Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread & Off Topic Thread II - Collectors Edition Bumper Pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

IrishMike wrote: »
    Tell it to the judge you Garry Glitter wannabe!!!!! ;)

So I am a big pervert? Just because i posed naked with thousands of people saturday, and played football with young lads on thursday.............Sh1te....time to close down my account here, too much evidence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Des, on the Springsteen thing.....these may be my favourite lyrics ever, ****ing breathtaking in my humble opinion.

The screen door slams
    Marys dress sways
    Like a vision she dances across the porch
    As the radio plays
    Roy orbison singing for the lonely
    Hey thats me and I want you only
    Dont turn me home again
    I just cant face myself alone again
    Dont run back inside
    Darling you know just what Im here for
    So youre scared and youre thinking
    That maybe we aint that young anymore
    Show a little faith, theres magic in the night
    You aint a beauty, but hey youre alright
    Oh and thats alright with me

You can hide `neath your covers
    And study your pain
    Make crosses from your lovers
    Throw roses in the rain
    Waste your summer praying in vain
    For a savior to rise from these streets
    Well now Im no hero
    Thats understood
    All the redemption I can offer, girl
    Is beneath this dirty hood
    With a chance to make it good somehow
    Hey what else can we do now?
    Except roll down the window
    And let the wind blow
    Back your hair
    Well the nights busting open
    These two lanes will take us anywhere
    We got one last chance to make it real
    To trade in these wings on some wheels
    Climb in back
    Heavens waiting on down the tracks
    Oh-oh come take my hand
    Riding out tonight to case the promised land
    Oh-oh thunder road, oh thunder road oh thunder road
    Lying out there like a killer in the sun
    Hey I know its late we can make it if we run
    Oh thunder road, sit tight take hold
    Thunder road

Well I got this guitar
    And I learned how to make it talk
    And my cars out back
    If youre ready to take that long walk
    From your front porch to my front seat
    The doors open but the ride it aint free
    And I know youre lonely
    For words that I aint spoken
    But tonight well be free
    All the promisesll be broken
    There were ghosts in the eyes
    Of all the boys you sent away
    They haunt this dusty beach road
    In the skeleton frames of burned out chevrolets

They scream your name at night in the street
    Your graduation gown lies in rags at their feet
    And in the lonely cool before dawn
    You hear their engines roaring on
    But when you get to the porch theyre gone
    On the wind, so mary climb in
    Its a town full of losers
    And Im pulling out of here to win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I just listened to that song Al.

Yeah, it's decent, but I wasn't blown away.

I'll send you a kick ass version of it later.

Stupid work blocking Youtube!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Why dont you just make Des a mixtape? ;);)
    Ill bet you like Gareth Brooks too!!!!!!

Mr Alan wrote: »
    I'll send you a kick ass version of it later.

Stupid work blocking Youtube!

Do you like Ocean Colour Scene?

Seriously, they have a song on their album Marchin' Already called Get Blown Away, it makes me cry when they play it live.

Yea i love OCS, seen them live a rake of times.

Blown Away is a ****ing cracking tune.

Met Simon Fowler,Oscar and Craddock in Galway and Dublin. First time met Oscar was in a chipper in galway after him and fowler did an acoustic gig in the Roisin Dubh, he put us on the guest list for the next nights gig too and had his chipper with us slating coldplay the whole time, it was just after A Rush Of Blood To The Head came out. nice guy, very stoned.

super stuff

Also couple of years later, Got to sit in front of the stage in Cuba in Galway eating my dinner while they were soundchecking 5 feet in front of us. Good day. Funny enough, they played Blown Away and I wanna Stay Alive with you at the soundcheck, and they are my two favourite songs. they also did an improvised version of Whiskey In The Jar :) craddock kept ****ing up the riff though, and wasnt impressed with us laughing at him.

Craddocks da also sorted us out with VIP tickets for their gig in the Village a couple of days later.

Cracking bunch of lads.

lol, I probably know you from gigs then, always the same faces.

Favourite was in Spirit a couple of years ago when just Simon and Oscar played.

Lads seriously, get a room.
    Its embarrasing at this stage ;)

Al, there's a Boards Beers on Saturday.

You going to go? It's in the Mercantile.

DesF wrote: »

lol, I probably know you from gigs then, always the same faces.

