Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread & Off Topic Thread II - Collectors Edition Bumper Pack

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Des wrote: »
    It's great the other way round though.:)

Absolutely - Once a month I do 8-5 but 8-4 on Friday which means leaving first out of the whole office on a Friday. It's sweet.

I fear I may actually cry today though. First week back after the hols so really just want to get the week over.

I must have missed the fact that you got a job - last I remember you were made redundant? Fair play - back in the same place or new place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Mr Alan wrote: »
    band camp tonight...
    This one time...

Des just noticed the psychosocial in your title.....nice!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Sherifu wrote: »
    This one time...

Yes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Weekend plans:

Poker tonight with the lads. Clean the house before the 'rents come back form holidays. :mad:

Tomorrow, sulk in a depression as Newcastle slump to a 5th consecutative defeat.:( Maybe have a 3.gif in the hours after, to cheer me up. Pints may then be consumed in the late hours depending on who's around.

Sunday, more 3.gif with football squeezed in during the interim periods.

Weekend plans:

Poker tonight with the lads. Clean the house before the 'rents come back form holidays. :mad:

Tomorrow, sulk in a depression as Newcastle slump to a 5th consecutative defeat.:( Maybe have a 3.gif in the hours after, to cheer me up. Pints may then be consumed in the late hours depending on who's around.

Sunday, more 3.gif with football squeezed in during the interim periods.

And you thought I was havin a dig!!

Sounds like a good weekend to me (bar the sulking part)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Going to watch afew dvd's tonight

Watch the football and go out for dinner and drinks with herself Saturday

Going to Dublin Zoo on Sunday! :)

Any recommendations for a good dvd to rent out tonight lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Tonight out to Sandinos for a few pints :)
    Tomorrow night to Redrooms to watch Japanese Popstars and a few drinks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Going to watch afew dvd's tonight

Watch the football and go out for dinner and drinks with herself Saturday

Going to Dublin Zoo on Sunday! :)

Forgetting Sarah Marshall.
    Semi-Pro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Stardust.

Forgetting Sarah Marshell - Saw it, very funny.
    Semipro - Saw it, meh.
    Stardust - Saw it, quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Blades of Glory.

Hey Charlie, you wanna be careful ya don't go blind or worse still get the hairy palm syndrome :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Quit it with the Will feckin Ferrell recommendations! He's not bloody funny!!!

My (long) weekend is going to consist of getting to know the GAE players indebtly :cool:

Ferrell is the man.

Xavi6 wrote: »

My (long) weekend is going to consist of getting to know the GAE players indebtly :cool:

Surely a certain Grand Final is going to be taken in over the weekend?

Any why the long weekend? What are you lazy Australians up to now.

Never mind I found out, celebrating the Queens Birthday. :(

+ 1

Ferrell has been goin steadily downhill since Anchorman to the point where his latest offering holds now appeal to me at all and I wont watch it.

Ill also be getting to know the GAE players. Trip to Deventer
    via the Dam in Feb Xavi!! :pac:

+ 1

Ferrell has been goin steadily downhill since Anchorman to the point where his latest offering holds now appeal to me at all and I wont watch it.

Did you see Stepbrothers, its alot better than his last few poor attempts of comedy. Anchorman will still rule all though.

+1 on that. He has to be the most over-rated actor going. His support seems to be more of a blind fad worship, like the Hoff, rather than any actual acknowledgment that he is a funny bastard.

Even if you have already seen them numerous times, rent out any of the Back To The Future movies (all 3 for an epic marathon). I can still watch any one of them, and be highly entertained.

Ferrell is at his best as a supporting actor. he cant carry a movie. My favourite role for his was Frank the Tank as he was relateable. I know many many Frank the Tanks.

Will have to be done tbh

Did you see Stepbrothers, its alot better than his last few poor attempts of comedy. Anchorman will still rule all though.

No I have given up on him unless he's a supporting actor.

