Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread & Off Topic Thread II - Collectors Edition Bumper Pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

A part of me dies every time I hear that song.

If I had to choose between a night with her or striking that song from history, I might just choose the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

I'm a big fan of the Manics and i love their version of that song. I hated it when Rihanna did it. When i heard the Manics had covered it I feared the worst but i think they made it decent.

A part of me dies every time I hear that song.

If I had to choose between a night with her or striking that song from history, I might just choose the latter.

What!!! I'd spend a night with Elton John just to get a crack at her....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,907 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Not at all. She's a 7 out of 10 at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,591 ✭✭✭patmac

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Not at all. She's a 7 out of 10 at best.

Jaysus either you have very high standards or your ......what's that concert your going to again?:D

Sir Elton

Don't have very high standards, she just ain't my cup of tea. Decent body, average face. Nothing outstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Sir Elton

Don't have very high standards, she just ain't my cup of tea. Decent body, average face. Nothing outstanding.

just shut up :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Mr Alan wrote: »
    just shut up :mad:

+1, that kind of crap used to get people a ban around here. Woohoo I've two days off work now so I'm off to the beeeeeaaaaaacccchhhhhhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,069 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

christ xavi, your stock is really plummeting around here today! 7 is very harsh imo...7 me hole!

Seems to be hot everywhere at the moment, burnt the bejesus out of myself today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Peas for dinner. \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Sherifu wrote: »
    Peas for dinner. \o/
    Got a phone call from Mr. DesF Senior as I was on the way out of town.

"There's a BBQ at the Ol' "F" Place if ya wanna drop 'round".

Sweet as.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    christ xavi, your stock is really plummeting around here today! 7 is very harsh imo...7 me hole!

As I said, great body, average face.

Body - 5 out of 5
    Face - 2 out of 5
    Total - 7 out of 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

As I said, great body, average face.

Body - 5 out of 5
    Face - 2 out of 5
    Total - 7 out of 10

lol...maybe we should break this down further.

Legs - 4/5
    Ass - 5/5
    Breasts 4/5
    Face 3/5
    seX Factor 5/5

Overall - 21/25

Eirebear wrote: »
    lol...maybe we should break this down further.

Legs - 4/5
    Ass - 5/5
    Breasts 4/5
    Face 3/5
    seX Factor 5/5

Overall - 21/25

Ah now that doesn't work. Her body gets broken down into three parts but her face is categorised as a whole?

She's boardering BOBFOC.

Ah now that doesn't work. Her body gets broken down into three parts but her face is categorised as a whole?

She's boardering BOBFOC.

I suppose we could break it down to smile and eyes?

BOBFOC?

Body of...Face of....?

She is a bit of a Butter Face.

Body Off Baywatch, Face Off Crimewatch.

She IS a butter face, hence the 7 out of 10 rating.

Body Off Baywatch, Face Off Crimewatch.

She IS a butter face, hence the 7 out of 10 rating.

lol gotcha.

She still has a certain something though which takes her out of the usual butterface category.....i know i would!

Eirebear wrote: »
    lol gotcha.

She still has a certain something though which takes her out of the usual butterface category.....i know i would!

Yeah a great hoop.

I never said I wouldn't give her a dart (it'd be silly not to) but in the grand scheme of things she is very overrated.

Mind you...given my insomniac qualities and general ability (pre mariage at least) to be a manslag, i doubt theres much i wouldnt...

:D That's what it all boils down to at the end of the day really isn't it?!

i was coming home from the pub last night about 1 and there was thunder and lightning. went down to a bench looking over the harbour and irelands eye and watched the lightning for about half an hour.

was very beautiful.

i was coming home from the pub last night about 1 and there was thunder and lightning. went down to a bench looking over the harbour and irelands eye and watched the lightning for about half an hour.

was very beautiful.

Yep you must have caught it from me. Ghey is the new straight.

Bleedin' cheek of you Xavi, if he caught the ghey, he caught it from you.

How's the head Al, do you have a hangover or what?

Which pub were you in?

Bloody Stream?

That posh new place where Charlies used to be?

My vote is for the posh place.

DesF wrote: »

How's the head Al, do you have a hangover or what?

Which pub were you in?

Bloody Stream?

That posh new place where Charlies used to be?

My vote is for the posh place.

Head is alright Des.

Was in the Bailey in the village sitting out front while the sun was still out, then went to the tophouse up by the church in the evening, watched the end of the rangers game and played pool for the evening!

You definately have the wrong image of me in your head! :D

Bloody stream is wayyy too like a coffin for my tastes, was in there on Sunday night, place has changed a lot, average age must be 17/18 now. Dont like it. Never did.

As for the new place (Findlaters), wayyyy too posh for me Des, only been in there a handfull of time, far too many posers.

Tophouse/Krugers is the only place for me :)

Ah, mixing it with the plebs eh?

Like to keep yourself in touch with the peasants is it?

