Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread & Off Topic Thread II - Collectors Edition Bumper Pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

:mad:

It's not "some" movie.

It's Batman.

OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

irishbint wrote: »
    LOL, oh yeah, completely forgot about that:D:D
    Why the ":D" it wasn't even remotely funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

its alright des, i reported the post :cool:;)

irishbird wrote:
    but you will have to buy a kiddie meal and you cant get TDK special in the kiddies meals

I dont follow. Can I get the Dark Knight toy or not!?

Des wrote: »
    Yep

Fair play!

Des wrote:
    I effing hate James Bond films.

I did. But then I saw Casino Royale.

Sheesh folks you are really movie freaks,didnt see lately that almost all people i was talking too were like happy teenage girls about some movie like all of you are

Maybe i am just so little into it so i cant be objective

We're all movie buffs here! :cool:

So whats everyones all time favourite movies?! :pac:

In no particular order: Point Break, Godfather 1&2, Goodfellas, Fight Club, The Departed, Pulp Fiction, The Shawshank Redemption, Stand by Me, Die Hard.

I actually have so many that I feel dirty writing that list because there's not enough films on it but its too long!

Romeo and Juliet is one of my favourites.

The one with Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Daines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

On the ads before the movie started there was one advertising road safety or something like that. It had a little car parked up doing a bit of rocking with some moaning and then an abrubt early finish, with the tag line "slow down boys"..

Hilarious. Got a good laugh out of a lot of the audience.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭delija_sever029

Oh come on,i will earn ban now coz i gave my comment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

irishbird wrote: »
    i cant wait for Hellboy 2

actually, i must book the tickets

Me neither, I've been looking forward to it almost as much as I was TDK I think.

For the benefit of those who haven't seen how awesome it looks:

I dont follow. Can I get the Dark Knight toy or not!?

Only with the Kids meal, which means no Dark Whopper, which are bleedin delish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

Ace Ventura Pet Detective probably my favourite , followed by Dumb and Dumber

:mad:

It's not "some" movie.

It's Batman.

OK?

Sorry for offending your ideals:D

Mr Alan wrote: »
    its alright des, i reported the post :cool:;)

Step aside man

*SMACK*

Now you wont report anyone ever again

:pac::pac::pac:

One of the baddies in Hellboy II, looks like this dude

pan%202.jpg

Which is an amazing film.

ibh wrote: »
    On the ads before the movie started there was one advertising road safety or something like that. It had a little car parked up doing a bit of rocking with some moaning and then an abrubt early finish, with the tag line "slow down boys"..

Hilarious. Got a good laugh out of a lot of the audience.

Saw that before when I went to see In Bruges, still hilarious!!

One of the baddies in Hellboy II, looks like this dude

Which is an amazing film.

Agreed, I <3 Pan's Labyrinth.

I noticed that too when I saw the trailer, no surprise with del Toro at the helm. He's one of those directors who I just look out for and go see pretty much anything with his name on it.

All time fav is Pulp Fiction. Other notables are Grosse Point Blank, Big Lebowski, Sideways, No Country for Old Men .. These are the one's that i could watch over and over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Schindler's List is probably the best movie I've ever seen. Cliché but whatever, it deserves all the praise it gets.

All time fav is Pulp Fiction. Other notables are Grosse Point Blank, Big Lebowski, Sideways, No Country for Old Men .. These are the one's that i could watch over and over.

I did say i felt dirty cos I have too many favourites. Add the Big Lebowski to that! Awesome film! The Dude is one of films best characters! The bowling scene is the best though! "Mark it as a zero"!

i didnt really like No Country For Old Men tbh. Hugely over-rated imo.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    Why the ":D" it wasn't even remotely funny.

well, i thought it was extremely funny that someone believed it tbh

I did say i felt dirty cos I have too many favourites. Add the Big Lebowski to that! Awesome film! The Dude is one of films best characters! The bowling scene is the best though! "Mark it as a zero"!

My cousin got the nickname The Dude in our family years ago because he's a carbon copy of him...

Class movie. Might have a White Russian now at lunchtime seen as it got me thinking about it..

My cousin got the nickname The Dude in our family years ago because he's a carbon copy of him...

Class movie. Might have a White Russian now at lunchtime seen as it got me thinking about it..

That'd be a "Caucasian"!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

pvt.joker wrote: »
    Ace Ventura Pet Detective probably my favourite , followed by Dumb and Dumber

So you like the deep,multi layered,social commentary type of movie....?

You read the book as well?

Closest adaptation of a book i've ever seen.

I know there was a lot of hype but i do think it will be remembered as an all time great. In my house it will anyway..;)

You read the book as well?

I know there was a lot of hype but i do think it will be remembered as an all time great. In my house it will anyway..;)

i read his book "The Road" and apparently they are thinking of making that into a movie.

