Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread & Off Topic Thread II - Collectors Edition Bumper Pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

NFL>>>>>>>>>Rogby

Truf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

I like the NFL iswell. Colts ftw, although they are looking pretty unspectacular with Manning still getting back to full fitness atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Cowboys man here, T.O. on his day is a joy to watch.

eZe^ wrote: »
    Munster > Leinster, lets see how far ye go in Europe this season. You can have as many Magners Leagues as you bloody want tbh...

At least our fans follow us every game instead of showin up for 5 games a year!!! :pac:

Did I say anything different? Lets keep it civilised, the rugby forum is a joke when this sh1t starts. I think both teams will go far this year. Our signings have been very very very good (CJ van der Linde - who will bolster the front row significantly, Rocky Elsom - who is an absolute beast and Isa Nacewa - rated as the best uncapped player out there, which is funny cos he;s played once for Fiji!!) and the coaching set up looks really promising (Johnno Gibbs and Gaffney). So far we've looked pretty decent, defence is good, need to work on the resttarts though.

How have Munster looked this year? I havent seen them play yet.

NFL>>>>>>>>>Rogby

NFL is an organisation not a sport ;)

Good Jesus i think watching old people play boules is more interesting than that nonsense. As a SPORT its as dull as dishwater to watch..... all stop start and roided up nuts shoutin at each other...this goes on for 5 mins, your watching a guy with big headphones point at a piece of paper while some bodybuilder looks real intense and nods and says "yea coach" then he puts on hsi helmet and we get about 3-4 secs of action followed by 5 more mins of talking. Its absolute garbage.

That argument might have been valid when we were all 12, and wanted to see GOALS GOALS GOALS in our sport.

Give American football a shot. If you have sky digital, next time a match is on, go interactive, and watch the rules feed. Once you gain a handle of them, you will begin to appreciate all those stops, and how it adds to the tension.

Nothing beats a lazy Sunday, watching all the football, followed by an NFL fest, and the odd **** thrown in for good measure.

How have Munster looked this year? I havent seen them play yet.

I went to the Dragons and London Irish games, both were well good tbh. Keith Earls is going to be some talent man, he'll take BOD's place as one of the top centre's in world rugby in a few years. We are playing him as a full back at the moment, letting him adjust to highest level slowly.

I think we might be taking the Magners league more seriously this season, we have been fielding fairly strong teams consistently, but lets see if that changes once the Heineken Cup comes along. The seeding is ridiculous, we get Sale and Clermont.

I'm looking forward to the season ahead, even without the great Kidney, I think we'll go far in the Heineken Cup again, potentially winning it.

That argument might have been valid when we were all 12, and wanted to see GOALS GOALS GOALS in our sport.

Give American football a shot. If you have sky digital, next time a match is on, go interactive, and watch the rules feed. Once you gain a handle of them, you will begin to appreciate all those stops, and how it adds to the tension.

Nothing beats a lazy Sunday, watching all the football, followed by an NFL fest, and the odd **** thrown in for good measure.

i understand the sport, I just think its utter ****.

I went to the Dragons and London Irish games, both were well good tbh. Keith Earls is going to be some talent man, he'll take BOD's place as one of the top centre's in world rugby in a few years. We are playing him as a full back at the moment, letting him adjust to highest level slowly.

I think we might be taking the Magners league more seriously this season, we have been fielding fairly strong teams consistently, but lets see if that changes once the Heineken Cup comes along. The seeding is ridiculous, we get Sale and Clermont.

I'm looking forward to the season ahead, even without the great Kidney, I think we'll go far in the Heineken Cup again, potentially winning it.

Dude you should see some of the lads comin through our academy. Gonna be some great competition for places in future years for Ireland. With your lads as well as Fitzgerald (who has to play in the Autumn internationals as hes in superb form), Kearney, Sexton and O'Brien looks like he;s gonna make Jennings a nervous man come selection time as well. Its good to see too. We need someone to take BODs place after all, hes got about 2-3 years left in him id say. I hope u don carry a chip in your shoulder about him just cos he wasnt born in cork?!!!

Its a tough group but Id fancy you;s to get out of it. Especially if Clermont giftwrap the home win and bonus point like they did last year.

The change in format of the Magners will suit Munster more. Its semi finals and final from next season onwards which suits cup specialists. Unfortunatley thats gonna lead to the ol Gloucester - Wasps thing again where Gloucester ran away with the Guinness Prem, then Wasps peaked late and won the final Its a LEAGUE not a Cup!!