Like the lord of the manor used to head down to the local inn to keep an eye on his serfs?

Something like that is it?

Ah, mixing it with the plebs eh?

Like to keep yourself in touch with the peasants is it?

Like the lord of the manor used to head down to the local inn to keep an eye on his serfs?

Something like that is it?

Got it in one :)

So, what job do you do?

I work for an ISP, making sure our network isn't being overused by people, and everyone gets a fair crack of the bandwidth.

I do this for Ireland, Belgium and Spain, and later on we'll be rolling out in Poland, Italy, Romania and possibly Austria (:eek:).

I get raw data every morning from Euro HQ and run reports on it, to identify the busiest parts of the network, then pass on the highest users for each area on to my minions in each country so they can be contacted and "educated" on their usage.

If, after three contacts, the user is still causing our network problems, we cancel their contract.

Oh, and have a nice day.

Time to whiten some teeth.

I work for an insurance company in the city centre.

Within that insurance company, i work in section that deals with the home insurance for one of the major banks.

Its extremely boring.

But i like the people i work with, thats one positive.

Actually, it is one of the things that kept me in some shítty jobs over the years tbh

ahh its not ****ty. I like it most of the time, i'm just a little tired this morning :)

the people are great though.

I wasn't implying your job is shítty.

Just saying that the people you work with can make even the worst of jobs bearable.

Like, I like my current job, but I never socialise with the people in here. I just wouldn't.

i know ya werent implying that :)

yea i get wat ya mean. "Boars Head" pub for lunch i think ummmmmmm

Like, I like my current job, but I never socialise with the people in here. I just wouldn't.
    Are they that bad?

Sherifu wrote: »
    Are they that bad?
    Meh, I work in Sandyford, and live in Coolock.

It's an hour and a half away from home, and they usually go to places around here. It's just not feasible that I go out with them.

Some of them are ok I suppose, I'd probably have a pint with them in town or whatever.

Anyone in a job that they like or working with people that they like are seriously lucky.

I absolutely hate the job i work in. Been trying for ages to get out of it but it just ain't happening. People are ok but not friends so aside from the very odd work 'do' or lunch i don't socialise with them at all.

I've decided that i'm not worrying about the job situation anymore and to take my mind off it i'm back playing football, gah, the gym and guitar lessons, just to avoid sitting around hating the job. I'm definately a 'work to live' guy, rather than a 'live to work'...

ibh wrote: »
    I'm definately a 'work to live' guy, rather than a 'live to work'...
    +1.

The only way to be.

Plus, nobody in here knows anything about my personal life, like you guys on this off-topic thread know more about me I'd say.

I have this great nack of just being able to leave any work-related stress/woes right at the door fo work, as soon as I hit that path outside, and spark the smoke, work is gone from my thoughts completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

+1.

The only way to be.

I have this great nack of just being able to leave any work-related stress/woes right at the door for work, as soon as I hit that path outside, and spark the smoke, work is gone from my thoughts completely.
    Thats the ideal situation, and used to be me, but its becoming a battle lately cos i moved to england and will be spending the next 6months sharing a gaff with 2 lads from work........they are grand like, but im kind of struggling being with the same people almost 24 hours a day (but i haven't started turning gay yet!)
    And the ****ers keep talking about work!! But i usually filter out the bull, the good weather is helping!

They talk about the stress of this that and the other, and i say : "I dont get paid enough to stress, stuff im responsible for should be completed in work time, otherwise sod them!"

Yea the best example of the 'work to live' that i know, is a singer songwriter (reasonably well-known on the irish live circuit) who works in the same place as my mother as his 'other' job.
    She said he walks around all day, pretty much on a different wavelength to everyone else. Most people sniggering at him and how he's strange. When at the same time (at least i like to think this) he's laughing to himself at these eejits who have nothing else going on but their dumbass job..

Someone to look up to..:)

I really like what I do and the people I work with but it's just in the wrong bloody area. Like it's the career I want to do, just not the subject if you get. So close but yet so far......

gucci wrote: »
    (but i haven't started turning gay yet!)

Stay away from xavi :pac:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

You want ghey, I've taken the morning off work so I can go for a jog to try and get fit for a 10k fun run I've got to do next week.

Ghey.

Definitely 'work to live'.

Some of them here are 'live to work' though.

Out the door, forget all.

a 10k fun run I've got to do next week.
    You are doing the wimmins mini-marathon?

Are you doing it in drag, coz that is pretty ghey tbh.

Calcutta Run. I'm doing it for the poor children of Calcutta!

Who am I kidding? I'm doing it for the big post-run BBQ and to attempt to delay the inevitable heart-attack that I'm going to suffer in my mid-thirties.

Is there such a thing as a 'fun' run? Not my idea of fun anyway.

It's a ploy to lure unsuspecting non-exercisers like me into a trap.

*shakes fist* The bastards

I mean like, I'll run after a football all day but this marathon/mini marathon/short jog lark is bollox tbh.