Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Grand Slam Sunday

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

United
    where is gerrard's yellow??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

Draw
    There's a difference between questioning a decision and questioning the decision maker.

After the first yellow card, we saw Mascherano wasn't happy. He wasn't happy with the ref and you could see him telling the ref to 'f off' etc.., giving him evil eyes, laughing at the decision etc..

That came back to haunt him and imo, that's why he got the second yellow. As soon as he came over he was asking for trouble. The fact he stayed in the refs face and demanded answers shows a complete lack of control and discipline.

Rooney quite often deserves a yellow and gets away with it... not our problem... but most of the time he's angry with himself or angry with the decision..

He's an english hero... gets the same treatment as gerrard does and as shearer used to get also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Draw
    ntlbell wrote: »
    You'll have to show me the exact law but constantly questioning a ref's descision especially when the descision has nothing to do with you and maybe he used foul language we don't know?

If you show me a law that shows what the ref did was wrong i'll hold my hands up
    The fact tt there is no law banning it is enough to show that it is not outside the laws of the game.

Torres must be careful too now BTW, could be gone too the way the ref is playing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Chelsea
    Bennett must have a nice piar of blinkers on if he cant see Ronaldo falling over those blades of grass all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Draw
    The fact tt there is no law banning it is enough to show that it is not outside the laws of the game.

Dissent?

Chelsea
    he didnt get booked for dissent, the second card was for abusive language.

Draw
    DSB wrote: »
    Dissent?
    Quite calmly (as in the case of this yellow) questioning a referee about his decision is not dissent regardless of the colour of your manc glasses.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Quite calmly (as in the case of this yellow) questioning a referee about his decision is not dissent regardless of the colour of your manc glasses.

But running 15 yards to question something which he was not involved in is

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

Villain wrote: »
    Your joking aren't you?? Rio was booked for kicking the ball away???

BTW Anyway who knows me will know I dislike Liverpool more than Utd, however I don't like to see a potentially good game ruined by inconsistent refereeing

Yes .... kicking the ball away is descent ... Mach got sent off for a bad tackle and yes descent ....

After the midweek players mouthing off were always going to be in trouble if you saw the cameras on Mach he was mouthing the whole game after getting the yellow correct decision. Remember this is the same ref that sent Ronaldo off twice and yes once for descent after a booking for a dive that was in fact a fouls so move on...

it happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Arsenal

Torres must be careful too now BTW, could be gone too the way the ref is playing it.

Anyone on a yellow should be afraid to breathe with this ref!

United
    Call_me_al wrote: »
    he didnt get booked for dissent, the second card was for abusive language.

they said it WASNT for abusive language, use your ears.

Draw
    well with the massive lack of common sense why should al start applying some :)

If he had called him something then he should have been off for foul and abusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Is there a game on?

Liverpool suddenly looking more useful.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Chelsea
    We could have had a decent game if the ref wasn't such a twat, lets hope the ref doesn't ruin the next game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,168 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Why isn't Crouch on?

Chelsea
    mayordenis wrote: »
    they said it WASNT for abusive language, use your ears.

who said that and when?

Draw
    mike65 wrote: »
    Is there a game on?

Liverpool suddenly looking more useful.

Mike.

maybe the sending off is all part of a great tactical masterplan from Benetiz ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Draw
    Looks like Rooney injured himself in that last attack, hopefully it's nothing too serious

EDIT: just as I post he almost sets Tevez up

England friendly game to miss on wednesday?

Mike.

Draw
    BTw where is that lad who says anderson is god ? That one over the crossbar was a joke, and how many other good chances has he failed to put on target at least today..

United
    who said that and when?

half time ref confirmed it.

who said foul and abusive language?
    you just made it up.

Draw
    And people complain about Ronaldo diving? Blatant dive from Torres

Draw
    Yes blatant dive when receiving a push in the back, diving diving fecker :rolleyes:

Draw
    It was a free, yes, but he took another step before he fell to the ground

Off the bar from Ronaldo

And a goal from Ronaldo! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

:):)

Thats that.

Mike.

Chelsea
    mayordenis wrote: »
    half time ref confirmed it.

who said foul and abusive language?
    you just made it up.

pretty sure martin tyler did, so do me a favour and please be quiet....

United
    disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Draw
    Ronaldo!!!!

Draw
    ronaldo wraps it up.. definitely not a big game player :p

And theres his goal against liverpool Ronaldo is just pure class

United
    pretty sure martin tyler did, so do me a favour and stfu....

he said the exact opposite he said it wasnt foul and abusive and that it had been confirmed.

2-0 Ronaldo's first against liverpool. good header. Rooney does looki njured though.

Draw
    3-0 Nani.

All over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

what a goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Draw
    2-0
    3-0
    happy
    happy
    happy
    happy

Draw
    3-0! You beauty Nani, great goal

Nani wonder strike

3-0 really good goal from Nani

Draw
    Fair play, good headER. poor marking.

where was alonso ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,168 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Although I hate United and need them to drop points... some of the pool fans on here are making me ok with united winning this by 3

Draw
    brilliant third goal & celebration.

possibly the best celebration in the current game? :D

Chelsea
    Reina is having David James spell at Liverpool, i.e. can't get near a cross, Reina was at fault for first two goals really.

Nice goal by Nani, poor play by Gerrard though

Draw
    great strike. Bit of luck involved there, shame that Masch was sent off. United were probably going to win it at 1-0 anyway, sending off means that we have a bit of an out with that awful sending off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

how can you blame Reina for Ronaldo's goal????

Alsonso didn't track him well at all. It would have been some save if Reina had got to the ball first. It was a good bit from goal when Ronaldo headed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Draw
    Torres biggest contribution was his part in getting Mascharano sent off :eek:

I cant wait for the post match interview where Rafa blames the ref for his team being outclassed by Utd. Happens everytime :D

*shruggs* The Everton game is what matters now. Liverpool could have upset Utds progress, not won the league so its a game to wipefrom the memory bank.

Mike.

Draw
    A lesson mind, wonder if the dissent issue will be one for the next game. When terry gets all up in the refs face today (as he alwasy does) will he be sent off, I doubt it.

Chelsea
    Reina should have go to both crosses first with a fist too slow to move off his line, or stay on the line and try and save the header but by coming off his line and not getting to the ball he left an open goal.

Draw
    T4TF, of course he wont get sent off....he'll get a yellow card