Have ya watched Leinster yet this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

NFL ftw
    Tis all about the Chiefs baby! Tony Gonzalez and LJ

KansasCityChiefs_LR.jpg

And their biggest fans -

kansas_city_chiefs.jpg

Xavi6 wrote: »
    NFL ftw
    Tis all about the Chiefs baby! Tony Gonzalez and LJ

KansasCityChiefs_LR.jpg

And their biggest fans -

kansas_city_chiefs.jpg

thats it though. NFL in particular is all about the cheerleaders, eating junk food and being able to get up, go for a power nap and wake up having missed nothing. Its not exciting!

My bollox it isn't exciting.

Anyone who watched the Broncos go for the win instead of a tie with a two point conversion the other week knows the truth. Epic stuff.

Same goes for the Jets/Cowboys game last weekend.

And last year's Superbowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,847 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Xavi6 wrote: »
    My bollox it isn't exciting.

Each to their own.

I'm gonna go buy a snickers now

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

And with that comes the end of my Holidays. Italy was fantastic. Great week and squeezed Venice in which is the craziest town ever - the buses are boats. boats I tells ye!!

Milan pissed me off tho - got a a train for 2 hours and then the underground for another 40 mins only to get to the San Siro and be told that away fans have been banned from entry, meaning only Milan residents with proof of address can buy tickets. :( Sickened was not the word. It's some spot (from the outside.)

How y'all keepin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Sucks to hear about the San Siro. But Venice sounds class, I really must get there sometime. Is it as expensive as I've heard it is?

Only been to Italy once, and it was up in the arse end of the Alps. I was supposed to be going to Rome last year but had to cancel the trip :( Will get to a proper Italian city one day.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Venice is expensive but understandably so - everything has to be delivered to restaurants/bars/shops by barge so you can see where the extra cost for logistics comes from.

Eating in cafe's on the streets is cheap - I got a large-sized pizza and enough wine for 2 glasses for under 10 euro. As long as you're having house wines/coffee/pizzas/pastas Italy is dirt cheap. Venice is worth a visit just to see how it works - the water-busses are excellent and done exactly like underground rail networks - different "lines" with 2 units each going in opposite directions. So easy to get around.

We did the whole Gondola thing (was with the missus) and I enjoyed it hugely despite the hefty price of 80 euro (in hindsight we probably could have haggled) - seeing the back doors of people's houses literally open onto a canal and their boat on a wee ramp is mad. Few own a car - they own a boat. It's the opposite to the rest of the world where everyone owns a car and some own a boat. The most unique city in the world no question and loads to see and do. St. Mark's Basilica was good as was the Palace and they took most of the day to do. We only had a day and barely scratched the surface.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Does anyone remember a few years ago an incident involving two Irish internationals and a garda car on Harcourt street, can anyone remember who the players were and what exactly happened?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Does anyone remember a few years ago an incident involving two Irish internationals and a garda car on Harcourt street, can anyone remember who the players were and what exactly happened?

Mark Kennedy was one of the players,I think Phil Babb was also there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

if anyone could help it'd be very much appreciated :(

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57316996#post57316996

Mr Alan wrote: »
    if anyone could help it'd be very much appreciated :(

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57316996#post57316996

Replied.

Just saw this, what a fcuking idot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Just saw this, what a fcuking idot.

This lad needs locked up tbh.

Lol wow he's some man.

Though I'd have answered the same tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

thanks charlie.

R Kelly: bold boy. nothing nescessarily wrong with his answer above though :)

****, trying to get all these gigs on my ipod, meant to be up early golfing tomorrow! ahhh! :(

In theory yeah, there was nothing wrong with his answer, but after just having escaped jail time, I am sure his publicist was banging their head on the table when they heard him say that. Reminds me of when Jacko said there was nothing wrong with a man 'sharing' his bed with a boy.

Dave Chappelle ripping him a new one :D:

I watched basically 3 seasons of Entourage in 4 days. Best tv show I've seen in years, getting season 4 from my friend on Monday, and with season 5 on ITV2 almost in sync with the americans, it's officially happy days.

Ari Gold is the funniest man on the planet...

I watched basically 3 seasons of Entourage in 4 days. Best tv show I've seen in years, getting season 4 from my friend on Monday, and with season 5 on ITV2 almost in sync with the americans, it's officially happy days.
    Time well spent! Season 5 has been very good so far, even though it's only two episodes in.
    Ari Gold is the funniest man on the planet...

Truer words were never spoken :D

I heard Season 4 gets a little sh*t towards the end, is that because of the writers strike or something?

I was heart-broken when
    Vince fired Ari in season 3
    , but I thought I was going to die from laughter when he fired the blind guy...

Well the season was shorter because of the writer's strike. I'm not sure what the full story was because I wasn't watching it then, but like other shows they probably had to write an impromptu ending to the season.

