12.30ish, so about 11 hours drinking, all told.

Drank pint bottles of Macardles in the bar, from the shelf, then on to the Smithwicks once I hit town.

Not a bother on me on Sunday. :cool:

Balls to that, smithwicks is about on the same level as beamish and
    that homebrew stout they make in Messer McGuires.
    Only people that drink them are farmers and people who want to be farmers
    Pure piss.
    I was out thursday night, 14 hours drinking friday, all day saturday and then a
    lock in till 6 sat night and then went for about 10 yesterday to try and cure
    myself watching the gaa.
    I think volume was the problem and not the choice of tipple in fairness.
    There is a gallon of rum and coke in there somewhere too :(

Now IrishMike ease of slagging the red diesel, its a great drink not quite at the level of McArdles Large Bottle but its close

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

hello, i was out for lunch on saturday and started drinking at around 2pm until 12 midnight. i was drinking heino, and there wasnt a bother on me the next day

irishbird wrote: »
    hello, i was out for lunch on saturday and started drinking at around 2pm until 12 midnight. i was drinking heino, and there wasnt a bother on me the next day

Shush you. :mad:

irishbird wrote: »

The first 12 hour stint i was fine after, it was the 2 and 3 the next 2 days that did the damage im afraid.

Afternoon gents, home sick with a stomach bug today :( Tryin to decide on a film to watch atm. Not sure whether to watch something serious, scary or lighthearted...decisions decisions!

Scary ftw.

But then again, only two films scare me.

The Shining and Watership down. I wouldn't watch them alone. :eek:

Do you have any Star Wars there?

watch porn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

When I'm sick I usually go for a tv box-set of some kind, something I can watch for a whole day. Anything in that variety? Last time I was stuck in bed all day I watched Season 6 of Scrubs.

watch porn

Actually, not a bad idea.

:cool:

I have a nice stash of mature lady love, pm for details.

Pm with credit card details sent!

Mature lady loving is not my style.
    Got any brazilian cheerleader twins who love to share by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Pm with credit card details sent!

Mature lady loving is not my style.
    Got any brazilian cheerleader twins who love to share by any chance?
    GTFO mature lady love

Des wrote:
    Scary ftw.

But then again, only two films scare me.

The Shining and Watership down. I wouldn't watch them alone.

Do you have any Star Wars there?

Hmmmm, well "The Thing" is feckin awesome, I might watch that.

Haven't seen Watership Down. Will take that on board when updating my DVD collection!

Dont like Star Wars or Lord of the Rings for that matter. Never got into those "cult classics" :rolleyes:

Im tempted to whip out a boxset of The Sopranos.

IrishMike wrote:
    watch porn

Bit too sick for that!
    Actually, not a bad idea.

:cool:

I have a nice stash of mature lady love, pm for details.

Thought u dont watch pron?! :p:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

UP THE DUBS.

People who claim to be "fans of Irish soccer" but then support a gah team make me sick.

The Gahliban tried to kill one of Ireland's most famous and successful football teams.

Sickening behaviour, and anyone who pays money to see a gah match is directly contributing to the action.

People who claim to be "fans of Irish soccer" but then support a gah team make me sick.

The Gahliban tried to kill one of Ireland's most famous and successful football teams.

Sickening behaviour, and anyone who pays money to see a gah match is directly contributing to the action.

Hmmmm. Again I have to say, what the GAA did was disgraceful. But the FAI are also incompetent idiots, and that has never stopped me from supporting the irish soccer team.

Hate the org, not the sport.

And yes Estie, up the Dubs!! bout time they put a team to the sword and really gave them a hiding (though Wexford gave up very early and were a joke towards the end tbh)

"The Dark Knight" is officially the highest rated film of all time on IMDB.

Compiled from about 50,000 reviews, it scores an average rating of 9.5 out of 10!

Beating "The Godfather" which comes in at number 2 and score an average of 9.1.

It is embarrasing how looking forward to this i am.

and its 2hrs32mins long.....ahhhh sweetness : D

Yea but at least the GAA don't pretend to be professionals, Teams in the Eircom League making themselves out as professional is just a joke tbh, seen better football played in Sunday league games

Agree Neil.

If the FAI-lure had half the common sense and business sense of the GAA (an amateur) organisation, then soccer would be flourishing all over the country, with massive attendances at all EL games.

The FAI-lure are a bunch of incompetent clowns and not enough credit is given to the GAA for the amazing work they do around this country on a volunteer basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Compiled from about 50,000 reviews, it scores an average rating of 9.5 out of 10!

It also smashed a box-office opening day record.

Have my tickets for thursday night, wednesday was sold out. Argh, another 24 hours on the waiting time.

Can't wait. Can't bloody wait!

Going on Friday. (Al, you better not come in here on Friday morning with spoilers)

Watched Batman Begins last night.

HeathJoker.png

:eek::eek:

Cant wait to see this either. Pity Ireland doesnt have an IMAX theatre, it's meant to be amazing in one of them.

Villain wrote: »
    Yea but at least the GAA don't pretend to be professionals, Teams in the Eircom League making themselves out as professional is just a joke tbh, seen better football played in Sunday league games
    pvt.joker wrote: »
    Agree Neil.

If the FAI-lure had half the common sense and business sense of the GAA (an amateur) organisation, then soccer would be flourishing all over the country, with massive attendances at all EL games.

The FAI-lure are a bunch of incompetent clowns and not enough credit is given to the GAA for the amazing work they do around this country on a volunteer basis.

Typical of people on the gah side of the argument tbh, totally steering the discussion away from anything resembling a relative point.

I know the FAI are clowns, I never said they weren't.

But it's an undeniable fact that the gah wanted to kill off Rovers.

And that is absolutely sickening.

How people can defend it by saying "yeah but the FAI are unprofessional" I mean, it doesn't even make sense to bring that in to it?

The FAI are nothing to do with the eircom League, it's an embarrassment to them, so why bring them into it?

Come on folks, must do better than having a cheap pop at the eL for no reason.

Surely you lot are more intelligent than that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

meh... i've heard Bale is pretty poor in it. his voice acting is supposed to be shockingly bad in it.

and they are already saing ledger should get an oscar for it...

seems like a load of hype that will be hard to live up to for me.

Des, the GAA as a whole didnt want to kill them off. Maybe some board of directors or some other group of ar*seholes did, but the vast vast majority of GAA followers would want nothing to do with putting a club out of business. And I say that as a strong GAA supporter.
    If the FAI-lure top brass had the opportunity, Im sure theyd do the exact same. Its all about ensuring your own sport thrives.
    Im not condoning the GAA's actions, however holding a grudge against all GAA followers, and saying that anyone who supports GAA and Irish soccer makes you sick ..it crazy talk.

Typical of people on the gah side of the argument tbh, totally steering the discussion away from anything resembling a relative point.

ROFL thats the funniest thing I have ever had said about me, on the gah side of an argument?? lol not in a million years, hate the games hate the corrupt organisation and hate the small minds of many people who support and run the clubs.

I have been involved in underage soccer since 8, playing it still and have managed underage teams, being secrectary of club etc etc, my Father is very highly involved with the SFAI, I love soccer but the Eircom league is a joke, professional??? my under 13 side from a few years ago were more professional, I've being managed by an ex LOI manager and the whole thing is a joke.

My point was simple the gah with all their faults at least accept that they are amateur.