+1 on that. He has to be the most over-rated actor going. His support seems to be more of a blind fad worship, like the Hoff, rather than any actual acknowledgment that he is a funny bastard.

Even if you have already seen them numerous times, rent out any of the Back To The Future movies (all 3 for an epic marathon). I can still watch any one of them, and be highly entertained.
    Good call on Back to Future, classics. :)

I was in xtravision 2 weeks ago and saw this film about this guy who fell in love with an inflatable doll. Sounded really funny, didnt rent it out though, got 21 instread, might try it tonight, just cant think of the name of it though! Oh and I didnt see it in the Adult section of xtravision either before anyone says! :pac:

Anchorman sucks balls tbh

Now thats just wrong.

Nah Anchorman was an epic win, but the problem is every film since has relied on the same tired formula which means that I probably wont enjoy Anchorman as much next time I watch it. Fcuk you Ferrell!

Sorry but I just didn't laugh once during it.

Now 'A Night At The Roxbury' is quality......

Sorry but I just didn't laugh once during it.

Now 'A Night At The Roxbury' is quality......

+ 1 but even that is flawed cos the SNL skits were funnier when Jim Carey was in them!

However, the film is extra good...maybe cos Ferrell isnt trying so hard.

Will Ferrell has his moments tbh. Anchorman is awesome. As is Old School. His cameo in Wedding Crashers is good too. Stranger Than Fiction is a ****ing marvellous film too. The bloke definately has talent, someone just needs to pull him aside and tell him that shouting doesnt make everything funny.

Yeah 'Stranger Than Fiction' is very good, if only because he actually manages to play a different role.

Will Ferrell has his moments tbh. Anchorman is awesome. As is Old School. His cameo in Wedding Crashers is good too. Stranger Than Fiction is a ****ing marvellous film too. The bloke definately has talent, someone just needs to pull him aside and tell him that shouting doesnt make everything funny.

All very true. His part in Wedding Crashers was hilarious! ''Mom!!! Where's the Meatloaf!!!?''

Thats spot on Al. Watching Talladega Nights you could literally smell the tryhard off the actors. sh1te film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Jaysis KaG, it's a bit late to be on to me about the team tbh. We have our last friendly on Monday at 8, details in the forum, if you come out and score a hat-trick in ten minutes, you can join up. :pac:

that scene at the dinner table with the kids, grandfather and wife really does make me laugh in that film i must admit :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

The only good thing about Talladega is Leslie Bibb, man she is hot! (NWS, if you work with priests)

that scene at the dinner table with the kids, grandfather and wife really does make me laugh in that film i must admit :)

Ah yea but wven there you can see how hard theyre tryin to elicit a laugh

Jaysis KaG, it's a bit late to be on to me about the team tbh. We have our last friendly on Monday at 8, details in the forum, if you come out and score a hat-trick in ten minutes, you can join up. :pac:

lol, sorry I honestly didn't know until it was mentioned in the thread mate. I'll have a peep in the forum & pm you or something.

@ Alan
    Yeah that dinner table bit in WC is class...when the granny is slagging her son for being a queer I was in tears laughing.

wedding crashers is all excellent.

i was talking about the dinner table scene in Talladega Nights.

wedding crashers is all excellent.

i was talking about the dinner table scene in Talladega Nights.

ooooooooo yeah tis funny

I laughed at Blades of Glory. The bit when he is Drunk in the suit and vomits in it made me chuckle.

Ricky Bobby's kids names Walker and Texas Ranger. Classic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Ok in my Friday boredam, I was watching music vids on youtube.

Came across, classic song !

You're right there Bill.

If we're banging out classics, this gets a mention

Ah tis no 'Africa' though

I love that song.

"it never raaaaainnnns down in africa!!"

One of the best intros ever

It's the epic drums that I love in Africa.

It was the soundtrack for many a killing spree in Vice City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I <3 September. I have more returning tv shows than I know what to do with.

Next up, The Office!

I love that song.

"it never raaaaainnnns down in africa!!"
    Ahem. It's "I bless the rains down in Africa".