Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mario Kart reviewed

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Echoing Helix here. I think I understand where EDGE is coming from.

Played it for about an hour... with a projector on a 6 ft screen no less... and I'm fairly underwhelmed :(

(NB - that's after playing the SNES, N64, GBA, GC and DS versions to death)

I'll give it another go (another chance really) later tonight in multiplayer with the Mrs (wo's got same pedigree from N64 onwards) and am struggling to maintain an open mind, but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

It's a bit tired in single player at this stage... and they've ramped down the difficulty too.

But as usual it's in multiplayer that it excels. I haven't bothered with the wheel thingy at all though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Diddler82

I am very impressed witht the game. Just completed all the 50cc Courses - struggling a bit withthe 100cc bikes so it is providing a challenge....1st or 2nd with half a lap left and then a lovely blue shell wallops you and if you are too close in 2nd you get whacked as well!

Online play is brilliant - no lag at all, have won a few races and up to about 6000 points, have not played battle mode yet but never really liked it anyway.

Played mulitiplayer yesterday - excellent....

Many a nights entertainment ahead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

Best Mario Kart there is. Fantastic fun. Having problems getting online though. Aside from that its one of the best gams on any console, fun, brilliantly designed and addictive.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,524 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The fecking local xtravision is sold out of this and I can't make it into town until tomorrow. I'm not a happy retr0gamer :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

i tried it with the wheel - not my cup - now using the wiimote and nunchuck - much more like it.

the wheel is a bit dud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 loadzac

chump wrote: »
    i tried it with the wheel - not my cup - now using the wiimote and nunchuck - much more like it.

the wheel is a bit dud

The same with me. After two trys with it i switched to classic controller. I then seen everyone online was using the wheel it so i gave it another go. Its actually really good. Very comfortable in hand. I am starting to get the hang of it. Really give it another try. Its worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

I'm loving this, everywhere was sold out that I tried yesterday and most of today and then an Argos saved the day :-)

The wheel is brilliant with it, I'm shocked at how good it is. The single player game is meh but online is great, easily add people in your address book? See what friends are online and join them in their randomer matches? Set up a room so you can easily organise a match/tournament? Great. OK the friends codes system is a little tiring but if they are in your address book it's easy.

I beat my mate 3 times and didn't even know he'd joined though, he told me later over IM assuming I'd noticed and just wasn't bragging.

Also has anyone else unlocked
    Rosalina
    seemingly because
    they own Super Mario Galaxy
    ? Are there any other unlocks like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

loadzac wrote: »
    The same with me. After two trys with it i switched to classic controller. I then seen everyone online was using the wheel it so i gave it another go. Its actually really good. Very comfortable in hand. I am starting to get the hang of it. Really give it another try. Its worth it.

it shows you as using the wheel even if youre just using the wiimote without the wheel bit (same method, just more comfortable imo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Classic Controller fpr me, excellent game works very well online.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Bah, still have to get this, possibly will tomorrow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

does the lack of a grand prix mode dampen anyones enthusiasm? still awesome enough without?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,027 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Mordeth wrote: »
    does the lack of a grand prix mode dampen anyones enthusiasm? still awesome enough without?

It does have a grand prix mode.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

oooh

so i was lied to
    hooray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

just doesnt have it online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭ondafly

I bought this on a whim on Saturday - having previously owned all other MK versions. I wasn't expecting much, nor was I expecting much out of the Online play.

Spent all day playing it on Sunday, I haven't played a game for as long in years. Herself even played too, both of us playing online against the world, no lag at all or anything.

One complaint though - We voted for Shy Guy Beach about a million times, and its never picked - me thinks something is amiss ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Helix wrote: »
    just doesnt have it online
    I think this was because in Mario Kart DS you had morons doing poorly in 1 or 2 races and disconnecting in the random Grand Prix but you can do a Grand Prix with friends if you organise a room for the Wii.
    ondafly wrote: »
    I bought this on a whim on Saturday - having previously owned all other MK versions. I wasn't expecting much, nor was I expecting much out of the Online play.

Spent all day playing it on Sunday, I haven't played a game for as long in years. Herself even played too, both of us playing online against the world, no lag at all or anything.

One complaint though - We voted for Shy Guy Beach about a million times, and its never picked - me thinks something is amiss ! ;)

I played that level way too much online, everyone kept picking it.

I was playing for 7 hours on Sunday won't get a chance again till Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Is this generally available or is it like gold dust at the moment? Gf is heading into (Dublin) town tomorrow so if it's generally available I'll get her to pick one up but she won't appreciate being sent on a wild goose chase, so it'd be good to know if it's a runner or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Is this generally available or is it like gold dust at the moment? Gf is heading into (Dublin) town tomorrow so if it's generally available I'll get her to pick one up but she won't appreciate being sent on a wild goose chase, so it'd be good to know if it's a runner or not.

Seems to be available everywhere. Extra wheels are not though. Still, its the game that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Got mine yesterday, loads around, didn't see any extra wheels though.

Played for anhour or so, ripped through the 50cc, some excellent tracks, maple tree way, wario goldmine both excellent, really liked rainbow road, normally I dread it!

A few dull ones too but they might pick up with the extra ccs