Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread & Off Topic Thread II - Collectors Edition Bumper Pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

**** that, the Machinist is Bale's finest moment. mightn't be the easiest watch, but in terms of stand alone performances from an actor definitly one of the best ever made. And he's unquestionably my favourite actor. but everyone has their bad days.

That film was just unreal.
    He lost about 6 stone to play that role, he was mindblowing in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I cant believe people think Bale is great and yet they slate the acting in great shows like Fair City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

6th wrote: »
    I cant believe people think Bale is great and yet they slate the acting in great shows like Fair City.

wtf are you doing in the soccer forum?

today is a really weird day on boards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Has anyone heard anything about Aaron Eckhart's performance as Harvey Dent. He is a damn good actor, and highly under-rated.

Yeah Eckhart does pretty well in it alright. Better than feckin Tommy Lee Jones anyway.

IrishMike wrote: »
    That film was just unreal.
    He lost about 6 stone to play that role, he was mindblowing in it.

he actually wanted to go lower apparently but the directors wouldn't let him. he was already a serious health risk at what he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

He lived on a can of tuna and an apple a day for a while. The director had no idea he was going to go to those lengths either, Bale just turned up to meet him before production started. Apparently the director just expected him to lose a few pounds and wear baggy jeans.

What's more dangerous is he put back on all his weight (with a bit of interest) to beef up for Batman Begins.

Who is putting in the stupid tags on this thread?

stupid tags on a thread with no topic? say it aint so! :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Woo Hoo

finally got the internet to accept my booking for the dark knight on friday :D:D

Hmmmmmm, christian Bale hmmmmmm

irishbird wrote: »
    Woo Hoo

finally got the internet to accept my booking for the dark knight on friday :D:D

Hmmmmmm, christian Bale hmmmmmm

mmmmmmm giant pack of yellow m+m's with enough coke to dissolve a body in.
    Gotta love the cinema!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

**** that, the Machinist is Bale's finest moment. mightn't be the easiest watch, but in terms of stand alone performances from an actor definitly one of the best ever made. And he's unquestionably my favourite actor. but everyone has their bad days.
    I still rate his performance in Empire of the Sun a little higher due to the age he was when he played the role.

But yes - the machinist made for difficult viewing but staggering nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

American Psycho. Say no more.

Funk ya!
    On time for the first time since March!
    About shaggin time Dublin Bus, about shaggin time!

How is everyone this mornin

Super! Thanks for asking!:pac:

Shite! Thanks for asking! :pac:

Just read this in the humour forum thought it was funny

A young man called directory assistance. "Hello, operator, I would like the telephone number for Mary Jones in Phoenix, Arizona."
    "There are multiple listings for Mary Jones in Phoenix," the operator replied. "Do you have a street name?"
    The young man hesitated, and then said, "Well, most people call me Ice Man."

Might cheer u up Xavi!

Lol very good. Alas, it'll take more than that to cheer me up. Damn big workload.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Lol very good. Alas, it'll take more than that to cheer me up. Damn big workload.

Go drinking, that always cheers me up
    The go sleazing in somewhere like coppers and get completely twisted while
    scoring some mutt who looks like jessica alba after 17 pints and 4 jager bombs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Morning everyone.

Some people are too modest. Far too modest.

Go drinking, that always cheers me up
    The go sleazing in somewhere like coppers and get completely twisted while
    scoring some mutt who looks like jessica alba after 17 pints and 4 jager bombs!

Hmmm doubt that would go down well with the missus.

Came in hungover yesterday so that really set the tone nicely for the week.

Mornin lads, still sick. Only up so I could ring work, goin back to bed in a second. :(

Yeah, crazy in work here too.
    Feel there's a dose of "I couldn't give a sh*te" comin on.

Lol yep same for me. My deadline is this week and as if that wasn't bad enough some arsehole just volunteered me to help out with another publication who are short staffed this week. Not one bit feckin happy.

No way, thats a bum deal :D:D:D
    sorry i couldnt resist :D

One of those offers you couldn't refuse was it?

Des wrote: »
    Morning everyone.

Some people are too modest. Far too modest.
    Care to elaborate?

One of those offers you couldn't refuse was it?

Offer me arse. I wasn't given a choice. Just got told to expect some emails with starting points for stories. If I don't get a pay rise in my September review I'm walking.

If I don't get a pay rise in my September review I'm walking.

Walking sucks, i prefer public transport or even look into getting a car!

It's amazing what one on-time bus can do to a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Cheer up guys. Better than being bored off your arse watching the clock.

It's amazing what one on-time bus can do to a person.

Im feeling the love from you Xavi ! :D

Offer me arse. I wasn't given a choice. Just got told to expect some emails with starting points for stories. If I don't get a pay rise in my September review I'm walking.

In other words it was a Corleone offer so!! :P

Id prefer to be in work than be sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Id prefer to be in work than be sick.
    Definitely.

Depends on the sickness. If it's a dose of the sniffles then bed wins hands down for me.

Tic

..............................toc :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

morning lads

Mr Alan wrote: »
    morning lads

xx

Xavi, there's a girl in BGRH sending some stuff over from New Zealand.

How come you never offered to send stuff from Oz?

I NEED some Cherry Ripes and Burger Rings.

NOW!

Cherry-ripe.jpg

7448.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Morrning ladies.

Des I was listing to you on the podcast last night while playing poker,nice work.

Burger Rings - Oh Yes.
    Cherry Ripes - Oh God No.

Burger Rings plus a can of coke.

Breakfast of the gods.

Des wrote: »
    Xavi, there's a girl in BGRH sending some stuff over from New Zealand.

How come you never offered to send stuff from Oz?

I NEED some Cherry Ripes and Burger Rings.

NOW!

Lol well you never asked nicely!

I'd send you every feckin Cherry Ripe possible if I could. Absolutely woeful they are.

Burger Rings were on special this week in Coles for $1 a bag. Got myself a few.

Lol well you never asked nicely!
    Will you please send me some?

Hmmmm I suppose I could yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Are they just ring versions of Burger Bites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Dub13 wrote: »
    Morrning ladies.

Des I was listing to you on the podcast last night while playing poker,nice work.

What's on these boards podcasts, are they worth downloading? And if so, how do you download em?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Or maybe onion rings with a different name?

Kold wrote: »
    Are they just ring versions of Burger Bites?
    NO!
    Kold wrote: »
    What's on these boards podcasts, are they worth downloading? And if so, how do you download em?
    We talk about different things on Boards.

Available from

Podcasts page
    Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Or maybe onion rings with a different name?

Not at all.

Welcome to the soccer btw.

I had a small part to play in that winding-up last night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

I'd love to hear my part in it. ;)

How can you get almost an hour out of it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

tried listening to one of the podcasts, but had to give up listening to it.

couldn't understand your skobie accent Des :D