Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three Irish Army trucks involved in crash on M50

• Registered Users Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭green123

prendy wrote: »
    probably huge!:rolleyes:

it would be funny if it wasnt so stupid...they always travel way to close together anyway.ejjits!
    There no problem with military vechicals travelling in convoy IMO, it just means they're travelling one behind the other as is every car on the roads. The distance in with they travell behind eachother however is important.

Just to point out, drivers of Army vechicals hold a military driving liecence, which they must complete course to aquire. Mightent be relevant but just wanted to share.

Taken from [url]www.military.ie:[/url]
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    braking distances for trucks are very long, I've seen many army convoys where they all travel closely together. closer than a car should be to another car.

tailgating almost certainly caused this accident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Neilw wrote: »
    The van has 4 tyres with fairly small contact area's.

The truck has 12 tyres with large contact area's, abs and in that clip was prob unladen so it should stop fairly quickly....it would be very different carrying 40tonnes in the back, much longer stopping distance.

Neil.

The van is a Vito...nuff said...:pac:

Watch the whole video, they do the test with the truck carrying no weight and fully laden...the difference in distance is about 3/4s the length of the Vito. I don't speak German but I got the impression that the size of the actual brake pads and discs had an awful lot to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

peasant wrote: »
    Not only is it (roughly) the same as a car, it still is so, when the truck is fully loaded.

That is a new truck with good brakes though ...watch the video.

One video of a truck stopping faster than a van is meaningless, im sure i can find a youtube video of a pig flying, doesnt prove a thing.

Im telling you categorically that an 'average' truck has a significantly longer stopping distance than an 'average' car. I really can't fathom how anyone would argue otherwise - im an engineer by profession and I don't even NEED to go into the physics of it, it's common sense and i'd have thought even children know that a truck takes longer to stop than a car.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

One video of a truck stopping faster than a van is meaningless, im sure i can find a youtube video of a pig flying, doesnt prove a thing.

Im telling you categorically that an 'average' truck has a significantly longer stopping distance than an 'average' car. I really can't fathom how anyone would argue otherwise - im an engineer by profession and I don't even NEED to go into the physics of it, it's common sense and i'd have thought even children know that a truck takes longer to stop than a car.

Well ..I have driven trucks and all I can say is that I'd advise you to keep your distance from the truck in front, or else you might be unpleasantly surprised to find out how categorically, significantly, physically and childishly (did i forget one?) WRONG you are :D

I'd suspect this to be the reason for the colission ...not enough distance between the vehicles in the convoy. Drivers have a tendency to "bunch up" when driving in convoy ...I know I had.

But don't lorries also have two different systems for braking? Something about an exhaust brake I think I heard mentioned before.

The only difference between a truck going 50mph and a car going 50mph is higher force of momentum....to cancel out that momentum by braking you just need larger areas of friction (be it more wheel tread on the tarmac or larger discs & pads)...or am I missing some other factor?
    This is all a bit mooted anyhow...those trucks the army use are relatively old, have fewer axles (and wheels) than a HGV and I doubt they could brake as fast as a modern ABS equipped car. They're built for all types of terrain which makes me think that maybe a modern motorway isn't the best place to be utilising them...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Wertz wrote: »
    But don't lorries also have two different systems for braking? Something about an exhaust brake I think I heard mentioned before.

The "exhaust brake" works by closing the exhaust and cutting off the fuel supply. So the engine just compresses air against the closed exhaust which in effect causes strong engine braking.

This "brake" can only be used to slow down the lorry or to keep a constant speed when going downhill without having to (over)use the actual brakes, but not for stopping.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The van is a Vito...nuff said...:pac:

A Vito with a VW Transporter bodykit?

peasant wrote: »
    The "exhaust brake" works by closing the exhaust and cutting off the fuel supply. So the engine just compresses air against the closed exhaust which in effect causes strong engine braking.

This "brake" can only be used to slow down the lorry or to keep a constant speed when going downhill without having to (over)use the actual brakes, but not for stopping.

Right, just didn't know how the second brake worked.

