Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Programming Certs

Options
  • 17-03-2008 12:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭

Hey Guys,

Im just wondering what ye think are the best certs to get for someone who is going into programming?

Bit of background. I have a degree in Software Engineering (programming based degree), i only have a pass degree because i had to be compensated in one exam (not too happy about that).
    I have 1 yr Helpdesk, 1yr Level 2 Deskside support, and have been working 2months in a more Server Admin role - 60% server support, 40% end user support.
    In the last two months i have started my MCSE, i have MCP in XP & Server Maint (270 & 290) and MCTS in SQL. Next exam in a week.

Basically i think im going to finish my MCSE (id say 3 months) and then work on programming certs and try to get into that job market. I was reasonably good at programming and never found it hard. Main area was JAVA.

I have been checking and i cant find any good info.
    Ideally i would like to get a few certs, thinking SCJP (Sun Cert Java Programmer) and then maybe some other certs.

To be honest im a litte up in the air, could use a little advise.

Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ginger

OK,

First off I am not a Java programmer I am a purely .NET dev. Java certs, best talk to Hobbes.

You have found yourself in the server admin role using MS products. From my point of view especially that you have the SQL 2005 cert as well, you might be better off looking at the .NET certs.