Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BBC racing coverage of the Grand National

• 12-03-2008 11:49AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 49

Is it just me or do the BBC (Boring Broadcasting Corporation) have to hype up the whole Grand National meeting and the Grand National race itself.

I mean, the Aintree meeting is prestigious in its own right, but I think that the Channel 4 Racing presenters e.g Tommo, Down, Cattermole, McCririck et al would do a far better job than Clare Balding, who I think, just tells the punters what they know already, and wastes pointless time over matters such as a trip to a 200/1 outsiders stable to see how it has prepared for the National or

Remember 2/3 years ago, your one Lydia Hislop was on the BBC & EVERY flat meeting that was covered by BBC she kept going on about the new Steriline Racing stalls. Jesus...

4daRecord(4DLP) BBC coverage resumes at Aintree in April, then to Nottingham on 23 April.

What ye think lads? They've lost Newbury & Goodwood, I think its time Royal Ascot and Aintree come to CH4!!!

One thing though, J A McGrath is a great commentator as is Tony O'Hehir, Ian Bartlett and Darren Owen. But Simon Holt, GG and the rest are brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭mickc

doesnt need much hyping IMO as its one of the biggest races of the year. half the country has a bet in the national without having a clue

i dont watch the coverage for info from the presenters.

i would much prefer watching a trip to some unknown stables that all the ads c4 cram in, especially this week.

and i cant stand McCririck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 CarewParkAFC

Good point I suppose, but who is truly more annoying,

John McCririck or Matt Chapman

I like Chapman but sometimes he is up his own backside at times. As for McCririck, well watch a rerun of Celebrity Big Brother and what u c is wot u get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

I mean, the Aintree meeting is prestigious in its own right, but I think that the Channel 4 Racing presenters e.g Tommo, Down, Cattermole, McCririck et al would do a far better job than Clare Balding, who I think, just tells the punters what they know already, and wastes pointless time over matters such as a trip to a 200/1 outsiders stable to see how it has prepared for the National or
    I think Balding is a decent presenter. She's just surrounded by muppets. (Carson, Persad, Statto, etc.) She wouldn't have much of a say in the show's production (trips to stables, etc.) so you can hardly blame her for that. And she's far better than some of the numbnuts on C4. Thommo and McCririck are retarded clowns who don't belong on the screen.
    One thing though, J A McGrath is a great commentator
    Aussie Jim McGrath??? You have to be kidding. He's absolutely clueless and rarely has a breeze what's going on.

Racing UK is the only decent racing coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 CarewParkAFC

That might be the case but if you have Chorus TV ur stuck with the likes of Chapman, Boyce, Tommo, Cattermole etc.

ATR should also be called SSRN (Sky Sports Racing Network)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,290 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Channel 4 coverage is excellent i think as is Racing UK obviously, BBC does kinda suck imo.

Also its sacrilege to talk about the donk national during the festival ;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

I try to watch as little of the filler before and between races as possible.It is mainly just rubbish and silly interviews with trainers etc asking them stupid questions.I will usually channel hop or turn down the sound until they start talking about the runners in the next race.Simon Holt is probably the best GB based commentator at the moment.Can't stand Graham Goode as he's always trying to give opinions instead of just doing what he's supposed to and sounds like a pompous old windbag.Some of the younger commentators coming through aren't too bad.Derek Thompson is the worst commentator of all time.I wonder what is the point of having him around at all.All he does when presenting is makes himself look stupid(maybe he is stupid of course).Also at the end of races he always says "great ride" about the winning jockey.Not all winning rides are great rides and losing ones bad--the horse has more to do with it than the jockey but he doesn't understand this of course.Good to see Ted Walsh on Channel 4 for Cheltenham as usual.He has a great no bullsh't approach and to be honest John Francome and Jim McGrath aren't too bad.The worst thing about BBC is Willie Carson doing his clown act,Ray Cochrane saying every horse in the race has a chance and Scu and Richard Pitman trying to tell us how great and knowledgeable they are.