Incidentally, I remember seeing something on one of those science shows years back about some new type of system for braking on lorry trailers where a large rubber mat would deploy under the rear axles during extreme braking, to further cut stopping distance; did such a system ever make it into production?
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    A Vito with a VW Transporter bodykit?
    :o
    Good call. Don't know how for the life of me I thought that was a Vito...must have been paying more attention to the merc badge on the truck and just assumed the van was a merc too...
    My comment was a dig at the Vito (an unfair one)...I'm sure it's as good under braking as any similar van, including a Transporter.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

to be fair to Vitos, If I remember correctly they had ESP and ABS standard back in late 90's.

The only difference between a truck going 50mph and a car going 50mph is higher force of momentum....to cancel out that momentum by braking you just need larger areas of friction (be it more wheel tread on the tarmac or larger discs & pads)...or am I missing some other factor?
    Yes, there are quite a lot of other factors. Weight distribution, and shifting weight distribtion upon decelleration (applying huge braking force to an axle is pointless if that particular axle has very little weight on it). The huge % difference between laden/unladen compared to cars, and the compromises that brings with the design of brake systems (and the effect on friction 'footprint). The 'delay' effect inherent in air braking systems compared to hydraulic. Drum vs disc brakes. The fact that a truck weighing 50 times as much, requires 50 times as much braking force in it's braking system/components (yet does not have 50 times as many components to spread the load - ie physical strength limitations in the materials used are a factor). There are dozens of other factors, truck braking dynamics is much more complicated than small cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Toon--soldier

Say if i put bigger disks and calipers etc on my car are you saying this would have no effect on the stopping distance of the car??? all you have to do is when designing the the brake system of the truck is factor in the self-weight of the truck itself and the live load in the trailer

The stopping distance of your car is limited by the downward force on the wheels, and the friction between the tyres and road. Putting better brakes will work up to a point, but you'll hit a wall at some stage, where your better brakes will just put the car into a skid. A skidding car does not slow down as well as a properly braking car due to difference in static/dynamic friction.

That has nothing to do with the issue, a truck isn't 'a car with bigger brakes'. Its a much more complicated issue. Anybody who cares can google it, you'll throw up hundreds of studies and charts comparing truck vs car braking distances (generated by official transport bodies the world over).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

The stopping distance of your car is limited by the downward force on the wheels

You claim to be an engineer, obviously not experienced in automotive issues.

Downwards force on the wheels (displayed ultimately as a mu value) as a defining factor is a very '70's view on vehicle braking performance. Take it up with your lecturer.

Energy transfer and heat dissipation are where you should be looking.

Unladen truck with state of the art braking system will stand on its nose.

Do the research... THEN reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,306 ✭✭✭✭Esel

My mate (the sanitary engineer one) told me never to tailgate trucks! :D

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Dirty Knuckles

I'm an army driver.

Re. breaking distance, Pleasent is correct.

Only thing which hamper's the breaking distance on an army truck are the knobbly tyres with have a 50% road/off road bias. Which is fine on dry roads, but their a nightmare in the wet.

Apparently what happened yesterday was a female civilian driver pulled out in front of the first truck and broke hard, the army drive broke and believe me guys, those trucks will stop in the blink of an eye.

As regards trucks travelling too close, alot of that is for security reasons. You wouldn't believe the amount of civilian driver's who will try to force their way into an army convey. Lads, don't do this. Its stupid, its dangerous and if your the meat in the sandwich in the event of another accident like this your pretty fecked!.

Without going into operations matters, but a lot of these conveys are under armed escort & its imperitive that all vehicles in the convey are grouped like this.

Werdz your comments re. a proper war are contemptable when you take into account the number of Irish soldiers killed in the service of peace while you scratch your arse in the comfort of your own home thinking up smart arse comments for boards.ie.

Btw the Dept. have been made aware of the danger's of using truck as TCV's (troop carrying vehicles) for as long as I can remember, and thats over twenty years.

Werdz your comments re. a proper war are contemptable when you take into account the number of Irish soldiers killed in the service of peace while you scratch your arse in the comfort of your own home thinking up smart arse comments for boards.ie.

