Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Please help disabled driver choose a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Oh sweet jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭vectra

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Oh sweet jaysus

Well.
    Loads of room there to get in and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,649 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Oh sweet jaysus

Lol. The joys of having a disability. It's a friggin minefield

Plenty of options.
    Friend of mine in a wheelchair as a result of an accident when he was in his late teens. many many moons ago.
    He drives a Scirocco 1.4 tsi with dsg.
    How about that?

vectra wrote: »
    Plenty of options.
    Friend of mine in a wheelchair as a result of an accident when he was in his late teens. many many moons ago.
    He drives a Scirocco 1.4 tsi with dsg.
    How about that?

How does he get his chair in & out?

Lifts it I assume?
    as far as memory permits I am sure he manages to slide it in behind his seat once he is in the car.

Scirocco would be fairly similar to a golf mk6 3 door size wise apart from the lower roof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Two auto's. What's your budget?

Mitsubishi Colt CZ2 1.3 Auto 5DR Hb - €8950

lbeb3229c9aabbdacce46395e46ac11551.jpg

=-=

Mazda Demio 1.3 Automatic 5DR HB - €7950

lb4c52455c25e29257b48ea9f05d9fef6f.jpg

the_syco wrote: »
    Two auto's. What's your budget?

He needs 3 door

What about a mini?
    2015-mini-cooper-s-interior-photo-572255-s-1280x782.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

2008 OPEL ASTRA SRI GTC 1.8I 16V - 3 door auto €5950

no-photo.gif

Or a Hyundai Veloster, they aren't that cheap though but I like them. Big door on drivers side and 2 doors on the passenger side.

1.6 138bhp petrol engine so potentially nice bit of vrt to claim back.
    Dunno bout resale values though.

OP is looking at new cars the_syco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,297 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Are there any new Velosters around in dealers, I thought they pulled them about 12 months ago?

What about Renault Megane Coupe?

I wonder if Renault do their proper dsg style box in the Megane or if it's a shoite automated manual one

the_syco wrote: »
    2008 OPEL ASTRA SRI GTC 1.8I 16V - 3 door auto €5950

no-photo.gif

Nice

Hi guys.

OP back again. Am looking to change car again. However this time I would probably be looking at a drive from wheelchair vehicle, that both myself and my OH can use.....

Any suggestions?

Have you been on to motability Ireland before? I'd say give them a ring.
    Far as I know, these will all be van based.

Have you been on to motability Ireland before? I'd say give them a ring.
    Far as I know, these will all be van based.

Also
    With the new rules as far as I am aware you can now claim back up to 20k providing the vehicle needs extensive modifications, but you must then hold on to it for 3 years.

Also
    Under the new rules as a driver you are now entitled to purchase a car up to 6.0 litre engine.

Hello again......OP here.

I'm going to change the car again, the timing chain on my Golf is knackered(had it confirmed by the service guy this P.M), so I'll get it fixed & then change the car. Suggestions welcome.
    Same criteria as before applies:

3 Door
    Automatic
    Must NOT have one of those big bloody centre consoles/armrests, as this gets in my way of lifting my wheelchair in/out of the car.
    I will probably go for diesel this time....?

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Astra GTC? Base model doesn't have an arm rest and stuff and the doors open really wide.

Should be able to wrangle a decent discount too.

Astra GTC? Base model doesn't have an arm rest and stuff and the doors open really wide.

Should be able to wrangle a decent discount too.

Gorgeous looking car. Are you sure about it not having an armrest though? Just looked at some photos there, and it looks like it does..?

Now that you mention it the basic sport spec seems to be gone. Might be worth seeing if someone had anything in stock. Loads of room in the front of them for a wheelchair.

Bugger! ☹️

Most new cars come with a front arm rest these days unless your looking at some of the entry models in the budget brands like Dacia, etc.

wasn't someone here moaning about having to pay for an armrest?

?

wasn't someone here moaning about having to pay for an armrest?

No idea, I know there was a thread about someone getting a 50k Audi A4 that didn't come with auto headlights or auto wipers as standard.

bazz26 wrote: »
    No idea, I know there was a thread about someone getting a 50k Audi A4 that didn't come with auto headlights or auto wipers as standard.

And they charged you for a sliding armrest too:pac:

Am I mad going for a Kia Ceed or an Opel Astra????

They're the two cars floating around my head atm

If they do what you want them to do then no, better warranty too

Going to go to my local dealers and have a look at them.

I've also got the small matter of a wedding to plan in the next couple of years too. Got engaged before Christmas!

Congrats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I always thought the Invacars were deadly:
    _68436167_ac_invacar2.jpg

I always thought the Invacars were deadly:
    _68436167_ac_invacar2.jpg

Lol

Lads

How about a Hyundai i30? Got offered a quote for one earlier today.

What are they like for size etc?

Similar size to your Golf, well the 5 door is anyway. I think the 3 door I pro is smaller, don't know if there's an auto in the 3 door.

It's the i30 Colm. The dealer has a 3 door automatic in his garage for me if I want it. He has done out a quote for me too.

Edit: I tried to copy the link of the attachment, but no luck

Strange thing is, Hyundai don't list a 3 door i30 anymore. In fact, I don't ever remember them doing one, apart from the van version.

I see bolands have a base model 3 door alright.

Not sure how keen id be on one if it was 1.4d. What spec were you offered? Seems odd to have a 3 door auto in stock.

Colm

I can't copy the link into this message sorry. It's the comfortline

MM

Petrol or daysul, 1.0, 1.4 or 1.6?

Petrol

Dealer hasn't included a price for my car in that quote

That would be normal. They do a separate buy in of your trade in so that you can claim more VAT back.

Thanks Colm

Lads

Quote for getting replacement part for the engine is €945 including labour.

The car is in for a service anyway which is going to cost €265

Also, the wipers need to be replaced, which is another 40 euro.

Over a grand for the whole lot!!!

I think I'm gonna go look at the Hyundai?

VW Scirocco?
    Friend of mine drives one and he is in a wheelchair.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Have a look at the Skodas, do you need a chair lift in the boot?

Lads

Quote for getting replacement part for the engine is €945 including labour.

The car is in for a service anyway which is going to cost €265

Also, the wipers need to be replaced, which is another 40 euro.

Over a grand for the whole lot!!!

I think I'm gonna go look at the Hyundai?

I wouldn't bother servicing it as you won't get an extra €265 for the car, nor will you lose €265 on the trade in if it isn't done.
    unless it's in there right now :)

vectra wrote: »
    VW Scirocco?
    Friend of mine drives one and is a wheelchair.

Had a look. Roof too low

I wouldn't bother servicing it as you won't get an extra €265 for the car, nor will you lose €265 on the trade in if it isn't done.
    unless it's in there right now :)

It's in the dealer now. It was in for service anyway