I was so upset and disturbed by that book, that i will never read or watch anything to do with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

PHILISTINE! BARBARIAN! UNCULTURED HICK!

quite possibly one of the best films of all time. its amazing to say so, but i really do think the Cohen brothers finally managed to outdo themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Intermission is waaaaaay ahead of anything else on my list.

i read his book "The Road" and apparently they are thinking of making that into a movie.

I was so upset and disturbed by that book, that i will never read or watch anything to do with him

'No country for old men' is much more reader friendly than 'the road'.

My mother read 'the road' a few weeks ago and we were talking about it yesterday and she said she frequently had to take a break from it cause it was too much.
    She took it on hols to Malaysia and couldn't sleep at night because of it!!

It is great writing all the same. I didnt want it to finish.

I wasn't over-awed by No Country, but then again I'm not a fan of the book, or even the Coen Brothers.

Having said that, I thought it was a decent show with some really great scenes:
    Coin-toss at the garage.

Josh Brolin's character being chased by the dog, and having to piece the gun back together as it beared down on him.

The first chase scene between Brolin and Javier Brandem's (if I remember his name correctly) character.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Intermission is waaaaaay ahead of anything else on my list.

Intermission is another that could have made my list.

One of may mates did a count on the DVds I own the other day and stopped after 170. And he hadnt looked at the other shelf :eek:

I have too many favourite films tbh.

Speaking of Intermission, my friend rented In Bruges the other night and got Intermission TO KEEP for FREE! Bastard!

You've obviously never seen One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest then.

Worst book-to-film adaptation is Stanley Kubrick's absolute rapage of A Clockwork orange.

Lost all respect for Kubrick when I saw that farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭patmac

Have to throw Bladerunner in there amazing movie for it's time 1984 helped invent the digital camera among other things.

I love Last Of The Mohicans.

And The Dark Knight is up there too :)

You've obviously never seen One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest then.
    Worst book-to-film adaptation is Stanley Kubrick's absolute rapage of A Clockwork orange.

Lost all respect for Kubrick when I saw that farce.

Yea its a brilliant film and book and I had forgotten about it but i'll still stand by my claim on No Country for Old Men. I know a lot of people really hated it and others loved it. Quite divisive.

I love Last Of The Mohicans.

And The Dark Knight is up there too :)

Yea the Dark Knight and Batman Begins are high up. :)

Still though, I only watched the Godfather last wee, SUPER SUPER film. I'd forgotten how good it actually is.

38 all, 1 minute to go in the fourth quarter, Chargers on the attack. My corner back comes up with an incredible interception to give me back the ball. Four plays later we bag the winning touchdown. I feckin love Madden 08!!!

This.

scarface_photo_scarface_6229381112007092818.gif

Say hello to my leeeeetle friend.

38 all, 1 minute to go in the fourth quarter, Chargers on the attack. My corner back comes up with an incredible interception to give me back the ball. Four plays later we bag the winning touchdown. I feckin love Madden 08!!!

I started playing Assassins Creed again there recently. Its ok once you've taken a break for a while. My brothers real into the new MGS, I dont have the time for it though tbh.

Whens the new pro evo out?!

This.

scarface_photo_scarface_6229381112007092818.gif

Say hello to my leeeeetle friend.

Watched it about 2 weks ago. Tony Montana, great performance from Pacino...pure slimeball!

i have no idea what any of that means

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Madden 08 = American football video game.

Madden = ****.

Bah, where's GY when you need her?!

I tryed that game once but not impressed,not big fan of that sport,but on the other side i am playing every edition of FIFA,Champions league,euro and world cups since 1998:D

Like Scarface, really like it, but do think its a little over-rated.

Its not Goodfellas for example.

In my opinion the two most criminally under-rated gangster films of all time are Donnie Brasco and Carlitos Way (which i may prefer to Goodfellas:eek:).....both would be way up a list of my favourite films of all time.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

I always found it strange that the Madden games were named after a commentator and not the sport itself.

Imagine FIFA being called Tyler '08 or even worse, Motson '08. Shudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I tryed that game once but not impressed,not big fan of that sport,but on the other side i am playing every edition of FIFA,Champions league,euro and world cups since 1998:D

Not Pro Evo????

Like most of the films mentioned, going to TDK later, Ill throw in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon as a great film not mentioned yet.

I always found it strange that the Madden games were named after a commentator and not the sport itself.

Imagine FIFA being called Tyler '08 or even worse, Motson '08. Shudder.

Yep,it should just be NFL and end of story

Except for Tiger Woods of course

CTHD is a grand film, but really, it's a overblown love story. A chick-flick if ever there was one.

bohsman wrote: »
    Not Pro Evo????

I expected this question,i know everyone like PES more but since i was kid i started playing FIFA and thats the only game i am still buying every year,i got used to it.

Tryed PES once and it reall offers something good,but worse graphic and some other bad things rejected me and i didnt find it impressive so i stick to FIFA.

And i always get comments i am wacked coz PES rocks,but what can i do....:D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

At least he's actually a player - and not an annoying commentator.

As Dave said in the Man U thread (after I mistakingly posted my comment on Madden there) imagine Gray '08.