WTF? It was an off the cuff comment critical of the state of one of Dublin's main routes, not a dig at anyone in the defence forces.
    I didn't say anything about a proper war, I compared the M50 to a warzone. Grow some skin.
    BTW service of peace? I won't get into the fact that we're supposedly a neutral country...when the Irish army go to these places as peace keepers, it's mine and every body elses taxes paying for the privilege of sending and keeping those soldiers in that region, and for the most part, it's glorified police work and dodging bullets, when the army has no real teeth compared to other forces in those regions.
    The comfort of my home? What has that to do with anything? The defence forces don't protect it, in the event of any incursion by foreign forces on our soil, we'd be forced to rely on the UK or other nations for real protection.
    the only thing I've ever seen the army protecting are Securicor vans and the odd garda checkpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

So all this was caused by a Woman driver!? Sorry, someone had to say it!:D

Wertz, the army do a lot more then you "see" and for the budget it receives the department of Defence and the forces themselves provide an excellent service. It must be remembered we are a country of 4M people, our defense forces are exteremly effective for the size of our population. Comparing our army to France, the UK or the US is not comparing like with like. The army rangers are one of the best special forces units in the world. The air corps provide transit for dignitaries, vital organs, search and rescue and troop transport. The navy does fisheries protection, many many search and rescue ops per year, drug control, assisting with salvaging operations.

The army protect the prisons and prisioner transport, provide national security, anti-terrorist and hostage rescue services where necessary as well as bomb disposal. In the event of an invasion we are surprisingly well equipped, more so then people realize. Certainly enough to give most invading forces a run for their money, on the ground at least.

If the department of Health was run like the dept of Defence it would be under budget and ship-shape within a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

astraboy wrote: »

Wertz, the army do a lot more then you "see" and for the budget it receives the department of Defence and the forces themselves provide an excellent service. It must be remembered we are a country of 4M people, our defense forces are exteremly effective for the size of our population. Comparing our army to France, the UK or the US is not comparing like with like. The army rangers are one of the best special forces units in the world. The air corps provide transit for dignitaries, vital organs, search and rescue and troop transport. The navy does fisheries protection, many many search and rescue ops per year, drug control, assisting with salvaging operations.

The army protect the prisons and prisioner transport, provide national security, anti-terrorist and hostage rescue services where necessary as well as bomb disposal. In the event of an invasion we are surprisingly well equipped, more so then people realize. Certainly enough to give most invading forces a run for their money, on the ground at least.

If the department of Health was run like the dept of Defence it would be under budget and ship-shape within a year.

good man astraboy thanks for the list of items/functions that any army provides.
    Most of the army lads I know are fat and lazy and very much in the spirit of the army deafness claims. I exclude the rangers etc for obvious reasons.

dodgyme wrote: »
    good man astraboy thanks for the list of items/functions that any army provides.
    Most of the army lads I know are fat and lazy and very much in the spirit of the army deafness claims. I exclude the rangers etc for obvious reasons.

Troll. :rolleyes: And how many "army lads" do you know? Because I know many and they are far from fat and lazy, they have represented Ireland in UN peace keeping missions in an attempt to bring stability to regions around the globe. Every organisation has fat and lazy people in it, does not mean that everyone in that organisation is like them. And other countries have their police or other goverment depts take care of a lot of what the Irish army provides. Educate yourself before you start digging another hole for yourself, no need to go slagging off the army due to the actions of a few. Muppet. I'm not in the mood to argue with you on a public forum anymore, take it to PM. This is the motors forum, not the "slagging off the army cos I know nothing about it" forum.

Ah I know they do, guy I used work with has a brother in the Rangers.
    I just don't like being called out on a smart arse comment that that other poster hasn't the wit to spot as such and takes easy offence to, and responded in kind. Obviously the State needs an army to function properly even if we are neutral of sorts, and of course they perform many unseen tasks...but so does any force of any state.
    This is all way OT so I'll give it up now.