I'd heard that Ari was being replaced as well. I couldn't believe it at first, then quickly realised there's no way he'd ever be written out. It'd be the dumbest writing move in television history!

Ari is by far the best thing about the show, he has won most of the major awards, his moments with his gay assistant are priceless. Also, I think Billy Walsh is absolute gold too, Vince is probably the worst of the characters really...

Ari is by far the best thing about the show, he has won most of the major awards, his moments with his gay assistant are priceless.

Lloyd: This lying is making me breakout. God I have a date tonight.
    Ari: Well I'm sure your date will pop that with his pecker. Don't worry.
    Also, I think Billy Walsh is absolute gold too
    Definitely. He's really good as the guy you love to hate.
    Vince is probably the worst of the characters really...
    Sounds harsh but I can see where you're coming from. There are a good few supporting characters that can steal the show.

Lloyd: This lying is making me breakout. God I have a date tonight.
    Ari: Well I'm sure your date will pop that with his pecker. Don't worry.

When I saw this scene I was actually hurting with laughter.
    7868c9eaa99d.gif

Love that .gif, have used it on many an occasion.

Would have to disagree lads. As good as Ari is, he ain't a patch on Drama. That man should have his own show. The episode where he wants to get the hat from the weed store cracks me up endlessly anytime I watch it. I'm buggggggging out!

Loved the first episode of Season 4
    where they do the whole documentary take on it. Drama trying to claim he boned the girl. LOL.

That was a great scene. Here's Ari in therapy:

Love that .gif, have used it on many an occasion.

Would have to disagree lads. As good as Ari is, he ain't a patch on Drama. That man should have his own show. The episode where he wants to get the hat from the weed store cracks me up endlessly anytime I watch it. I'm buggggggging out!

Loved the first episode of Season 4
    where they do the whole documentary take on it. Drama trying to claim he boned the girl. LOL.

I love Drama as well. The second episode of Season 5
    when he's convinced his girlfriend is cheating on him and he goes off on his phone rant before she picks up.

I love Drama as well. The second episode of Season 5
    when he's convinced his girlfriend is cheating on him and he goes off on his phone rant before she picks up.

Indeed.
    The bit at the end with the bottle of JD, the look on his face. Tweet:D

Only saw that msg you left now Neo, sorry for not getting back.

Eric: We had breakup-sex, all right?
    Johnny Drama: Breakup-sex? Never heard of it.
    Eric: Yeah, I mean... you know... you have sex and... that's it - you say goodbye.
    Johnny Drama: [pauses to think] That's the only kinda sex I have.

Good old Drama.

Indeed.
    The bit at the end with the bottle of JD, the look on his face. Tweet:D

Only saw that msg you left now Neo, sorry for not getting back.
    Ah don’t worry about it.

Did you guys see the ITV program they did? A behind the scenes thing. Short, but it was interesting hearing them being interviewed.

No didn't see that Neo. I usually **cough cough** get the episodes in HD from my cousin in America.

Oh me too, but one time they were kind enough to send this as well :)

Btw, either of you guys handy with computers?

Check out this thread please! http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57318730#post57318730

Oh me too, but one time they were kind enough to send this as well :)

Btw, either of you guys handy with computers?

Check out this thread please! http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57318730#post57318730

Don't know exactly what that might be, but do you use firefox? If so, close it, and run it in safemode. If you use IE, download firefox, and see if the problem still exists.

It must be Firefox alright, I just used IE and it’s grand.

How do I open it in safe mode?

It must be Firefox alright, I just used IE and it’s grand.

How do I open it in safe mode?

Start>All Programs>Mozilla Firefox -and it should be there.

Sounds like a dodgy extension or theme. Run it in safe mode, and if it works ok, go back and run it normally, disabling each extension until you figure out which one is being the cnut.

Thanks, but the problem persists even in safe mode. I should probably just uninstall the whole thing, but I’m reluctant with all my bookmarks etc.

Go into organise bookmarks under 'bookmarks' and you can back them up. Then save the backup somewhere, and reinstall FF, importing your old bookmarks.

I uninstalled and reinstalled. The problem is gone, but that might be because I restarted the computer in the meantime as well. Hopefully gone for good this time. Thanks!

Anyone in need of some LOLZ after the football, head over to the 365 Forum, and head into the 'The great porn cover-up' thread (NWS thread btw.).

I cant find that thread andy chance of a direct link..?

Dub13 wrote: »
    I cant find that thread andy chance of a direct link..?

As long as it don't get me banned. There's no filth in it, or porn, but I didn't want to take a chance. I'll pop it in, and if you deem it inappropiate, take it down.

I should have put via PM....I will edit the link out now,thanks.