Favourite was in Spirit a couple of years ago when just Simon and Oscar played.

yea that was the same tour i saw em in Roisin Dubh I'd say, although i think that was in 2002?

cracking show, remeber him doing better day and getting to the middle 8 and him ****ing nailing the high note, cracking show.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

What happened to Eirebhoy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Seen him post on foot.ie yesterday.

I think he got angry with Des because Des thinks that Duff hasn't played well for Ireland in 6 years when in his last competitive match against Slovakia he was class.

was wondering, always liked his posts although, methinks some people see you as the heir to his throne with all the McGeady love :D

i was actually just thinking earlier today that Eirebhoy and Este were very similar with the McGeady/Naka love thing they have going on :)

Este, is it alright to refer to you as that? as opposed to Estebancambias which is a little long winded.

Well that or El Cuchu(nickname of cambiasso)

Anything is better than Desf's 'estie'...:D

El Cuchu it is so :)

hope you've cleared your diary for the 01/08/2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Bah, I arrived too late for the musical debate.
    Adam....meh...bass is boring at the best of times.

I take offense to that :)

Nah but seriously, it depends on the bassist. It's only as good an instrument as the player.

Oh and I know it's all about opinions, but for me, Muse >>> U2 times infinity! If there is a better live band out there, I haven't seen them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Evening ladies.

Have you seen U2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Er...nope :)

well then....shurrrrup!

Sherifu wrote: »
    Evening ladies.

are you really in Romania?

that just shows up as a blank post when i look at it?

You're doing it wrong.

picture of a cow iirc, not exactley proof but im sure he could think of better things to lie about than being in romania tbh

I personally think I'm like Eirebhoy without the logic and articulation.

So you're like esteban then?

grazing-cow-1b.jpg

estie will grow on you.

I guarantee.

grazing-cow-1b.jpg
    Word to your mother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

estie will grow on you.

I guarantee.
    Like a fungal infection ??

Exactly like that.

He's a fun guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Evening lads, hope ye all had a good weekend. I had a good one, was my birthday and the missus got me a guitar, afew Smiths cds and all 3 seasons of Black Books, good weekend! :) Although my fingers are fecking killing from the guitar!

Hardcore.
    Missus got me a guitar and lessons last christmas.
    Im a disgrace and only went to half the lessons but it was a cool present!

My fingers are too small to play guitar.

I have manly lumberjack fingers but have no damn patience to learn an instrument.
    Pity as i would flipping love to be able to play, not willing to put in the work though ;)

No they are not.

My fingers can't reach the top string.

Seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

IrishMike wrote: »
    I have manly lumberjack fingers but have no damn patience to learn an instrument.
    Pity as i would flipping love to be able to play, not willing to put in the work though ;)

I'm the exact same. Although I honestly don't think I would ever be able to play even if I put the effort in just doesn't seem to be in my blood. Complete opposite to my Dad who can literally pick up any instrument and have a tune coming out of it within five minutes. My Brother is musically inclined too, just doesn't seem to be in me.

What ya think can anyone play the guitar?

You know what they say about people with small fingers.

What?

This isn't a small penis thing, is it?

My fingers can't reach the top string.

Seriously.

you obviously are holding the neck wrong. seriously. i have tiny hands and have never had any problem.

and my hands are seriously small, most of my female friends hands are bigger than mine.

i can use em though :cool:

What ya think can anyone play the guitar?

Yes they can, not necessarily good! To be honest, I am a rubbish player, but i accept that and dont try and show off or do anything too mental!If you can get to the stage where you enjoy it, and dont drive your neighbors/family mad, than enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

gucci wrote: »
    Yes they can, not necessarily good! To be honest, I am a rubbish player, but i accept that and dont try and show off or do anything too mental!If you can get to the stage where you enjoy it, and dont drive your neighbors/family mad, than enjoy it!
    Yeah my goal is just to be able to play afew simple songs, I know in myself that I wont be that great but if Im even able to half beat out a tune Ill be happy.

This isn't a small penis thing, is it?

What the ****? Penis? What the hell would fingers have anything to do with the size of someones penis.

Jesus...get that head sorted.

I can do all of this....but i dont wanna :p

there should be a poster of the month competition.....i'd vote for El Cucho every month.