Woman driver aside, she can hardly be blamed for the actions of drivers behind her...if you crash into the back of someone, it's your fault, therefore the army drivers in question have as much to answer for as any civilian.
    Perhaps it was all a suicide pact when the recuits all heard they were headed for the Cooley mountains, to work off those Paddy's Day hangovers?
    <Insert obligatory relevant smiley to illustrate sarcasm>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

You don't know many army lads so.

We're required to pass not just an annual medical, but also a fitness test yearly.

Failure to pass at the first go will have you sent for a lifestyle assessment and dietary advice.

Failure to pass a second time and you'll be sent for a medical, plus life assessment again.

Failure to pass the third will likely mean your out of a job.

Before going forward for the fitness test you've to pass a BMI test (body mass index) which measures your body fat levels - your fat - you fail - lifestlye assessment & dietary advice.

So your talking through your arse.

As regards the accident, I've no idea what might have caused it. But I do remember recently reading a report on traffic accidents in the Defence Forces and apparently they've one of a safest fleet records in Europe.

Mairt wrote: »
    You don't know many army lads so.

We're required to pass not just an annual medical, but also a fitness test yearly.

Failure to pass at the first go will have you sent for a lifestyle assessment and dietary advice.

Failure to pass a second time and you'll be sent for a medical, plus life assessment again.

Before going forward for the fitness test you've to pass a BMI test (body mass index) which measures your body fat levels - your fat - you fail - lifestlye assessment & dietary advice.

On another note, it said on RTE last night that the government were procuring roll bars for the troop trucks. I have been in the back of them and there is no rollover protection bar the canopy!

So your talking through your arse.

As regards the accident, I've no idea what might have caused it. But I do remember recently reading a report on traffic accidents in the Defence Forces and apparently they've one of a safest fleet records in Europe.

Don't worry about Dodgyme, he talks out of his hole and hes a troll on the motors forum, only ever comes on to stir up things, never to make a genuine contribution to the debate.

he talks out of his hole and hes a troll on the motors forum.

Oh so I am the troll and I talk out my a*re mm right :rolleyes:. Look at the amount of pure mule you have even stuck onto this page. If this was a court of law, you'd be as legless as Heather McCartney.

All you did earlier was list out things like as if it was a job description - well done mate. I pointed that out. Then as usual you loose the run of yourself and start blabbering like a mad man.

Ok so in the army you need to be fit but you have only a yearly assessment and after that another 2 times before you are facing a test that you may loose you job. How many actually loose there jobs each year???
    Mairt wrote: »
    .. an annual medical, but also a fitness test yearly.

any (private sector) job if you are unable to do it you gone! no yearly assessment of fitness and oh try again later .. oh and again .. oh and again....!!!

thanks for showing me how wrong I am.!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

Good thing this isn't a court of law then.

So have we solved the mystery yet? Can we present our boardsie inturnet findingz to the board of inquiry?

Oh so I am the troll and I talk out my a*re mm right

We finally agree. ;)

If your not a troll what actuall contribution do you make to the forum? Little from what I can see. And I did'nt post a job description, I posted up some of the unseen duties the army and the DF completes. :cool:

, I posted up some of the unseen duties the army and the DF completes. :cool:
    no I was aware of these before you posted? so ! you are talking out your a*se.

Just because you think your points are a revelation, it doesnt mean they are. Maybe you have a lack of education, I dont know.

no I was aware of these before you posted? so ! you are talking out your a*se.

Just because you think your points are a revelation, it doesnt mean they are. Maybe you have a lack of education, I dont know.

Ya because they were specifically directed at you. Right. Funny how I posted them BEFORE you started taking ****e on the forum. Answer that one genuis. My other replies were an attempt to clear up the tripe you posted. So come on, how many "army lads" do you know? Give a rough figure.

I am well educated thanks, go back to digging yourself into a hole.

, go back to digging yourself into a hole.
    looks like you have destroyed another thread:confused::cool:

I read on RTE that the Government were procuring rollover bars for these trucks, anyone know if its true? I have travelled in them a few times and there is no rollover protection bar the flimsy canopy and the metal bars supporting it, which would buckle under any major weight from the looks of them.